(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "The story of an old town--Glen Ellyn"

4 J®** 




MS! 

[gl&i 




I J S3 



ts; ^- ^ $ ^ JJ?' 




a I E> hahy 

OF THE 
UN IVLRSITY 
Of ILLINOIS 

977^4 
HJtts 

cop Z, 



111 HSST. SURVb/ 



The person charging this material is re- 
sponsible for its return to the library from 
which it was withdrawn on or before the 
Latest Date stamped below. 

Theft, mutilation, and underlining of books are reasons 
for disciplinary action and may result in dismissal from 
the University. 
To renew call Telephone Center, 333-8400 

UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS LIBRARY AT URBANA-CHAMPAIGN 



4|*-8|&^ 



RUN IIS HISTORICAL SUM 



L161— O-1096 



Digitized by the Internet Archive 

in 2012 with funding from 

University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign 



http://archive.org/details/storyofoldtownglOOharm 



The Story of An Old Town 
— Glen Ellyn 



COPYRIGHT, 1928 
BY GLEN NEWS PRINTING CO. 



MEMORIAL EDITION 

2000 COPIES 

DECEMBER 1928 

GLEN NEWS PRINTING CO. 



The Story of An Old Town 
— Glen Ellyn 



Compiled by 
ADA DOUGLAS HARMON 

Edited by 
AUDRIE ALSPAUGH CHASE 

Genealogies by 
BESSIE CLUTE HUWEN 




Published by 
ANAN HARMON CHAPTER D. A. R. 






1 



•I 



^Dedicated to the true and tried, 
Those friends, whose loving zeal 

With obstacle and trial vied, 
Has made this history real 

Not for pelf or short-lived glory 
But as a pure labor of love 

Is writ the Old Town's story, 
Of truth and romance wove. 

— Ada Douglas Harmon 



SPECIAL THANKS 

The author and the editor of this book owe a deep debt of gratitude to 
nearly everybody in the village, it seems, for their invaluable help in informa- 
tion, in time, in material, without which this book would have been only about 
six pages big. 

Specifically we wish to thank Mrs. Wilbur E. Coe of Evanston, Mrs. Jessie 
Janes Garrison of Hartford, Michigan, Mrs. H. W. Yalding of River Forest, 
Mrs. Wm. T. Daum of Villa Park, Miss Clara S. Boyle of Paw-Paw, Michigan, 
Mrs. John Haight of Naperville, Mrs. W. A. Rogers, Mrs. Robert Boyd, Mrs. 
Anna Russell, Mrs. Charles Kerr of Florida, Mrs. Joseph Clarke, Mrs. B. B. 
Curtis, Mrs. Charles Wimpress, Mrs. O. D. Dodge, Mrs. F. J. Huwen, Mrs. A. 
R. Utt, Mrs. E. O. Lee, Mrs. C. Glenn Whitlock, Mrs. Sarah Brookins of Ogden 
Road, Fullersburg, Mrs. D. W. Alspaugh, Mrs. C. W. Somerville, Mrs. A. N. 
Fox, Mrs. Carl J. Richardson, Mrs. C. E. Shattuc, Mrs. L. J. Hiatt and 
Carolyn Winnen Scheve. 

This is on the distaff side. 

Among the men to whom thanks are due are: the late L. C. Cooper, J. D. 
McChesney, Charles McChesney, Jesse R. Wagner, George M. Kendall, Thomas 
Claffy of Beverly Hills, Joy Morton of Lisle, Frank Beaubien of Austin, H. S. 
Dodge, Al Chase, Robert Patch, Jr., Jack Young, W. W. Shaw, Jr., Joe 
Milmoe, Edward W. Hill, L. J. Hiatt and O. D. Dodge. 

All of these rendered special services of various kinds which none but the 
makers of the book can truly understand and appreciate and to them special 
gratitude goes. 

Also to the folks of the Glen News printing plant, who gave such helpful, 
personal attention to the mechanical part of the book, such as would have 
been impossible to have had from some cold-blooded commercial plant where 
the history would have been simply a "job" instead of a production; to them 
is due much of the grace of grammar, of punctuation, of style, of make-up, 
which gives charm to the format: Florence G. Milmoe, John L. Bender, 
Edward H. Fell, William Scull and Naomi Mueller. 

To the countless folks who have been called to the telephone to answer 
questions about this and that, to those who have been buttonholed in offices 
and stopped on street corners — to them go countless thanks for countless 
helps. 

SOURCES OF INFORMATION 

Some interesting material, available only from books, came from these: 

The Churchill Family in America, compilers, Gardner Asalp Churchill and 
Nathan Wiley; editor and associate compiler, Rev. George M. Bodge. 

History of Illinois, by Rufus Blanchard. 

Discovery and Conquests of the North West with History of Chicago, by 
Rufus Blanchard. 

History of DuPage County, Illinois, compiled under the direction and 
supervision of the Board of Supervisors, 1876. 

History of DuPage County, by Rufus Blanchard. 

Portrait and Biographical Record of DuPage County, Illinois, 1894. 

Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois and History of DuPage County, 1913. 

The Book of the Indians, by S. G. Drake, 1835. 

Geology and Geography of the Wheaton Quadrangle, by Arthur C. Trow- 
bridge, Bulletin No. 19. 

History of DuPage County, by C. W. Richmond and H. Y. Valette, 1857. 

American History, by D. H. Montgomery. 

The Indian History of Illinois, by Ralph Linton. 

State Historical Society Journal. 

Chicago Highways, Old and New, by Milo M. Quaife. 



FOREWORD 

-E take much pleasure and a deal of pride in offering this little book to 
Glen Ellyn folks. Working on it and reading it through has given us 
pleasure, as we hope it may you who read it. Working on it has also 
given us pride, for it was like taking the different colors from a box of pig- 
ments and painting a picture! We took these bits of facts from here and there 
and blended them into what seems to us a quaint and definite picture of the 
early days of the village. 

As a picture is not so definite a likeness as a photograph, so our painting 
may not be as perfect a likeness, as would a diagram made entirely from old 
records. Nor would the diagram be so interesting. 

Neither would the diagram be possible, for old records are sketchy and 
scarce and oftentimes conflicting. It was a case of reading old accounts, 
talking to old settlers, writing to relatives of old settlers, accumulating a mass 
of material, and then sorting, co-ordinating, discarding and weaving facts into 
a perusable fabric. 

We cannot hope this book may be entirely free from error; with the 
facilities at hand, it would be impossible to achieve a perfect result. But we 
do think we have made a picture of the past, interesting, informative, true to 
the atmosphere and spirit of those days we wished to re-create before they 
were so far gone as to be completely smothered under the debris of the present 
being torn down to make way for the future. 

As we grow more finished, more cultured, more progressive, we look back 
with more sympathy and appreciation to the beginnings of things, and so it is 
fitting that these beginnings in some measure should be preserved, for they 
will grow in value as they recede from us. 

We wish all towns might follow this lead and seek out their sources 
before the oldest inhabitants pass away and the last landmarks fall before 
modernity. Their reward would be in their result and coming generations 
would rise up and call them blessed. 

We have gone outside of the exact limits of our own village and touched 
on pioneer bits in neighboring communities, for we felt that the automobile, 
even more than the oxen team of old, has destroyed distance. While we in 
Glen Ellyn are interested in the details of our own village affairs, yet we all 
visit our neighbors, and we will be glad to know some of their pioneer high- 
lights, and recognize their spots sacred to pioneer achievement. 

We have mentioned, rather freely, modern things, so that as perfect a 
record as possible might be held for the future to look back upon. Even now, 
dates and happenings for a half dozen years back are vague in people's minds. 
Some time these chronicled facts will be of as great value as those of the 
Thirties or the Nineties. 

In conclusion we can do no better than quote from a priceless little history 
of DuPage County published in 1857 by C. W. Richmond and H. F. Vallette 
thus: "The authors propose to offer no apology for the appearance of this 
work. They are, however, conscious of many of its imperfections to which it 

would be unwise in them to draw the attention of the public And if 

anybody thinks he can write a better history of DuPage County, we can only 
say to him in the language of the good old deacon who made an unsuccessful 
attempt to preach in the absence of the regular pastor, 'If you really think you 
can do better, why try it, that's all'." 

We'd like people for their own communities to try doing it better than 
we've done this, for a pioneer can never blaze a perfect path. But a pioneer 
is extremely useful and deserves the gratitude of his successors. 

So we, in deep obeisance, offer gratitude to the plucky pioneers, the Hob- 
sons, the Churchills, the Wheatons, the Babcocks, the Dodges, the Napers, the 
Blodgetts, the McChesneys, the Stacys, all those who bravely crossed the 
trackless sloughs and woods and prairies and laid the foundations for our 
happy and flourishing county and village. 

ADA DOUGLAS HARMON 
AUDRIE ADSPAUGH CHASE 



ifUmarml (Hammtttee 



e 



To these good friends whose encouragement and substantial 
gifts have made possible this printed book — 
This page is dedicated: 



Mr. and Mrs. William H. Baethke 

Frances B. Hopper 

Mr. and Mrs. John H. Kampp 

Mr. and Mrs. Benjamin F. March 

The McChesneys 

Mr. and Mrs. M. J. Milmoe 

Mr. and Mrs. William F. Pelham 

Mr. and Mrs. Walter A. Rogers 

Marian B. Saunders 

Lillian King Shattuc 

Dr. and Mrs. Charles W. iSomerville 

Mr. and Mrs. Alfred R. Utt 



AN APPRECIATION 

To one who loves books and the mechanics of books in the making as 
does Audrie Alspaugh Chase, we know that the infinite patience and labor 
and the months of work she has put into the editing of this book have been a 
labor of love. 

Those of us looking on, who have seen and appreciated the long hours, 
deep interest and unselfish gift of time and thought devoted to the task of 
bringing it to a satisfactory completion through her splendid co-operation, 
acknowledge a debt we can never repay. 

— ANAN HARMON CHAPTER, 
Daughters of the American Revolution. 













ill 




si* .* 










- ~ ■ ,Jfei' *>* *!> &-<- 






iASB 




* ; \ ** |v« " , ' 1 * ^ - J 


11, ?.. 




v 9> * & 




§ 1 J ,| 


lilt r' If 




1 


P 


' * « ' 1 




I, 7 - ^ 


i>r ■. • 


R-"- 


^tP ;V 


Hr-'-» : 


^>S^^ r: ^'. 


"%!?»"* ' ? „, ' ^ 


^-*n 


'"■■■■, 


^ 



Ada Douglas Harmon In Her Garden 



To the author of this book 

Miss Ada Douglas Harmon 

a Tribute 

Miss Ada Douglas Harmon came to Glen Ellyn in 1892, from Champaign, 
Illinois, her childhood home. She had been a student at the University of 
Illinois under its first President, Dr. Gregory. She is a graduate of the Art 
Institute, of the Class of 1880, and also studied art for five years in Milwaukee, 
under Mrs. Alexander Mitchell. 

She early became identified with the promotion of all the cultural activities 
of the little village, and the Glen Ellyn of today owes much of its substantial 
possession of the ameliorants of life to the cumulative effect of her influence. 
Without the efforts of Miss Harmon and her cousin, Miss Kate Sheldon Treat, 
the establishment of the Free Public Library would possibly have been de- 
ferred many years. The boulder placed in Stacy Park, by the side of the 
old trail, dedicated to the memory of the pioneers of this locality, was the 
fulfilment of Miss Harmon's long dream. 

The artistic and studious bent of Miss Harmon's nature was always 
strongly evident. She produced work of much merit in pottery and in land- 
scape painting, but her outstanding accomplishment in this direction is a 
series of water-colors of the wild flowers of DuPage County. Numbering 175 
separate compositions, each painted from nature, some representing species 
now extinct, this series is a veritable pictorial catalogue of the native flora of 



this locality and constitutes a valuable reference work which should be 
permanently preserved. 

The recital of the objective fruits of Miss Harmon's rare gifts might be 
continued almost indefinitely. But now, what of the subjective character of 
this woman? Suffice to say it is congruous with her works. The act of 
having written a book such as "The Story of an Old Town" reveals the 
character of its author in a clearer light than could any words of another. 

Consider the fundamental prerequisites to the production of this book, — ■ 
a genuine interest in the background of early times in this locality; a flair 
amounting almost to genius for research by induction, (since the sources of 
local history could be discovered only by tracing backward along currents of 
life as manifest in the author's generation); a deeply sympathetic nature, 
which could recreate in its own understanding the picture of times long gone; 
endless patience, and faith which was proof against all discouragement. 
These, and a humanitarian's love for humanity, have produced this book, the 
crowning service of a long life rich in service. 

So, let us turn with Miss Harmon to "The Story of an Old Town." Let 
us translate ourselves in imagination back to other days. 

"At evening, when the blood-red crest 
Of sunset passes through the west, 

I hear the whispering host returning; 
On far-off field, by elm and oak, 
I see the light, — I smell the smoke, — 

The campfires of the past are burning." 

CHRISTINE J. WHITLOCK. 




LIST OF ILLUSTRATIONS 

Deacon Winslow Churchill's Cabin Cover Vignette 

From pen-and-ink sketch by Miss Harmon from her original 
painting of cabin, done in 1892 

Map of Danby First End Pages 

Drawn by Miss Harmon; Inked by Christine J. Whitlock 

Ada Douglas Harmon in Her Garden 12 

From photo by George M. Kendall 

Black Hawk 24 

From pen-and-ink sketch by Miss Harmon 

Bailey Hobson 24 

From old tintype, loaned by Mrs. Hally Haight 

Clarissa Hobson _ 24 

From photograph, gift of Mrs. Haight to D. A. R. 

Millstone in Hobson Mill 25 

From photo by Mr. Kendall 

Bailey Hobson Tavern 25 

From photo by Mr. Kendall 

First Frame House in the County 28 

From photo by Bessie Clute Huwen 

Deacon Winslow Churchill 29 

From portrait, gift of Mrs. Hattie Wimpress to D. A. R. 

Mercy Dodge Churchill 29 

From daguerrotype, loaned by Mrs. O. D. Dodge 

Seth Churchill's Cabin 30 

From photo by Edith McCormick 

Col. Warren's House in Warrenville _ 31 

From photo by Mrs. Huwen 

Pre-Emption House in Naperville 32 

From photo by Mr. Kendall 

Castle Inn in Fullersburg _ 34 

From photo by Mrs. Huwen 

Stacy's Tavern 36 

From photo by Mrs. Huwen 

Stage Coach 36 

From pen-and-ink sketch by Miss Harmon 

Indian Signal Hill on Naperville Road...,. 42 

From photo by Mrs. Huwen 

Map of Stacy's Corners 43 

As remembered by William Christian, drawn by Al Chase 

Mrs. J. S. Dodge _ 46 

From photo loaned by Mrs. O. D. Dodge 

Land Grant from President Polk 48 

From original, loaned by Mrs. Hattie Wimpress 

"The Pioneer" - 50 

From photo, gift of Fred W. Sargent, President of C. & N. W. R. R. 



Dutch Windmill in Mount Emblem Cemetery 52 

South Main Street Elms 53 

Walter Sabin 54 

From photograph loaned by Lucille Rhoades 

Mansion House _ 55 

Gift of Wilbur Cooper to D. A. R. 

Barnard House on Crescent Boulevard 56 

From photo by Mr. Kendall 

Warrenville Church (now Albright Studio) 57 

From photo by Mrs. Huwen 

Capt. Janes' Home 58 

From photo by Miss Harmon 

Duane Street School ( 1862 ) 61 

Gift of Hermon Cooper to D. A. R. 

Capt. Albert S. Janes 66 

From photograph loaned by Mattie Janes Coe 

Old Station at Main Street 67 

From photo, gift of Mrs. Dodge to D. A. R. 

Philo Stacy 69 

From photo, gift of Mrs. Dodge to D. A. R. 

J. S. Dodge 72 

From photograph loaned by Mrs. Dodge 

Alonzo Ackerman 72 

From photograph, gift of Mary Ackerman Sherman to D. A. R. 

Thomas E. Hill 74 

Lake Ellyn 76 

The Glen Ellyn Hotel 77 

From photo by Miss Harmon 

The Old Red Bridge 79 

From photo by Mr. Kendall 

The Churchill Twins — on their 91st birthday 79 

From photograph loaned by Mrs. Sherman 

The Five Springs 80 

From photo by Miss Harmon 

Amos Churchill 83 

From photo loaned by Mrs. B. B. Curtis 

The First Automobile in Village 85 

From photo by Mrs. S. T. Jacobs 

Main Street in 1906 .88 

From photo by Alexander Grant 

Main Street — Looking North 95 

Glen Ellyn Library 97 

From photo by Irene Michet 

Georgia Allen 109 

From photograph, gift of Rose Weidman to D. A. R. 

Glen Ellyn High School Graduates (1917) 110 

From photograph, loaned by Ruth Sanderson Phillips 

Charter Members of Anan Harmon Chapter, D. A. R 118 

Lake Ellyn 119 

From photo by H. B. Thomas 



Aeroplane View of Village 121 

North Glen Ellyn Blue Birds _ 122 

From photo by Mrs. Huwen 

New Electric Station _ _ _ 123 

New Glen Ellyn State Bank Building _ 124 

The Glen Theatre 126 

Winter Scene in Stacy Park _ _ 128 

From photo by Mrs. Huwen 

Old Erastus Ketcham House. _ 130 

From photo, gift of Mrs. B. F. Hintze to D. A. R. 

Old Ketch — The Trapper. 131 

From photograph, gift of Rose Weidman 

New First Congregational Church 132 

Chicago Great Western Station 141 

From photo by Mrs. Huwen 

New Duane Junior High 145 

Glenbard Heavyweight Team (Captain, Benny Wold) 152 

Glenbard Lightweight Team (Captain, George Apostolas) 152 

Glenbard High 154 

Forest Hill Cemetery - 159 

From photo by Edith McCormick 

First Marker Placed by Anan Harmon Chapter 162 

Crescent Boulevard Business _ 193 

From photo by Edward H. Fell 

The Village Hall 194 

From photo by Mr. Fell 

The Newest Business District at Main and Hillside 196 

From photo by Mr. Fell 

Map of DuPage County, Showing Historical Spots .Last End Pages 

Drawn by W. W. Shaw, Jr. 




% ^torg oi ^n ($& Waam— (Kim pigtt 



DU PAGE COUNTY 



jr|UPAGE County was first visited in 1829, according to records, by Bailey 



lp Hobson who rode in on horseback from North Carolina, and returned two 
C years later, in 1831 to make the first permanent settlement, installing his 
family and setting up a grist mill. Willard Scott had hunted through the 
county and discovered the DuPage River the previous year. 

The county was officially organized in 1839, so rapidly did the politically 
minded New England settlers sweep in. The township organization went into 
effect in 1850, when the county took its present shape and dimensions, which 
include an area of 345 square miles. Its population in 1850 was 9,290; its 
estimated population in 1927, was 90,000. 

From no railroads at all in 1848, there now cross the county's surface the 
tracks of the Chicago and North Western, the Chicago, Burlington and Quincy, 
the Chicago, Milwaukee and Pacific, the Illinois Central, the Atchison, Topeka 
and Santa Fe, the Chicago Great Western, the Elgin, Joliet and Eastern and 
the Chicago, Aurora and Elgin, railroads. 

Where Indian trails once threaded the grass grown prairie, maps now 
reveal the red lines of concrete highways, which carry the speeding auto- 
mobiles across the county in less time than it takes to eat a good dinner. 

THE ELEVEN NAMES OF DU PAGE COUNTY 

Illinois County, Virginia Pike County, State of Illinois 

St. Clair County, Indiana Territory Fulton County, State of Illinois 

St. Clair County, Illinois Territory Peoria County, State of Illinois 

Madison County, Illinois Territory Cook County, State of Illinois 

Crawford County, Illinois Territory DuPage County, State of Illnois 
Clark County, State of Illinois 

THE SEVEN NAMES OF GLEN ELLYN 

Babeock's Grove Danby 

DuPage Center Prospect Park 

Stacy's Corners Glen Ellyn 
Newton's Station 

THE FIVE OWNERS OF ILLINOIS 

Indians English 

Spaniards Americans 

French 

It's about as cosmopolitan a piece of territory as can be found among the 
48 states. 

There are nine townships in the county of which Milton is the center; 
the others are Addison, Bloomingdale, Downers Grove, Lisle, Naperville, York, 



18 THE STOEY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 



Winfield and Wayne. Milton Township as it is now called, is in Township 39, 
Range 10, East of the Third Principal Meridian, in the County of DuPage in the 
State of Illinois. It was known before 1848 as Deerfield Precinct. 

"Town of Milton" the old histories of DuPage County call it. In New 
England in the old days the word "town" had a different meaning from that 
attached to it today. The "town" might be ten miles square and have several 
villages in it. The "Town of Milton" then is six miles square and has two 
villages in it, Wheaton and Glen Ellyn. It was probably named Milton by 
the Churchill family, after Milton, Massachusetts, a small town of about 
10,000 inhabitants a short distance south of Boston. Here there was an old 
Churchill estate, and here many of the family settled migrating from Ply- 
mouth, Massachusetts, in the early days of the settlement. Roosevelt Road 
divides the township squarely in two parts, both villages lying directly north 
of it. When the township was organized in 1850, there were 10,000 inhabitants. 

These are the different settlements, now incorporated: 

Naperville, 1831, by Capt. John Naper. 

Wheaton, 1831, by Harry T. Wilson and Lyman Butterfield. 

Downers Grove, 1832, by Pierce Downer. 

Winfield, 1832, by Erastus and Jude Gary. 

Glen Ellyn (DuPage Center, Stacy's Corners), 1834, by Deacon Winslow 
Churchill. 

Lombard (Babcock's Grove, 1833, by Ralph and Morgan Babcock; 1834, by 
Luther Morton and Winslow Churchill, Jr.) 

Addison, 1834, by Ebenezer and Hezekiah Duncklee. 

Elmhurst (Cottage Hill), 1837, by John Glos. 

Bloomingdale, 1839. 

Itasca, 1841, by Dr. Elijah Smith. 

Hinsdale (Brush Hill), 1854, by Alfred Walker. 

West Chicago (Turner Junction), 1856, by Hon. J. B. Turner. 

Roselle, 1875, by Bernard Beck. 

Bensenville, 1899. 

Clarendon Hills, by Dr. H. F. Walker. 

Villa Park. 

Westmont. 

HAMLETS IN THE COUNTY, NOT INCORPORATED 

Ardmore 

Cass, 1834, by Dr. Bronson, Shadrac Harris and Hartell Cobb. 

Churchville. 

Cloverdale. 

Batavia Junction. 

Belmont. 

Big Woods 

Byrenville 

East Grove. 

Eola, by Frederick Stolp. 

Frontenac 

Fullersburg. 

Gary Mills, by Erastus and Jude Gary. 

Granger. 

Greggs, highest point between Lake Michigan and Mississippi River. 

High Lake. 

Ingalton. 

Lace. 

Lisle, 1832, by Luther Hatch. 



TEE STOEY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 19 



Meacham, 1833, by Silas, Lyman and Harvey Meacham. 

Munger. 

Ontarioville. 

Sag. 

South Addison. 

Schick. 

Swift. 

Warrenville, 1834, by Col. J. M. Warren. 

Warrenhurst. 

Wayne, 1843, by John Laughlin. 

Wayne Center. 

Wooddale. 

York Center, 1834, by Elisha Fish. 

Glen Ellyn's legal and geographical description is: Sections 10, 11, 12, 14, 
Township 39, North Range 10, East of the Third Principal Meridian. West 
Longitude 88 degrees. 

INDIANS 

WTVERY one knows the so-called history of this state: The story of the 

1IJ, wars and intrigues of the French, English and Americans with each 

C^ other and with the Indians, but few of us realize that behind this lies a 

period many times as long, during which nations rose and fell and people of 

many tongues swept back and forth across what is now the State of Illinois. 

"Passing now to the Indians of recent times, we find when LaSalle 
entered the state December 6, 1679, most of it was held by five tribes who 
spoke the same language and modestly called themselves Illiniwek, "The men" 
as distinguished from all the rest of the world, who did not amount to much in 
their eyes. 

"As the Illinois became weakened (by the wars with the Iroquois) there 
flowed a stream of hunting tribes from the northwest into the lands thus left 
vacant, the Potowatomi, Kickapoo, Sauk and Fox, with the Winnebago and 
Chippewa at their heels. 

"They spread over the land formerly held by the Illinois and Miami. The 
Potowatomi established themselves in northwestern Indiana and Eastern Illi- 
nois, while to the south of them the Kickapoo took up their position. The 
Potowatomi ceded their land to the government on September 26, 1833." — The 
Indian History of Illinois by Ralph Linton, University of Illinois. 

DuPage County was the abode of many prehistoric animals in the misty 
ages of the past, long before the known Indian inhabitants. The remains of 
mastodons have been found in several places. The skeleton of one was found 
near Wheaton in 1864, while at Aurora a pair of tusks, ten feet long and 
ten inches in diameter at the base, and weighing 200 pounds, were found also. 
The rich grass of the prairies and the young trees of the forest afforded an 
abundance of food for them. 

The large Indian villages of the county were at Glen Ellyn, Bonaparte, 
Naperville, Fullersburg and Sag. There was an almost continuous string of 
these villages along the Des Plaines river as far north as the village of Des 
Plaines. 

The Potowatomi had established themselves in the territory about Lake 
Michigan in Indiana and Illinois. When the first pioneers came to this section 
of the country, there was a large village or camp of these Indians, numbering 
500 or more on the east bank of the DuPage river and south of the trail, now 
called St. Charles Road. Another large village was situated on the Indian 
Army Trail, a mile north of the Five Corners. 

The Potowatomi burying grounds were placed along the DuPage river 
and its vicinity. One is said to have been on the east side of Main street, 
between Hawthorne and Maple streets. 



20 THE STOBT OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 



The DuPage river which rises in the northern part of the county has some 
peculiar features that are found in no other river of the state. It has an 
abundance of springs scattered along its banks from the Forks to the north 
state line. On the west bank, the soil is black running into prairie land; on the 
east, it is clay, timber-covered. It's a beautiful, placid little stream that ripples 
on its way, its two forks, the eastern and western, unite about four miles 
south of the southern boundary of the county, falling later into the Des 
Plaines river, this together with the Kankakee forming the Illinois river. 
This final union is as noble a piece of scenery as you'd wish to see, the two 
smaller rivers joining at the base of a magnificent bluff, known as Dresden 
Heights, to form the Illinois. This bluff is the destination of a pleasant sum- 
mer drive and is reached by going about ten miles southwest of Joliet on 
Route 7, through Channahon, then keeping a sharp lookout for a crude little 
board sign that points you east down a lane a couple of miles to one of Illinois' 
greatest outlooks. 

Buffalo also roved over the country, their tracks making a trail through 
the lush prairie grass. As they followed each other, they cut deep tracks 
into the soft loam of the prairie which were used by the Indians on their 
journeyings to and fro. There were large herds of deer ranging through 
the forests. There were foxes and wolves, prairie chickens, wild turkeys and 
quail, wild geese or brants, wild pigeons, ducks, sandhill cranes, mink and 
squirrels. The wolves proved such a menace after the coming of the settlers 
that the government offered $5.00 bounty for each wolf three months old. 

The prairies and swamps were not only thickly covered with the prairie 
grass but countless varieties of the most gorgeous wild flowers bloomed in 
the utmost profusion. 

It was the custom of the Indians to set fire to the prairie in the fall of 
each year. The grass grown very high impeded their view across the prairie; 
besides the fires drove the game into the forests where it was easily trapped 
and killed to provide the winter's supply of food. The fires extended for miles 
with nothing to stay their fury, and were a great menace to the little 
settlements along the DuPage River. 

On the Naperville road about a mile south of Wheaton, is an Indian signal 
hill, on the west side of the road. It's the highest point in the county and the 
view from its crest is magnificent. One can see in every direction the fair and 
smiling landscape spread out in its green mantle. The hill is very symmetrical, 
gradually rising from the flat plain around it. It is a bit longer from east to 
west and has a few native old oak trees on the top. Gen. Scott's army camped 
on it during the Black Hawk War. It's now called Round Grove, and it has 
been proposed that it should be acquired for a public park. 

Most of the present highways were Indian trails in the days before history. 
Joliet Road was an old Indian trail and is one of the oldest highways in the 
county. It is called Park Boulevard, after it enters Glen Ellyn. 

Father Jacques Marquette, French Jesuit missionary, was the first white 
man to set foot in the county of DuPage in 1673. 

He was born in Laon, France, in 1637, and was therefore 36 years old at 
the time he made his journey of discovery to the country that was to become 
Illinois. 

It was from St. Ignace mission, just opposite the island of Mackinac that 
Father Marquette, Joliet, the explorer, and five men set forth in two birch 
bark canoes on their journeys to brave the unknown wilderness. Their outfit 
consisted of a bag of corn meal, a string of dried beef and a blanket apiece, 
also beads and crosses for gifts to the Indians. Father Marquette's mission 
was to carry the cross and his religion to the natives and Joliet's was to 
establish trade for the French and enable them to occupy the country. 

It was mid-summer when they reached the mouth of the Aux Plaines river, 
then called "the Divine." In the course of their journey, they went through 



THE STOBY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 21 

the southeastern edge of DuPage county along the river, stopping for a few 
days at an Indian camp. 

This is our most historic site, the Sag, so called for the Saquenash Indians 
who inhabited the valleys thereabouts. It is ten miles south of the present 
village of Downers Grove, but due to the changing river course is now just 
over the line in Cook County. 

It was the seat of an Indian village and on the hill where the little 
Catholic Church of St. James of the Sag Bridge now stands, there was an 
old Indian burying ground. Also later there was a fort on the hill, a drawing 
of which may be seen at the Chicago Historical Society. 

The little cnurch is near the site of Marquette's mission, and it is sur- 
rounded by a burying ground like the churches of New England. The present 
cemetery was established in 1849, but there are tombs bearing the date of 1819 
and 1849. These were undoubtedly bodies that had been brought there for 
burial. The first church and school were in a log cabin near the point of the 
hill in 1849. 

Chief Waubunsie and his tribe lived on the site of Downers Grove previous 
to the coming of Pierce Downer in 1832. The hunting ground between here 
and the Sag was called Ausagaunaskee, meaning "The tall grass valley." 
Indian trails quite plainly marked are to be seen still in wooded portions of 
this location. 

Marquette discovered the Mississippi on this journey, and Chicago, also, 
for he and Joliet were the first white men to enter the Chicago river and the 
first white men to cross the Chicago Portage, from the Aux Plaines river to 
the South Branch of the Chicago river, escorted by their Indian guides. This 
Portage was older than history and had been used by Indians for untold ages. 

Marquette's route was up the Illinois, up the Aux Plaines, up a short 
creek that connected Mud Lake and then the portage of a mile and a half to 
the west fork of the south branch of the Chicago river, then on to Lake 
Michigan. This route was used until 1836 by the fur traders, Indians and 
early frontiersmen. 

A year later, Marquette died, victim of the hardships endured on his two 
voyages. He was 37 years old; what a marvelous achievement, what self 
denial, what energetic determination, what religious zeal, what lasting fame 
was his, for which he paid with his life! 

From 1673 to 1800, a stretch of 127 years, until the time of DuPage, the 
fur trader, no white man entered the county. For over a hundred and fifty 
years it had awaited the coming of the pioneer; through summer storm and 
sunshine, through the blasts of winter when the snow king reigned, it had 
bided the advent of the white man; no voice but that of the Indian broke its 
eternal silence; the wild beast roved through the forests and across the 
prairies that were soon to awaken to the thrill of a new race and a new 
life on its virgin soil. 

And now the stage is set for the coming of the pioneer. 

1800 DuPage (Du Pazhe, original French) French trapper, hunter and fur 
trader, following the trail blazed in 1673-4 by Marquette and Joliet, 
settled at the mouth of the DuPage river, at the junction of the forks, a 
few miles south of Naperville's present site. He built a trading post, 
some log houses enclosed in a stockade. He was an agent for the 
American Fur Co., of St. Louis, and had under him a band of French- 
Canadian half breeds who carried out the furs in pack loads on their 
backs, or if it was the spring of the year and the Aux Plaines river in 
flood, in canoes to the Indian camp on the site of Chicago. From here 
they were carried in bateaux to Mackinac and later shipped to Montreal 
and then to Europe. The furs, pelts from bear, deer, fox, wolf, coyote, 
beaver, mink, musk-rat and buffaloes, were brought by the Potowatomi 
and Kickapoo Indians to trade for powder, shot, flints, bright calicoes. 



22 TEE STOBY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 



1800 beads and other trinkets. They pitched their tepees on the opposite side 
of the river from the trading post, where the old men, squaws and 
papooses remained, while the warriors crossed the river in their canoes 
to dicker with DuPage. 

Like many Frenchmen of the period DuPage probably had a squaw for 
his wife and he had great influence over the Indians. His dress was of 
fringed buckskin. Tanned and bare-headed, his hair long and black, he 
looked like an Indian when speaking their language fluently. After the 
trading was ended, there was always a great pow-wow, of dancing and 
feasting. 

DuPage, though little is known of him, was of enough importance to 
leave his name to the county and the river. 

1803 Fort Dearborn erected. Since this date, Chicago has been a permanent 
residence of American pioneers and citizens. For years it was a fur 
trading station. 

1812 War of 1812. Massacre of officers, women and soldiers from Fort 
Dearborn, near Eighteenth Street and Lake Michigan. Six soldiers of 
this war are buried in Forest Hill Cemetery. 

1818 December 3. Illinois admitted to the Union. 

1820 The Potowatomies numbered 3,400. At that time the government paid 
them yearly $5,700. 

1821 Chicago and its environs were surveyed in government sections. 

1826 Marc or Mark Beaubien, born in Detroit in 1800, one of the most 
picturesque figures in pioneerdom, came to Chicago. In 1828 he bought 
a log cabin from James Kinzie and in 1830 built a frame addition, the 
first frame house in Chicago. He conducted a tavern in it called the 
"Sauganash," the Indian name for a Billy Caldwell, a great friend of 
the whites. 

This tavern stood on the southeast corner of Lake and Market streets, 
and the site was marked in 1926 by the D. A. R. with a tablet. This was 
the first regularly licensed tavern in Chicago, its owner also conducted 
a general store and ran a ferry across the river at Wolf Point. The 
story goes that Mr. Beaubien was so genial a host that he oftentimes 
neglected the ferry, at which the outraged citizens protested and finally 
the county commissioners passed an act requiring the ferry to be kept 
running from daylight to dark. When business shifted, the Sauganash 
was taken over by Messrs. Isherwood and McKenzie, Chicago's first 
theatrical managers, who made the tap room into an auditorium seating 
300 and in October, 1837, gave the first theatrical performance. 

Mark Beaubien was the father of twenty- three children, a son Frank 
G. Beaubien, lives now in Austin. Beaubien Court is named for the 
family. 

1829 Bailey Hobson (born 1798-1850), son of John H. and Charlotte E. Hobson, 
came first into DuPage County on horseback from North Carolina. Two 
years later (1831) he returned bringing his family, his wife, Clarissa 
(born 1804-1884). The Hobson children were all educated in eastern 
colleges and convents, and some were sent to Europe. Hally Haight, 
of Naperville, said Bailey Hobson's mother was a decendent of a Seminole 
Indian chief. Anan Harmon Chapter, D. A. R., possesses the kerchief 
Bailey Hobson wore around his neck when he rode into the county, the 
gift of Mrs. Haight. 

Chicago was surveyed and platted into village lots. 

1830 Stephen J. Scott from Maryland and his son, Willard, discovered the 
DuPage River near Plainfield while on a hunting trip. He ascended it 
as far as the Forks. Here he settled, built a comfortable log house, and 
soon other families settled nearby. 



TEE STOBY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 23 

1830 Willard Scott lived with the Indians, hunted with them, and became 
skilled in their woodcraft. He was the third chief of the Potowatomi 
and was given the title of "White Eagle" by them. 

"The title 'White Eagle' originated in this fashion. Mr. David McKee, 
an acquaintance of Mr. Scott, had in his deal with the Indians received 
a buckskin coat from one of them as a pledge for certain goods sold to 
him. A time at which the coat was to be redeemed was fixed, but when 
it arrived the Indian did not make his appearance and the coat, therefore, 
became the property of Mr. McKee. It was subsequently sold to Mr. 
Scott. 

"Several months after, Mr. McKee, having occasion to visit an Indian 
settlement near Racine, for the purpose of trading with them, Mr. Scott 
accompanied him. Among the Indians in the settlement they found the 
one from whom Mr. Scott had received the coat. Seeing the article in 
Mr. Scott's possession, he instantly demanded that it should be given up. 

"He was told he could have it by paying the sum for which it was left 
in pledge, but this he refused to do, at the same time persisting in his 
demand for an unconditional surrender of the garment. Upon receiving 
a peremptory refusal, he threatened to take it by force. This consider- 
ably aroused the ire of Mr. Scott who told him that if he wanted the coat, 
he might try the expediency of taking it from him. Upon this, the Indian 
left them, threatening him with great vengeance and promising to return 
immediately with a sufficient force to take the coat from his back. 

"He soon returned, accompanied by some fifty or sixty of his com- 
panions, all fully armed and painted in the most barbarous manner. 
Their appearance was enough to terrify any one who was unaccustomed 
to the strategems to which Indians resort to carry their ends. As they 
approached, Scott and MeKee gathered up their arms and stood in a 
defensive attitude, confronting the whole party. 

"The Indian who claimed the coat advanced and demanded it, threat- 
ening their destruction if again refused. Mr. Scott boldly informed him 
that the coat was on his back and if he wanted it, he must take it off. In 
the meantime a young Indian chief who was acquainted with the cir- 
cumstances of the case, came and took a position with them, saying 
he would stand by them in any emergency. The Indians then set up a 
most unearthly howling and continued for some time to dance around 
them, flourishing their tomahawks and trying to intimidate them with 
the most awful threats and grimaces. At last, finding their efforts to 
obtain the coat unavailing, they withdrew, leaving Scott and McKee in 
full possession of the field. From that day afterward, they always ad- 
dressed Mr. Scott as 'White Eagle', a title which belonged to none but 
the bravest." — History of DuPage County, by C. W. Richmond and 
H. F. Vallette. 

There is no doubt that Willard Scott saved the settlers of DuPage 
County from massacre by the Indians and their property from destruction 
through his friendship with the Indians during the Black Hawk War. 

Elijah D. Harmon, ancestral relative of Miss Ada Douglas Harmon, 
was the only surgeon at Fort Dearborn; for a while, the only physician 
in Chicago. He was born in Bennington, Vermont, in 1782, and was an 
assistant surgeon in McDonough's fleet in the battle of Plattsburg. 

Harmon Court (now Eighth street, Chicago) was named for this 
surgeon. 

1830-32 

Black Hawk, who is the most famous Indian of Illinois history, often 
passed with his tribes of Saux and Foxes through the vicinity of Glen 
Ellyn over the Indian Army Trail which led from the Indian village at 
Chicago to the great Winnebago village where Beloit, Wisconsin, now 
stands. This trail received its name and much of its fame from the 
fact that during the Black Hawk War, Gen. Scott led his army over it. 
Two of his soldiers are buried on the Bartlett farm near the trail. 



24 



TEE STOEY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 




1830-32 

The trail is one mile north of the Five Corners and is now called 
Addison Road as it passes through that village. It runs from Addison, 
now, to a short cross-road south of Wayne. 

Black Hawk was not a chief by birth but acquired the 
title by bravery and wisdom. He was born at Sauken- 
auk on the Rock River, the Indian village that was 
burned by George Rogers Clarke. By birth he was a 
Potowatomi but was brought up by the Saux. He was 
a handsome figure, 6 feet tall and of kingly bearing. 
At the time of his war he was 48, though he looked 
much older, because of the many hardships he had 
endured. 

The Black Hawk War was the chief's effort to rally all the Western 
Indians into a confederation to resist the encroachments of the whites, 
but only the restless Saux (Sacs) and Foxes followed him. He had his 
followers on the north side of the Rock River about a mile before it 
reaches the Mississippi on a high bluff since known as Black Hawk's 
Watch Tower. Troops were called out, and the Indians retreated up the 
river to a point north of Dixon, where they defeated the soldiers and 
then attacked the settlements along the river. 

After Black Hawk was captured, and he was taken through the east 
as a captive, where he created a great sensation, he was sent back to 
his own country beyond the Mississippi, where he was restored to his 
tribe as chief, subordinate to Keokuk, and where he lies buried near the 
present village of Iowaville, Wapello County, Iowa. 

On the Rock River, a little north of Oregon, towering above a lofty 
bluff, looms the likeness of Black Hawk, sentinel over the valley, as 
immortalized by Lorado Taft in a stately statue. 

1831 Bailey Hobson was the first white settler on the soil of DuPage County. 





Bailey Hobson 



Clarissa Hobson 



He and Harry Boardman built a mill two miles south of Naperville on 
the Joliet Road, the first to be built in the northern part of the state. 



TEE STOBY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 



25 




Millstone in Bailey Hobson's Grist Mill 

1381 There was no grist mill north of it, not even at Galena, which at that 
time was a very important city. 

This mill was known far and wide. Men with their teams and loaded 
wagons were obliged to wait several days for their turn at the mill to get 
their grain ground. In order to accommodate them, Bailey Hobson built 
the tavern just east of the mill across the river on Joliet Road. The 
barn was also built especially for housing the loads of grain while 
waiting their turn. 

Bailey Hobson's first home was a log cabin built back of where the 
tavern now stands near the spring. Daniel M. Green ran the mill on 
shares during the years 1836-37. The cash receipts for meal were over 
$4,000 a year. 




Hobson Tavern 



26 TEE STOBY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLE N ELLYN 

1831 John Hobson, son of Bailey Hobson, who was a great hunter, built the 
little stone house on Joliet Road (in 1844) a short distance from the site 
of the mill. 

Bailey Hobson also built a saw mill near the other mill to accommodate 
the early settlers who were building their homes. The foundations of 
the mills, the mill race and the dam can still be plainly seen, also near 
the bridge the foundation of the miller's log cabin. 

The mill was moved in 1894 across the road onto the Andrew Wehrli 
farm. It is very interesting to see the huge wooden beams put together 
with wooden pegs. These were sawn in the mill. Two sets of the mill- 
stones are in the foundation of this barn. The other set, the D. A. ,R. 
hope to use to mark the site, as they are still in the ruins of the mill. 
The Wehrli farm is part of the old Hobson homestead. 

The millstones were imported. 

Two Gary brothers, Jude, twenty-one years old, Erastus, and their 
sister, Orlinda, came from their birthplace, Putnam, Connecticut, and 
took up a claim at Big Woods near Warrenville, where they built the 
saw mill on the DuPage River, and sawed most of the lumber that went 
into the buildings in the county. 

Jude, who had joined the Methodist church when he was eleven, was 
the circuit riding preacher, the first preacher in the Five Corners 
meeting house, and no matter how busy he was, he always had time for 
religious duties. 

Erastus was the father of the late Elbert Gary, head of the steel 
company, who was born on the homestead, and who passed away in the 
summer of 1927, his remains lying in the Gary Mausoleum in Wheaton 
cemetery. 

First school house in the county at Naperville, first teacher Leister 
Peet. 

Wheaton Settlement begun by Harvey T. Wilson and Lyman Butter- 
field. Mr. Babcock, Thomas Brown and Jos. Chadwick soon followed. 

Capt. Joseph Naper came in the winter from Ohio. His family and 
that of his brother, John, came in July. He conducted a flourishing 
trading post, dealing with settlers and Indians. 

1832 Downers Grove settled by Pierce Downer who emigrated from Jefferson 
County, New York. 

Lisle settled by Luther Hatch on farm near present site of the railroad 
station. 

Frederick A. Myers, father of four sons who sleep in Forest Hill 
Cemetery, Frederick A., Edward R., William Henry and Charles, all 
soldiers in the Civil War, was a soldier at Fort Dearborn, 1832-33. Pre- 
viously he had been a year at Fort Niagara. After Fort Dearborn, he 
was stationed at the fort on Mackinac Island. He was a man of much 
learning for those days, speaking seven languages. In the journal he 
kept at Fort Dearborn, there is a record of events from January 1, 1832, 
to February 14, 1834. This journal is now in the possession of the 
Chicago Historical Society, loaned by Mrs. Fred Myers of Glen Ellyn. 
It is said he married a woman of Indian descent after leaving the army. 
He was a fur trader among the Indians (Ojibwa) for many years. He 
translated the Ojibwa language, making a dictionary with the Ojibwa 
words and their English equivalents. His home in the east must have 
been at Youngstown, New York, for he says he got leave to attend his 
father's funeral, May 8, 1832, at that place. He bought much property 
in Chicago, once owning the site of the court house. He died in Chicago 
and was buried in the old cemetery on the shore of the lake, now 
Lincoln Park. His sister, Mrs. Gene Snyder, was born on board a vessel 
at Chicago, said to be the first white child born in Chicago. 

1833 Two brothers, Ralph and Morgan Babcock, took up claims on site of 
Lombard and including the land on the DuPage River. The Five Corners 
was first called Babcock's Grove after them, also it was the first name of 
Lombard. 



TEE STORY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 27 

1833 Fort Payne built at Naper's settlement during the Black Hawk War, 
named for Capt. Payne who was sent there by Gen. Atkenson at Ottawa 
with 50 men to build it. It had 2 block houses surrounded by pickets on 
the river, and now included in the college campus. 

August 10. Chicago was incorporated as a village. 

September. A great council of the Indians was convened at the village 
of Chicago. After the close of the Black Hawk War it was necessary 
that the Indian title to Northern Illinois land should be speedily ex- 
tinguished. Many immigrants were coming in for the land. So the 
council was called. It consisted of three tribes, the Chippewas, the 
Ottawas and the Potowatomi of Illinois, and was the last great council 
in Northern Illinois. 

Across the river from Fort Dearborn, the council-fire was lighted. The 
Indians were encamped about the village, on the level prairie, on the 
sandy beach of the lake; companies of old warriors sat about, smoking 
and palavering, the chiefs strode about in their picturesque war cos- 
tumes; squaws and papooses were everywhere; here a little band was 
just arriving accompanied by wolfish dogs, there were groups of hobbled 
horses; the tepees covered with mats and gay blankets were surmounted 
by poles on which meat had been left to dry. 

Fort Dearborn within its palisades, with its slender garrison and little 
group of officers, looked down upon the scene. The quarters were too 
small to house the government commissioners, so a row of plank huts 
had been built on the north side of the river. 

Days passed. It was in vain that the signal gun from the fort gave 
notice of an assembly of the chiefs at a council-fire. Always there was 
some excuse for delay, but finally on September 21, the chiefs gathered 
under a spacious open shed until there were about thirty at the lower 
end of the enclosure, while the commissioners, interpreters and others 
were at the upper. It was late afternoon, the light of the setting sun 
streaming in under the low roof of the council house fell on the figures 
of the commissioners, while the Indian chiefs sat in shadow. 

So the palaver began and lasted five days. On September 26, it was 
concluded, the Indians giving up their homes and lands forever. The 
three tribes ceded to the United States the entire remainder of their 
lands in Illinois that had not been sold already. They received 5,000,000 
acres of land on the east bank of the Missouri River and hundreds of 
thousands of dollars beside, to be used for building mills, buying farming 
tools, for the education of their children and for their support. 

The Potowatomi were the last tribe to take their departure from 
Illinois, lingering around Chicago until 1836, when they were removed by 
Col. J. B. T. Russell, eventually to Oklahoma where many of them have 
become wealthy because of oil found on their land. DuPage was one of 
the ten counties included in this treaty. 

St. Charles settled by Evan Shelby, of Indiana, and Ira Minard. The 
village was first called Charleston but was changed to St. Charles it is 
said, because so many of the Teutonic settlers had difficulty pronouncing 
the word. 

Silas, Lyman and Harvey Meacham, from New York, settled in the 
township of Bloomingdale in March, known to the Indians as Penneack 
Grove, named for a root found in it resembling the potato. The Meacham 
brothers during their first year built a log house for each of their 
families, broke and planted forty acres of prairie, and fenced it in to 
protect it from their stock which grazed on the open fields. Meacham's 
Grove, 1,200 acres of fine timber, lay in this town. 

The trail made by Gen. Scott's army, in going from Fort Dearborn to 
the Mississippi is about one and one half miles south of the grove and 
was still visible when the first settlers came. The settlement was first 
known as Meacham's Grove, then when it was platted, the name became 



28 



THE STOEY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 



1833 Blooming-dale a few years later, and the "Meacham" was transferred to 
the little settlement a mile and a half northeast, where it survived until 
the Shriners translated it into the mystic Medinah in 1926. 




First Frame House in the County 



1833 George Martin came to Naperville from Scotland and built the first 
frame house in the county. It is just south of Naperville on Ogden. It 
is made of black walnut, with beams in the ceilings, and the floors of 
that wood. In 1883, Mr. Martin built a fine brick mansion near the first 
house, on an eminence overlooking Naperville, which you see as you drive 
to Aurora. It's filled with wonderful antiques, many of them from 
Scotland. The property has been continuously in the family since 1833. 
George Martin, fourth of that name, was born in Edinburgh, Scotland, 
November 29, 1826, died at Naperville, July 15, 1885. The house is now 
occupied by his son and wife. 

First church in county built in Lisle Township at Naperville. With 
one exception, it is the oldest Congregational church organized in the 
state — the first one organized at Mendon in February, 1833, and this one 
July 13, 1833. Rev. Jonathan Porter and Rev. N. C. Clark, missionaries 
for DuPage county with Rev. C. W. Babbitt of Tazewell County, founded 
the church. Rev. Jeremiah Porter was pastor 1836-40. Rev. Hope Brown 
(ancestor of Mrs. M. M. Moore) was pastor for eleven years. 

1833 Frederick Stolp, 52 years of age, walked all the way from New York 
state to Illinois, prospecting for a home for his large family. He chose 
land in Naperville township, near the present Eola, as he found clay 
there suitable for making bricks. His first house was of logs, but his 
permanent home was of bricks made from his own place, as also were 
several neighboring farmhouses and some buildings in Aurora. 

He acquired sufficient land so that each of his seven sons had a farm 
in DuPage County. After selecting his claim, he walked back to Pultney- 
ville, N. Y., and in 1834 returned with his family, his wife and seven 
sons and two daughters. His daughter, Catherine, her husband, David 
Crane, and their child, Frederick, came too. 

It was this Frederick Stolp who in 1842 bought an island in the Fox 
River in Aurora from the government for $12.72, known as Stolp's Island. 
Later he sold tne island to his nephew, Joseph Stolp, who at an early day 
built a large woolen mill there, of bricks made at his uncle Frederick's 
farm "east of the Big Woods." This island now contains the city hall, 
the post office, library, two hotels and other business property. 

Frederick Stolp died in 1873 at the age of 92 years. 

1834 First white settler at Babcock's Grove (Five Corners) Deacon Winslow 
Churchill from New York who came to Chicago in the schooner La 
Grange with his wife, Mercy Dodge Churchill and eleven children, all of 
the family but one son. Three of the sons also had their families with 
them. 



TEE STOBT OF AN OLD TOWN—GLEN ELLYN 



29 





Deacon Churchill 



Mercy Dodge Churchill 



1834 Deacon Churchill built the first log cabin. It had one large room, a 
bedroom, a leanto, a loft where the boys slept, climbing up a rude ladder. 
The large room had a fireplace where the cooking was done, and two 
small windows and an outside door facing south. The cabin overlooked 
a Potowatomi Indian village of 500. It stood on a high hill just east of 
the bridge over the DuPage River on the north side of Lake Street now 
St. Charles Road. It was still standing in the '90s but has since been 
torn down and the hill excavated for gravel. 

Wild game was plentiful. Droves of wolves howled around the little 
settlement. The stock was kept in a little leanto and all was enclosed 
by a stockade, formed by large trees cut and placed close together. 

Deacon Churchill took up a claim eight years before the land was 
surveyed paying the government $1.25 an acre. He made the first roads, 
helped build the first school house, conducted the first religious meeting, 
organized the first Sabbath School. He was a Methodist. Many of his 
descendents are still living here in Glen Ellyn, among them Mrs. B. B. 
Curtis, Mrs. Joseph Clark, Mrs. Hattie Wimpress, W. H. Churchill. 

Among the settlers coming into Bloomingdale this year were: Harry 
Woodworth, Noah Stevens, David Bangs, Elias Maynard, Major Skinner 
and Daniel Noble. 

Addison begun by Ebenezer and Hezekiah Duncklee, from Hillsborough, 
New Hampshire, and Mason Smith from Potsdam, New York. They took 
up claims which they marked, the timber claims by marking the trees, 
and the prairie claims by plowing a furrow entirely around each one. 
Three barrels of frozen apples were planted by Mr. Duncklee in 1836, 
from which nearly all the region was supplied with fruit trees. 

Salt Creek received its name from the fact that a team loaded with 
salt became stalled while fording it, and the driver lightened his load 
by rolling several barrels into the water. 

Augustus Ingalls came from Belchertown, Massachusetts, to Addison 
Township. He was born in 1805 and died in 1889. 



30 TEE STOBY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 



1834 York township started by Elisha Fish in the spring. The township 
contained thirty-six square miles and later developed three towns, York 
Center, Cottage Hill (later Elmhurst) and Babcock's Grove (later Lom- 
bard). Other settlers coming in the next two or three years were: 
Henry Reader, Luther Morton, Benjamin Fuller, Nicholas Torode; in 
1836, John Talmadge, David Talmadge, Jesse Atwater and Edward Eld- 
ridge joined the community. Many of the settlers came from New 
York, so when they were called upon to name their precinct, "York" was 
their natural selection. 

Seth Churchill, Deacon Churchill's oldest son, built a log cabin one- 
half mile east of the DuPage River on St. Charles Road, which is still 
standing, said to be the oldest house in the county. It was once used 
for a tavern, also for school, church and Sunday School purposes as 
well as a dwelling. 



M9| 




f * -%■ V S**w, 


£ v ' 



Seth Churchill's Cabin 

John Davis Ackerman (born in New York, October 24, 1799, died in 
1859) made a squatter claim which he afterwards purchased. He built 
a log cabin on the south side of the Indian trail. There were but two 
houses between his log cabin and Chicago, which was then a mere vil- 
lage of a few log cabins. Later, he built a farm house just east of the 
Christian home on the north side of St. Charles Road. The first school 
house of the settlement was in this house, before the log school house 
was ready. His wife was Lurania Churchill, one of the twin daughters 
of Deacon Winslow Churchill. He was an expert sportsman, often mak- 
ing $18 a day trapping. Mrs. Ackerman had a loom and wove the cloth 
and blankets used by the family. She lived until March 31, 1893, passing 
away a month after celebrating her 91st birthday with her twin sister, 
Mrs. Christian. 

First house built by Col. Warren of Warrenville, small white house 
still standing on Warrenville's main north and south street, now occupied 
by Mrs. Mary Lamb, 93 years old, and her daughter. Only three 
families have ever lived in this house, no child has ever been born in it 
and only two deaths have occurred in it. 

Col. J. M. Warren staked out his claim on the DuPage, made a dam 
and built a mill. The community developed a post office, a school house 
a trading center and a hotel. Says Harry Beardsley: "So many team- 
sters, farmers, mechanics visited the mills that the big frame bunk-house 
Col. Warren had built was inadequate and a hotel was constructed. Its 
attractive location, Col. Warren's hospitality and the fact that it had a 
large ballroom made it a popular resort. It was not a mere tavern but 



TEE STOBY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 



31 







^^^^ 






i $JII§I 














Ipfe v 


-■>' ; ■ 




■^^s 




£*^^ : 


•■ ■>>•' 




:v ^iL ^» 


K 


|4^P' : 


■ ^ 




■>i ^^yli 


»&**.* 








■mi 










i*W 


^^ 








• *iJskf- ■ 




lil^s^ 






: ; .|Lj^^: ■■■.•'■ 






;< iiii 




1?^^ 






^tlt^ 






p9 


|l|f|l& 


-- 8 








" x * ? 5^^ 







Col. Warren's House 

1834 a hotel, built and furnished on a little better scale than was customary, 
and boasting of the largest and finest ballroom in the region. Here, it 
is related, many of Chicago's pioneer citizens, including Long John 
Wentworth, first learned to dance." The old hotel still stands, now a 
private home on the north side of the road, just east of the bridge 
crossing the river. 

This and other taverns at central points between Chicago and the Fox 
River, figured in a series of dancing parties during the winter, according 
to Long John Wentworth who thus described the procedure: "We used 
to have much more snow then than we do now, and large sleighloads of 
people would be fitted out from the city to meet the young people from 
various parts of the country . . . The custom at these parties was to 
leave Chicago at about four o'clock in the afternoon, take supper on 
the way out and engage breakfast for the morning, and after dancing 
all night, get back to the city about nine or ten o'clock." 

Jean B. Beaubien, brother of Mark, brought the first carriage to 
Chicago. He also brought the first piano. His military talents were 
recognized by the governor of Illinois so that in 1855 he was commis- 
sioned brigadier general. 

The Militia of Cook and DuPage Counties was organized at a tavern 
owned by Barney H. Langton, near Lyons on the Des Plaines River. The 
tavern was called or is now Riverside and was kept by Stephen J. Scott. 
Jean Beaubien was elected colonel at this meeting. 



A log schoolhouse was built near the station at Lisle, it was also used 
as a church. Rev. Jeremiah Porter, that venerable old pioneer and cir- 
cuit rider, preached occasionally in it. 

Wayne settled. First family that of John Laughlin. Among other 
settlers that year were: Capt. W. Hammond, R. V. Benjamin, Ezra 
Gilbert, J. V. King, W. Farnsworth, James Davis, Wm. Guild, Joseph 
McMillen, Isaac Nash, Daniel Dunham and Ira Albro. 



32 



THE STOEY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 




Pre-Emption House 



1834 Pre-Emption House, built by George Laird at Naper's Settlement 
(Naperville) still standing, corner of Water and Main Streets, was built 
for a tavern and was so conducted until just within the last few years, 
being occupied the last forty years, until his death in 1927, by S. F. 
Hiltenbrand. 

The house is unchanged except for the addition of a north wing which 
doesn't show in the picture, and new window panes which replaced the 
tiny old ones. All the framework is of oak, hewn out of timber on the 
spot and the clapboards are of black walnut. The shingles are the 
original hand-made ones. 

The house was named and dedicated by the following lines spoken 
from the ridgepole of the frame when finished: 

"This place was once a wilderness of savages and owls 
Where the red man once roamed and the prairie wolf howled 
This house now erected, the place to adorn 
To shelter the living and babes yet unborn; 
We'll call it Pre-emption; a law that's complete, 
For the use of George Laird who says he will treat." 
Its important niche is evidenced by these words of an old settler: "It 
was the biggest thing between Chicago and the Mississippi. My, the 
dances we used to have there! The landlord would clear out the dining 
room and give us full swing. Everybody danced in those days. The 
drivers would come in from their wagons, haul off their big boots and 
dance in their stocking feet. Dance all night!" 

Pre-emption: the act or right of purchasing before others. Specifi- 
cally, the right of an actual settler upon public lands (particularly those 
of the United States) to purchase a certain portion at a fixed price in 
preference to all other applicants. — Webster's Dictionary. 

1835 Pioneers coming this year were Moses Stacy, Jabez Seymour Dodge, 
A. S. Janes and James McChesney, also Milo Meacham, Horace Barnes, 
Royal Walker and F. D. Abbott. 

This part of Babcock's Grove settlement now called DuPage Center. 

Israel P. Blodgett, one of first settlers of Downers Grove, emigrated 
from Massachusetts. 



TEE S TOBY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 33 

1835 First death at Babcock's Grove was that of Amanda Churchill, daugh- 
ter of Deacon Winslow Churchill. Hers was the first funeral held in the 
log cabin schoolhouse, the sermon preached by Rev. Pillsbury. She 
was buried on private grounds, (the Busch farm) but later the remains 
were removed to Forest Hill cemetery. The stone over her grave still 
stands, hoary with age. The inscription reads: 

In Memory 

of Amanda 

Daughter of Deacon Winslow Churchill 

and Mercy Dodge Churchill 

Who departed this life, June 12 A. D. 1835, 

aged 21 years, 1 month and 8 days. 

Friend, physician, comforter 

This is the body and the clay 

This grave can ne'er claim her here 

When Jesus calls thee to his home. 

Moses Stacy, coming around the lakes from New York in a sailing 
vessel, reached DuPage Center and built his log cabin. 

The cabin was fourteen by sixteen feet in size, with a puncheon floor 
and a roof of split logs, the lower layers of which were channeled so as to 
catch the drainage from the upper ones. Later it was moved up just 
west of the tavern and used to house the guests. Mr. Stacy took up the 
land from the government paying $1.25 an acre. The settlement became 
known as Stacy's Corners. 

1836 The first school house was built in what is now the Township of Milton, 
then called Deerfield Precinct. This was several years before the Town- 
ship organization. 

The school was built on the north side of the hill, a quarter of a mile 
south of Forest Hill Cemetery on Riford Road. 

It was surrounded by trees and vines, with an abundance of wild 
flowers and fruits near by. The building was of logs, donated by the 
people. It was twenty feet long and fifteen feet wide. The roof was 
made of shakes, a rough shingle, four feet long and eight inches wide. 
For flooring, puncheons were used, the slabs split from logs, flat side up. 
The seats were benches made of the same rude materials. Sawed lumber 
could not be had at this time without great trouble and expense. 

There were two windows, with six small panes of glass in each; a 
broad old-fashioned fireplace occupied one end of the room. Children 
came to school a distance of two or three miles. 

Quill pens were used exclusively then, though steel pens had been in- 
vented in 1803, but were not much used until 1839, and it was the 
teacher's duty to prepare and repair them for the children. 

The first teacher was Miss Maria Dudley, sister of Judge Dudley of 
Naperville. Among others who taught here were Miss Harriet Janes, 
sister of Judge Janes, Mr. Babcock, one of the brothers from whom the 
grove received its name; Mr. Enor, John Vallette, and Horace Barnes. 

This being the only public building of its kind in the vicinity, it was 
used for various purposes. In the long winter evenings, you would find 
men, women and children gathered together from all directions to par- 
ticipate in spelling matches, debates and so on. The building was occa- 
sionally used as a place of worship. When a minister failed to come, 
some of the people read Dr. Watts' sermons. 

St. Charles Road (then Lake Street) leveled and graded. 

The land between Chicago and Oak Ridge (now Oak Park) was all 
marsh and sloughs. In the spring, after the rains, it was exceedingly 
difficult to flounder through the mud and water. The Aux Plaines River 
(now the Des Plaines) had to be forded and when it was swollen by 



34 



TEE STORY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 



1836 freshets, travelers were sometimes held up several days or a week. It 
often took a week to go from Stacy's Corners to Chicago (and now we 
complain because all our trains don't do it in forty minutes.) 

In 1835 Father Walker, a Methodist missionary among the Indians, 
bought some land on both sides of the Aux Plaines. He used to ferry 
people, horses and vehicles across by using two Indian canoes on which 
he built a rude platform. Later he built a rough bridge 200 feet long. 
When the road to Galena was built by the government it passed through 
Father Walker's land. 

In order to get through the sloughs at all, trunks of trees were laid 
in the soft mud and allowed to settle, creating the comfortless corduroy 
roads which were characteristic of all the main traveled roads into 
Chicago. 

St. Charles led in the effort to improve the roads between itself and the 
river, the village subscribing $2,000 to lay out and build a road from that 
place over the historic old Indian trail to the Aux Plaines. During this 
summer, a force of men with oxen and plows were at work, grading, 
leveling, filling in the low places and making ditches along the sides to 
carry off the surface water. The Indian trail thus became St. Charles 
Road. 

Galena and Chicago Union Railroad given a special charter.. 

Israel Blodgett and Samuel Curtis bought part of Pierce Downer's 
claim and hitched six oxen to a log, dragging it back and forth for 
several days till the prairie in its way was reduced to the semblance of 
a trail. This they christened "Maple Avenue" and later planted with 
sugar maple trees, now more than ninety years old which give special 
dignity to the old street in Downers Grove. 

Israel Blodgett made the first plow used in the county, and built the 
first blacksmith shop. 

The chief occupation of the pioneers was farming, including sheep 
raising, the wool of the flocks being spun into yarn to make clothing. 
Some of the amusements of the period were quilting parties and carpet 
rag sewings when the women spent the day with their neighbors who 
were in need of assistance. There were cutting bees when the young 
folks had a frolic cutting and paring apples and pumpkins which were 
to be dried for the winter's use. The men took part in corn huskings, 
wood chopping, rail splitting, house and barn raisings. Fires were of 
frequent occurrence. 




Castle Inn 



Castle Inn, Fullersburg (just across the bridge east of Hinsdale on 
Ogden Ave. and still standing) built by Oriente Grant. Besides being the 



THE STOBY OF AN OLD TO WN— GLEN ELLYN 35 

1836 birthplace of Lioie Filler, the famous dancer, it was a station of the 
Underground Railway before and during the Civil War. While the Plank 
Road flourished, Barto Van Velzer kept a toll gate just below Castle Inn 
on Ogden or the Plank Road. 

Fullersburg, on Salt Creek, just north of Hinsdale (and now annexed 
to it) declined the railroad by refusing to accept the money offered by it 
for its right of way when it finally went through the region, so it went 
a trifle southward, created Hinsdale and left Fullersburg to run its 
famous cider mill, and to flourish as best it could on the defunct plank 
road, even though it were the birthplace of Loie Fuller, the dancer, and 
held a tavern where Lincoln and Douglas once stopped over night. 

July 4th, the citizens of Meacham's Grove (Bloomingdale) yoked oxen 
to a huge log and drove them west half way to Elgin, where they were 
met by Elgin citizens with their log and oxen, thus marking out the main 
road between Chicago and the Galena lead mines, now Lake Street or 
automobilely speaking, Route 5. 

"In Warrenville the Baptists, Presbyterians and Methodists built a 
union church and worshipped in the same building in brotherly love and 
unity." — Atlas. 

Peter B. Curtis, from New York, came to the county and bought land 
for $1.25 an acre from the government. The farm descended to his son, 
Alonzo, and continued in the family until it was sold to the county, 
for the county farm in 1888. Mrs. Luther Wagner, of Bradenton, 
Florida, daughter of Alonzo and granddaughter of Peter B. Curtis, lived 
on this farm in her girlhood. When the old house was finally torn down, 
Clarence Curtis secured some of the wooden sills and made several ash 
trays and a jewel box from them, for members of the family. 

Alonzo Curtis had married Rebecca Schatz who had the first millinery 
store in the village, living then with her parents on Crescent in the 
present Deiber home. She made hats and sewed for the Stacys and other 
villagers. Alonzo ran his farm, but he was licensed as a minister and 
could preach and marry people. 



^ 



(^fpiSLE the oldest township in point of settlement in the county is said 
to be named for Samuel Lisle Smith, the most brilliant orator and 
lawyer of his time in Chicago and city attorney for 1839. However, 
the settlers didn't wish to call their village Smith, so they took their 
hero's middle name. Of him, Horace Greeley wrote in 1847, "The star of 
the whole assemblage was a young Chicagoan, Samuel Lisle Smith. He 
stood without a rival." The young genius didn't go so far as he might, 
however, because of his love of conviviality and his adequate income 
which didn't require him to work. He died in the cholera epidemic of 
1854 and only the tiny village through which the cars whiz unconsciously 
on Ogden Avenue, keeps him in memoriam. 

Butterfield Road, now planned to be a great superhighway, is said to 
be named for Lyman Butterfield, one of the first settlers who home- 
steaded 160 acres just north of Lisle and bordering on what is now 
Butterfield road. Another famous Butterfield is Justin, First United 
States District Attorney at Chicago, and associated with Samuel Lisle 
Smith in the practice of law. If not the inspiration for the name of 
the Butterfield Road, it might still stand justly as a memorial to him as a 
great highway creator, for he was the author of the canal bill which 
authorized the construction of the drainage canal, and as the United 
States Land Commissioner, he secured the land grant with which the 
state subsidized the construction of the Illinois Central Railroad. 



36 



THE STOBT OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 




Stacy's Tavern 



1837 Stacy's Tavern built at the Five Corners (on the south side of the 
Geneva Road just back of the Five Corners store) by Moses Stacy is 
still standing (1928), though unfit for occupation. The tavern is a frame 
house, the boards of which it was built being sawed at the new saw mill 
at Gary Mills on the west bank of the DuPage river. 

Here the stage coaches stopped on their way from Chicago to Galena 
and Rockford. The tavern is a low, rambling, picturesque white house, 
with a colonial doorway facing Geneva Road. In the early days it had a 
sign swinging in front of it. 

Moses Stacy, the landlord was born in Belchertown, Hampshire County, 
Massachusetts in 1796. His father, also Moses Stacy, and a native of 
that state, was a Revolutionary soldier. Moses the second, with his 
family came around the lakes in a sailing vessel from New York state 
in 1835. His tavern was a place of good cheer for the pioneers as they 
stopped on their way to Chicago with a load of grain hauled by oxen. 
I have heard Philo Warren Stacy (his son) say that the village was a 




Stage Coach — Sketch by Miss Harmon 



TEE STOBY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 37 

1837 halting place for Indians on their way to Chicago and that as many as 
2,000 have camped here at a time. Many Indians found shelter for the 
night in the old tavern. 

Stacy Tavern was also called the "Halfway House" because it was half 
way between McHenry and Chicago. The loaded teams arrived from the 
west late at night and left early in the morning for Chicago. 

David Christian, born near Lake Champlain, New York state, settled at 
Babcoek's Grove and built a frame house, the first in the settlement. He 
married one of the famous twins, Christiana Churchill, daughter of 
Deacon Winslow Churchill. He gave the land for the cemetery, one acre 
— the rest was acquired by purchase from Winslow Ackerman. 

Erastus Ketcham, famous old trapper, was his step-son. He married 
the mother, Christiana, one of the famous Churchill twins who had 
married a Mr. Ketcham, and become a widow after eleven months. 
Christiana came west with her twin, Lurania — who married John Acker- 
man — her father Deacon Winslow Churchill and the rest of the Churchill 
clan who made the trip together. 

The twins lived to celebrate their 91st birthday, February 15, 1893, and 
were at that time the oldest twins in the United States. 

Erastus Ketcham, Christiana's son was a noted character. He was the 
first white trapper on either fork of the DuPage river. He came to this 
stream when there were only a few houses in Chicago and he was obliged 
to cross the Chicago river in a scow. He has hunted over the site of 
Chicago and in almost every county from Lake Michigan to Cairo. In the 
Sag, west of Blue Island, he killed six deer as fast as he could load and 
shoot. The record that this old hunter made in taking wild animals is 
scarcely more remarkable than his experience in hunting bee trees. 

He was a friend of the Indians, his life being saved at one time by 
them. He married his cousin Mary Jane Churchill and lived for more 
than half a century in the little frame house on St. Charles Road, now 
stuccoed over and occupied by Mr. and Mrs. B. F. Hintze who won two 
Tribune prizes for their garden in 1927. The old house contains beautiful 
hand made doors and hand made nails. When he lived there it was a 
veritable arsenal, filled with his hunting equipment 

He had a wonderful soprano voice and sang the old church tunes, so it 
was said, soaring quite above the singing of the whole congregation. 
Everybody called him "Old Ketch." He lies with his family in Forest 
Hill cemetery. 

The famous Buck Horn tavern was built about half way between 
Addison and Bloomingdale, near the present eastern limits of the Nordic 
country club's Lake street frontage, and was one of the most popular 
hostelries along the route between Galena and Chicago when the lead 
mine traffic was at its height. 

Gary Mills built by Jude and Erastus Gary, only saw mill in district, 
supplying wide territory with lumber for building. All that is left now 
of the pioneer enterprise is a bridge over the West branch of the DuPage 
River on Roosevelt Road in Winfield Township where the road turns 
sharply north for a few hundred feet, before it goes west again with the 
West Chicago Road going north just a little ways from the mill site. 
The mill race can be plainly seen. There is a large forest tree growing 
on it. The water of the river ripples over some stones across it, where 
the dam was, and the foundation excavation on the east bank of the river 
is still there. This locality was also called Mill Creek and Glen Ellyn 
Sunday Schools used to go there for their picnics. 

Jesse C. and Warren L. Wheaton from Connecticut, settled in county 
and made claims on present site of Wheaton. 



38 THE STOBY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 



1837 March 4th, Chicago was chartered as a city. 

Sabbath school established: Sheldon Peck, superintendent; Deacon 
Winslow Churchill, librarian; Lindsley Newton, Ira Babcock, Philura 
Dodge and Charlotte Dena, teachers. 

The old blacksmith shop at Stacy's Corners was used as a church for 
about a year before the church was built. It was cleaned out every week 
so it was ready for meetings on Sunday. 

As soon as the St. Charles Road was completed, the stage coach made 
its appearance. Its important business was the carrying of mail from 
town to town across the state, but it seemed the acme of speed and 
comfort after lumbering ox teams and heavy wagons. The coach 
traveled at the rate of six miles an hour with four horses as a team, 
fresh relays of these being made at taverns along the road. The first 
stage coach was Dr. Temple's which made the trip from Chicago to 
Galena tri-weekly, passenger rate being five to six cents per mile. 

r^HE Hubbards had come to Chicago in 1836, and a year later pre- 
(j|/ empted a tract of land near Glen Ellyn. Dr. Theodore Hubbard was 
appointed first postmaster by President Polk and served in the days 
when the mail was brought long distances on horseback. In 1850 the 
Hubbards returned to Chicago, where the husband took up the practice 
of medicine at which he became very successful. Mrs. Hubbard, of dis- 
tinguished ancestry (her grandfather was Elijah Ward in the Continental 
Army and father, Ebenezer Ballou, in the war of 1812), was the mother 
of seven children. One son, Adolphus, founded the Sons of the American 
Revolution. Mrs. Hubbard was elected as Honorary Life member of the 
United States Daughters of 1812. In her later years, she was again in 
Glen Ellyn, and after her death at an old age, she was laid to rest in 
the family lot in Forest Hill cemetery. 

1838 Frink and Walker bought Dr. Temple's stage coach line and continued in 
business for eleven years, until the railroad was built. Their coaches 
ran between Chicago and St. Charles, later to Bloomingdale, Naperville, 
Aurora and Ottawa. The mail was carried on the flat top of the coaches 
which accommodated nine to a dozen passengers and were quite com- 
fortable with their upholstered seats. They were topheavy affairs, how- 
ever, and often overturned. The drivers of the stage coaches were 
regular jehus, dirty, swaggering and profane. In times of danger they 
were cool-headed, often rescuing passengers from drowning in times of 
flood at great risk to their lives. The travelers were only too glad to 
stop at the hospitable taverns along the road, to stretch their weary 
limbs and ease their aching backs as well as to find some refreshment. 
They entered them to find a jolly fire of great logs roaring up the 
chimney, the host, a genial smile on his face, scurrying around in great 
haste to set food before them and make them comfortable. 

Settlement at Five Corners now called Deerfield Precinct. 

1839 DuPage County separated from Cook County. It has a fraction over 
nine townshios, is bounded on the north and east by Cook County, on the 
south by Will and Cook and on the west by Kane. A commission of three 
men, Ralph Woodruff of LaSalle County, Seth Reed of Kane County, 
and H. S. Loomis of Cook County, was appointed to locate a county seat, 
to buy three acres of land and raise not less than $3,000. 

A society called the DuPage Society for Mutual Protection was formed 
for the purpose of securing the rights and interests of the settlers to their 
respective claims. 

First election of county officers held at the Pre-Emption House, Na- 
perville. 



THE STOBY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 39 

1839 Naperville was selected as the county seat because it was the oldest 
town in the county, the largest town then, with a tavern, a saw mill and a 
trading house for furs, built by Col. Naper, and it was on the great 
highway between Chicago and Galena. A court house was built, about 
$5,000 being subscribed by the citizens, standing on Washington Street 
between the present Y. M. C. A. and the Nichols Library. It was a 
frame building two stories high with a jail in the basement, quite an 
achievement for such a little settlement to accomplish. Bailey Hobson 
was appointed commissioner of the county to obtain title from the 
government for the public square on which the court house was erected. 
Naperville's importance was also increased by its possession of Fort 
Payne built during the Black Hawk War, a defense consisting of two 
block houses surrounded by pickets. 

Capt. Joseph Naper was the first licensed merchant in DuPage County. 

Orlinda Gary, sister of Erastus and Jude Gary, married Jesse C. 
Wheaton, March 6th. The city of Wheaton was named in honor of her 
husband. 

This sketch written by Harriet N. Warren Dobson in 1888 gives a vivid 
picture of Orlinda Gary and the ways of the pioneers: Mrs. Dobson, by 
the way, was the daughter of Col. J. M. Warren, of Warrenville: "The 
first summer here we asked one day for the ponies and wagon of our 
father to go and call on a girl whom we heard had recently come from 
the east to keep house for her two bachelor brothers. Our father was a 
little reluctant to let us have the horses, knowing how little experience we 
had in driving. We had already invited Ruth Murray and Amelia Fowler 
to go with us in case we could secure the team. 

"My twin sisters and myself with these two neighboring girls started 
on a visit to Miss Orlinda Gary (now Mrs. Wheaton, for whose husband 
the place now called Wheaton, about eight miles east, was named). It 
was only three miles north of us, but we were late getting off. Father 
said we better leave the harness on the horses as he feared we could not 
get it on right again, but we were not obedient to his orders. We found 
Miss Gary in the field helping her brothers put in their corn, but nothing 
would do but we must unharness those horses, as she said, 'I guess a 
girl going through the Indian war can unharness a pair of horses,' so 
we of course, allowed her to do as she pleased. Such a time though, 
as we did have when we attempted again to replace that harness, made 
us wish we had regarded more faithfully our father's wishes. I think 
nearly every buckle must have been undone. We were so long getting 
the harness on, if I remember rightly, the brothers had to be called to 
our assistance, although they were evidently not intending to come in 
from the field while we remained. I presume they did not care to be 
seen in thir coarse garments, bare feet and smutty faces. 

"The first move by our hostess after the harness was removed was to 
wash the floor while we were loitering around the outside admiring 
the scenery, the next move was to put on her shoes and stockings, comb 
her hair, dress herself neatly, all the time talking and visiting except 
the short time she was dressing. A brisk fire was made, the tin oven 
brought on, and such a marvelous supper was set before us. It was all 
so good, such a nice variety, it seemed like magic. Splendid biscuits, a 
nice custard pie, cake, some kind of stewed fruit, probably brought dried 
from her eastern home, honey, etc., and all done by her own hands, 
most of the time chatting and visiting. She would not allow us to help 
and now as I look back and think of her and all she accomplished in that 
short afternoon fifty years ago, it seems like a dream." 

The meeting house was built at DuPage Center. It was a frame build- 
ing, the lumber for it prepared at Gary Mills on the DuPage River near 
Warrenville, owned by the Garys and Jude Gary, one of the brothers, 
was the circuit riding preacher who ministered to it. The little church 



40 THE STOEY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 



1839 was built after the style of New England, white, prim and puritan. It 
had no spire nor bell, the windows were high and narrow with small 
panes of glass. It had box pews with little doors or gates which one 
entered from the aisle. It stood for twenty-three years near the north- 
west corner of Stacy's Corners, opposite the tavern. It is now the old 
building on the high foundation on Crescent, formerly the Saunders home, 
but now occupied as a rooming house. 

When the foundation was prepared and the lumber brought, there was 
a house-raising party, all the work of the building being donated. The 
people gathered from far around and after a hard day of labor, the 
men sat down to a bountiful meal prepared by the women, a meal 
consisting of wild game roasted over a huge bonfire, cornbread, wild 
honey, dried apple pie, and other pioneer dainties. 

There was no organ or choir in those days, such an innovation would 
have been wicked indeed, a snare of the devil, but a leader stood up in 
front of the congregation and sounded the note on a tuning fork by 
placing it between his teeth and suddenly withdrawing it and putting it 
to his ear, when all joined in singing a hymn with some fifteen or 
twenty verses, the tuning fork sounding at the beginning of each verse. 

Religious services had been held from the beginning in the log cabins 
of the various settlers, and in the log school house, but as the com- 
munity grew, this proved inconvenient and inadequate. Sabbath for 
the hard working pioneers, was not only a day of religious observation 
but also of enjoyment and mutual communing with friends and neighbors. 

The congregation came in wagons drawn by oxen or on horseback, for 
miles around. If it was summer, after the morning service of two 
hours, a picnic dinner was eaten under the trees of the grove and a 
social hour enjoyed. If it was winter, the hospitable housewives of the 
settlement invited the folks to their homes. The newspapers of that day 
were few and far between, so the Sabbath gathering served in their 
stead. Another service of two hours' length was held in the afternoon. 

While the pioneers during the week time dressed in homespun, on 
Sundays the women put on their "best" gowns, perhaps twenty years old, 
of slate colored silk, stiff and full, with a white muslin kerchief folded 
across their breasts, and prim poke bonnets with strings tied under their 
chins. In their hands they carried a small Bible and a sprig of rosemary 
enfolded in a handkerchief. The men were solemn and dignified in 
broadcloth and black satin choker. 

And here's a pioneer flapper. Behold a gay rustic belle dashing up to 
the door on horseback. Dark grey woolen stockings, cowhide brogans 
with leather shoestrings, a very short sky blue silk skirt, somewhat 
faded, a black silk waist or sleeveless jacket also much worn, a square 
muslin cape with a broad unstarched ruffle, a huge white leghorn sugar 
scoop bonnet, with a long black feather, tied under her chin with a parti- 
colored ribbon. 

Kimball Stacy, son of Moses, was one of the original church trustees 
and was one of the active members of the building committee. He died 
in his youth at the age of twenty-two years, May 5th. His was the first 
funeral service held in the meeting house. 

The little church was Methodist in creed, and it was for many years 
ministered to by circuit riders of whom two names remain to local fame, 
Jude Gary and James McChesney. 

CTTHE circuit riders in general, including these two, were preachers who 
VJ]/ served the Lord for love, not money. They were versatile, often 
earning their living by working a farm, teaching school, doing 
carpenter work or tailoring during the week. 

The people of the scattered little churches were very poor, they had 
to pay for what little schooling their children received and it required 
much self-sacrifice to pay the preachers the $200 or $300 a year which 



THE STOEY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 41 

1839 they certainly earned. Perhaps the pay would not be money at all, "but 
a load of cordwood, a bushel of cornmeal, a smoked ham, two yards of 
flannel, anything- they grew or made. 

The circuit rider Was a great lover of good horses, the care of his 
horse, his companion on dangerous and lonely trips across the wilderness 
was his first consideration, so much depended on the good condition of 
his faithful beast. 

Starting out on his mission at the end of the week, he would place in 
his saddle bag first, of course, the Bible; a few tracts and some printed 
sermons; Pilgrim's Progress and a few other books of like nature to be 
loaned to some isolated families; a supply of food for his journey and 
a few other necessities. 

His sermon, on arriving at his destination, would likely be on tem- 
perance, the popular subject of the period, all his eloquence as an ex- 
horter being brought to bear on his listeners to urge them to sign the 
pledge without delay. Another favorite topic was slavery, upon which 
feeling was beginning to be intense and the hearts of the people shadowed 
with forebodings of trouble to come. 

After the toil of the long Sabbath day, the circuit rider would become 
the guest of the tavern and its host. Before the hospitable log fire he 
would relax and entertain his listeners with stories and experiences, a 
jolly companion whose hearty laughter was often heard over some joke 
at his own expense. The host of the tavern accepted no fee for enter- 
taining the circuit rider — it was a free will gift in the cause of the Lord. 
On Monday morning bright and early, the circuit rider would mount his 
horse and ride back to his farm or his bench. He would perhaps visit 
the several churches on his circuit once in every two or three months, at 
other times the congregation must depend on printed sermons read by 
some prominent member of the congregation. 

1840 Bloomingdale Road (Main Street) opened. 

Name of Lake Street changed to St. Charles Road. 

Rev. James McChesney second circuit rider preacher 

One of first weddings at Stacy Corners celebrated April 27th, when 
Gilbert Way and Harriet Fish were married. The bride was the 
daughter of Daniel Fish who lived on the northwest corner of Bloom- 
ingdale Road (Main Street) and St. Charles Road. 

Miss Experience Gifford taught first school in Bloomingdale in log 
house. 

Mark Beaubien traded the Illinois Exchange, at the Northwest corner 
of Lake and Wells Streets, Chicago, with Richard Sweet, for a farm of 
260 acres and the old tavern at Naperville on the Plank Road. He 
moved to the tavern and kept the toll gate in front of it, charging 
three cents a mile. This tavern was a mile and a half east of Naperville 
in the locality known as Sweet's Grove, on the Chicago Plank Road (now 
Ogden Avenue) in which Mr. Beaubien owned stock. Another toll gate 
was kept by John Lundy for the same fee, at the crossing of Western 
Avenue and the Plank Road. 

Just east of the tavern, which still stands (1928) is a little private 
burying ground for the Beaubien family. Here lies Mark's brother, Gen. 
Jean Baptiste Beaubien who was active in defending the pioneers of 
Lisle township during the Blackhawk war, who was one of the organizers 
of .the Cook and DuPage county militia and who was commissioned 
brigadier general by the governor in 1855. 

Also, here lies an old soldier named Smith, who fought under Napoleon 
Bonaparte. 



42 THE STOEY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 

1841 First frame schoolhouse built on Bloomingdale Road one block south 
of Stacy Corners, across the street from the present Forest Glen School. 

Jesse Childs Wheaton, son of the pioneer for whom Wheaton was 
named, taught in it many years later. 

Isaac Bradford Churchill, son of Deacon Winslow Churchill, records in 
an old account book of 1841 belonging to his daughter, Mrs. Hattie 
Wimpress that he lost $200 worth of grain and hay by fire; that for 
staying five times in Chicago the expense was $2.50; that he paid $2.57 
taxes on lot 8, block 69; that the village owed him $4.60 for taxes on 
the village lot; that the weaving of thirty- three yards of cloth at seven 
cents a yard cost $2.31; that he paid eighteen cents for one bottle of 
Godfrey Cordial, twenty-five cents for one bonnet and thirty-eight cents 
for two bushels of potatoes. He had to take his corn to the mill in 
Naperville to be ground. 

Pupils in 1841, in the Sabbath School started in 1837, were: Miles 
Winslow and Elbyron Ackerman, Kimball and Philo Stacy, Charles and 
George Peck, Mary Ann and Horace Churchill, Laura Hubbard, Irene 
Babcock, Robilla and Lusana Dodge, Almera and George Fish and 
Louis Hand. 

The preachers were William Kimball and Brother Hubert, the presiding 
elder, I. T. Mitchell and the leader of the class, Levi Bellou. 

Some of the members were: Mary Bellou, Seth, Roxana, Winslow, Jr., 
Hiram, Horace, Drusilla, Isaac B. and Angelina Churchill, Eunice Miller, 
Clarke and Wayne Corbit, M. D. Morton, David and Christiana Christian, 
Sylvanus, Laura, Ruth and Clarissa Janes, Harriet Peck, Moses and 
Joan Stacy, Andrew W. and Sarah Freeto, Malena Powers, Lurana and 
Miles Ackerman, Sylvanus Barney, David Honeywell, Lucy Ann Dodge 
and Rebecca Kimble. 

1842 Naperville platted and recorded February 14th, first recorded plat in the 
county. 

The minimum value of land in the vicinity of Stacy Corners was $1.25 
an acre and the maximum $1.50. Two bushels of potatoes sold for thirty- 
eight cents bushel. 

Taverns at Elmhurst were: Cass House on St. Charles Road; beyond 
Salt Creek, a large solitary house, long known as "Bleak House"; cottage 
of Gen. A. C. McClurg. Esquire Bates bought the Ogden McClurg dwell- 
ing calling it "Hill Cottage" as it stood on a slight rise of ground. He 
was the first postmaster of the settlement which was named after his 
home, continuing in office for more than forty years. All these taverns 
went out of business at the coming of the railroad and were sold to 
farmers and other settlers. 

1843 Stephen Bronson from New York came north of Naperville and bought 
500 acres from the government for $1.25 an acre. He parceled this 




Indian Signal Hill 



THE STOEY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 



43 



1 



5 

£ 



a; 



3 » i 4 






*K 



'a 






I- 



V 5 ^ 
*SL '5L ^ > 



i 

l 



o 



31 



a 



v. <(| if) Y^^Kftj^O ^ 



*§ <3 



<9 ^ i 



© 



ctwo^l 





K 




%Jk 






f*. 


j'-\?'.yV,V ' '/■'• 


<«4 


•''■'^v-':\ : '.'.' : ''-- 


«U 




^ 


*?>£>*w&v-;:c-; 


K 




<0 




S> 




c 


El 


Nj 






a a 




a 




B (9 




1 






>i 



■4T" "9 

i 3 *t l 4 



■1*1 

3:j 






K 3 






5 I & 




I* 



«» 










If 


^ 

^ 


1 


8 



1 U 


8 


5 


% 

\ 


S 




1 


VJ 


^ 


n) 


u. 


IE 




1 



<y 



44 THE STOEY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 

1843 property out among his sons and the Meachams and Spragues and the 
crossroads, where Butterfield Road and the Naperville Road cross, were 
known as Bronsonville. Here Stephen ran a tavern, caring- for the busy 
stream of drivers who hauled their grain down Butterfield road to the 
mills. The old house has burned down, but the barns across from it on 
the east side of the road, are still standing. The Indian signal hill, where 
General Scott had once camped during the Black Hawk War, was on the 
Bronson farm. Everyone driving to Naperville notices it now, for it lifts 
its rounded, tree fringed head definitely — almost defiantly — from the 
surrounding rolling country. It's on the west side of the road, a bit 
south of the Butterfield road. The Antlers country club was also on a 
part of the old Bronson farm. Stephen Bronson was Mrs. B. B. Curtis' s 
grandfather. 

Three blacksmith shops at Stacy Corners, also a wagon and harness 
shop, two grocery stores, general store and match factory. "Hard 
drinks" were sold in the grocery stores. 

Cottage Hill Tavern, built at Cottage Hill (Elmhurst) by J. L. Hovey. 

Dr. Elijah Smith, born in Morristown, New Jersey in 1815, came west 
and secured title to a quarter section of land where Itasca now stands, 
receiving his grant direct from President John Tyler, under the date of 
March 10th, 1843. 

Dr. Smith practiced medicine and carried on a dairy business, building 
a great barn from hand hewn timbers, brought from Elk Grove, put 
together with wooden pegs. In 1923 Mr. Hinshaw bought the old barn, 
tore down half of it, moved the other half to a lot on Center street and 
remodeled it into a modern residence. 

Back of H. H. Franzen's property, near the original site of the old 
barn, stands a huge cottonwood tree. The legend goes that late one 
night, Dr. Smith returned from a call, tied his horse to the fence and 
stuck his whip into the ground. He forgot about the whip and when he 
remembered it, it had sprouted into a young tree which is now the 
hoary old cottonwood, still standing in 1928. 

1844 Warrenville was the next recorded village plat, May 17th. Celebrated as 
the birthplace of the late Elbert H. Gary, the steel magnate. 

Horace Brooks County Commissioner of Schools till 1847. 

The Horace Brooks' home stood on South Main Street, the house was 
not a farm house, though it was built after they left their farm on what 
is now Roosevelt Road at the foot of Baker Hill. The house has since 
been moved over to Glenwood and faces west instead of east, occupied 
now by A. R. Utts. Main Street stopped just south of the Brooks' gate 
and Squire Brooks planted those fine old elms along a lane running past 
the front of his yard. He was Mrs. Brooks' second husband, her first one 
having been Shadrack, his brother and the father of the many Brooks' 
children. He was an intelligent old gentleman, concerned with public 
affairs, being surveyor many years. 

Mrs. Brooks was a busy, energetic woman, a good mother and a helpful 
neighbor, with a great faculty for caring for the sick, so she was always 
called in in times of illness. In her later years, she was known as 
Grandma Brooks by all the children in town. 

Luther Bartlett came to DuPage County from Massachusetts, and set 
up an establishment on a 700 acre farm at Bartlett, now a mile and 
half from the Milwaukee Railroad, with the old Army Trail running 
through the south corner of it, and legend having the grave of one of 
the marching soldiers somewhere on tne farm. The Bartletts lived first 
in a log house, then built the farmhouse which still stands, and prospered 
and progressed with the times. They had eleven children, of whom the 
son, Chester D. Bartlett, was the last to run the farm, and was prominent 



THE STORY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 45 



1844 politically through the county. In 1908 the Bartlett farm, then of 400 
acres, was sold to a Chicago grocer who planned to conduct it on a 
scientific scale. 

1845 Bloomingdale platted, January 11th, third earliest village. "Blooming- 
dale being directly on the line of Chicago, Elgin and Galena stage road 
was perhaps more widely known at an early date than any other vil- 
lage of the county." — Combination Atlas Map of DuPage County. Bloom- 
ingdale is once more back on the traveler's map with busses to Elgin 
and Chicago stopping there every two hours. 

Frink & Walker stage coaches passed between Chicago and Galena, 
stopping several times a week at Stacy Tavern, carrying U. S. Mail and 
passengers. 

G. U. Nind came to Danby from England, ancestor of Mrs. Lloyd and 
Mrs. Nelson. George Nelson of South Main Street, village engineer, is 
his grandson. 

1846 War with Mexico — some of the young men of Stacy's Corners enlisted. 
Warren Hubbard, one of them, lost his life and is buried in Forest Hill 
Cemetery. 

Rev. Philander Taylor, the pioneer of the Baptist denomination in this 
vicinity, came to Stacy Corners, and with his coming the old meeting 
house passed from Methodism to the Baptist creed. It continued to be 
Baptist until its removal to Danby. The Rev. Taylor was a native of 
Vermont, later moving to Spencer, New York, where his daughter Betsy, 
who afterwards became the wife of Philo Warren Stacy, was born. His 
wife was Thankful Manning Taylor, the Mannings coming from Tioga 
County, New York. The Rev. Philander Taylor lived until 1881 and is 
buried in Forest Hill Cemetery as is also his wife. 

The Methodists held their meetings in the frame school house on 
Bloomingdale Road, on Main Street. 

David Kelley elected Justice of the Peace. 

1847 Emigrants in the lumbering "ships of the prairie" passed Stacy Tavern 
in an endless procession and St. Charles Road was a busy thoroughfare. 

The Chicago Plank Road, now Ogden Avenue was built, the first plank 
road out of Chicago. It had always been an Indian trail, over which 
the pioneers had fled to Fort Dearborn during the Black Hawk War. 

There was a toll gate every three miles a toll of three cents a mile 
being collected. 

Rev. James McChesney and his wife, Matilda, pre-empted 160 acres in 
Schaumberg township and lived there until 1854, when they moved to 
Danby. 

Deacon Winslow Churchill passed away September 18. 

Horace Brooks county surveyor until 1859. 

William Schatz, son of Phillip Schatz, and uncle of Mrs. G. L. Wagner, 
was the first painter in the village. And Mr. Wilson and Mr. Hantz, 
sons-in-law of Phillip Schatz, were the first carpenters, one of the homes 
built by them, and lived in by one of them, still stands on Crescent Blvd., 
where the Deibers live, between Forest and Park, just east of the building 
that was formerly Saunders' Hall, and originally the little old church. 
Mrs. Curtis (nee Rebecca Schatz, sister of William and daughter of 
Phillip), was the first milliner and dressmaker, who learned her trade 
from G. M. H. Wagner's mother in Hamburg, Pa., where both families 



46 



THE STOBY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 



1847 lived before coming here. Mrs. Curtis made William Newton's sister's 
wedding- dress, all made by hand, as there were no sewing machines in 
those days. 

Rebecca Schatz met her future husband when she, being the only 
milliner in the neighborhood, was asked to come to Mrs. Peter B. 
Curtis's to make her up some hats. There she met Mrs. Peter's son, 
Alonzo, and the young people were married in 1852. Their home was 
the farm which is now the county farm, where I grew up. 

I have in my possession the first reed organ brought to Glen Ellyn, 
which was bought by my husband's father, G. M. H. Wagner. — Ida Curtis 
Wagner. 

1848 September 25, Miss Almeda J. Powers (later Mrs. J. S. Dodge, mother of 
O. D. Dodge), had her school report accepted by the school directors of 
District No. 4 in Township 39, Range 10, East of the Third Principal 
Meridian, U. M. Dodge and Lavinia Brookings, and was authorized to 
receive "the sum of $18 due her." Her report covers the attendance 
records for the school from June 22 to July 28, and lists the following 
pupils: Warner and Pane P. Whitman and Abigail Whitman, Edith M. 
Clark, Helen and Edgar Dodge, Harriet Page, Don A. Isabel, Hannah 
Robinson, Mary J. Callahan, John Landy, Abigail Callahan, Bridget 
Landy, Diana and Daniel Robinson. 

Teachers boarded from home to home and the amount of board the 
teacher received depended on the number of children who attended 
school from that particular home. A rate bill made out by Miss Powers 
carries the family's dues out into decimals, thus: David Whitman for 
Warren Whitman $1.3266; for Jane Whitman, $1.3662; for Abigail Whit- 
man, $1.3662, making a total of $4.05. So each family paid accordingly. 



AN AUTOBIOGRAPHY OF AN ILLINOIS SCHOOL TEACHER 

«f WAS born in the state of New York, November 9th, 1828, in Onondaga 
1J county, Town of Elbridge, Village of Jordan. My father was a soldier, 
^ served in the War of 1812, his name, Aretus Powers, his father's name 
was Samuel, his grandfather's was William, and his grandmother's name was 
Tryphena Flood. They came from Massachusetts. 

My mother was the daughter of Myrana Colburn 
and Elijah Ward. They were the parents of eight 
children. He was a soldier in the Revolutionary 
War, enlisting at Lynn, Massachusetts, and serving 
in Capt. Twogood's Company in General Nixon's 
regiment. He died at Jordon, where his home was, 
in 1839. 

My father died in the year 1832. In 1839 we 
started for the State of Illinois, mother, sister and 
brother. We took a canal boat at Jordon, for Buffalo, 
1 and from there we took a sail boat for Chicago, 
where we arrived on July 13. We were landed on 
the north side of the pier. A man came to us, asked 
us where we wanted to go. Mother told him to 
Babcock's Grove. He said he would take us there 
for $10, so mother gave him the money and we all 
ii got in his wagon and started west. 

We started up the river, passed Fort Dearborn on 

the opposite side of the river, came to a float-bridge, 

Mrs. J. S. Dodge crossed over onto Water Street and on to Lake, 

then on to Randolph where we went West again, until we came to the Des 

Plaines River, which we had to ford as there was no bridge at that time. We 




THE STORY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 47 



continued west until we reached our destination in good time. Two brothers 
and a sister were settled here with their families. They came in 1826. 

When I was fifteen, one of our neighbors asked me if I would like to teach 
the children to read and spell. I said I would like to teach them what I knew 
myself, so the summer kitchen was put in order, and a big box stove put in, 
filled with wood and set on fire which made the room warm. Some of the 
neighbors wanted their children to come in, so they came with clean faces and 
hands at the regular school hour. Thus passed a happy winter with me, and 
the children seemed willing to do anything I requested of them. I had about 
twenty scholars, some of them older than myself. This was a family school 
at the home of Sheldon Peck in 1843. 

The next school I taught was at the south side of the grove, sometimes 
called the Dodge District. I had to get a certificate of ability and character, 
three directors examined me and gave me a certificate, so I taught the school, 
which was a district or public school. The reason of this strict examination 
was to get a share of the public money which was a certain portion for each 
scholar. The directors of the school were Horace and Shadrack Brooks and 
Lenzie Newton, in 1845. 

The next school I taught, in 1846, was at Babcock's Grove, where the town 
of Lombard is situated. It was a large school, thirty children, who were nice 
and mannerly. All of them came to learn and were willing to obey. The 
directors were: Sheldon Peck, Mr. Smith, Mr. Whitmore. 

In 1847, the next school I taught was in Oak Ridge, which is now called 
Oak Park. The directors said if I could get a certificate and a recommend 
of Warren L. Wheaton, I could have the school, so I applied to him and he 
examined me and gave me a certificate and I taught the school. 

The next school I taught in 1848, was at the south side of the grove 
where Glen Ellyn is now situated, only a short distance from the little lake. 
This was quite a large school and a very pleasant one. 

Perhaps someone who read this article may be curious to know what 
books we used in school in those early days. For reading, the old English 
Reader was used for the first class, for the second, we used Cobb's Juvenile 
Reader, for the third, the Elementary Spelling Book. In Arithmetic, Daball's 
for the older ones and for the younger, Colburn's Mental Arithmetic. 

Peter Parley's Geography was used at that time. 

Pens were made from Goose Quills, steel pens were not invented until 
1803 and did not come into general use until 1839. It was not an uncommon 
thing to see the teacher with a half dozen quill pens over his ear to be repaired. 

To encourage the children a half silver dollar piece was the prize. It 
had a hole in it and long enough string to go around the neck and the one 
who left off at the head of the class wore it each day, and at the close of 
school the one who left off at the head of the class the largest number of 
times received the half dollar. This was the spelling class. 

There never had been a district or public school at any of the places 
mentioned before I kept them. 

Completed this 12th day of March, 1913 

By Almeda Jane Powers Dodge 
(aged 85 years) 

Mrs. Hattie Wimpress, daughter of Isaac Bradford Churchill, and 
granddaughter of Deacon Winslow Churchill, has several original land 
grants from President James K. Polk in her possession. This one she 
loaned Miss Harmon to be used in "The Story of an Old Town." 

DOWN THE HILL TO DANBY 

1848 Construction on the Galena and Chicago Union Railroad was actually 
begun, though a charter had been granted January 10, 1836. 

It had begun to be whispered about that a wonderful new invention 
was at hand, a powerful piece of machinery that ran on iron rails and 
drew after it a string of coaches buckled together and capable of hold- 
ing three times as many passengers as the old stage coaches and which 



48 



THE STOEY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 




TEE STOBY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 49 

1848 went along at breakneck speed. Children sat about the fireplace at night 
and listened to their parents talk about the wonderful iron horse, with 
eyes wide with excitement, and wondered if they should ever see it. 

Steps were taken by the village and a council of leading citizens was 
formed to investigate the rumors, and if they proved true, to proceed to 
Chicago and try to induce the company to lay the road through Stacy's 
Corners. In these ten years between the charter granting and the start 
of work, the village had tried to bend the railroad to their views, but 
all in vain. The village ultimately had to come down the hill to the rail- 
road, though now it is busily going back to the Corners. 

A gang of laborers appeared, grading and preparing the road bed. 
Cross ties were laid, then timbers of about eight or ten inches square and 
of convenient length were laid lengthwise and fastened to the ties. Upon 
the upper surface of these stringers were laid bars of wrought iron an 
inch thick and about three inches wide, called rails. These were pierced 
with holes so that they might be fastened to the stringers, the holes being 
counter sunk, so that the square heads of the spikes should not come 
above the surface of the rail. The end of the strap rail was cut at the 
common angle of forty-five degrees so that each rail might match with 
its neighbor and avoid the break square across, which causes the 
perpetual click and hammering which we now hear on our roads. All 
this looked like the making of a good road, but in practice the weight of 
the locomotive and the loaded cars tended to lengthen the thin strap, 
to loosen the spikes, to curve up the ends and draw the spikes, and at 
last make the ends stand up several inches. Such elevated points were 
called snake-heads. 

If the snake-head rose so high that it struck the approaching car 
wheel above its middle, the strap would be forced up into the car, gen- 
erally going through the car and doing mischief. Of course, trains 
must run slow and there must be a perpetual look-out. Sometimes an 
engineer, when he saw a snake-head, no matter which way it pointed, 
would stop the train, and jump down with a hammer and a box of spikes, 
run forward and nail down the peril. 

Wolf hunts were popular amusements for the men. Sixty wolves were 
often killed at a round-up. 

3849 In the fall of 1849 word came to Newton's Station that the first train 
over the line passing through the settlement would leave the Chicago 
station on October 24th. The news spread like wild fire. Nothing else 
was talked about for days by the settlers, every family for miles around 
planned to make the occasion a grand celebration. 

When the great day came, the farmers began to leave their homes at 
4:00 A. M. No telling when the cars would come and they might get to 
Newton's Station early in the morning. 

Several hundred people gathered around the track, and waited, hours 
and hours, passing the time visiting and eating picnic dinners. 

Sure enough, early in the day, the ten ton locomotive the "Pioneer" 
had puffed and snorted its way out of Chicago, dragging a couple of 
coaches behind it. It proceeded very cautiously on its way, and it 
was noon before it reached the Des Plaines River, where it must stop for 
wood. 

It was long past mid-afternoon before the whistle of the on-coming 
train was heard. Old Deacon Landy ringing a cowbell then took his 
station in the middle of the track, Dr. Newton, carrying the Stars and 
Stripes followed, others beating drums and fifes, brought up the rear. 
Amid deafening shouts and hurrahs, the first train, thus escorted, slowly 
made its way through the settlement. The train passed on, through 
Wheaton, Wayne, West Chicago, to Elgin, where it rested from its 
triumphant first trip. The Chicago and North Western celebrated its 



50 



TEE STOEY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 



1849 diamond anniversary (75 years) October 23, 1923. At that time 310 
passenger trains daily enter and leave the Chicago terminal, with an 
average of 67,450 passengers handled daily out of Chicago. 




The "Pioneer' 



The "Pioneer" is now (1928) on exhibition in the train shed of the 
North Western station in Chicago. It had a speed of twenty-five miles an 
hour, compared with the ninety miles of the modern mogul. 

The Galena and Chicago Union Railway (the Chicago and North 
Western) hauled its first train over its tracks with the engine called 
"The Pioneer." The right of way originally ran along Crescent Boule- 
vard, but with the elimination of the curve, the tracks were moved into 
their present position. The station originally stood right at Main Street 
on land owned by L. Q. Newton. Formerly a brook ran from the south 
under the railroad tracks, and northerly by the old Congregational church 
(Grace Lutheran). Many a spring the water ran over the tracks. The 
railroad hauled hundreds of carloads of necessary filling material to build 
up the present station site and surrounding park. 

In those early days all engines were named, several after officials and 
important personages. Passenger engines were called "Greyhound," 
"Reindeer" and such. When engines began burning coal, they were 
named "Hecla," "Vesuvius," and "Aetna," among other cognomens which 
finally fell off into numbers as engines became too numerous. At that 
time, too, all C. B. & Q. trains used to pass over these tracks from 
West Chicago (Turner Junction) to Harlem (Oak Park) where they 
turned south and went into their own terminus, until their own line was 
built east from Aurora. 

The "Pioneer" was built by the Baldwin Locomotive Works and shipped 
to Chicago by boat. The first coach, built by Welch and Launder, 
carriage builders at Randolph and Dearborn streets, Chicago, cost $2,000, 
and was described as "an elegant affair." It was about the size of a 
big omnibus, with the seats running along the side, and destitute of 
any of the comforts and conveniences of today. 

The speed of the train was slow, the roadway uneven, there were no 
straps to hang to and passengers were frequently all jumbled together 
at the lurching of the coach. There was only one track, and one pas- 
senger and one freight train each way, comprised the day's service. The 
first ten miles from Chicago to Oak Park (Harlem) was finished De- 
cember 30th, 1848. It was completed to the Mississippi at Fulton, De- 
cember 10th, 1855, the first railroad that turned a locomotive wheel in 



TEE STORY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 51 

1849 the city of Chicago, and the first in the state to connect the commerce 
of the Mississippi and the Great Lakes. In 1865, it was consolidated with 
the North Western. 

Engines burned wood and a tract of 940 acres on the Des Plaines River 
furnished wood for ties and fuel for many years. When the train stopped 
at any "wooding" station, the whole train crew and often some of the 
passengers joined in throwing the sawed wood into the great box of the 
tender. If a stop had been made remote from a water station, lines of 
disgusted passengers trudged back and forth for hours between the im- 
portant train and the nearest creek or farm, often a distance of miles, 
each with one or two pails of some kind, carrying water to put in the 
tank. 

Cars were coupled with the long link and pin operated by hand, and 
resulting in the train of a number of cars suddenly stretching or 
shrinking in length with sudden changes of speed as much as a score 
or more of feet, with sudden jars and hazards unknown on modern trains. 

There was no way then to warm the water in the tank of the engine 
tender and the only way to bring it from the tank to the boiler was 
by a leather hose swinging freely enough between the two to resist 
breaking from a sudden stretch of the train. Often a two or three 
minute stop in bitter weather was enough to freeze these hoses, tying up 
the train. A little delay in a snow drift would work the same havoc. 

Then it was necessary for the crew to build a fire very carefully on 
the ground under the hose where it passed in festoons from tank to 
boiler and watch it closely lest the leather would scorch, in which case 
the hose would burst and the train be indefinitely stranded. 

The new village, a mile south of Stacy's Corners, was called Newton's 
Station for Dr. Lewey Quitterfield Newton who owned the land where 
Glen Ellyn now stands, who built the first station for the railroad, also 
the first house (northwest corner of Pennsylvania and Main, which site 
has been given to the village) and was the first physician in Danby. 

William B. Ogden and John B. Turner, scouting through the prairies 
for possible routes for the Chicago and Galena Railroad, found discourag- 
ing receptions except from the Wheatons who entertained them and 
offered them a right of way through their land. When the station was 
built, it was named in their honor. 

First newspaper published in county at Naperville, called the DuPage 
County Recorder. 

First county commissioner of schools was the Rev. Hope Brown of 
Naperville, grandfather of Mrs. Maxon M. Moore, of Hillside Avenue. 

Excitement over the discovery of gold took many from Danby. Horace 
Churchill, twenty-one year old brother of William Henry Churchill lost 
his life near Fort Laramie, Wyoming. 

1850 Milton Township organized. It is the center of the county with a 
population of 10,000. 

The first township meeting was held at the home of Jesse C. Wheaton 
when the township organization law was adopted and the following first 
board of supervisors for the county of DuPage elected: supervisor, War- 
ren L. Wheaton; town clerk, Alfred Standish; collector, Smith Brookins; 
constable, J. G. Vallette; overseer of the poor, Erastus Gary who was also 
first justice of the peace. 

Or soon thereafter, the Naperville Nursery, one of the oldest in the 
state, was established. 

Wilbur Patrick (family name Kirkpatrick) settled east of Glen Ellyn 
and planted the lovely trees lining Swift Road. 

UMMRY 

uwvEiwmr of iuinob 



52 THE STOBY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 

1851 St. James (Catholic church) at Sag; building begun under Father 
McDonnell's pastorate; finished August 15, 1862, under Father Hurley's. 

Dutch mill, built by H. F. Fischer, later run by the Ehlers family of 
Bloomingdale, and now in Mount Emblem Cemetery, preserved for pos- 
terity. It is floodlighted at night and makes a beautiful picture at the 
corner of Grand Avenue and Mt. Prospect Road. Its use was discon- 
tinued for some years, but during the war, it was again employed to 
grind the grain and its sails swept the sky as efficiently as ever. 

It is typical of the several mills used in the county for grinding grain 
for flour and feed. 




Dutch Windmill in Mount Emblem Cemetery 

fORK CENTER, in the valley west of Elmhurst, was the home of the 
old Dutch Windmill, built by Fritz Beckhaus, which ground the 
grain for the farmer settlers round about for many years. It was a 
red mill once, made all of wood, fastened together with wooden bolts 
brought from Holland; there were two millstones, one fixed, known as 
the "bedder" and one revolving, known as the "runner" which were 
brought from France. Each stone weighed 3,000 pounds. Up in the top 
is a maze of wheels. 

"A large grooved wooden wheel, vertical in position revolves upon a 
wooden pole attached to the sails on the outside. This wheel is twelve 
feet in diameter and transmits its power to a smaller one placed hori- 
zontally. This revolves with greater speed and connects with a third 
wheel, eight feet in diameter. It is this which drives the mill stones and 
furnishes power for the "silk bowl" (where the flour, middling and bran 
are separated) and the hopper elevators. The four arms which constitute 
the wheel without are forty feet long. Each quarter carries 115 feet of 
sail. When business is active and the wind is strong, sails are spread 
on all four arms and two sets of millstones with which the mill is 
equipped, are set to work. On an average 400 bushels of corn, wheat, 
bran, rye are ground at the "Old Holland Mill" daily. The mill has an 
annual capacity of 240,000 bushels, but lack of wind or grain brings the 
average down to 60,000 bushels." Essay. 

Fritz the third, who owned the mill for twelve years was celebrated 
because in all that time he had not smiled once. Miller Lunge, a 
Hollander, was the last miller, as just before the World War, Col. Fabian 
purchased the mill, which was an exact replica of those still in use in 
Holland, and moved it to his estate, "Riverbank" on the Fox River at Ba- 
tavia. It was used to grind wheat during the war for Col. Fabian's pri- 
vate use. 



THE STOEY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 



53 



1851 York Center, in the days of the mill, was a bit of Holland set down in 
our country. Wooden shoes were worn and only Dutch was spoken. The 
writer used to see the quaint Dutch women, knitting- in hand, herding the 
cattle and geese along the grassy roadside. It was a fascinating place 
to go sketching. The old church at the cross roads still stands, sur- 
rounded by a graveyard. There was a parsonage, a vine-wreathed white 
house set back from the roadway, and a general store, to* aid the church 
in making the group worthy of the name of Center. There was no post 
office and it's yet far from a railroad, being three miles south of Lombard. 

Benjamin Curtis, son of Peter, the pioneer, was killed by an explosion, 
while in charge of the stationary engine at Turner Junction (West 
Chicago) which furnished the power to saw the wood being used then for 
fuel by the young railroad. 

Village named Danby by David Kelley, first station agent and post- 
master, after his birthplace, Danby, Vermont. 

Squire Horace Brooks, justice of the peace, county surveyor and 
assessor, planted the fine old elms on south Main street, not a street 
then, merely a lane on his property which he valued at $1.50 an acre. 




¥f$& '- \ x - >■ 



Elms in front of C. E. Clare's residence 



William H. Wagner came from Hamburg, Pennsylvania, and started a 
blacksmith shop. 

Jonathan Weidman came from Reading, Pennsylvania, his brother 
John following in 1853. 

Fullersburg (now absorbed by Hinsdale) fourth village, on Ogden 
Avenue, on the old Plank Road (now Ogden) platted February 20th. 
Mark Beaubien frequently visited at the tavern, Castle Inn — still stand- 
ing — where Loie Fuller, the famous dancer, was born. 

The Naperville Academy incorporated, Rev. Hope Brown one of the 
founders. 



54 



TEE STOEY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 



1851 Walter Sabin, from New York, came and taught school here for many 
years. "During his administration our school ranked as one of the best 
in the county. 'The Danby School' and 'Sabin's school' were synonomous 
terms. Small of stature, awkward and ungainly in 
appearance, handicapped by the loss of an eye, not 
having had the advantage derived from collegiate or 
higher school training; nevertheless by his splendid 
tact, devotion to his calling and constant enrichment of 
his mind, he was enabled to win and hold till the end, 
until old age caused his retirement, the respect and 
2steem of the whole community. 

"The Danby school never met defeat in a spelling 
match. In mental arithmetic, no school would contest 
with it. Its grammar or parsing classes held on fixed 
evenings during fall and winter were well attended, 
not only by the pupils but by others who were inter- 
ested in such work. At these evening sessions such 
works as 'Thanatopsis,' Pope's 'Essay on Man,' Pol- 
lock's 'Course of Time' were analyzed and parsed." — 
!| L. C. Cooper's Reminiscences. 




Walter Sabin 



Thomas B. Bryan named Elmhurst (formerly Cot- 
tage Hill. Co. H. 105th Infantry of the Civil War was 
called "The Bryan Blues" in honor of Mr. Bryan. He was vice-president 
of the Chicago World's Fair. He was the founder of Graceland Cemetery, 
and of the Fidelity Safe Deposit Company, in which millions were saved 
from the Chicago fire. He built Bryan Hall, which was the city's 
principal place for holding concerts. He purchased the original copy of 
the Emancipation Proclamation for $3,000, and gave it to the Chicago 
Historical Society, but it was destroyed in the great fire. 
1852 When Mr. Bryan purchased his summer home in Elmhurst, the prairie 
was the haunt of prairie chickens and other wild game. It was entirely 
devoid of trees, except for a few cottonwoods, and was shrubless, 
except for a few wild rose bushes. He purchased his summer lodge and 
spent six happy years there. 

Thousands of deciduous trees and evergreens, including specimens of 
each variety were transplanted by Mr. Bryan to his new estate. He 
called it "Byrd's Nest," Byrd being the Christian name of his wife. The 
name became especially appropriate in later years as the trees grew large 
and dense and were filled with myriads of birds. During the early years 
of my residence in Glen Ellyn, a flock of wild cranes often came to Lake 
Ellyn. We were told they had flown from Elmhurst, where the original 
pair had nested on Mr. Bryan's estate. He took the utmost pains to pro- 
tect them, instructing the small boys of the village not to rob their nests 
or kill the birds. They became quite a large flock and were very pictur- 
esque sailing over our lake. 

Among Mr. Bryan's distinguished visitors, was George P. A. Healy, 
the artist, who had recently returned from France. 

Many of Mr. Healy's portraits of distinguished Americans hang in the 
Newberry Library. 

David Kelley built the Mansion House, the first tavern in Danby, stand- 
ing on the corner of Main Street and Crescent, on the site of the new 
Glen Ellyn State Bank, directly across the street from the old Galena 
and Chicago Union Depot, built by Dr. Newton. 

It was a frame building with green blinds and a colonial doorway 
which opened into a large central hallway. The bar of the tavern was 
on the southwest corner. A large parlor was just back of it, while across 
the hall from this room was the kitchen. The dining room in front of it. 
faced Crescent Boulevard, and was directly across the hall from the bar. 



THE STOEY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 



55 



1852 The second floor was given over to bedrooms and a long hall. On the 
third floor was the ballroom, complete and up-to-date for the period. 

The balls there were high-toned affairs. Imagine the guests arriving 
in carryalls and chaises and by coach from Naperville, Wheaton, War- 




Mansion House 

Among ladies on upper veranda is Mrs. E. C. Rickert (Ella Weidman) 



renville and Bloomingdale; the ladies attired in hoop skirts and bright- 
colored taffeta gowns, flounced and ruffled; the men in tight fitting 
breeches, swallow-tail coats, embroidered vests and chokers. Up start 
the fiddlers; soon all are tripping it; Money Musk, Sir Roger de Coverly, 
Virginia Reel, jiggs and marches. Snuff boxes are brought out in pauses 
of the dance and gracefully used. Quite a substantial supper is served 
late in the evening, with wine flowing in abundance. 

The first veranda of the Mansion House served as a storehouse for 
the hogsheads of beer which were rolled across the street from the depot, 
for now "hard drinks" were kept and sold from the public houses, instead 
of from the grocery stores, where they had been sold over the counter 
in jugs like molasses. 

The town pump stood on the west end of the veranda. Here all the 
farmers stopped to water their horses, stroll into the tavern after mail, 
and incidentally get a drink of beer to wash the dust of the road from 
their throats. It took a lot of beer to accomplish this sometimes. The 
town pump was kept in prime condition, well-oiled and running smooth. 
Many the head that was held under the spout while a friendly hand 
pumped the cool water over it "to sober up." The pump was a great 
convenience and a source of civic pride. 

At any time of day could be seen a row of men seated on the first 
veranda, their chairs tilted back arid their feet on the railing, smoking 
and chewing tobacco. They occupied reserved seats as it were for the 
prime event of the day, "the hull show" of seeing the cars come in. 
There was a never-ceasing curiosity to view the stranger that "lighted" 
and comment on his appearance and business. They brought the news of 
the day and supplied the want of a daily newspaper. 



56 



TEE STOBY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 



1852 Milo Meacham built the Danby House, the tavern on the site of the 
Newton-Baethke building, southwest corner of Main and Crescent, a 
three story frame building. 




Barnard House 



The Barnard farmhouse built on Crescent (burned March 7, 1928). It 
was built by Thomas Filer, an ardent abolitionist. It was constructed 
of lengths of cordwood, as the fire revealed, set in a kind of concrete 
and then plastered over on the outside. The roof and some of the walls 
had been insulated by being packed inside with sawdust and grass. Mr. 
Filer ran a station on the Underground railway, his barn being right on 
the highway, where he concealed the slaves. In a cubby hole under the 
stairway of the house was the entrance to a tunnel which led to the barn. 
The Barnard family acquired the place fifty-six years ago. 

It has been repaired and is again occupied as a home. 

First minister in Danby, the Rev. James McChesney, grandfather of 
Charles McChesney, who held services in the hall of the Danby House. 

J. C. Hartzell, teacher in Danby's school, afterward Bishop in charge 
of M. E. missions in Africa. 

1853 Duane Street School built. There has been a school on this site ever 
since this earliest building. 

Wheaton and Fredricksburg (Winfield) platted. 

Illinois Institute (Wheaton College) founded, first president Prof. 
Lucius Matlack. It was one of the underground railway stations for 
runaway slaves, as well as the old Barnard or Filer home. Also Israel 
P. Blodgett's home in Downers Grove. Mr. Blodgett would often conceal 
as many as eleven slaves in his attic, feed and clothe them and send 
them on to the next station, the Illinois Institute. Here they were again 
hidden in an attic by President Matlack, till it was safe to send them 
on, perhaps to the Filer house on Crescent, where they were hidden in the 
barn. From there the slaves were taken to Chicago, one of the stations 
being the old Tremont House, and from there to Canada and safety. The 
slaves were transported in farm wagons loaded with produce under which 
they were concealed. All those local links with the past give a reality 
to the thrills Uncle Tom's Cabin used to send quivering through one's 
system. 



THE STOBY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 



57 



1853 Mark Davis, an o". \ bachelor from New York State, lived with his sister 
Mary Ann on a fan. . two miles south of the village. He was postmaster 
at Danby during Prtsident Pierce's administration. 

The old house on the north side of Butterfield road, east of Park 
Boulevard, now empty, was the Davis home, and here the young folks 
from the village loved to gather, going there in sleigh loads in the winter 
time, and sometimes being snowbound over night, while Mark fiddled for 
their dancing, and his sister, Mary Ann. set forth good food for their 
cheer. After the death of the two, the house was occupied by their 
niece, Mrs. Brundage. She later sold the place and it now lies waiting 
the subdivider's attention. 

1854 Danby Lodge No. 187, I. O. O. F. organized October 12 with Isaac D. 
Kelley, W. F. Saylor, Dr. H. S. Potter and E. Ballou as members. This 
is the oldest organization in the village but it has not been continuous, for 
as years went on, the older members died or moved away, and it lapsed. 
During the Civil War, H. and Matt H. Wagner, Alonza N. Holmes, Elisha 
Ballou, Mr. Pickard and Walter Sabin were members. 

Henry Benjamin, first school teacher in the Duane School, built the 
house on the northeast corner of Main and Duane. Mrs. Capron lived 
there many years, when Nathan Randall bought it. His daughter, Mrs. 
Jauch lived there twenty-four years, when it was sold and is now the 
site of the Baxter drug store. It was moved kitty-corner from the Glen 
Ellyn Storage Company on Duane, by R. A. Willcox who rents it to 
tenants. 

Dutch windmill built on Pennsylvania Ave., a little north of present 
telephone building. 

It was really north of Pennsylvania, which was then just a narrow 
road, so named by the Wagner brothers after their native state. There 
was no Anthony Street — it was all just prairie — and the mill stood about 
where Henry Bassett and Valentine Sikler have their gardens. It was 
a grist mill, well patronized, but it was destroyed by fire. No one living 
here now ever saw it; few remember of it. Frank M. Wagner had heard 
enough about it to supply this information. 




Warrenville Church 



Methodist Episcopal church built 
by the Garys in Warrenville on the 
first street east of the river, north 
of the bridge on the paved road, 
where Elbert H. Gary once went to 
school. Now the studio of the artists, 
Emory Albright and Sons, Ivan, the 
painter, and Marr, the sculptor. A 
visit to this studio is a delightful ex- 
perience, combining history and mod- 
ern art. 

DuPage County Agricultural and 
Mechanical Society formed. 

Two lightning rod factories at 
Wheaton. 

Mrs. William H. Wagner, Frank 
Wagner's mother, used the first oil 
lamp in Danby in the house still 
standing, No. 470 Pennsylvania Ave. 

Cottage Hill (Elmhurst) platted. 



58 



THE STORY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 



1854 Land in Hinsdale sold for $5.25 an acre. 

Mrs. Joseph Norris of West Chicago, eighty-three years old, has lived 
in vicinity of village since 1854. She remembers both Lincoln and Doug- 
las and their debate there in 1858. 

1855 Danby platted and recorded. 

Turner Junction platted and recorded (now West Chicago.) 

Excitement over slavery question. Danby folks went to see "Uncle 
Tom's Cabin" and wept over its sorrows. 

The last wolf hunt. A thousand men in the roundup. 

The Evangelical church of Itasca had its beginning. Charter members 
of the church and pioneers of the community were the families of Lud- 
wig Biermann, Henry Gathman, Sr., Henry Gathman, Jr., Henry Twacht- 
man, Gottlief Biesterfelt, Christian Pfleuger and Mrs. Henry Schuette. 

Charter granted by legislature for Illinois Institute (Wheaton College) 
which began with forty acres of land and $3,000 cash in donations. In 
its first year it registered 140 students, in its second, 270. 

Its faculty for 1856 was as follows: Rev. Lucius Matlack, president; 
G. H. Collier, A. B., Prof. Mathematics and Natural Philosophy; O. F. 
Lumry, A. B., Prof. Greek and Latin; Miss M. A. Newcomb, A. B., Prin- 
cipal Female Department; Mrs. Minerva Hoes, M. D., Anatomy, Physi- 
ology and Botany; Sebastian Pfrangle, German and Music and L. A. 
Jones, Assistant Teacher. It was founded by Wesleyan Methodists. 

1856 North Western tracks changed from Crescent Boulevard (then Delevan), 
to present location. 

Albert Janes built with his own hands the little white house at the 
corner of Main and Pennsylvania, where the Buchholz building stands. 




Capt. Janes' Home — Used as postoflice during Civil War 



The DuPage County Gazette issued at Wheaton for several months. 

Chicago and Naperville competed with each other, each advertising 
goods from New York and both sought trade of farmers. The Plank 
Road scene of continuous travel. 

West Chicago officially begun, named Turner Junction in honor of 
John Turner, one of the early presidents of the North Western. It was 



THE STOEY OF A N OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 59 

1856 merely a junction where the Aurora branch of the Burlington came to 
meet the Galena and Chicago Union Railway. Construction was begun 
this year on the Chicago, Iowa and Nebraska R. R. which with the 
Galena Road became the nucleus for the present great North Western. 

A famous resident near West Chicago was Ashael A. Gates, father of 
John W. (Bet-a-million) Gates who was born on the farm and started his 
first business venture as a grain and hardware dealer in a little building 
still standing on Depot Street. 

Daniel Dunham, of Wayne, erected a barn fifty by one hundred feet, 
with room for 100 horses and 300 tons of hay. It cost $4,000 and is 
probably the largest and best arranged barn in Northern Illinois (Dun- 
ham's Woods). 

In Downers Grove (and probably in most of the other places since 
there is much sameness about salaries) says the little DuPage County 
History: "The highest compensation paid to teachers is $25 per month. 
The average number of months in the year in which school is taught is 
eight. The average monthly compensation of female teachers has been 
about $14." 

Danby, with a population between three and four hundred, had one 
hotel, two drug stores, three dry goods stores, one cabinet shop, one grist 
mill, one tin and hardware store, one blacksmith shop, and one lumber 
yard, with Dr. L. Q. Newton, Dr. H. S. Potter and Dr. Saxe as its phy- 
sicians. 

1857 The Danby house was the scene of political debates and debates on 
slavery, feelings running high, and controversy often growing bitter. 

Wheaton and Naperville were rivals for the county seat. 

The Methodist Episcopal church organized at Wheaton as a circuit, 
later becoming the Gary Memorial Church, the building given by Judge 
Elbert H. Gary as a memorial to his father and mother. 

1858 Lincoln-Douglas debate at Turner Junction (West Chicago) July 28th. 

Lincoln stayed at the Danby House in October, and made a speech 
there. The Danby House stood on the site of the Newton-Baethke 
building on the southwest corner of Main and Crescent. Mrs. Matilda 
Locke and Albert Kelley both vouch for this statement. Mrs. Locke's 
father, Alonzo Ackerman, heard Lincoln make his speech. 

1859 Danby amusements consisted of spelling bees and debates in the school, 
sleigh rides or hayrack rides with a dance at some farm at the end, ice 
cream sociables, concerts, etc., in the church. 

Tombstone to James E. Burr, died April 26, 1859, erected on Wheaton 
College Campus, at wish of Mr. Burr who had given money to school and 
wanted to be buried on its grounds. 

THE SETTLING SIXTIES 

1860 Albert Janes appointed postmaster, filling the office till he enlisted in the 
Civil War. Then his wife was sworn in and served during his absence, 
keeping the office in the little white house on the corner of Main and 
Pennsylvania. 

Illinois Institute changed hands going into the control of "Orthodox 
Congregationalisms" with the co-operation of its founders appearing as 
Wheaton College with this objective by its trustees: "The intention of 
the trustees is, that the instruction and influence of the institution shall 
bear decidedly against all forms of error and sin. The testimony of God's 



60 TEE STOBY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 

1860 word against slave-holding, secret societies and their spurious worships, 
human inventions in church government, war, and whatever else shall 
clearly appear to contravene the kingdom and coming of our Lord, 
Jesus Christ, is to be kept good. Done at Wheaton, January 9, 1860, 
signed by A. H. Hiatt, chairman, and W. L. Wheaton, secretary." 

John Hatch, who in the early Sixties and probably before that, drove a 
stage which carried mail and the infrequent passengers between Danby 
and Bloomingdale. "As a child I remember him as a thin, wiry, little 
man, busy and bustling. The stage had evidently been painted bright 
red at some time or other, but as I recall it, it was a dim, dusty affair, 
with a creaking noise and swaying motion as it toiled along toward 
Bloomingdale. I never seem to remember it as coming down the hill, but 
always going up. John Hatch was a quaint, slow-spoken Yankee. He 
made the trip once a day, rain or shine. He was a pioneer rural free de- 
livery letter carrier, though he was not so called, but he did kindly 
deliver letters to the farmers on his route from Danby to Bloomingdale 
and his coming was always looked for eagerly. The old stage route was 
discontinued when the 'Hough,' railroad was built and Roselle was laid 
out." — Mrs. Mattie Coe's Reminiscences. 

Some village characteristics during the decade of the Sixties as re- 
called by Mattie Janes Coe: "Jack Hayden was a half brother of Miles 
Allen, but he lived by himself and kept a little candy shop to which many 
pennies of the children found their way. He was a cripple, one leg being 
much shorter than the other, so that he always swung along on a crutch. 
His little store faced the street parallel to the railroad and half a block 
east of the Mansion House. Later he added a pool table and the 
children's patronage grew less but their affection for him and his 
stories never waned. 

"Another village character was Charles Hardy, who was blind but had 
no trouble recognizing his friends and who found his way about with 
no trouble. He used to make it a point once in so often and especially 
on rainy days to "make a few remarks" at the close of the school session 
Everyone mourned when he was killed by the cars in the Eighties. 

"The principal store in the Sixties was kept by Charles Du Brock, his 
family living in rooms above the store, the first family in town to live 
in a fiat. It was on the southwest corner of Main and Pennsylvania, 
across from my father's house and was destroyed by fire in 1865. The 
first fire Danby ever had. 

"Dr. L. Q. Newton (great grandfather of Frank Q. Newton and Mrs. 
Walter Laing) lived on the northwest corner of Main and Pennsylvania 
and Miles Allen built a home in 1867 on the northeast corner. 

"I cannot remember when the Wagner brothers did not have their two 
shops side by side on the north side of Pennsylvania Avenue, a block west 
of Main Street, William Wagner having a blacksmith shop, and Mathew 
Wagner a wagon shop. 

"John Weidman came to Danby from Reading, Pennsylvania, in 1853. 
His wife's maiden name was Mary Margaret Irwin. A brother, Jonathan, 
had preceded him in 1851. We used to love to see Mr. Weidman making 
his brooms. He was town assessor for many years. He bought his broom 
corn from the farmers around the village." 

1861 Lincoln called for troops. All of Danby's able-bodied men answered the 
call. The Danby Home Guards organized with three members, all too old 
for service, David Kelley, Mr. Gates, village shoemaker, and Charles 
Cooper, grandfather of Wilbur and Hermon Cooper. Mr. Fleming founded 
the Relief Corps in his house on Forest Avenue, near Pennsylvania, 
where his widow now lives. 

There was no organized Red Cross but Grandma Brooks gathered the 
women of the village together and founded a society called the Soldiers' 



THE STOBY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 



61 



1861 Aid. They knit wool socks and mittens, sewed and scraped lint, made 
bandages from old linen rags, fried bushels of doughnuts, and sliced 
raw potatoes till their hands were blistered; these were packed into 
barrels with layers of salt in between them to keep them from spoiling 
and were sent to the camps for the soldiers. 

Soldiers' Aid Societies were formed in every town in the county. 

Another society ,the United Christian Commission, did Red Cross ser- 
vice. Joseph R. McChesney was in charge of the Danby work. The 
Eagle Brand, the first condensed milk made by Gail Borden of St. Charles, 
was sent to the various hospitals through this society. 

Northwestern College established at Plainfield by the Illinois, Iowa, 
Wisconsin and Indiana Conference of the Evangelical Association. In 
1870 moved to Naperville. It was co-educational. Rev. A. A. Smith, 
president, was "professor of mental and moral science." Now known as 
North Central College. 

Ogden and John Whitlock were editors of the "Illinoian" at Wheaton 
during the Civil War. 

Mammoth or Bob Reed Spring, burst through the ground at Elm- 
hurst, with a loud report. It was on the highway between the land owned 
by G. H. Talmadge and Robert Reed. 

1862 Grocery started by Joseph R. McChesney, son of Rev. James McChesney, 
circuit rider preacher, who lived to be ninety-six years old. J. R. McChes- 
ney was second lieutenant in Civil War and first president of village 
board of Prospect Park. Joseph D., and Edgar, his sons, went into part- 
nership with their father in the grocery business in April, 1878. January 
1st, 1905, Charles McChesney, grandson of the founder, took over the 
business. The firm became McChesney & Miller in 1920 with the advent 
of Oscar Miller as partner. 

1,500 men from DuPage County in the Civil War. 




Danby School — on present Duane Street site 



62 TEE STOBY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 

1862 The wooden school house on Duane Street built. There was a vestibule 
in the center of the building which led into the main room. From the 
vestibule a stairway led to the belfry which was just above the teacher's 
desk. One of the favorite pastimes of the boys was to get up in the 
belfry and throw things down on the teacher. Punishment came from the 
long black ruler, but they were used to it. Here Walter Sabin taught 
for many years. 

The school was in use for nearly thirty years; was then moved to 
Crescent where it housed the gas office for many years; and now reno- 
vated and repainted, is occupied by the Johansen Real Estate Company. 

A few members of the Congregational society living in Danby or- 
ganized and bought the old Baptist church (originally Methodist) at 
Stacy's Corners where it had stood for twenty-three years since its 
erection in 1839, and moved it down to Danby. It took three weeks to 
make its journey down the hill and change its creed from Baptist to 
Congregationalist. 

Deacon Yalding, slight and small, feared the church was traveling too 
rapidly down hill, so he ran in front of it and tried to push it back. 
The hill was much steeper in those days, and the valley at the foot, 
with the little rill murmuring across, was much lower than now. The 
poor deacon never heard the last of this little episode of the church 
running down hill, for the townsfolk always teased him about it. It 
lightened up the gloom of war days a bit and brought a smile to sad 
faces whenever it was mentioned. 

The church found a safe resting place on the east side of Main street 
on the lot just north of the present McChesney store. A steeple was 
added to it, the box pews removed, and modern seats installed. 

They had no organ so each Sunday, Deacon Yalding carried a small 
one on his back from his home, which his daughter, Mrs. L. C. Cooper, 
played for the service. A tuning fork was also used, both relics being 
now in the possession of the Cooper family. 

The church was used for thirty-five years, and for a long time was the 
only church in Danby. It was finally moved over on Crescent where it 
still stands, for a time used as a hall, where the Episcopalians held their 
first meetings, also as the home of Dr. James Saunders, and of late 
years as a boarding house for workmen. It stands on a high foundation, 
back from the street, next to the Saunders Plumbing Shop. 

The Congregational church was organized April 15th, by an ecclesi- 
astical council, Rev. Joseph Haven, D. D., president of the Congregational 
Seminary, was the moderator; Rev. E. N. Lewis, the first pastor. Charter 
members were J. P. Yalding and wife, H. B. Gifford and wife, A. Standish 
and wife, Stephan Van Tassel and wife, Mrs. Rhoda Ruddock, Mrs. Caro- 
line Brooks and daughter, Emily. 

The Yalding home was the little cream house at 594 Hillside, now 
occupied by the Charles F. Wilkins, which then stood at the corner of 
Park and Duane, where the village's first apartment now takes its place. 

1863 During the war, L. C. Cooper, then a young attorney (father of Wilbur 
and Hermon) read the dispatches as they were received, to the Danby 
folks at the Mansion House, kept by David Kelley. 

Captain Marcellus E. Jones, from Danby, fired the first shot at Gettys- 
burg. Charles Slyter, of Danby, was the first man killed in this battle. 

The Eagle Brand, the first condensed milk, was made by Gail Bor- 
den at St. Charles, and sent to the various hospitals through the United 
Christian Commission, Joseph R. McChesney (grandfather of Charles) 
in charge in Danby. 

A. G. Chessman, appointed by Abraham Lincoln, was Itasca's first 
postmaster. 



THE STOBY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 63 

1863 Conrad Kampp started the Kampp furniture business in Naperville, in 
1865 moving to Wheaton where he ran it in a little wooden shack. When 
he started in, his was the only furniture and undertaking establishment 
between Elgin and Chicago. His son John joined the business and 
handled it until he sold it out to Kriebs-Wilmes in 1928, though continuing 
with the undertaking. 

Stephen, oldest son of pioneer Stephen Bronson, was a colonel of the 
141st Illinois Infantry in the Civil War. His son, Charles Bronson, was 
a captain. 

1864 Charles A. Phillips, born in Brandon, Vermont, came to Danby to live 
and had a large estate on Park Boulevard, south of the tracks where he 
kept a herd of deer. He gave the Episcopalians the two lots on which 
St. Mark's church is located, though he was an unbeliever. The Zander 
subdivision was a part of his estate. The big old house on Park, now 
used by the Ganzhorns as a factory, was the Phillips home. 

The C. B. & Q. completed in the county of DuPage. 

George P. Kimball, first county superintendent of schools. 

1865 A band started in Danby. 

Returned soldiers organized a minstrel troupe, giving entertainments 
in the ballroom of the old Danby house. 

L. C. Cooper viewed the body of the martyred president, Abraham 
Lincoln, in April, in the corridor of the court house in Chicago. 

Hinsdale platted and recorded. 

John Smith, born in Yorkshire, England, January 29, 1822, and brought 
to Wayne County, Michigan, when six years old, came to DuPage County 
and bought 190 acres from the Callahans. 

He had married his distant cousin, Anna Smith, in Michigan in 1849, 
and they built for their home the house at 861 Hill Avenue, now oc- 
cupied by the A. F. Mertz family. They were the parents of the late 
Mrs. Nelson Dodge, the late Mrs. J. D. McChesney and the late Joseph 
Smith. The west part of the Glen Oak grounds belonged to the old 
Smith farm, as did the Mcintosh sub-division. 

Joseph R. McChesney first quartermaster of the E. S. Kelley Post, 
G. A. R. of Danby. 

1866 The Rustics, first baseball team playing in Danby. The game was in- 
troduced by Dr. Harcourt and L. C. Cooper to the village, and the 
grounds were where Lake Ellyn now lies. Some of the players were 
Albert M. Kelley, E. H. McChesney and LeRoy Newton. 

Dutch windmill built by Henry Holstein on west side of Bloomingdale 
Road on what is now the Chris Meshler farm, recognized by the little 
playhouse near the roadside. It was the largest of all the mills about, 
its wings spreading eighty feet. I can recall seeing an old lady spin- 
ning in its doorway. It was partially destroyed by a small tornado in 
1899, and later torn down, its usefulness having been impaired. 

1867 County Court House moved from Naperville to Wheaton, with much bit- 
ter feeling. Naperville objected to giving up the records, so a party of 
men from Danby, including Amos Churchill and Marcellus Jones, joined 
by a party from Wheaton, went over to Naperville one night, entered 
the Court House and carried away four books of records. They were 
attacked by Naperville men, the books being dropped in the street in 
the scuffle. The men of Naperville picked up the four books, took them 
to Chicago for safe-keeping and it is supposed they were lost in the 



64 THE STOBY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 

1867 great fire of '71 for they have never been found. To this day they are 
referred to as "the lost records" and would be worth thousands of 
dollars if they could be found. 

Court House erected at cost of $20,000, a frame building two stories 
high, with jail below and court rooms above. 

Dutch windmill, east of Addison on Mill Road, just north of Lake 
Street, built by Chris Heidemann, and run until last year, by his 
son who still lives nearby. Its wings stretch seventy-two feet and it has 
two sets of millstones. 

1868 John Sabin lived on the "top of the hill" on Main Street. He had a 
small shoe shop almost under the eaves of the Congregational church, 
making and repairing the shoes of many of the village people. 

Across the street from the Sabin home, was the home of William 
Freeto with his tin shop next door. 

South Main Street was cut through the Brooks' grounds to the Mason 
Dodge farm where it again stopped for many years. It was known then 
as the "New Road." The house at 583 Hill Avenue, now occupied by the 
J. K. Marshalls, contains, as part of it, the original Mason Dodge farm 
home. It was later added to and occupied by the Cross Country Club. 

Wheaton, through the state legislature, triumphed over Naperville as 
county seat. Four acres of land and the new court house deeded to 
DuPage County, June 20th. 

John Ballard, old soldier supposed to have been in the Revolutionary 
War, lived in Glen Ellyn many years, and is buried in Forest Hill. 

Lombard platted and recorded April 23rd. Named in honor of Josiah 
Lombard, Chicago capitalist. Capt. Janes made the plats, in co-operation 
with Mr. Lombard and Gen. B. J. Sweet, and each man chose a street to 
which he gave the name of his wife; Mrs. Lombard's, Elizabeth, Mrs. 
Sweet's, Martha, and Mrs. Janes', Charlotte. 

1869 Walter Sabin and Georgia Allen teachers in the Duane School for many 
years. Miss Allen taught two generations through forty years of ser- 
vice. 

Cottage Hill changed its name to Elmhurst. 

1870 July 11th, officially changed name of Danby to Prospect Park, though 
it was still called Danby till 1882. It was said the villagers agreed we 
possessed a beautiful natural park and that the prospect was pleasing, 
ergo "Prospect Park." 

Population of Milton Township, 1,177. 

1871 "The long summer of 1871 with its terrible heat and drought culminated 
in the great Chicago fire. . . The light from the burning city was 
so brilliant that we, twenty- two and a half miles away, could see to read 
newspapers all night, for several nights. At the same time a fire had in 
some manner started in a low-lying bit of ground south of Danby, 
which caused much anxiety and was watched night and day for weeks, 
as it was feared it might spread to the adjoining fields which were liter- 
ally as dry as tinder. Wells and cisterns were dry and the suffering 
among stock was quite a serious problem for farmers that -year. 

"The air was filled with the acrid, pungent odor of the burning peat 
fields, and the dark smoke clouds hanging over Chicago were, for weeks, 
the only clouds that floated in the dazzling glare of that October 
sunshine. 



THE STOEY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 65 

1871 "Danby people rallied to help the fire sufferers. Homes were opened 
to friends whose own homes had been destroyed; strangers came to board 
until their affairs could be adjusted; collections were taken at church 
and public meetings. Right at the first, requests were sent out for food. 
I remember how my mother made hundreds of doughnuts, in the in- 
tense heat, over a coal stove and how she sighed and said, 'Will I ever 
want to see or smell another doughnut as long as I live!' after she 
sent the last dozen away. 

"Relics of the great fire at that time were found in every home, for 
no one went to Chicago but who brought home some evidence of the 
havoc wrought by the fire. I know we had papers of tacks, minus the 
paper, of course; a pile of several china plates; two tea cups, all 
fused together by the heat; a pile of linen table napkins, charred black 
as coal, but showing the floral design woven in the linen . . Many of 
these relics adorned the old fashioned 'what not' cabinets for years." — 
Mattie Janes Coe. 

1872 Odd Fellows reorganized and held their meetings over Mat Wagner's 
carpenter shop, just east of his home, and just west of the William 
Wagner house, 440 Pennsylvania Avenue, (still standing) from 1872-1901. 

"Ten Nights in a Bar Room," given in the Congregational church on 
Main Street. Sunday school concerts also given, under the direction of 
Deacon Yalding, his daughter, Mrs. L. C. Cooper, playing the organ. 

1873 "The John Boyd family came from Chicago in the spring. Mr. Boyd and 
son, Robert G., came in March to build a new house for L. C. Cooper. 
This was built where Hermon Cooper now lives. When the present 
Cooper house was contemplated, the former one was moved to Haw- 
thorne Street, west of Main, and shortly after was burned. 

"Considerable building being talked of at this time. Mr. Boyd de- 
cided to remain and moved the family in May. The household goods 
not arriving the day expected, some of the family was obliged to depend 
on the kindness of their new acquaintances and stayed their first night 
in the country at the home of the Fenamore's at Stacy's Corners. This 
was on a farm at the northwest corner of the St. Charles Road and 
Main Street. The farm is now sub-divided and the house gone. 

"On the arrival of the furniture the next day, the family started 
settling in what was to be their home in the country. This was the old 
Newton homestead at the northwest corner of Pennsylvania and Main, 
now the municipal lot. The old house was divided in sections and dis- 
posed of, one part being now the home of James Sullivan, 416 Pennsyl- 
vania Ave., near Western. 

"The Boyd family remained in the Newton house for something over a 
year, when they built and moved into a place of their own on Anthony 
Street, where they remained until 1909. 

"About the same time the Cooper house was built, one for Mr. Fena- 
more was erected by Mr. Boyd and his son at the northeast corner of 
Main and Cottage. This still stands but somewhat changed, occupied by 
the Meinardi family. 

"The building boom of 1873 did not materialize but the Boyd family 
remained in the country and have participated in the growth and changes 
that have since taken place in the village." — Anna Boyd Russell. 

Milwaukee Railway (Chicago, Milwaukee and St. Paul) completed from 
Chicago to Elgin. DuPage people called it the "Hough Railroad" as it 
was promoted by Col. Roselle Hough, president for a time. There was a 
long struggle to bring the road through Itasca rather than Blooming- 
dale, which was waged by Dr. Smith of Itasca, Mr. Meacham of 
Meacham, Col. Hough of Roselle, and Mr. Bartlett of Bartlett. Capt. 
Janes surveyed with the railroad's surveyor the northern part of the 
county and helped lay out the new towns and subdivisions and additions 
that sprang up along this route. 



66 



THE STOBY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 



1873 David Kelley, landlord of the Mansion House for twenty-one years, 
retired in the fall of this year. 




Capt. Janes 



Capt. Janes elected county judge. 

October 10th, Bensenville platted and recorded. 

Utili Dulci Society formed. The young women in it arranged social 
and gainful affairs for the village, such as New England dinners, 
bazaars, a strawberry festival in the freight room of the old railway 
station, (thanks to the kindness of Agent Luther who set things out of 
the way for them) and other things. Some of the original members, as 
listed at a reunion held by Miss Carrie Stacy in 1905 were Lillian Nind 
Ballou, Ella Yalding Pummill, Josie Leyman Grattan, Carrie Hubbard 
Stetson, Jennie Minor Boyd, Carrie Davis Burridge, Nettie Churchill 
Clark, Hattie Churchill Wimpress, Rebecca Arnold Hoadley, Florence 
Patrick, Jennie Hubbard, Lucille Rhoades, Georgia Allen, Fannie Allen, 
Rose Weidman, Vallie Weidman, Mattie Smith McChesney, Julia Kelley 
McChesney, Carrie Stacy, Emma Ackerman, Mary Ackerman Sherman, 
Sarah Vaughan, Anna Boyd Russell, Emma O'Brien Christie, Ella Dodge, 
May Somerset Smith, Mattie Janes Coe. 

Four other charter members who had passed away were: Emma Weid- 
man Clare, Fanny Vaughan, Georgia Jellies and Carrie Dodge. 

March 21, the village turned out for this exciting entertainment, "in 
addition to other attractions at the Danby School Exhibition at the Union 
Congregational church, the following new, popular and sparkling dramas 
will be presented:" "Suit for Libel," with these characters: Judge 
Wright, by Joseph Smith; counsel for prosecution, by James Hogan; 
counsel for defense, by William Dodge; witnesses, Mr. Lobby, by William 
Emmons; Mr. O'Connor, by Ed. Hogan; Stult, by H. Schoenfield; Emery, 
by Charles Smith; sheriff, by Joseph McChesney; clerk of court, by L. G. 
Wagner and foreman of jury by Jos. Schlick. Another dramatic offering 



TEE STOBY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 



67 



1873 that same evening was "A little More Cider," with E. Applejack, done by- 
Joseph Smith; Z. Applejack, by David Smith; D. Peachblossom, by Jas. 
Hogan; I. Peachblossom, by Clem Dodge; H. Drinker, by Joseph McChes- 
ney; Miss Mason, by Miss Mattie Smith and Miss Polly, by Miss N. 
Wagner. The doors opened at 7:00 P. M. and the admission was 25 cents. 
(They sold tickets evidently even in those days). 

"Turner (West Chicago) is one of the principal railroad centers of the 
state, the C. & N. W. with its various branches, and the C. B. & Q., run- 
ning to Aurora, there connecting with main line. Forty-six daily trains 
pass this place, and, with extras, this number is often increased to 
eighty, averaging from sixty-five to seventy trains per day." — PuPage 
County Atlas. 

Itasca platted. "Dr. Smith has adopted a liberal policy in building 
up his town by giving away a lot, or lots, to those who will put up a 
respectable building — as the building, so the lot. If Itasca does not 
make one of the most beautiful and prominent places on the Chicago and 
Milwaukee R. R., it will not be the fault of Nature or Dr. Smith." — 
DuPage County Atlas. 

1874 Utili Dulci held a strawberry festival in the old railroad station, Wm. 
H. Luther was the station agent. Many guests came from other towns. 

L. C. Cooper's house built on Park Boulevard. The present house, 
545, was built in 1894. 




Old station at Main Street — Henry Jones and Delbert Sherman 

on platform 



In the DuPage County Atlas mention is made of Luther L. Hiatt and 
A. H. Hiatt, M. D., both coming to Wheaton in 1858 from Indiana; one 
dealing in drugs and real estate and the other in "artificial limbs." 



68 



TEE STOEY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 



1874 Patrons' Directory of DuPage County, Atlas 


, Danby — Milton Township 


Name 


When came to 
County 


Nativity 


Occupation 


Miles Allen 


1854 


New York 


Real estate 


F. B. Angell 


1873 


Rhode Island 


Watchmaker and jeweler 


T. A. Brookins 


1838 


New York 


Parmer 


Geo. Becker 


1843 


Germany 


Parmer 


John T. Cox 


1848 


England 


Merchant 


George S. Chisholm 1871 


Wisconsin 


Norman horses 


I. B. Churchill 


1834 


New York 


Farmer 


N. M. Dodge 


1835 


Vermont 


Farmer 


J. S. Dodge 


1835 


Vermont 


Farmer 


Mark Davis 


1839 


New York 


Farmer 


Henry Hestern 


1870 


Germany 


Farmer 


T. W. Holmes 


1854 


Pennsylvania 


Farmer 


W. J. Johnson 


1836 


Maine 


Retired 


W. H. Jacobs 


1873 


New York 


Insurance and real estate 


A. S. Janes 


1835 


New York 


County surveyor 


David Kelley 


1845 


Vermont 


Hotel 


E. Ketcham 


1837 


New York 


Farmer and carpenter 


J. R. McChesney 


1855 


New Jersey 


Grocer and postmaster 


Jas. H. Myers 


1865 


Indiana 


Farmer 


W. C. Newton 


1841 


Illinois 


Farmer 


J. N. Nind 


1845 


England 


Farmer 


H. W. Phillips 


1864 


Vermont 


Capitalist and farmer 


Philo W. Stacy 


1835 


New York 


Farmer 


A. Schneider 


1846 


Germany 


Farmer 


John Sabin 


1846 


Connecticut 


Boot and shoe maker 


M. H. Wagner 


1854 


Pennsylvania 


Wagonmaker 


Wm. H. Wagner 


1852 


Pennsylvania 


Blacksmith 


J. M. Ward 


1840 


New York 


Gig saddles and coach pads 


Joseph Wagner 


1854 


Pennsylvania 


Farmer 


October 5th, 


Roselle platted and recorded. 




1875 Lecture given 


in the Duane 


Street School, "I 


3 hrenology," "Recollections 



1876 Edward Way, brother of Elmer, teacher in the Duane school. 

"When the county seat, soon after the Civil War, was voted away from 
Naperville to Wheaton, as being more centrally located, much bitter 
feeling was aroused, which lived for many years, between the northern 
and southern parts of the county. In 1876, however, the hatchet was 
buried at a wonderful celebration held at Naperville, and so far as I 
know, the friendliest feelings have existed ever since. 

"In company of seven other girls and their respective swains I went 
in a springless farm wagon, decorated with flags and bunting, and with 
long, blanket-covered board seats down each side. The invitation, asking 
everybody in DuPage County to attend, had been most cordial, and as we 
proceded down the dusty country road, it seemed as if everyone had 
accepted and everything on wheels had been pressed into service." — 
Mattie Janes Coe. 

Excursions from Chicago of churches and Sunday Schools on C. & N. 
W. to Lake Geneva and Clinton, which Danby folks "took in." 

From a school report of 1876, Henry Thrasher, teacher, "The Higher 
Department of Prospect Park," these forty-six pupils are named: Carrie 
Dodge, Mattie Janes, Ella Dodge, Anna Boyd, Edna Janes, Ella Jones, 
Lillie Wagner, Julia Kelley, Addie Arnold, Willie Dodge, Charlie Smith, 
Fred Ludeke, Charlie Breening, Willie J. Wagner, Cora Traver, Muriel 
Jacobs, G. M. Crawford, Eugene Balsey, Frank Hulett, John Boyd, John 



THE STOEY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 69 

1876 Kendall, Frank Wagner, Willie Jellies, Albert Kelley, Willie Freeto, 
Orrin Dodge, George Koep, Meta Johnson, Emma Jones, Lewis Newton, 
Jennie Hubbard, Albert Janes, Rusling Smith, Edgar McChesney, Lucy 
Rhoads, Edwin Pierce, Georgia Jellies, Jessie Janes, Cora Hicks, Ella 
Traver, May Dodge, Etta Wagner, Luther Wagner, Mabel Newton, Emma 
Bierman. Contemporary with these, and in school with them, though 
not at this date, were Mattie Smith, Nora Wagner, Rose Weidman, Re- 
becca Arnold and Mary Cooper. 

There were some seventy-five children in the lower grade, so Mrs. Coe 
thought and Miss Georgia Allen was the teacher there. 

Mr. and Mrs. Charles F. Beaner came to town, the first colored folks 
to live in Glen Ellyn, also the first people to sell ice cream and bread in 
the village. They were very industrious, religious people, winning the 
respect of their townsfolk. Mrs. Beaner passed away in 1917, Mr. Beaner 
in 1925. 

1877 Protracted meetings held by Free Methodists. 

County superintendent of schools, George P. Kimball, 1877-81. 

1878 Fourteenth annual reunion of the 108 Illinois Volunteer Infantry, was 
held September 3rd, in Philo Stacy's grove on Main Street, where the 
F. M. Cole house now stands, across the street from where in later 
years Mr. Stacy built his mansion, later owned by the William H. 
Baethkes and now belonging to the Albert McCollums. 

The grove was decorated with yards and yards of bunting, red, white 
and blue. Flags were flung to the breeze over the grand stand. Long 
rows of tables were decked out with bunting and filled with good things 
to eat. 

The veterans of the 108th Illinois Infantry and the 
8th Illinois Cavalry were the guests of Philo Stacy, 
he being the chairman of the committee in charge of 
feeding nearly 2,000 people. Mr. Stacy was in his 
element in an affair of this sort, he was here, there, 
everywhere, greeting his old comrades of the Civil 
War and extending to them a welcome they never 
forgot. 

In the business meeting the sincere thanks of the 

organization was voted to the Prospect Parkers, three 

rousing cheers were given, the usual business was 

concluded and the meeting was turned over to the 

people with L. C. Cooper in charge. After the ban- 

Ph'l Sta quet there were speeches, story telling, reminiscenses, 

1 ° cy music, and a tight rope walker who unfortunately 

lost his presence of mind, fell and fatally injured himself. 

Bell Telephone Company was chartered and a regular exchange ser- 
vice started in Chicago with 400 telephones in use. 

Free Methodist Church founded as result of a series of meetings 
conducted by Rev. J. E. Coleman and Rev. J. D. Marsh. Rev. William 
Ferries was the next minister, then Rev. James Sprague. 

Among the early members were Rose Weidman, Mr. and Mrs. Kimball, 
Mr. Whiteman, Mr. and Mrs. William Henry Churchill, Mr. and Mrs. 
Winslow Ackerman, Mrs. W. H. Luther, Mrs. John Sutcliffe, J. J. Butter- 
field, Mrs. Erastus Ketcham, Mrs. Martha Templeton, Mrs. Mathias 
Wagner, Mrs. Joseph Wagner, Mrs. Ellen Wagner, Mrs. Benjamin Wim- 
press, Mr. and Mrs. John Rawson and Mrs. Nora Wagner Harnden. 

Rev. William P. Ferries was the first resident pastor of the Free 
Methodist Church, coming in the fall of 1880. The following April he 




70 TEE STOBY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 

1878 brought his bride to Glen Ellyn. A reception was tendered them by the 
townspeople in the house occupied by the A. R. Utt family on Main 
Street, the old Brooks' house. A Mrs. Flint opened her home; she was 
an attendant at the Free Methodist Church, but not a member. 

1880 First telephone in the village, at Boyd's hardware store, now Patch 
Brothers. 

U. C. Hiatt, teacher in the Duane school, Ella Dodge, primary teacher. 

1881 March 11, Jennie Miner Boyd came to Glen Ellyn. "I lived in a house 
on lot owned now by Mr. Grimshaw. At that time Glen Ellyn was a 
village of about 500 inhabitants. Sidewalks were scarce, mostly planks 
laid lengthwise; there were no street lights; the stores were small and 
very few; the North Western depot was at the corner of Main and the 
railroad. Across the street where the Newton-Baethke building now 
stands was a two story building used as part hotel and store. It stood 
high, so there were a number of steps to go up. The corner now 
occupied by the Glen Ellyn Bank was a real hotel with a bar (Mansion 
House). 

"In those days the mode of amusement was surprise parties, where 
games were played and refreshments served, also church socials at the 
homes, as the church in those days had no parlor. For other amuse- 
ment we went to Wheaton to church socials or parties. 'Those who 
danced' even went to Warrenville and Bloomingdale with horse and 
buggy. 

"In about 1889-90 we had our first boom and began to grow. R. G. 
Boyd and brother were contractors and built many homes in Glen Ellyn. 
Among them are: Geo C. Reeves' home at the northwest corner of Park 
and Hawthorne; the house at the northwest corner of Maple and Main, 
the Walter Dunham home; the house north of it; the house at the south- 
west corner of Maple and Main, the L. J. Thiele home; the three houses 
on Ridgewood, west of Main, on the north side of the street, the R. L. 
Rogers house, the A. C. Duncan's, and Mrs. C. W. Bremner's; the house 
on the southwest corner of Ridgewood and Main, the J. G. Hunter home; 
the George Nelson home on South Main Street; the M. J. Milmoe home 
on the southwest corner of Main and Hillside; the E. H. McChesney home, 
just south of it on Main Street; the G. Zuttermeister home on the 
northwest corner of Main and Phillips; the W. H. Harnden home on 
Hillside Avenue. 

"Three houses were built for Amos Churchill on Forest: that on the 
southwest corner of Forest and Anthony, the O. O. Townsend's home; 
on the southeast corner of Forest and Anthony, where H. O. Buells live; 
and the next one just south, the E. J. Harmon home. They also built 
the T. A. Gregg house on Forest, almost at Hawthorne, for a Mr. 
Woodworth. St. Mark's Episcopal Church was built by Boyd Bros. 

"In 1888 Boyd Bros, built and owned a one story frame building (on 
lot now owned by S. Junta), used as a hardware store. In 1892 a fire 
burned all the buildings but two on the west side of Main Street, 
destroying their store. They then built the store building now owned by 
S. Junta. In about 1909-10 Boyd Bros, built and owned the building 
now owned by Patch Bros, and conducted the hardware business until 
its sale in 1911." — Jennie P. Boyd. 

The present Gregg house was known as "Woodworth's Folly" because 
people thought it was so far off in the woods. 

An agent for Harper Brothers, publishers, sold 100 volumes for $100 to 
twenty people each paying $5. This was the first library in Danby. This 
became the Prospect Park Library Association, with P. G. Hubbard, 
president; Philo Stacy, vice president; Walter Sabin, secretary; W. H. 
Luther, treasurer and Miss Georgia Allen, librarian. The 100 books 
ultimately were stored in an old walnut bookcase in the basement of the 



THE STOBY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 71 

1881 Congregational church, and in 1907 when the library movement stirred 
again, were turned over to the Glen Ellyn Library Association. 

Lewis Mills, teacher in Duane school. 

J. B. Haggard, J. R. Rosenweiller, superintendent of schools in county, 
1881-86. 

Bensenville was noted for its dairy interests, making 150,000 pounds of 
butter and 400,000 pounds of cheese. Ships over 300,000 gallons of milk 
to Chicago now, and manufactures double that amount in butter and 
cheese. 

1882 Danby incorporated, July 1st, as village of Prospect Park, with J. R. 
McChesney (Charles McChesney's grandfather) as first village president. 
These were the first trustees, with the votes cast for them: William 
H. Wagner, 52; J. S. Dodge, 52; Wm. H. Luther, 52; J. R. McChesney, 51; 
P. G. Hubbard, 51; Wm. C. Newton, 27; James Saunders, 24. The village 
president was chosen by the trustees from among their number, instead 
of being directly elected as nowadays. Mr. Luther was first village clerk. 
August 1st, first record of a village meeting, from the original book in 
the village hall, runs thus: "Board of Trustees of the Village of Prospect 
Park, 111., county of DuPage, met at the depot on the 1st day of August 
to organize. On motion, J. R. McChesney was elected chairman of the 
meeting Pro Tern and W. H. Luther sec. Pro Tern. The chairman was 
called to read the certificate of election. Moved and carried that the 
same be spread upon the records of this board. Justice of the Peace W. 
Sabin was called to administer the oath of office to the six trustees 
elected, viz., W. H. Wagner, J. S. Dodge, W. H .Luther, J. R. McChesney, 
P. G. Hubbard and W. C. Newton, all trustees being present. On motion 
by W. H. Wagner, J. R. McChesney was elected 'by acclamation' per- 
manent chairman of the board of trustees. . On motion J. S. Dodge, 
P. G. Hubbard and W. C. Newton were appointed to investigate what 
amount of money will be needed for the coming year for corporation use. 
Motion made and carried that a committee of one be appointed to ex- 
amine the records of this corporation at Wheaton to ascertain the 
amount of taxable property in said corporation. Chair appointed W. H. 
Wagner as such committee. Motion made that the secretary be in- 
structed to procure a suitable book to keep the records of this board, 
and such other material as he may need. Carried. . . Motion made 
and carried that J. R. McChesney, W. H. W. and P. G. Hubbard act as a 
committee to draft rules and regulations for this board of trustees." 

From such a little acorn grew the present village of Glen Ellyn. 

At the next meeting, August 4th, the committee on money so reported: 
"Your committee on the subject of levying corporation tax have con- 
sidered the subject and beg leave to report that although we consider 
it expedient to do something by way of improvements on our streets 
and sidewalks, etc., do not desire to make the tax unsatisfactory or 
burdensome to the citizens. We therefore recommend that $300 be 
raised and expended according to our best judgments. And in doing so 
we do not expect to give entire satisfacton to everybody as the require- 
ments will be many and the means limited, but trust that by our united 
efforts we can show the inhabitants that they have value received for 
their money paid out." Here was probably where the cry of "High 
taxes" originated. 

W. H. Wagner reported the taxable property in the corporation thus: 
Personal property, $7,291; Prospect Park lots, $23,560; Glenwood lots, 
$4,020; real estate, $17,480, and railroad property, $11,856, making a 
total of $64,207. 



72 THE STOEY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 



1882 August 21st, Village Ordinance No. 1 was passed, providing that the 
village treasurer (J. S. Dodge) should give bond of $1,000 and the 
village clerk a bond of $500. 

Ordinance No. 2 provided for the use of the taxes thus: 
"the sum of $200 for streets, bridges and sidewalks; the 
sum of $40 for seal, books and stationery and the sum of 
$60 for a general contingent fund and miscellaneous pur- 
poses. 

September 4th, James Saunders appointed clerk of 
the board of trustees, and he said he would serve without 
compensation. 

The books, blanks, licenses, warrants, bonds and seal 
cost more than the estimated $40, coming to $44.25, 
J. S. Dodge however, the village fathers accepted the bill. 

In October, W. H. Wagner was appointed as a special committee to get 
a rebate of license money from the Board of Supervisors, such as was 
paid on dram shop license in said village. Mr. Wagner later reported 
that such application would be useless. 

A bill of $1 was presented from the secretary of state as fee for 
recording the certificate of incorporation of the village. This is how 
it was handled: "Your finance committee beg leave to report that they 
have examined the bill of the secretary of state and recommend that an 
order be drawn in favor of W. H. Luther for $1 to pay said secretary for 
recording." 





Alonzo Ackerman 

Here is the first record of street repairing: November 28, the com- 
mittee on streets and alleys recommended the graveling of Pennsylvania 
from Main Street, west to a lot owned by H. Churchill, and of Main 



THE STOEY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 73 

1882 Street commencing at the crossing running from Miles Allen's to W. 
C. Newton's corner of lot opposite said Allen's, thence running north on 
Main Street, to a lot owned by J. Satain. Also the graveling of Main 
Street, commencing opposite the Congregational church thence running 
south along said Main Street to the tracks of the N. W. Bids for this 
were submitted and opened at a later meeting. James Saunders had 
offered the gravel from his pit, free and the bids were for hauling. H. 
Sherwin bid 35 cents per square yard; Jo Millbeck, 29 cents; J Clark, 27 
cents; P. W. Stacy, 23% cents and A. Ackerman, 20 cents. Alonzo 
Ackerman got the contract for the first improvement of village streets 
by the corporation. Mr. Ackerman received $52.40. 

The first plat of the village was made by J. G. Vallette for $40. 

The names of the business and professional men of Prospect Park 
were: Luther Winter, dealer in feed and coal; W. H. Luther, agent for 
the C. & N. W. Railroad; Miles Allen, store and post office; P. G. Hub- 
bard, dealer in broom corn; William H. Wayne, blacksmith; M. H. Wayne, 
wheelwright; Nelson Dodge, carpenter and builder; Brake and Myers, 
carpenter and builder; Will Jellies, carpenter and builder; J. R. McChes- 
ney and Co., general store; Allen R. Walker, tinshop and hardware; 
H. Wegman, general store; E. Graff, hotel; John Weidman, broom fac- 
tory; John Hayden, store; Frank Walworth, stone mason; G. M. H. 
Wagner, commission store; R. Blackman, dealer on Board of Trade; 
John Sabin, boot and shoe shop; Aug. Bergson, boot and shoe shop; J. S. 
Dodge, retired farmer; L. C. Cooper, attorney at law; James Saunders, 
M. D. 

W. C. T. U. organized with Mattie Melh first president. Mrs. Emma 
Lloyd, descendent of the Nind family and aunt of George Nelson, was a 
leading spirit. 

Elbert H. Gary elected judge of DuPage County. 

1883 April 17th, second village election was held, 3 trustees being chosen, 
W. C. Newton and J. R. McChesney being returned and Thomas Hoad- 
ley newly elected. W. H. Luther was elected village clerk and James 
Saunders, police magistrate. The election was held in the post office. 

In May came up the question of a "dram shop" license. $200 was 
proposed, but lost and the figure was set at $175. 

In June there was a bill from P. W. Stacy for putting in twelve plank 
crossings at $3.00 each and gravelling one at $1, making $37 in all. At 
that same meeting it was moved by Trustee Hoadley that the committee 
be instructed to procure a clerk's desk, price not to exceed $7.00. 

At the August meeting, the village clerk stated that he had no report 
to make for the month of July "Nothing received." 

In September the item runs "The clerk reported that he had received 
no moneys for month of August." 

In October the clerk's desk bobbed up again. It seemed that R. G. 
Boyd made it and it cost $1 more than was allowed for it: "Moved by 
Trustee Dodge that we allow Mr. Boyd $7 on bill for clerk's desk and 
$1.50 for painting." The yeas had it. 

Free Methodist Camp Meeting on Newton's Corner, Pennsylvania and 
Main. 

Amos Churchill and W. H. Luther went into partnership for the sale of 
agricultural implements, coal and feed, paints and oils, under the firm 
name of Luther and Churchill. At first, part of the long freight room at 
the railroad station, where Mr. Luther was agent, was used for the 



74 



TEE STORY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 



1883 commodities. The business flourished and a large warehouse was built, 
which is still in use by the Alexander Lumber Co. — the gray building 
just west of Main Street on the tracks. Ten years later, Mr. Luther 
retired and sold his interest to his son-in-law, L. Q. Newton, the firm 
name then becoming Churchill and Newton. In 1903 L. Q. Newton died 
(September 22) and in December the business was sold to L. R. Newton 
and W. H. Baethke, who carried it on as Newton-Baethke Co.. The 
company still continues, but has changed its business from coal to oil. 

1884 William Henry Myers had meat market in the Danby House; William H. 
Wagner (Frank Wagner's father) had grocery store and post office; 
McChesney Brothers' grocery store was on its present site. 

1885 The name of the village was changed from Prospect Park to Glen Ellyn 
by Thomas E. Hill, president of the village who contributed the "Ellyn" 
in honor of his wife, that being the Welsh version of Ellen. 

Mr. Hill was a teacher for many 
years in the east and was often 
known as Professor Hill. He located 
at Aurora in 1866 and founded the 
Herald. He was mayor there in 1876. 
When he came to Glen Ellyn he 
built the two houses that used to 
occupy the district known as the 
Salvation Army home, now subdivided 
as Southcrest, and full of new homes, 
where there used to be extensive out- 
buildings, grounds, orchards and vine- 
yards, surrounding these two houses. 
He made the Overman Lake in "Wild- 
airs" and stocked it with fish. 

The Hills occupied the larger of the 
houses and lived in a great deal of 
style for those days. As Mr. Hill was 
interested in the hotel project, he 
made it his duty to entertain pros- 
pective buyers of real estate, meeting 
them at the train with his carriage, 
with colored coachman and spic and 
span horses. The guests were whirled 
away to the grand house where they 
were waited upon by servants. 

Mrs. Hill was a dainty little woman, 
whose fine diamonds, real lace and 
shimmering silk gowns were the des- 
pair of the other women of the village. 
Perhaps in the evening there was 
a, party at the club house (the present 
Moulton residence) set in its spacious 
grounds on Milton Boulevard, mind 
you, not Main Street. Prof, and Mrs. 
Hill would take their guests from the 
city. The colored driver would make 
the bells ring on the horses' necks as the sumptuous sleigh came to a 
stand under the carriage entrance. The affairs were very high-toned, 
the ladies appearing in evening dress and the gentlemen in dress suits. 
Flowers were everywhere, and the music of a stringed band was heard. 
A caterer from the city was in charge. It was all very elegant. 




Thomas E. Hill 



THE STOBY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 75 

1885 In the day time, Prof. Hill was always seen about in a plum colored 
overcoat with a cape to it and a black slouch hat. 

The four iron hitching posts on Main Street on the west side of St. 
Mark's church were some that Mr. Hill designed and used on his own 
home grounds, and when he moved from there he gave them to John 
McNab for hitching posts for the Episcopal church. 

In later years, through unwise speculations, he lost all his money, and 
devoted himself to writing books. Mrs. Hill lost her sight and became 
totally blind. Their last home was .the house now occupied by the 
Joseph Wagoners, 570 Anthony St. Here, Mr. Hill, who had once been 
a professor of penmanship, passed his last years making queer compila- 
tions of statistics and publishing them. He passed away July 13, 1915, 
at the age of 83. Mrs. Ellen Hill followed him January 3, 1916, aged 79. 
To the Hills belongs the glory for much of the grace and glamour of 
modern Glen Ellyn. It was their vision which started the development 
of the village along its foundation lines of beauty. As they carried the 
village in their hearts, it now holds them to its heart, for they both 
sleep in Mrs. Fannie Newton's lot in Forest Hill Cemetery. 

Rev. A. W. Parry was pastor of Free Methodist Church. Other 
succeeding pastors were: Rev. D. W. Rose, 1892; Rev. E. G. Cryer, 1897; 
Rev. T. B. Arnold, 1903; Bishop David S. Warren, 1906; Rev. Earl F. 
Aiken, 1907; Benjamin L. Olmstead, 1908-10; Matthias Klein, 1914-16; 
Rev. W. M. Kelsey, 1917-19; Rev. James D. Marsh, 1920-21; D. L. 
Lower, 1922-23; G. L. McClish, 1924-25; and in 1928, Rev. Helen I. Root. 
Miss Rose Weidman was superintendent of the Sunday School for many 
years and William F. Jensen served in that capacity for seventeen con- 
secutive years. 

Free Methodists had camp meeting on the Henry Churchill corner, 
Park and Crescent. 

Dr. D. K. Parsons came to Hinsdale, a philanthropist and millionaire 
who devoted his time to giving away $6,000,000 mostly to small colleges. 
He gave its library to Hinsdale. 

1886 Free Methodist church built on Glenwood Avenue, the land given by 
Winslow Ackerman, son of John Ackerman, the board of trustees in 
charge being A. J. Butterfield, W. H. Luther, M. H. Wagner, Erastus 
Ketcham and Mr. Ackerman. The parsonage was built in 1892, with 
Mr. Luther superintending it. 

William H. Wagner, postmaster, had a blacksmith shop on Pennsyl- 
vania Avenue, for forty years. 

Royal T. Morgan, county superintendent of schools; for over half a 
century connected with schools. 

1887 Post office in McChesney's store. 

W. B. Warrell, teacher at Duane school. 

Free Methodist Camp Meeting at Stacy's Grove. 

1888 Rev. Arthur Spooner, minister Congregational Church. 

Prospect Park folks went in to Chicago to see Mary Anderson, 
Modjeska and John McCullough, and to hear Emma Abbott sing. 
"Pinafore" was all the rage. 

1889 The little village with its New England flavor lost its simple Puritan 
character, and became a summer resort. 



76 



THE STORY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 



1890 Sleighing parties on cold moonlight nights were a favorite pastime of 
the young people. Hayracks were placed on runners and then filled with 
straw. About twenty-five could ride in one. All sat on the straw with 
rugs and shawls to cover them and keep them warm. Usually there 
were two or three loads in the party. Sometimes they went to the 
Rathbun farm where a warm welcome awaited them with roaring hot 
fires and hot oyster soup. Sometimes they went to the Mark Davis 
farm, where that genial old bachelor manned the fiddle and kissed the 
girls while his sister set out warming food. One Glen Ellyn matron 
recalls a night when the snow was so deep that the young people 
couldn't get home and had to spend the night at their host's house. 
There was no telephone in those days so parents couldn't be notified, but 
they took it calmly. 

THE NASCENT NINETIES 




Lake Ellyn — planned and named by Thomas E. Hill 



Lake Ellyn made, dam constructed, $2,500 pledged by citizens. 

Thomas E. Hill landscaped the grounds and planned the artificial 
lake, superintending the laying out of it, and Philo Stacy superintending 
the actual construction work, excavating and so on. 

Glen Ellyn Hotel and Spring Company, organized by Messrs, Baker, 
Riford and Goodridge, acquired title to 116 acres of land within the 
village of Glen Ellyn. The park was given to the village by the company. 

1891 September 6, the First Methodist Episcopal Church organized at the 
home of Samuel Grannis, east side of Main street between Crescent and 
Pennsylvania. Rev. Wm. E. Catlin was the founder and first minister 



THE STOEY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 



77 



1891 in charge. The charter members were: Rev. Catlin, father of William 
J. Catlin, of 348 Brandon Avenue; Mrs. Antoinette Catlin, W. J. Catlin, 
Miss Mamie A. Catlin, Mrs. Mattie H. Smith and Mrs. Harriet M. Grannis. 
Miss Annie Olson, Miss Frances Swantosh and Samuel Grannis were 
accepted in probationary membership. The membership averaged be- 
tween twelve and eighteen for several years. 

Services were held in the Grannis home, where the O'Dormell Electric 
Shop now stands; then in the old school house on Crescent; in 1892, in 
the Dunning house on Pennsylvania; then in Odd Fellows hall on Penn- 
sylvania; then in the Town Hall; then in the Mertz house on Pennsyl- 
vania; in the old Congregational Church building on Crescent, owned by 
Dr. Saunders; in Mrs. Oscar Johnson's home on Duane; back again to 
the Mertz house. During these early days it was a constant struggle to 
keep the church going and much credit is given to the Catlin and Laier 
families for so doing. At one time the only minister available was a 
Japanese and though he could not be understood, he filled the pulpit. 

May 9th, Stacy Park (six acres) given to the village by Philo and 
Betsy Stacy. 




The Glen Ellyn Hotel 



Big hotel built on east side of Lake Ellyn by Hotel and Springs Com- 
pany. 

First drug store kept by William Ryder, on the site of the Heintz store. 

1892 600 inhabitants in the village. 

The big fire started at 4:00 P. M., when most of the village men were 
in the city, and as there was no fire department, the flames had their 
way and burned all of the stores on the west side of Main Street except 
Fleming's Grocery, built by Henry Benjamin. It stood on the site of 
the present DuPage Trust Building and was one of the first stores 
built in Danby. It was a small white building, two stories high, with 
an outside stairway. The upstairs was used as a flat. Here in this 
building the post office was kept by Mr. Allen, father of Georgia Allen. 

Later Wm. Wagner kept a grocery in this building. Mr. Fleming 
bought it from Mr. Wagner. 



78 TEE STORY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 

1892 Fleming's store was famous for its famous home-made bread, a big, 
warm fresh loaf costing only six cents. It was also noted among the 
children for its black balls, a delicacy something on the order of the 
present all-day sucker. During the sucking process, they turned from 
black to green, then red and so on till they finally disappeared — yet 
some of the indulgers have survived to tell the tale. 

Boyd's Hardware store stood where the present Patch Brothers is; the 
Ryder store was where the present Heintz store is, following the long 
proprietorship of A. R. Utt. The other stores were groceries and meat 
markets owned by the Wagner brothers. 

McChesney's new (and present) store was built on the East side of 
Main. 

All village records were lost in the fire, so no names of village 
officers before this are obtainable, except those mentioned. 

New (and present) Duane street school built; school held in Congrega- 
tional church 1892-3. 

Georgia Allen, Frances Laier, Mrs. Emma Miller, Luther N. Grange, 
teachers at Duane. 

Boyd's Hardware store re-built. 

Ehlers Hotel built on northeast corner of Main Street and Crescent, 
site of famous old Mansion House, and now gone to make way for the 
Glen Ellyn State Bank. 

Old Congregational church (originally built 1839 at Stacy's Corners) 
moved from Main Street to Crescent, serving for many years as 
Saunders Hall, as Dr. Saunders' home and now as a boarding house for 
workmen. It still stands just east of the Saunders' Plumbing shop, 
mounted on a high foundation and surrounded by shrubs. 

Dr. E. S. Higley came to Glen Ellyn to practice. 

Old Dunning House on Pennsylvania used as village hall, and site of 
present new hall. 

Mrs. Emma Lloyd first woman school director. 

Cemetery enlarged. 

The village board extended the village boundaries of Danby adding 
1,200 acres to it. A long legal battle ensued, the village finally coming 
out 1,000 acres ahead. Judge E. H. Gary was one of the lawyers against 
the village. Well known men like Jesse Wheaton and other pioneer 
land-holders and men of judgment testified "that the lands in question 
were farm lands, that they never would be required for village pur- 
poses and that such ideas were silly and chimerical." 

Philo Stacy built his mansion on Main street, now occupied by the 
Albert McCollums. 

A creek ran through the center of the village and crossed Pennsylvania 
and Forest Avenues. Over the northwest corner was a bridge with 
railings on either side. Under it, the small boys spent their play 
time digging crawfish of which there seemed to be an inexhaustible 
supply. It was a mystery why they were found in this particular spot. 

There was a ravine or glen on the north end of Park Boulevard, just 
at the foot of the Cooper hill which gave the "Glen" to the village's 
name. There was an old red bridge over it once where the boys used 
to play. Harper Moulton fell from it and broke his leg. Later the 
authorities filled up the ravine, thus erasing one of the village's beauty 



THE STOEY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 79 

1892 spots. Another ravine just north of Honeysuckle Hill on Crescent Boule- 
vard was filled in and a house built on it. 




The Old Red Bridge 

The Forest Glen School was named for the Park Boulevard ravine. 

1893 A man who came from another town to transact some business in the 
village fell through the board walk on Main Street which was several 
feet high in the down town section, and broke his leg. He sued the 
village for $500 and won the suit. The village fathers were forced to 
hand him over the money. This was considered a great joke as the 
village fathers were notorious for being a little "cautious" in money 
affairs. However, after this the sidewalks were kept in better repair. 




The Churchill Twins 

February 15, the "Churchill Twins" celebrated their 91st birthday, the 
oldest twins in the United States. They were Lurania Churchill Acker- 
man and Christiana Churchill Christian, daughters of Deacon Winslow 
Churchill. 

Mrs. Ackerman passed away a month after the birthday celebration, 
but Mrs. Christian lived some years longer. When she was ninety-four 
years old, she would tell Mrs. Pauline Woebke who was visiting her, 



80 



THE STOBY OF AN OLD TOWN—GLEN ELLYN 



1893 that she had learned another verse of the Bible and proudly recite several 
to prove her accomplishment. 

(according to quotation from old Glen Ellyn paper). 

"The Glen Ellyn Hotel opened as a summer resort by Riford and 
Baker. It stood east of the lake on Crescent Boulevard, a frame building 
four or five stories high with 100 rooms. It had a tower and spacious 
verandas round the ground floor. There were boat houses around the 
lake and many boats for hire." 

In the deed to our lot (corner of Park and Glen Ellyn Place) we have a 
clause giving us the privilege of using a boat on the lake and the 
use of the springs forever. No doubt we paid a couple of hundred 
dollars extra for such an exclusive privilege. We dreamed wonderful 
dreams those days because it was said that Glen Ellyn Park was to be 
made into an English Manor park with velvet lawns, fountains playing 
in the sun, and elegant ladies and gentlemen strolling about under the 
beautiful trees. 

A little bit of that "Castle in Spain" actually materialized, for a 
dancing pavilion had been built on the shore of the lake where it was 
considered quite the thing for the young people to have dances by 
moonlight. 




.»•-. ' v ...•? :-•■ '£ £$&£i. 



The Five Springs 



It was considered quite in vogue to take a drinking cup and saunter 
down to the Five Springs for a drink of mineral water. The springs 
were then kept in elegant style. About one-fourth mile east from the 
Five Springs was the Apollo Spring of clear water. It was not mineral, 
but cold and of the most beautiful amethyst color. It was piped to 'the 
hotel and used for all purposes. It was also shipped away by the car- 
load, a bottling house being situated half way between it and the Five 
Springs. Later this building burned (1904). 

New Congregational Church built on corner of Pennsylvania and Forest 
Avenues on land presented by Miss Georgia Allen, now used by the 
Grace Lutheran congregation. 

New streets laid out. . • - ' 

W. S. Ryder elected village president. 

Cross Country Club House built on Milton Boulevard (now Main 
street) between Hawthorne and Linden, now the C. L. Moulton house. 

1894 "Black Maria" owned by Nadelhoffers whose livery stable gave way 
to the Glen Theatre in 1927, was a bus much used by the ladies of the 



THE STOBY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 81 

1894 town as a conveyance in those early days. It was a black and melan- 
choly vehicle, but when it was filled with a crowd of lively women off 
for a lark of some kind it was changed into a load of fun. 

We did not lack for excitement either when riding in it, for often 
the driver would be drunk and any minute we might expect to be dumped 
into a wayside ditch. 

One day we were to attend the old settlers' picnic at Bloomingdale, 
and we were all dressed in our best summer clothes. The bus had just 
been washed on the inside. It had leather straps holding the cushions 
in place and these did not dry quickly. The ladies whose fate,it was 
to sit on those places were a sight to behold, for when we arrived at 
the picnic, their nice white skirts were striped with red and black and 
green. One of them, a dainty little bride, was the most resplendent of 
all the unfortunates in her decorations. The worst of it was these 
stripes were indelible, so Black Maria left her imprint on the minds 
and memories, not to mention the tempers, of her fair patrons. 

For many years Black Maria, so-called after her namesake in the 
city which was used to carry prisoners from the court house to the 
county jail in those early days, was to be seen on all important occa- 
sions. She served to carry the pall-bearers at a funeral to the ceme- 
tery. She carried the guests to a wedding; she helped to make the 
Library Day Fair a success by carrying the crowds to the grounds. She 
was a comfort and a mainstay on a wet day. It fact, she entered in- 
timately into all the affairs of our lives. 

Baptist Church started again. Rev. Carl Case first pastor. Meet- 
ings held in Saunders' Hall. Charter members were: Philo and Betsy 
Stacy and their daughter, Carrie; Mrs. Elizabeth Jenkins, Helen Jenkins 
(later Mrs. Carl Case), Miss Doliska Harmon, Mr. and Mrs. Henry, 
Nathan Randall, Mabel Randall, Annie Randall, Agnes Randall (Mrs. 
Harold F. Jauch), Frances Jenkins, Mrs. McCutchin, Miss Bertha Wim- 
press (Mrs. John H. Kopp). 

George Arnold, ten years old, drowned in Lake Ellyn. 

Very loose high school course started, 1894-5. 

Thanks to Mrs. O. D. Dodge, there comes this announcement card of 
"The First Commencement of Glen Ellyn High School at the Congrega- 
tional Church, Glen Ellyn, Illinois, Friday evening, June 15, 1894, eight 
o'clock." Of course this is all beautifully spaced and printed in gold 
above and below a lovely blue etching showing Lake Ellyn, and the big 
hotel in the background. The program printed in the folder which will 
stir many memories, is as follows: "Music" — Arion Quartette; Invocation 
— Rev. John S. Rood; Salutatory and Essay, "Green" — Helen F. Lund- 
gren; Essay, "Good Humor" — Flora M. Dodge; Essay, "Geometry of Life" 
— Marie F. Lundgren; Essay, "National Reform a Pressing Necessity" — 
Frances L. Laier; Oration and Valedictory, "Simon Says Thumbs Up" — 
Adeline B. Churchill ; Address to Class — Rev. C. D. Case ; Presentation of 
Diplomas — County Supt. R. T. Morgan; Benediction — Rev. John S. Rood. 

Flora M. Dodge is now Mrs. L. J. Hiatt and the Lundgren girls lived 
in the house at 752 Crescent (occupied now by the Joseph Wassells) 
which their people built. There was a ball room on the upper floor and 
the young people of that day had much merriment there. One winter 
night my niece and nephew went to a party there, and they were unable 
to get home, but had to stay all night because a heavy snowfall came and 
there was no good road then. We worried about them all night for there 
were no telephones in those days and we were afraid they might have 
fallen in a deep hole some place on their way home. The Lundgrens 
moved away and have not been heard from since. 

Adeline B. Churchill, Mrs. B. B. Curtis's sister, is Mrs. J. B. Lorbeer, 



82 TEE STOEY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 



1894 of Santa Monica, Calif., where she is active in club and civic life. After 
her graduation here, she went to Wheaton College and then studied art 
at Pratt and in Chicago and for many years was art supervisor in Fort 
Madison County, Wise. Frances B. Laier, sister of Mrs. Calvin Wagner, 
passed away many years ago. 

The Arion Quartette was a very good musical organization which came 
often to Glen Ellyn. "In those days," said Mrs. Curtis, "we had many 
more good things come to the village than we do now because people 
didn't go to the city so often nor so easily as they do now." 

Cross Country Club expressed as its object: "to encourage Equestrian 
and all manly and Outdoor Sports and to promote Physical Culture." 
Initiation fees were $15 and anual dues $15. 

The club house changed from Main Street to Hill Avenue, then sur- 
rounded by stretches of grass and trees instead of modern houses, still 
stands, the J. K. Marshall home, 583 Hill Avenue. This is the description 
of the club as given in its own booklet: "This club is located on the high- 
lands, within a brief walk south of the railroad depot at Glen Ellyn. The 
view from the club house commands a broad expanse of country, in- 
cluding in the scene four villages and one city. It is situated in the 
midst of green lawns, shaded by numerous fruit and ornamental trees, 
while close by is a little gem of a lake sufficiently large to accommodate 
several boats. 

"Closely adjoining the house are baseball, lawn tennis, croquet and 
polo grounds, while but a little distance away are ample sheds for the 
sheltering of horses and carriages and the feeding of horses that may 
come from a distance. 

"Directly attached to the house is a large pavilion for dancing, or 
for assemblages of any kind, sufficiently large to hold several hundred 
persons, while extending from this pavilion around the entire house are 
wide verandas which afford the opportunity for a delightful promenade, 
and the protecting of several hundred people from sunshine or storm." 

L. C. Cooper house, 545 Park Blvd., now occupied by the Hermon 
Coopers, built. 

1895 April 22, telephone service first established with toll station in Boyd 
Brothers' hardware store (now Patch Brothers). 

September, Glen Ellyn Woman's Club organized as the Study Club, 
by nine women, Mrs. E. Sinclair Smith, Miss Abbie Smith, Miss Georgia 
Allen, Mrs. G. M. H. Wagner, Mrs. Wm. Lloyd, Mrs. C. L. Moulton, Mrs. 
Cora Higley, Mrs. Charles H. Kerr, Mrs. O. D. Dodge. The membership 
was limited to twenty until 1910 when the club entered the state feder- 
ation, becoming the Glen Ellyn Woman's Club in 1912 and a member 
of the 11th district. It joined the general federation in 1915. At first 
the dues were five cents a month. 




THE STOBY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 



83 




Amos Churchill 



New brick railway station for the North 
Western, Amos Churchill instrumental in 
in getting it for the village. 

Amos Churchill elected village president. 
Mrs. B. B. Curtis is a daughter of Amos 
Churchill. 

The favorite 5:05 was running then on 
the North Western, making the trip be- 
tween here and Chicago in 38 minutes. 
Railroad fares were: one trip, 58 cents; 
round trip, $1.15; ten- ride ticket, $4.50; 25- 
ride ticket, $6.00; monthly ticket, $7.10. 

Members of the Ladies Social Union 
were: Elida A. Swan, Elizabeth Jenkins, 

Caroline Eva Swan, Cora V. Higley, Carrie 
M. LeStage, Emma V. Ellicott, Lavinia 
Newton, Mrs. A. Rathbun, Mrs. R. Rathbun, 
Caroline Henry, Mrs. E. A. Workman, Mrs. 

i M. J. Stevens, Mrs. W. H. Simons, Miss 
Doliska Harmon, Miss Ada Douglas Har- 
mon. 



1896 Court House in Wheaton erected 1896-7. A Memorial Hall in it for 
Civil War soldiers, now dismantled. 

September, Modern Woodmen organized. 

The Charter members of Glen Ellyn Camp 4213, Modern Woodmen of 
America, September 11, 1896, are: George Babcock, John H. Merz, A. F. 
Carlson, A. J. Engelschall, Grant Goodrich, B. F. Hoffman, Gilbert B. 
Jellies, Louis Laier, F. M. Leonard, L. R. Newton, E. E. Sherwin, H. W. 
Stoessinger, F. H. Surkamer, E. M. Troutfetter, C. M. Van Buren, Conrad 
Wiesbrook and W. J. Yackley. 

Hermon Cooper spent from '96 to '99 at the University of Heidelberg, 
studying chemistry, earning his Ph.D. 

1897 July 11, St. Mark's first service was held on Sunday evening in Saunder's 
Hall, Rev. J. N. Hawthorne of Wheaton in charge. On October 24, the 
first celebration of Holy Communion was held, and ten people received: 
Mr. and Mrs. A. E. Ellicott, Mr. and Mrs. Young, Mrs. William C. Newton, 
John McNab, Mr. Llewellyn, John LeMessurier, and Mr. and Mrs. A. E. 
Riddle. 

On November 7th, the Sunday school was organized with fifty-five 
children. The Right Rev. C. McClaren confirmed the first class of five, 
on June 19th, 1898: Mary Jane Dodge, Flora May Dodge (Mrs. L. J. 
Hiatt), Alice Josephine Carter, Alice Jane Llewellyn and Cora Gertrude 
Palmer (Mrs. Walter Wimpress). 

The Right Rev. C. P. Anderson was consecrated Bishop of the Chi- 
cago diocese, February 24, 1900, and on the following day confirmed 
his first class in Glen Ellyn, Mrs. Cora Higley, widow of the late Dr. 
Higley, Mrs. W. B. LeStage, Lucille J. LeStage, Fannie P. Newton, 
Florence Stubbings, Lillian W. Anderson (Mrs. Will Penrose), Bertha 
May Hanson (the late Mrs. C. G. Parker), and Eva May Clare. 

The mission was served by the Reverends W. J. Hawthorne, Richard 
Rowley, C. L. Branscombe, W. C. Hengen and F. Oleranes. 

In 1909 the parish was organized with H. W. Prince as first rector, 
followed by Rev. H. S. Webster, and Dr. John Arthur who served ten 
years until his death, March 19th, 1924. He was in charge during the 



84 TEE STOBY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 

1897 war with one son and one son-in-law overseas. 

Rev. D. A. McGregor succeeded him and now lives in the rectory, next 
door south of the church on Main Street. 

The boys from Glen Ellyn who enlisted in the Spanish-American War 
were: Florence Furstein, Fred Surkamer, Will G. Laier, John J. Laier, 
W. H. Groeschell, Charles Christianson, Lawrence Arnold, Harry Dolbey, 
John Ashby and Fred Johnson. 

1898 First kindergarten in basement of Congregational church started by 
Mrs. Charles H. Kerr. 

Christian and John Nadelhoffer bought the livery business of Charles 
Van Buren, including the livery barn built by him, which held its place 
on Crescent Boulevard until it made way for the Glen Theatre in 1926. 
Later William Nadelhoffer joined his father and uncle in the business. 
They built their new garage on Stewart at Forest in 1928. 

1899 Glen Ellyn a gay summer resort, many guests at the big hotel from 
Chicago and the south. 

Entertainments by the Cross Country Club, attended by many promi- 
nent Chicago people such as John Stewart, Hon. T. B. Bryan, of Elm- 
hurst and Judge Elbert H. Gary of Wheaton. 

Orrin D. Dodge was elected village president. 

The Bloomingdale windmill partly destroyed by small tornado. Mrs. 
Pauline Woebke recalls how she and her husband once drove over there 
with some grain to grind into special kind of flour. The wind was blow- 
ing a gale and the great wings were sweeping the sky at perilous speed. 
Only the miller's wife was at home and she didn't know how to stop the 
mill. Great was her relief when Mr. Woebke brought the sails to quiet- 
ness. "Mr. Woebke could because he knew about sailing," explained Mrs. 
Woebke. "He understood the winds and how to manage the mill's sails 
in them." 

1900 St. Mark's Church built at Main and Hillside, on a lot given by Charles 
A. Phillips, an unbeliever, who had the large estate on Park Boulevard. 

A. R. Utt bought his drug store from Dr. Tope (now the Heintz store). 

No street lights, and kerosene lamps used in the homes. 

Benjamin F. Gault, called "the bird man" by the village folk lived 
for many years in the house on the southwest corner of Main and 
Hawthorne, last occupied by the Earl Twichells. He is a member of the 
American Ornithological Union, the National Geographic Society, the 
American Audubon Society, the Cooper Ornithological Society of Cali- 
fornia, secretary of the Wilson Ornithological Club, also on the advisory 
council of "Bird Lore." He writes for this magazine, also the Smith- 
sonian Institute, the Auk, Birds and Nature and Forest and Stream. In 
pursuing his bird studies, Mr. Gault has travelled far and wide. 

Mr. Gault lived in the house on Main street with his mother until her 
death at the age of ninety years, when he sold his home and left Glen 
Ellyn for a time. The house during his occupancy, was filled on the 
first floor, with cases reaching to the ceiling containing stuffed speci- 
mens of birds of all kinds from every country. It was considered a 
great honor to have the privilege of viewing this collection and the 
Study Club and school children were so honored. 

The Gault house on Madison and Market, Chicago, is owned by his 
family. Mr. Gault returned in 1928 to Glen Ellyn to make his home. 



THE STOEY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 



85 



1901 Aurora, Elgin and Chicago Electric road built through the village. 
A. R. Utt, ticket agent for fifteen years. Much milk shipped on road. 

Telephone exchange operated by the Chicago Telephone Company was 
officially opened July 3, in a building on the northeast corner of Penn- 
sylvania and Lisle (Forest) in the home of the Willard P. Conyers, 
Robert G. Boyd conducting the exchange up to 1905. 

March 8th, Twentieth Century Camp, No. 2431, Royal Neighbors of 
America, was organized with twelve benefit members and eleven social 
members. The following officers were elected: Oracle, Christine Remick; 
vice oracle, Callie Laier; past oracle, Josephine Jellies; chancellor, Emma 
Mertz; recorder, Florence Babcock; receiver, Kathryn Yackley; mar- 
shall, Blanche Stoessiger; assistant marshall, Ruth Stoessiger; inner 
sentinel, Freda Hoffman; outer sentinel, Mina Stoessiger; managers, 
Minnie Kress, Wm. Yackley, Josephine Jellies; physician, Dr. G. B. Tope. 

First printed program of the "Study Club" issued, a booklet of four 
pages. 

1902 The Chicago Press Club had quite a few members living in Glen Ellyn, 
among whom were Frank Comerford, Horace M. Ford, Frank Roderus, 
Charles H. Kerr, Frank Abbott, Frank Hassler. 

W. F. McFryer became commercial manager of the telephone company 
for Wheaton and Glen Ellyn. 




First auto in town — and S. T. Jacobs, its owner 



1903 The first automobile arrived in the village, a Franklin, owned by S. T. 
Jacobs. It was painted red and the springs were none too good. It 
had a door in the rear by which one entered lifting up the seat to do so. 
Ten cents a ride in it was charged for the benefit of a church social. 
Gretchen Jacobs McChesney (Mrs. Charles McChesney) was the first 
woman in Glen Ellyn to drive a car. The writer had her first auto 
ride in this one. 

Newton and Baethke bought out Churchill and Newton and began the 
present company, though then handling lumber and grain. It operated 
in the plant of the Alexander Lumber Company which bought the 
business, though not the land in 1924, when the Newton-Baethke Com- 
pany turned to oil and automobiles and built the first filling station in 
the village on their present site. 



86 THE STOEY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 

1903 In the old days, grain was a big business and if you notice the structure 
west down the tracks, you'll see that there really is a little elevator and 
a windmill sort of edifice there. In those old days, they used to unload 
cars of grain by wind power, and sometimes had to wait several days 
for fortune to favor them with enough power to get the grain elevated. 
One car load of bran, Mr. Baethke remembers with special vividness, 
took days to get transferred from the car to the bin. Later an electric 
motor was installed, getting its power from the third rail, and this was 
almost more trouble than the wind because of the unevenness of the 
current. As trucks came in and horses went out, and pastures changed 
into subdivisions, the major business shifted from grain to lumber and 
coal. 

Big hotel leased to Ruskin College, a socialist institution founded in 
Ruskin, Tennessee, moved to Missouri, and then to Glen Ellyn, the 
latter move achieving considerable publicity, for no interruption was 
permitted in the school work, classes proceeding on the train en route. 
George M. A. Miller was president and Mrs. Miller, vice president. They 
tried to run the school by securing donations from capitalists, but this 
policy wrecked the institution, caused a strike among the students who 
left and went to work, and finally the Millers did likewise. 

"Ruskin Rays," a bulletin for October, 1904, loaned for examination by 
Carolyn Winnen Scheve, describes the scope and aims of "Ruskin Univer- 
sity." It is liberally illustrated with interesting pictures which give one 
the idea that the University was quite an extensive institution, and cause 
one to wonder why it left no deeper trace on the village's appearance. 
Its first page indicates this as its scope: Ruskin University, Ruskin 
Sanitarium, Ruskin Industrial Bank, Ruskin University Press, Ruskin 
Industrial Guild, and Ruskin Co-Operative Association. 

It's hard to see how all of this could have vanished completely until 
one looks at the pictures. There's the Ruskin Business College, a large 
building housing the Ruskin Bank and Ruskin Co-Operative Association, 
which proves to be nothing more nor less than our old familiar, the 
Ehlers Building, pulled down in 1926 to make way for the Glen Ellyn 
State Bank Building. Then there's the Ruskin Novelty Works and 
Engineering Laboratory, behind which impressive words lurks unmistak- 
ably the old Duane Street School, now the Johansen Real Estate office on 
Crescent. And the building labelled The Ruskin University Press, is 
perhaps the only available photograph of the little old church built in 
1839, which came down from Stacy's Corners to serve the worshippers 
in Danby and then moved round on Crescent for general ultilitarian pur- 
poses. 

The purposes of the school were laudable, that honest toil should be 
mixed in with scholastic education, that young people learning to live 
should not forget how to live. But, for some reason, these purposes 
didn't take with the public. And the building was sold to Jacob Winnen 
who was preparing to open it as a first class summer hotel when it was 
struck by lightning and burned to the ground, involving its owner in a 
loss of some $25,000. 

Glen Ellyn's Burbank was Isaac A. Poole, induced by the president 
to come to the college and have charge of the botanical work and pro- 
pagate his plants. He lived in a little shack connected with a green 
house, in the low place across the road from the present Kettlestring 
house, 682 Crescent. He lived principally on charity, he was taken to 
the county farm when Mr. and Mrs. Alonzo Ackerman were the mana- 
gers. But he was so troublesome there that he was permitted to go 
back to his little shack where he lived and worked till his death. He 
claimed to have antedated some cf Burbank's discoveries and he did 
develop a beautiful iris, white with blue border and a tall stem, many 
bulbs of which are in Glen Ellyn gardens. 



THE STOBY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 87 

1903 Mary Fenamore Ackerman bequeathed the Free Methodist Church 
$600, to be held so long as the church continues in active organization. 
By investment, this sum in 1928 had grown to $18,000. 

The Adelphos Club was organized with the following members: Eva 
Clare, Jessie Higley, Ruth Stubbings, Louella Patterson, Birdie Hanson, 
Fay Hanson, Ben Hanson, Floyd Counts, Earl Rathbun, Kenneth Critch- 
field, Minnie Moulton, Robert Moulton, Walter Moulton, Alexander Grant, 
Alexander Bailey, Irene Rathbun, Mr. and Mrs. Luther Hiatt. 

1904 First electrical shop in village started by Clarence Curtis in small 
building on present site of Newton-Baethke building, which Mr. Hoadley 
had previously occupied with the first shoe store in the village. Sharing 
the space with Clarence Curtis, were Robert J. Scott, who studied law 
nights, and George Nelson with his surveying. Later the building came 
into the possession of John LeMessurier who dispensed real estate from 
it. 

There was a Birthday Club with Madame Swan, Mrs. Oscar Swan, 
Mrs. Ellicott, Mrs. Elizabeth Jenkins, Mrs. Frank Hassler among the 
members. 

Wooden sidewalks were the order of the day. 

Alonzo Ackerman, Civil War veteran, called "Lon" by the village folks, 
was a noted character. He wore his hair in long curls falling over his 
shoulders. Annually on his birthday it was clipped, the occasion being 
a great event. (See 1882 for his portrait). 

A bottling house, built southeast of the Springs, which bottled and 
shipped water for about ten years, burned down, May 11. 

1905 August 31st, Glen Ellyn State Bank chartered, with the first officers: 
president, O. D. Dodge; vice president, E. H. McChesney; cashier, J. D. 
McChesney and first directors: L. C. Cooper, O. D. Dodge, Acors W. 
Rathbun, E. H. McChesney and J. D. McChesney. The original stock- 
holders were: J. D. McChesney, E. H. McChesney, L. C. Cooper, Boyd 
Brothers, Amos Churchill, Alex. Johnson, W. H. Luther, Dr. Frank 
Johnson, E. G. Feuerstein, J. S. Dodge, L. R. Newton, Wm. H. Baethke, 
Pearl Feuerstein, Mrs. E. Feuerstein, Sadie McChesney, Mattie McChes- 
ney, Carrie A. Stacy, and J. K. Rathbun. 

The first newspaper, "The Glen Ellyn Echo," was published by the 
Men's Club of the village with the following editorial staff: B. B. Cur- 
tis, "The Folk You Know"; Mrs. G. M. H. Wagner, the woman's de- 
partment; C. L. Moulton and C. H. Kerr, village improvement; W. S. 
Pierce, Among the churches; Walter Sabin, the public school, and A. L. 
Hamilton had charge of the advertising. 

Robert Boyd conducted the telephone exchange to June 21st. 

E. H. McChesney elected village president. 

1906 May 3rd, the big summer hotel burned. Details are from the Glen 
Ellyn Enterprise, May 3rd, 1906. "Nine o'clock, Tuesday morning, 
while the thunderstorm was at its height, the people of Glen Ellyn were 
suddenly aroused by the blowing of the fire whistle and the report 
spreading rapidly through the town that the Glen Ellyn Hotel on the 
shores of Lake Ellyn had been struck by lightning and was on fire. 
As is usual at this hour, the larger part of the male population of the 
village had gone to their several places of business in the city but those 
remaining immediately hastened to the scene of the conflagration and 
did all in their power to check the flames and save as much of the 
contents of the building as possible. 



88 THE STOBY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 

4 
1906 "The fire engine was hastily loaded into McChesney and Geisler's de- 
livery wagon and hurried to the scene, but as the flames had already 
gained such headway that it was useless to contend with them, all hands 
turned in and attempted to carry out furniture and other personal 
property. . . Meanwhile hundreds of people unmindful of the pour- 
ing rain, had assembled to witness the scene. The electric railway 
brought large numbers from both Wheaton and Lombard, and several 
cars were stopped and held at Ruskin Station in order that the through 
passengers might view the sight. Charles McChesney and Will Baethke 
were struck by a burning plank while carrying out furniture but were 
not seriously injured. In less than two hours from the time the 
building was struck, with the exception of two chimneys, it was reduced 
to a bed of ashes level with the ground. The fire was discovered by 
Conductor Garrow, of the North Western freight No. 133, who told Mr. 
Luther, the station agent, who phoned the power house. As the building 
was unoccupied, there was no loss of life, but the insurance had just 
been allowed to lapse so the structure was a total loss. Such furniture 
as was saved, was hauled to Saunders' Hall and stored there tempor- 
arily." 

Population, 1,500. 

"The Glen Ellyn Enterprise" started by Wade Garfield, a young lawyer 
recently moved to town with his bride who amazed the village with her 
Paris gowns. Miss Stella B. Richards was assistant editor. 

Suit brought to recover the large park acreage given to the village 
by the Hotel and Spring company in 1890, and lost through failure by 
village authorities for fifteen years to have the deed recorded. Hotel 
company built a fence around the park. 

Glen Ellyn taxes amounted to $2,766.22. 

Saloon license, $1,000. 

Cement walks put in. 




Main Street^l906 

This view shows Fleming's Store, the first building on the left, the 
only store saved from the big fire in 1890. It stood on the site of the 
present DuPage Trust Building, northwest corner of Main and Crescent. 
It was built by Henry Benjamin, one of the first stores built in Danby. 
The postoffice was kept in it by Miles Allen, father of Georgia Allen. 
This view also shows the new cement walks. 



THE STORY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 89 

1906 Dr. C. W. Somerville, first dentist in village began his practice in March 
in a room upstairs in the present Junta Building, in the days before 
plumbing, and when stove heat was the rule. Later the Wagners re- 
modeled the building and installed plumbing. Dr. Lowell was asso- 
ciated with Dr. Somerville. Succeeding him, came Dr. Barlow and in 
1915 Dr. Somerville and Dr. Barlow moved into the offices in the old 
Ehlers Hotel or Glen Ellyn State Bank Building. 

The district east of Main street from Hillside to Hill, excepting St. 
Mark's site, was the Phillips field, belonging to the Phillips estate, where 
the villagers pastured their cows. And nearly every villager kept a cow 
in those palmy days. 

1907 Water system installed. 

October 11, Glen Ellyn Volunteer Fire Company organized at village 
hall with following charter members: H. J. Blackburn, chief; Wm. H. 
Baethke, assistant chief; Clark T. Morse, E. F. Adams, Fred A. Stocking, 
Charles H. McChesney, Jack Baron, Allan A. Myers, Herman Klug, 
Cloyd Roush, Robert G. Boyd, Alfred R. Utt, Martin Schaus, Elmer F. 
Burdick, Jesse R. Wagner, G. C. Wagner, A. M. Kelley, Wm. J. Catlin, 
Wm. H. Spangler, B. C. Dodge, Clarence C. Parker, Frank M. Wagner, 
members. 

Initial equipment consisted of one chemical copper tank of sixty gallon 
capacity, one hundred feet garden hose in small reel. The large hose 
reel was purchased October 25 for $90 from company funds and the hook 
and ladder wagon in November for $315. The village board donated 
500 feet of hose. 

The company always has been supported by the proceeds of the 
annual Firemen's Ball on New Year's Eve. Much equipment has been 
purchased, a pulmotor added, proper apparatus installed in halls, 
churches and schools and an alarm system has been installed. 

First Firemen's Ball on New Year's Eve. 

Dickens' Circle organized by Mrs. Sidney Badger. Membership 
limited to eighteen, meetings every Monday to read Dickens' books. 
Novelist's birthday, February 7, always celebrated by trip to city. 

I. O. O. F. Danby Lodge re-organized once more. 

Postoffice in Boyd's hardware store. Robert Boyd post master for 
fourteen years. 

Walter Sabin, for many years beloved teacher in the public schools 
died April 6th, aged seventy-seven years. 

February 9th, Saturday afternoon a self appointed committee of ten 
women, five from the Study Club and five from the village met at the 
home of Mrs. Cora V. Higley to plan for a library. The ten were: Mrs. 
Higley, Miss Kate Sheldon Treat, president of the Study Club; Mrs. Ellis, 
Mrs. Horace Ford, Mrs. Frank Hassler, Mrs. Howe, Mrs. LeRoy Newton, 
Mrs. White, Mrs. Oscar Swan and Mrs. Charles Morse. They decided 
to hold teas with ten cent admission fee, and ask for a room in the 
Village Hall. 

At a meeting of the Study Club, February 26, at the home of Mrs. O. 
D. Dodge, forty books for the library were brought by the ladies. 

The town board allowed the use of a room in the town hall and Mr. 
Surkamer cleaned and papered it. Meanwhile the first tea was held at 
Mrs. Swan's, and Mrs. John Gieselman (aunt of Mrs. Frank J. Bogan) 
contributed the first dollar to be used. There were twenty-seven women 
present and $27.00 collected. On March 15, a tea was held at Mrs. Brad 



90 THE STOBY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 

1907 Hill's, and Miss Lindsey, of Evanston, gave a talk on "How to Start a 
Library." This gave the ladies lots of practical ideas. 

After four meetings they called themselves the Glen Ellyn Library 
Association, with Mrs. Higley as president, Mrs. Myra E. Nelson as 
vice-president, Mrs. Horace Ford as secretary and Mrs. LeRoy Newton 
as treasurer. They drew up a constitution and by-laws and presented 
them and their plans at a public meeting attended by forty people who 
signed the constitution. People pledged 25 cents a month for eighteen 
months. The first board of directors were: Mrs. Higley, Mrs. Nelson, 
Mrs. Morse, Mrs. Somerville, Mrs. Ford, Mrs. Newton, Mrs. Hopper, 
Mrs. Emma Christie, Mrs. Hassler, Mrs. Calhoun. 

Richard Henry Little talked at the Congregational Church, and the 
proceeds were turned over to the library. The teas continued to raise 
money and soon they had $100 to spend for books, in addition to many 
books that had been given. Mrs. Horace Ford and Miss Treat spent three 
mornings a week with Miss Bessie Baldwin of Wheaton learning library 
work so they could prepare the books for circulation. Early in May the 
library was opened to the public. There were fifty-six membership cards, 
and all card holders over twenty-one could vote on library affairs. Mrs. 
Annie Richards was the first librarian and the library was open on 
Thursdays and Saturdays. 

Comfort was short-lived however, for the village board soon informed 
the ladies they must have that room back again by the first of the year, 
so ithe women rented a room for $7.00 a month over Boyd's (Patch's) 
store and moved in on November 25th. 

Philo Stacy had offered $100 as a gift on condition that the association 
raise $400, which was done within a month. This $500 was invested in 
water bonds toward a building fund. It was now felt wise to take out 
insurance on the property and also to place the association under state 
laws, so July 23rd, 1907, a certificate of organization was granted the 
association by the State of Illinois. 

The Gardner Bridge Road (Hill Ave.) was the main highway to 
Chicago and the villages west. The Naperville and Warrenville roads, 
running southwesterly, crossed it where Western would cross Hill. Orig- 
inally the Naperville Road crossed at Prospect, but as every villager kept 
a cow and the creatures ran loose, so many were killed that the overhead 
crossing was the remedy. Its ruins used to be seen down Lorraine Ave. 
toward the tracks. The quaint story is that this was abandoned because 
the engines kept getting larger and larger till finally the smokestacks 
couldn't go under the bridge. Jesse Wagner, however, scouts the idea, 
and declares it was a matter of contracts and agreements between the 
village and the North Western which vacated the overhead crossing in 
1907 and opened up Prospect. If people then had known what they do 
now about automobile traffic, they probably would not have so lightly 
surrendered their wonderful overhead opportunity. 

1908 Glen Oak Country Club organized. 

The women of Glen Ellyn voted for the first time. The Study Club 
women (Glen Ellyn Woman's Club) electioneered and sprang a surprise 
in the village by commandeering all the vehicles in town and rounding 
up every woman in the place. They were at the station at 5:30 A. M. 
serving coffee and doughnuts to early commuters. It was the most ex- 
citing election for schools ever held in the village. The women won and 
elected Charles Hudson, president of the school board. 

In May, the library rented another room, using two and paying $15.00 
a month rent. The annual dues were made $1.00, there were 983 books 



THE STOEY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 91 

1908 in the library and it was open Monday, Wednesday, Thursday and Sat- 
urday. An informal reception was held in its rooms on its second 
anniversary. On Labor Day the first of four Library carnivals was 
given, netting $336. 

1909 Schools thoroughly overhauled and put on new basis, better salaries 
paid teachers and steps taken for new buildings. 

Hawthorne school built (old wing of present school) 

New Forest Glen School built; a school on this site since 1841. 

February 16th, Grace Lutheran Church organized at the W. H. Baethke 
home. Rev. E. F. Haertel, pastor of Christ Lutheran, Chicago, pre- 
sided and preached first sermon at first service, Thursday evening, 
February 25th. Services were first held in Odd Fellows Hall in old Glen 
Ellyn State Bank Building, then in DuPage Trust auditorium till the 
high school needed that, then in Library Hall till the purchase of the 
former Congregational church on Main and Forest in 1920. 

Fred Oberschulte, senior student of Concordia Seminary, St. Louis, 
served as pastor in August 1909. In January 1910, Rev. C. H. Kenreich 
became permanent pastor for six years, followed by Rev. Carl Schlaede, 
who after ten years resigned to become U. S. Navy chaplain. Rev. 
Benjamin Maurer then served till he accepted a call to Milwaukee. He 
was succeeded by Rev. H. Mackensen, 497 Forest Avenue, present pastor. 

Dr. Ensminger came to Glen Ellyn. 

Dr. Barlow came to village and began practice, sharing office with 
Dr. Somerville. 

Mrs. Frank Hassler succeeded Mrs. Higley as president of the library 
association which had 1,256 books and seventy-five borrowing cards. 

Wm. H. Harnden, of 498 Hillside Ave., started in as janitor at the 
Duane Street School and served there until 1918. Many young people 
of that era recall how, when they verged on tardiness, they could see 
him peer out through the little window as he rang the last bell. If he 
saw the youngsters hurrying along he kept on ringing that last bell till 
they arrived at their destination. For nobody can be called tardy while 
the last bell still rings. 

Byron Williams elected village president. 

Prospect Rebekah Lodge, No. 712, formed with these charter members: 
Mark Woods, Thomas Delves, Walter Johnson, W. J. Monroe, F. Manning, 
John J. Acker, Frank Foulke, H. W. Cole, R. O. Ott, Allen Myers, W. F. 
Vallette, Rollin Smith, L. H. Brown, J. L. Collins, F. Surkamer, Jr., F. M. 
Wagner, Christian Kress, Geo. Assman, J. D. McChesney, H. W. Webster, 
Pearl Webster, Lilly K. Woods, Minnie Manning, Etta Brown, Eliza 
Monroe, Theresa Delves, Lucy C. Leineke, Minnie Kress, Alta Collins, 
Jessie Acker, Lucy Surkamer, Mina Groeschell, Grace Smith, Kate Myers, 
W. H. Leineke, Anna Vallette, Mattie McChesney and Jane Cole. 

THE INTENSE TEENS 

1910 Glen Ellyn's population, 1,713; Milton Township's 6,353. 

The Glen Ellyn Dancing Club began with ten couples, meeting once a 
month, discontinuing only a couple of years ago. The original ten 
couples were: Mr. and Mrs. Acors Rathbun, Mr. and Mrs. A. R. Utt, 
Mr. and Mrs. C. M. Berger, Mr. and Mrs. T. Stuart Smith, Mr. and Mrs. 
LeRoy Newton, Mr. and Mrs. Wm. H. Baethke, Mr. and Mrs. I. A. 



92 THE STOEY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 

1910 Lesher, Dr. and Mrs. C. W. Somerville, Mr. and Mrs. D. B. Roberts, 
and Mr. and Mrs. Wm. H. Wilson. 

Mrs. Charles Hopper succeeded Mrs. Hassler as president of the 
Library Association and served for thirteen years in that capacity. She 
wrote an informal letter to Andrew Carnegie asking for assistance but 
received no reply. 

Mud filled the streets, which were much lower than the sidewalks, 
and one went up and down various sets of steps to reach the different 
levels in front of the stores which "with a baby carriage made hard 
going." The horses stood knee deep in mud on Main Street in rainy 
weather, their heads coming nicely above the sidewalk level. If one 
wanted to cross the street, one didn't skip gaily across in the middle of 
the block; one went up to the corner or down to the coiner to travel 
from Utt's drug store to the Glen Ellyn State Bank, or similar distances. 

Mr. and Mrs. Thomas Stanton started "Sittyton Farm" on the But- 
terfield Road, at the corner of Bryant Avenue, extended, or a little east 
of Park Boulevard. The farm was so named after Sittyton, the home 
in Scotland, of Amos Cruikshank, famous breeder of thoroughbred 
shorthorn cattle, so famous that he is called "Scotland's herdsman," 
whose picture now hangs in the Stanton home. Mr. Cruikshank shipped 
his cattle to James Davison, Mrs. Stanton's grandfather in Canada, who 
distributed them through this country. Mr. Stanton's dream was, if 
ever he had a farm, to call it Sittyton and raise shorthorn cattle — which 
dream he has realized. The highest priced yearling shorthorn heifer ever 
sold in the world was the "Sittyton Queen," born on the Stanton farm 
in 1916, and sold in the Argentine for $35,000. He is still raising these 
shorthorn cattle, having now about sixty head. The Sittyton Riding 
Academy was started in 1924, and at nearly any hour of every day, 
you see riders cantering over the roads in the neighborhood, enjoying 
fresh air and the inimitable exercise of horseback riding. 

George Ball started his greenhouse business here with one small 
house, 200 by 27 in dimension. He is now a wholesale florist with seven 
large modern greenhouses at his plant, 331 Hawthorne, and seven more 
in West Chicago. He specializes in calendulas and sweet peas. He has 
originated the real modern calendula, characterized by longer stem and 
larger flower, used all over the world. He has also orginated varieties 
of sweet peas, a yellow one, the "Ball Orange" and a brilliant dark rose 
one, called the "Ball Rose." Also, he is the author of a book on flower 
culture called "Growing Sweet Peas." 

First Evangelical church organized, meeting in the DuPage Trust 
building, called St. James' Evangelical Church. Rev. F. Krohne, of 
Chicago, organizer and first minister. 

Bought former M. E. Church on Hillside Avenue, west of Main in 1913. 

"First Evangelical Church of Glen Ellyn," chosen as name in 1925, 
Rev. Theodore Holtorf, 478 Phillips Avenue, pastor. 

Study Club entered state federation levied a fine of five cents for 
absence from meetings, and started the "Travel Class" under Mrs. 
Hopper and the "Literature and the Arts Class" under Mrs. Jean My- 
tinger. 

Members of the Glen Oak Country Club living in Glen Ellyn, were: 
Elmer F. Adams, F. D. Abbott, Wm. H. Baethke, Geo. W. Beeler, Lee 
Lothrop Brown, Glen A. Bowstead, H. G. Bowstead, Joseph Cummins, 
F. W. Dibble, L. A. Farr, Wm. Grimshaw, J. A. Lesher, Herbert Lane, 
Dan Norman, George M. Nicoll, R. W. Newton, A. W. Palmer, Wm. F. 



TEE STOEY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 93 

1910 Pelham, J. C. Pratt, Frank E. Rose, D. B. Roberts, T. Stuart Smith, 
Harry Scull, Wm. H. Wilson, T. R. Wood, H. R. Warden, Miss Pearl A. 
Somerville, Jas. H. Furman, Dr. Frank Johnson, LeRoy A. Newton 
and P. C. Hurd. 

Otto and Herman Miller started the Glen Ellyn Auto Co., pioneer auto 
establishment. They began in an ice house, on Crescent, next door to 
the Glen Ellyn State Bank. "It would only hold one car," said Otto 
Miller, "but we did most of our work outside under a tree. There 
were only four cars in town then, the Jacobs', the Furman's, the Howe's 
and Dr. Phillips', but there was enough to do to keep us busy. We had 
to tow them in with horses, but they never got far those days, only 
about half way to Naperville, or out to the Great Western tracks." 
They were agents at first for the Maxwell cars. From four cars in 1910 
the number jumped to 1,609 in 1928, that many licenses being issued by 
the village. 

1911 The Study Club got up a petition to abolish the saloon. Most of the 
village folk signed it, though some predicted a terrible calamity for the 
village to have it discontinued. 

February 14th, the saloon doors closed officially. 

February 14, Delevan Street was changed to Crescent Blvd. 

Sewage system installed at cost of $145,000; present cost is three 
times that sum. 

April 14th, Chief H. J. Blackburn and Cloid Roush killed in automobile 
accident. In May, W. H. Baethke appointed fire chief. 

July 2 was dedicated the great statue of Indian Chief Black Hawk, 
forty-eight feet high, on a bluff 250 feet above the Rock River. This 
is the highest point in the Rock valley. The statue is the work of 
Lorado Taft, took four years to make, has Black Hawk's face, but is 
in general typical of the vanishing red man. It is built of concrete 
and is expected to last forever as a monument to the Indians who once 
lived all over our country. The statue is at the edge of Eagle Nest 
Camp, the summer home of many artists and writers. Some 200 
Chicagoans went down to the dedication, as guests of Mr. Taft, Wal- 
lace Heckman and Frank O. Lowden. Elia W. Peattie read an original 
poem on "The Pine Forest," Edgar A. Bancroft paid a tribute to the 
Indian Red Man, Hamlin Garland read a poem on "The Trail-Makers," 
and responses were given by Dr. Charles Eastman, a Sioux Chiyesa, and 
Miss Laura M. Cornelius, an Oneida-Iroquois. Just a short distance 
north of Oregon looms this great statue which we all of us enjoy when 
we take the Rock River drive. 

Study Club dropped its membership limitation of thirty. 

Boy Scouts organized. 

Sam Austin, who then lived at 503 Hillside Avenue, went to Ralph 
B. Treadway and said he and some other boys wanted to take up the 
Scout work and asked him to become their Scoutmaster. Peter Bach- 
mann was afterwards Assistant Scoutmaster. 

Records show that on August 27, 1911, the Eagle Patrol comprised 
the following: Sam Austin, Melville Smith, Chester Woods, Richard 
Hoadley, Alva Pelham, Carleton Howe, Isadore Sersefsky, Joseph Moul- 
ton, Clarence Kendall and Olin Dibble, and on same date the Wolf Patrol 
had as members: Frank Hassler, Lloyd Myers, John Foster, John Spald- 
ing, Harold Myers, Cleon Monroe, Lester LeMessurier, Ivan Surkamer, 
Alba Spalding and Walter Cadman; that afterwards, Walter Ludeke was 



94 THE STOBY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 

1911 assigned to Wolf Patrol and Harry Kelley to Eagle Patrol. There was 
also a Recruit Patrol, which included Russell Carr, Thomas Dalton, 
Martin Morrison, Carl Dow, Glenn Tellefsen, Harry Addie, Franklin Rowe 
and Alfred Carlson. The record also shows the following but not their 
assignment, John Binger, Wilbur Johnson, Hubert Bogan, Henry Hul- 
bert, Harold Utermark, George Freeto, George Johnson, Leonard 
Llewellyn and Frank Achterfeld. This Scout organization lasted about 
two years, then disbanded. 

The Library Association purchased the old Nickerson house on Penn- 
sylvania, just east of Main, the women cleaned it up themselves and 
moved into it in time to celebrate the library's fifth anniversary on 
May 11th, in its own home. The moving was an informal affair, Clar- 
ence Kendall and Owen Dibble helping with their express wagons after 
school. The library possessed 1,750 books, seventy-five borrowers and a 
circulation of 4,287. The women of the village worked very hard, doing 
all sorts of cleaning and decorating. Miss Harmon furnished the furnace 
for the house. "It was Miss Harmon's cash that kept us going," de- 
clared Mrs. C. W. Somerville. In March an official letter was sent to Mr. 
Carnegie and the reply came that if the village would supply one-tenth 
of the sum given by Mr. Carnegie for the maintenance of the library and 
the site be fully owned, help would be forthcoming. Immediately the 
women began their agitation in the village for a two mill tax for the 
support of a free public library in the village. 

Patch Bros, bought out Boyd Bros, and continued their hardware 
business. 

DuPage County State Bank (now DuPage Trust Co.) organized No- 
vember 25, with capitalization of $25,000 and surplus of $2,500. First 
meeting held December 2, at the home of William H. Hall, 722 Hillside 
Avenue. First directors were: Frederick Bruegger, Allan H. Fairbank, 
Jas. H. Furman, Wm. F. Jensen, Wm. H. Hall, Dan Norman, Thaddeus 
P. D. Payne, Jas. E. Simons, Thomas Stanton, Wm. L. Lerch and Eugene 
C. Hall. The first officers were: president, Wm. H. Hall; vice president, 
Dan Norman; cashier, Frank J. Bogan; assistant cashier, Jas. W. 
Vallentyne. 

Mr. IBogan recalls with amusement how, in those early days of 
cashiering, he had to arrive early to sweep out, and was obliged to 
lock up the bank's doors, while he went downstairs to fix the furnace. 

DuPage Trust Building erected, just two stories high at the time. 

1912 October 23, Glen Ellyn Lodge No. 950 A. F. & A. M. was organizea 
with a membership of fifty-eight, and the following were the first 
officers: Worshipful Master, Herbert Lane; Senior Warden, Acors Rath- 
bun; Junior Warden, Lawrence V. Calhoun; Treasurer, Charles F. Nagl; 
Secretary, John LeMessurier; Chaplin, Frank Roderus; Senior Deacon, 
Karl C. Loehr; Junior Deacon, Walter P. Conyers; Senior Steward, 
Harold Rossiter; Junior Steward, Edgar H. McChesney; Tyler, Thomas 
J. Delves. They met in the Odd Fellows Hall above the Glen Ellyn 
State Bank, until obliged to move because of the dismantling of the old 
Ehlers Building. Douglas B. Robertson, first new initiate. 

Gas and electric light franchise granted for twenty- five years. 

Study Club's name changed to Glen Ellyn Woman's Club which joined 
the Eleventh District. 

August 19th, Boosters Club organized. 

February 19th, Georgia Allen, a teacher in the public schools for forty 
years, died, aged sixty-three years. 



THE STORY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 95 

1912 Daughters of Columbia organized, Mrs. Matilda Merz first president. 

Movies of the Black Hawk War made in Glen Ellyn down by the lake. 
A considerable company of actors, actresses, Indians and frontiersmen, 
with the covered wagons, horses and all, were here several weeks. We 
used to go down to the lake afternoons to watch them act. The wagons 
pulled by four horses which would wade and struggle through the water 
of the lake and pull up the steep bank of Honeysuckle hill, the Indians 




Main Street — looking north 

on their ponies whooping and yelling in full chase, the water splashing 
up over their splendid Indian costumes (though the Indians were make- 
believes, they were very realistic), the women in sunbonnets and 
homespun holding on to their seats in the wagon for dear life. 

It was all very interesting and exciting, and quite fitting that the pic- 
ture should have Glen Ellyn scenery for a setting, not only because 
Black Hawk had been here many times, but because this place resembles 
his own country, the Rock River region. The film was shown here to 
crowded houses. This was in the days when movies were quite new and 
when the little lake was surrounded by a tangle of undergrowth, there 
was lake where the athletic field now lies, and Honeysuckle Hill, a laby- 
rinth of bushes and trees, rose steeply from the water's edge, uncrowned 
by any high school. 

October 13 and 14, the First Congregational Church held services cele- 
brating its fiftieth anniversary in its building at Forest and Pennsylvania 
(now the Grace Lutheran home), William Roscoe Kedzie was the 
minister. In the morning there were addresses by Rev. J. C. Armstrong 
and Rev. Charles Caverno; a quartet, Messrs Lang, Blackwell, Kopp and 
Watson, sang "It is the Lord's Own Day," and another of Mrs. Pulse, 
Mrs. Dean, Mr. Lang and Mr. Kopp, sang "Lead Kindly Light," and W. 
Harold Simons played the offertory. In the evening, there were ad- 
dresses by Rev. J. W. Valentyne, and Dr. Wm. E. Barton, with music by 
a quintet, composed of Mrs. Rose, Miss Gordon, Mrs. Abell, Mr. Gordon 
and Mr. Watson, and at both services solos by E. J. Gold. 

The officers of the church at that time were: clerk, P. A. Bolander; 
treasurer, K. C. Loehr; trustees, B. B. Curtis, G. F. Scott, C. H. McChes- 
ney, Dan Norman, T. A. Hoadley; deacons, A. Churchill, R. L. Rogers, 
A. Whitney, F. M. Wagner; Sunday School: superintendent, G. G. Nelson; 
secretary, Ruth Boyd; Christian Endeavor: president, R. J. Scott, secre- 



96 TEE STOBY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 



1912 tary, Ruth Boyd; Men's Club president, W. W. Reed; Ladies' Aid presi- 
dent, Mrs. Jackson Wagner; Ladies' Sewing Circle president.Mrs. G. M. 
Kendall; Ladies' Missionary Society president, Mrs. J. W. Vallentyne. 

April, the two mill tax for the library was voted on and carried in a 
very exciting election. Mr. Carnegie promised $8,000 if the village 
would provide $800 for maintenance during the year. The present 
corner at Park and Crescent was chosen. It belonged then to Wm. 
Grimshaw, and once held the old Arnold home where Mrs. Thomas Hoad- 
ley, Mrs. Ballou and Miss Arnold were born. The old house on Penn- 
sylvania was given as part payment. 

George Awsumb was chosen as architect. Then it was discovered 
they needed $10,000 to build, so Mrs. Hopper made a trip to New York to 
see Mr. Carnegie, but found he had gone to Scotland; then Mr. Furman 
made a trip and succeded in getting the larger appropriation. The 
first library board elected by the village consisted of Mrs. Charles 
B. Hopper, Mrs. C. W. Smith, Miss Kate Treat, Arthur Gamon, James 
Furman and Mr. Wagner. 

A Glen Ellyn orchestra, composed of Harvey Higley, Irene Baethke 
and the Misses Sutherland, with Charlotte Johnson as accompanist, under 
the leadership of L. J. Thiele, did good work in the community. 

The W. C. T. U. which, under the leadership of "Grandma Lloyd" had 
been active until the saloon was driven out of the village, then lapsed, 
but was revived again in 1912. A group of women met at the home of 
Mrs. T. B. Arnold, who lived at the edge of the Free Methodist Camp 
Ground, now Wrightwood, and spent the afternoon in the grove — which 
was then one of Glen Ellyn's loveliest spots. Mrs. C. J. Richardson was 
elected president; Mrs. Alexander Spears, treasurer and Mrs. H. T. Fitz- 
simons, secretary. Mrs. Wm. Monroe was very active and the monthly 
meetings thereafter were held at her home on Pennsylvania Avenue. 
Mrs. James Gordon, was also very active, and has continued her interest 
to the present. Many large socials were held at the Gordon home on 
Pennsylvania. Others who were active were Mrs. J. D. McChesney, Mrs. 
Merre, Mrs. Olmstead, Mrs. Nelson, daughter of Grandma Lloyd and 
mother of George Nelson, and Mrs. O. G. Christgau. 

The Harmony Club had club rooms on Crescent where the Palace Meat 
Market now holds forth. There the club had a gymnasium and card 
tables and its members enjoyed themselves immensely. Once a month, 
they had a ladies' night with a dance given in Odd Fellows Hall "and 
how they would dance," exclaimed one of the ladies. Among the mem- 
bers were Jesse Wagner, Harry and Billy Achterfeld, Jack Baron, Rollin 
T. Smith, Wm. Vallette, Allen Myers, C. J. Richardson, Fred Surkamer, 
Ed. Chatterton, Ben Wagner and Wm. Nadelhoffer. 

Forest Glen P. T. A., first in the community started by M. W. Hol- 
linger, then teaching at Forest Glen, in pursuance of his idea that the 
schools should have wider use by the public, instead of limiting them 
to the few hours devoted to actual school work by the children. He 
started a class for boys and girls in high school work, trying to interest 
the villagers in the high school idea. President Simons, of the village 
board, looked up the possibility of using a room upstairs in the village 
hall, but no definite action was taken at the time. 

The late Mrs, Thomas Dalton was first chairman of the Forest Glen 
P. T. A., and it has continued since its organization without interruption 
except for one session missed during the war. 

The panaroma picture of Glen Ellyn was taken (a copy of which may 
be seen in Wm. H. Baethke's office.) The camera was mounted on a kite 



THE STOEY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 



97 



1912 and the photographer waited for days to have the right weather condi- 
tions. This was an exciting time in the village. 

Dr. John Thompson, pastor of the Methodist Temple at Clark and 
Washington, who lived in the village for some years, built the house at 
377 Park Blvd., occupied by the Charles Ottos, and made his home there. 

1913 Population 2,000. 

Methodist Episcopal Church on Hillside sold to Evangelical Church. 

December 28th, present M. E. church, corner of Duane and Forest, 
dedicated, with Aubrey Moore as pastor, and Dr. John Thompson, now 
pastor of the Chicago Temple, then living in Glen Ellyn, taking active 
part in the building project. 

There were three public schools, Duane, Forest Glen and Hawthorne. 

Parcel Post came to town. 

Joseph R. Smith elected village president. Passed away May 1927. 

October 21st, Park district voted down. 

O. G. Christgau, editor of "The Glen Ellyan." 

Dr. Ira L. Baughman began to practice dentistry in the village.. 

Glen Ellyn acquired its first taxi, a Holliday, run by the Nadelhoffers. 
Later a Ford was added to the taxi service. 

Sol Bluefarb bought out a tailor who had been here for about a year, 
and has continued in the business since that time. 

1914 Walter A. Rogers bought his farm "Warwood," 300 acres on both sides 
of the Joliet Road, south of the Butterfield Road, from Mr. Chism and 
Mr. Mitchell. Mr. Chism's hobby had been race horses and at one time, 
Maud S, the famous racer, had lived in the horse barn which still 
stands of the west side of the road. The farm house on the east side 
of the road is probably eighty years old. Once a family named Par- 
sons lived in this house and the story is told that one day Mrs. Parsons 
heard the Indians were coming. Carrying one of her two children she 
walked to Naperville, with its fort, to seek protection. 




Glen Ellyn's Carnegie Library with the Arnold's old apple tree 
in front of it 



98 THE STOEY OF A N OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 

1914 The corner where the Bonaparte school stands is one of the high 
points of land around here. Two different tribes of Indians named it: 
one's name meaning, "I see all," and the other meaning, "The beautiful." 

September 14, the new Carnegie Free Public Library building opened 
to the public. Miss Barr, librarian. 

Simons Studio started. 

Woman's Club raised funds to furnish Library Hall. 

Paving of streets begun, with Main street moving out of the mud first. 

Newton-Baethke Company, incorporated. 

November 1st, first moving picture theater built at 481 Main Street, by 
T. Stuart Smith, George Awsumb, architect. Now the home of the 
Gas and Electric Company, and the R. V. Spalding organization. 

1915 Glen Ellyn Woman's Club with seventy-six members, joined the General 
Federation. Mrs. Hopper organized the "Civics Class." 

James E. Simons elected village president. 

September 15, at a meeting in Glen Ellyn a local high school was 
decided upon, and Arthur Holtzman and Miss Erin McMechan started 
right in on their faculty duties, and carried on through this first year. 

October, Glen Ellyn High School organized as a two year high school 
under the direction of the superintendent of the grammar schools. 

December 27th, the High School District was created. The first board 
elected were: L. J. Thiele, president; Mrs. R. B. Treadway, Mrs. Calvin 
Berger, Sidney Badger, Dan Norman, B. B. Curtis and W. W. Reed. 

The next faculty included A. M. Holtzman, principal; Miss Erin Mc- 
Mechan, Miss Helen Hicks, Miss Nina Parsons, Miss Madeline Sadler and 
W. L. Taylor. 

A third floor was added to the DuPage County Bank Building and 
school sessions were held there. 

Glen Ellyn High School placed under the township high school act of 
1911, made a four year school and recognized by the state department. 

World War looms on horizon. 

There were 566 telephones in Glen Ellyn. 

The first dollar given to the Glen Ellyn Woman's Club for a clubhouse 
by Ada Douglas Harmon. 

Glen Ellyn Musical Club organized by L. J. Thiele and Rev. James 
Vallentyne gave several good concerts before disbanding in war time. 
It had also fostered music in the public schools. After the war, an 
informal chorus was organized, led by August Steinberg, and a woman's 
chorus, led by Leslie Allen. Also, a band was formed and uniformed, 
which gave several concerts through several winters and summers. 

The official village ordinance date on the first paving in Glen Ellyn 
is October 15, 1915, the date of the first assessments for sections of 
Pennsylvania Avenue, Main Street and Crescent Blvd. 

The opening of the paving on Pennsylvania, which came first, was an 
event of first magnitude, and people, wheeling baby carriages, walked 
over to look at the shining stretch of concrete, getting a big thrill out 
of the sight. The street had been torn up for months, practically im- 
passable. The laborers came to the Carl J. Richardson's pump on Duane 
Street for water to use in the mixing, carrying it for blocks in pails. 

The 1928 season closes with forty miles of paving in the village. 

1916 Glen Ellyn Woman's Club abolished ten cent fines for non-attendance 
and Rosalie M. McKay became head of the "Music Department." 



THE STOBY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 99 

1916 The Boy Scout movement stirred again and Mr. Orrell helped organize 
and took charge of a second Scout group in October, the meetings 
being held in the basement of the Methodist church. Among the 
organizing boys were Robert Patch, Earl Wright, Leonard Cole and 

Chesterfield Heme. That year business took Mr. Orrell from the village 
and Dr. Ensminger took the leadership of the boys and continued it 
till after the war, when the Scout movement developed into its modern 
form of several troops and Scoutmasters. Among the boys in this 
second Scout activity, besides the four mentioned above, were: Alec 
Allen, Thomas Allen, Robert Thiele, Clarence Cole, Norman Elsy, Stanley 
Elsy, Jack Young, Frank Michel, Charles Davis, Vernon Mertz, Harold 
Degenhardt, Robert Spears, Wesley Kidd, Lancelot McGough, Lawrence 

Calhoun, Robert Calhoun, Clyde Newcomb, Russell De Castongrin, Walter 

Catlin, Lawrence Rogers, Charles Hudson, Alden Fork, Martin Collins, 

Robert Johansen, John Moloney, and Jack Kinner. 

Office of the village forester created on July 11 by ordinance. Dr. 
Frank Johnson has served since that date, rising very early nearly every 
morning to look over his trees before going into Chicago for the day. 
Along Duane, Park, Hillside and many other streets are to be found 
flourishing young trees, elms, red maples and other hardy varieties 
which he has planted and is taking personal care of, so they may take 
the place of the short-lived, quick-growing trees that line these streets. 
Dr. Johnson's memory will be kept alive for countless years through the 
countless trees he has grown for the village. 

THE WORLD WAR 

1917 The people of Glen Ellyn, Danby's grown-up child, put their shoulders 
once more to the wheel and worked during the World War with eager 
patriotism, though not with such poignant pain as had animated their 
forerunners during the Civil War. 

For though Glen Ellyn sent many sons to battle, 166, all of them 
but one, Capt. Paul Conyers Deily, came home to her. He was instantly 
killed by shell fire on October 3, 1918, while forming his Co. K of the 
9th Infantry, preparatory to an attack on Blanc Mont Ridge, France. 
He had been cited seven times for extreme gallantry in action. His is 
gold star, No. 44 on the Glen Ellyn service flag. 

The other gold star, No. 27, belongs to Major Robert E. Brooks, a re- 
tired army officer who had been called back to recruiting duty in the 
war emergency. He came to Glen Ellyn to live and met death acci- 
dentally on the electric railroad at Elmhurst soon afterwards. He was 
buried in West Chicago with military and Masonic honors. 

Those who were wounded in service and whose names are represented 
by silver stars on the service flag are: Leslie Robey in Belleau Woods, 
1918; Wesley H. Surkamer, in Belleau Woods, 1918; Robert J. Lang and 
Sergt. E. K. Chapin, marines, 1918; Frank Newton, Charles Binger, 
Andrew Ingram, Sergt. Fay H. Sutherland, Vernon R. Miller and 
Frank Sittler. 

The service flag was presented to the village by the Civics Department 
of the Glen Ellyn Woman's Club on March 3, 1918, at that time bearing 
sixty-eight names, now 166, from the little village of 2,500 people. Mrs. 
J. C. Knapp was chairman of the Civics Department, and a committee, 
Mrs. M. J. Milmoe, Mrs. Charles B. Hopper and Mrs. A. R. Utt, made the 
flag and sewed on the stars, numbering them and assigning a definite one 
to each man. These stars were changed to keep up with changing 
conditions. The blue stars belong to the men who served in this country 
the red to those who went overseas, the silver to those who were wounded 
and two gold ones to the two who lost their lives. 

The service flag was kept flying till the Armistice was signed, and it 



100 THE STOEY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 



1917 is now preserved and also a chart, in the vault in the Glen Ellyn Library, 
which gives a key to each star and its owner. 

Besides the men in active service and the Home Guards, there were 
many citizens engaged in war work as zestfully as though they were in 
uniforms and regiments. 

There were the Red Cross workers. Before a Red Cross unit was 
formed after the war began, Mrs. Charles B. Hopper had groups of 
women meeting at her home on Hillside Avenue making hospital gar- 
ments and learning to knit. A class in surgical dressing was formed 
with Mrs. Hopper as instructor, which met at the library. A First Aid 
class was formed, meeting at the Methodist church with Dr. Ensminger 
as instructor. 

The Red Cross Auxiliary was formed June 8th, 1917, and a shop was 
opened on Main Street in the DuPage Trust Building, now occupied by 
the A. & P. Tea store. The use of this shop was given till it was 
rented, which happened the next spring. George Sersefski, who ran the 
dry goods store where Capps & Co. now are, took the workers in, giving 
them his counters and shelves, until Mr. Turner arranged a room in 
the old State Bank Building. Later, they found their final haven in the 
big Odd Fellows ball room on the third floor of the old building which 
has gone down for the sake of the bank's new home. 

The charter members of this unit were: Mmes. M. J. Milmoe, Harry 
Gilbert, Harry Mitchell, C. C. Tatham, Harry Thompson, G. H. Ens- 
minger, George Awsumb, Miss Aileen Smith, Mrs. Allen C. Dean, chair- 
man, Mrs. Asa Strause, vice chairman, Mrs. John Hasfurther, secretary. 
This unit with these officers became Auxiliary 93 of the Chicago Chapter 
of the American Red Cross. 

There were many more workers and much work done. Until February 
15, 1919, when the charter was returned, there had been made 26,433 
surgical dressings, 799 hospital garments, 199 refugee garments, 1,668 
knitted articles of clothing. The children of the village collected 114 
pounds of tinfoil. Much used clothing was gathered for Belgian relief. 

The Forest Glen district formed a committee of which Mrs. Edwin P. 
Linton was chairman. 

The average number of Red Cross workers daily was forty. Mrs. 
Clark Shattuc and Mrs. Asa Strause were given service medals by the 
Red Cross for 1,600 hours of work and Mmes. Allen C. Dean, Andrew 
McWilliams, John Myers, Lucile Jamieson, John Hasfurther and Miss 
Charlotte Grimshaw received medals for 800 hours work. 

Miss Grimshaw, the second chairman of the Auxiliary, went to France 
as a member of the Y. W. C. A. and Mrs. Hasfurther was chairman till 
the Armistice was signed. 

Then there was a Comfort Kit Committee, to provide small, personal 
comforts for the men, started by the gift from an anonymous donor of 
$100 to buy little special things. Small checks were sent at holiday times, 
and each man was sent away with a little comfort kit for personal be- 
longings. Mrs. Harry Cole was chairman, and on the committee were 
Mrs. O. A. Chandler, Mrs. O. D. Dodge, Mrs. J. C. Knapp, Miss Eva Clare, 
Mrs. O. G. Christgau, Mrs. John E. Hasfurther, and Mrs. Fred S. Cole. 

Also there was the correspondence committee on which Miss Clara 
Boyle and Charles McChesney did yeoman work, writing real letters of 
personal friendliness and village chat to the boys scattered so far away. 
They wrote hundreds of letters, not just scratchy little notes but regular 
letters with news in them. 

Mrs. Frank Johnson was in charge of the Libetry Loans of the Seventh 
District, and Glen Ellyn always went over the top of its quota, which 
meant that everybody in town did his bit. 

The executive committee of the State Council of Defense enrolled the 
following names: Stanley Wagner, chairman; L. V. Calhoun, vice-chair- 
man; A. R. Utt, secretary; Frank J. Bogan, treasurer; Miss Clara S. 
Boyle, Mrs. Frank Johnson, Mrs. C. M. Berger, Mrs. J. K. Clark, Mrs. 



THE STOBY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 



101 



1917 J. R. Hasfurther, Prof. W. W. Reed, William Yackley, Mrs. Thomas 
Stanton, Mrs. J. E. Rogers, L. J. Thiele, Charles McChesney, H. Basen- 
demer, D. S. Adams, Mrs. J. H. Cole, Mrs. W. L. Jansen, Prof. F. L. 
Biester, Miss Mary D. Lee, Mr. Eckert, J. R. Smith and Mrs. J. C. Lytle. 

The object of this committee was to welcome home the men which they 
did by meeting them at the trains, escorting them to their homes and 
staging some community home comings for them. 

And so the smoke of battle blew away. 

Glen Ellyn gave itself whole heartedly to war work with 166 enlisted 
from the village and east half of township. 



WORLD WAR SOLDIERS 



List of men and women in the se 
half of Milton Township — U. S. 
welfare agencies. 
Name 

1. Achterfeld, Harry 

2. Achterfeld, William (died 1921) 

3. Addie, Albert H. Corporal 

4. Addie, Earl Sergt. 

5. Allen, Albert A., Jr. 2nd Lieut. 



6. Allen, Vincent H. 

7. Anderson, Elmer (overseas) 

8. Arnold, Ewart J. 

9. Arnold, Roger W. 



10. Arthur, Alfred H. 

11. Backman, J. A. 

12. Berg, Charles O. (also Spanish 

War veteran) 

13. Binger, Charles (badly 

wounded) 

14. Bogan, Hubert 

15. Bowden, Sam M. 



16. Brady, Walter W. 



rvice from Glen Ellyn and the East 
Army, Navy, Marines and various 

Service as reported out 

45th Infantry, U. S. A. 

28th Infantry, 1st Div. (overseas) 

Headquarters Co. 132nd Infantry 

(overseas) 
Medical Dept. Camp Knox, Ky. 
U. S. Flying service, at New York, 
ready to sail when Armistice went 
into effect. 

Signal Corps, 410th Telegraph Bat- 
talion Co. D. overseas. 
Bugler, Battery E, 58th Coast Artil- 
lery. 

Signalman, 85th Co. 10th Heavy Ar- 
tillery U. S. Marine Corps, Quantico. 
Private Volunteer, released through 
DuPage Co. Draft Board, and enlisted 
in Aviation service ground work, June 
27, 1918. Sent to Chanute Field and 
later transferred to Mineola, N. Y., 
where his Battalion was awaiting 
sailing orders when November 11 
Armistice became effective. Honor- 
able discharge from service January 
22, 1919. 

Navy, S. S. "Minneapolis," overseas 
1917-1918. Pacific Coast, 1919. 
U. S. Navy. 

Major, 1st Battalion, U. S. A. 342nd 
Inf. 86th Div. Camp Grant, resigned. 
Co. M, 59th Infantry, 4th Division 
overseas. 

Landsman Mech. Mate, Great Lakes, 
U. S. N. 

Sapper, Canadian Engineers, Toronto 
Training Camp, and discharged as 
physically unfit. 

Intelligence Sect. Headqtrs. Co. 333rd 
Heavy Artillery. 



102 



THE STOEY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 



1917 Name 

17. Brody, James 

18. Brooks, R. H. Major 



19. Burke, Gordon H. 

20. Chase, Al (Real estate Editor 

Chicago Tribune) 

21. Clarke, Isaac Bradford 

22. Colberg, Grover 

23. Cole, Fred S. 



24. Cole, Henry W. 

25. Cordes, Gilbert 

26. Dalton, John Thomas 

27. Deiley, Paul C. Camp 

28. Dibble, Olin W. 

29. Dinsmore, Alden 

30. Dodge, Clarence 



31. Dodge, Philip A. 

(Son of Mr. and Mrs. E. C.) 



32. Dolton, Richard 

33. Donaldson, Horace 

34. Duncan, Alexander Cameron 



35. Erickson, Charles J. 

36. Farnsworth, Lee O. 

37. Ferries, W. Allen (overseas) 



Service as reported out 

Private, 303rd Aero Squadron, Elling- 
ton Field, Houston, Texas. 

U. S. A. Of. Reserve. Killed in acci- 
dent on C. A. & E. Elec. Ry. 1918. 
Chicago Dist. Lived in Glen Ellyn. 
Buried in West Chicago. 

Tailor, Ordnance Motor Instruction 
School, Camp Raritan, New Jersey. 

2nd Class Seaman, U. S. N. Aviation, 
Key West, Florida. 

Chief Mechanic, Battery B, 342nd 
Field Artillery, 89th Div. overseas. 

1st Class Private Co. B, 108th Engin- 
eers, 33rd Div. overseas. 

Corporal Co. E, 311th Engineers. 
Served as instructor of commercial 
drawing at Bordeaux army schools 
after Armistice. 

American Red Cross, Captain, for a 
short time in France, overseas. 

Carpenter, U. S. N. Last boat "S. S. 
Steven H. Jones." overseas. 

3rd Class Q. M. Naval Reserve, New- 
port, R. I., training camp. 

Infantry. Killed leading a charge, 
overseas. 

1st Class Q. M. U. S. N. Served on 
S. S. "Nokomis," sub-chaser during 
1917-18, overseas. 

Corporal 817th Motor Transport Co. 
Served with Tank Corps overseas. 

Mexico, overseas, transferred from 

Artillery to cook at a base camp; 

regular army man and still in service. 

overseas. 

Regular Army drill Sergt. at Kansas 

and Texas Camps. Philippine service 

wound in foot unfit for overseas on 

that account. 

Camp Grant for only a few days; 

called restricted service. 

Aviation repair, Gerstner Field, La. 

U. S. Navy reserve; called out April 
1917, served at Grant Park Camp, 
Chicago. Chief Gunner, title, Instruc- 
tor, etc. 

1st Class Private, Co. I 130th Inf. 33rd 
Div. overseas. 

Y. M. C. A. Business Sec'y. In charge 
at Tours Headquarters, France, over- 
seas. 

Pharmacists Mate, U. S. Hospital 
Ship "Mercy." 



TEE STOBY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 



103 



1917 Name 

38. Forter, David H. U.S.A. 

39. Foster, Ernest T. U. S. N. 

40. Foster, John W. U. S. A. 

41. Freeman, Homer H. overseas 

42. Friedrickson, John A. overseas 

43. Furman, Edward L. overseas 

44. Gordon, Albert A. overseas 

45. Gray, Max 

46. Grimshaw, Miss Charlotte 

47. Hanson, Albert G. overseas 

48. Harvis, Earl E. overseas 

49. Hassler, Frank R. overseas 

50. Higley, Harvey V. U. S. A. 



51. Hoadley, Richard U. S. N. 
overseas 



52. Hollinger, Paul overseas 



53. Holtzman, Arthur N. U. S. A. 

54. Howe, Carlton G. overseas 

55. Hornsby, Hubert P. overseas 

56. Hornsby, John A. (Retired 

Major U. S. A. Medical Corps) 



57. House, Henry Harrison, over- 

seas (invalided home) 

58. Hurd, Paul D. overseas 

59. Ingram, Andrew overseas 

(wounded in action) 



Service as reported out 

Corporal Co. B, 8th Mounted Engin- 
eers, Texas Border all thru war. 

Chief Mechanic Great Lakes Naval 
Training School, April 1917-19. 

Sergt. and Master Mechanic, Co. B, 
8th Mounted Engineers, at Texas 
Border all thru war. 

Sergt. 1st class, Supply Co. 6th Regt. 
U. S. Marines. 

Private Motor truck Co. 441, 3rd 
Army Headquarters. 

Corp. and Clerk, Headqtrs. Personnel 
Sect. LeMans, went over with 86th 
Div. 

Sergt. Q. M. C. 33rd Div. 

Private Co. B 161st Inf. Camp Grant, 
Aug. 5, 1918. 

Y. W. C. A. Canteen at Bordeaux and 
later transferred to Paris. 

Private Co. B, 345th Battalion Tank 
Corps. 

Corp. Co. B, 132nd Inf. 33rd Div. 
Sergt. Ordnance Supply Dept. Sta- 
tioned at various artillery bases in 
France. 

1st Lieut. Chemical warfare service, 
Experimental Laboratory, Washing- 
ton, D. C. 

S.S. "Carolina" transport after Ar- 
mistice; was radio operator on sub- 
marine chaser out of Boston Harbor 
prior to transport duty. 

Co. C, 342nd Inf. 86th Div. Dis- 
charged and transferred to Y.M.C.A. 
service at Brest for 10 months after 
Armistice. 

In training with 4th Officers Training 
Camp, Camp Grant, when war stop- 
ped. 

Ensign U. S. N. 

British Army, base Hospital No. 1, 
France, from May, 1917. 
Lieut. Col. Medical Dept. U. S. A. 
Served at Washington, called to ac- 
tive service when war was declared; 
helped Bell organize and plan for 
Chicago Field, before going East. 
Private Co. C, service Battalion, 503rd 
Engrs. Forestry service, France. 
Sergt. Headqtrs. Co. Signal Platoon, 
122nd Field Artillery 
Private Co. C, 365th Inf. 92nd Div. 



104 



THE STOBY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 



1917 Name 

60. Jacobs, Samuel Dana, U. S. N. 

61. Jackson, J. Alfred overseas 



62. Jascke, Stanley M. overseas 

63. Jellies, Harvey U. S. A. 

64. Johnson, Edward E. overseas 

65. Johnson, Ernest E. overseas 

66. Johnson, George A. overseas 

67. Johnson, Walfrid E. overseas 

68. Johnson, Wilbur U. S. A. 

69. Julian, Joseph U. S. A. 

70. Kaelin, Louis E. U. S. N. 

overseas 

71. Kelley, Harry W. U. S. N. 

72. Kellogg, James overseas 

73. Kendall, Clarence E. U. S. A. 

74. Kloeckner, Edward U. S. A. 

75. Klug, Harold U. S. N. 

76. Knapp, Norbert C. 

77. Kohls, Karl A. U. S. A. 

78. Kolacek, William J. U. S. A. 



79. Kopf, John W. overseas 

80. Kroeger, Albert F. 

81. Laier, Frank B. U. S. N. 

82. Lambert, Oscar J. overseas 



83. Lang, Miss Bertha overseas 



Service as reported out 

Ambulance driver, Great Lakes 
Camp. 

Supply ship "Bushnell" (with crew 

that brought over two German subs 

one displayed in Lake Michigan, 

Grant Park, Chicago. 

Corp. Co. B, 132nd Inf. 33rd Div. 

Aviation repairs, mechanic, Gerstner 

Field, Louisiana. 

U. S. N. Portland Training S.S. 

"Montpelier" transport service. 

Private Co. F, 311th Ammunition 

train 86th Div. 

3rd Class Quartermaster U. S. N. S.S. 

"North Carolina" transport service. 

Private Co. F, 56th Inf. 7th Div. 

Aviation Repair Corps, Gerstner 

Field, La. 

Aviation Repair Corps, Gerstner 

Field, La. 

S.S. transport "Hancock." 

1st Class Seaman, 2nd Class signal 
man; Hampton Roads operating base; 
Naval Reserve, 1918. 
1st class private Co. B, 108th Engrs. 
33rd Div. 

Aviation cadet, training for commis- 
sion; not through when Armistice 
signed. Last camp Dick, Dallas, Tex. 
Private, Remount Station, Houston, 
Tex. 325th Brigade. 
U. S. Naval Reserves, Great Lakes. 
Radio Operator assigned to S.S. "Du- 
Pont"; later designated as Torpedo 
boat No. 3, American Waters Coast 
Guarding. 

Called to restricted service class fall 
1918, Jefferson Barracks, Mo. 
Transferred from private to take offi- 
cers training course at Camp Lee, Va. 
Not quite through when Armistice 
was signed. 

Sergt. Co. E, 311th Ammunition train, 
86th Div. 

U. S. Merchant Marine, Boston, Mass. 
Carpenters Mate, U. S. Naval opera- 
tion, Pensacola and Miami, Florida. 
Private Co. H, 130th Inf. 33rd Div. 
Assigned to Glen Ellyn in Draft 
Quota, Oct. 4, 1917, east half Milton 
Twp. 

U. S. A. nurse, Lieut.; to France with 
base Hosp. unit No. 14. 



THE STOEY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 



105 



1917 Name 

85. Lang, Robert J. overseas 

85. LeMessurier, Lester U. 
U. S. N. R. 



86. LePage, Charles A. U. S. N. R. 

87. Llewellyn, Leonard E. 

U. S. N. R. 

88. Loomis, Clayton, B. U. S. A. 



89. Loomis, Eustis H. overseas 

90. Loomis, Hiram K. U. S. A. 



91. Loper, Walter A. 



92. Lounds, Frank T. U. S. N. 

93. Ludeke, Albert H. U. S. A. 

94. Ludeke, Walter H. U. S. A. 

95. Ludeker, Fred W. U. S. A. 

96. McArthur, Harvey B. overseas 

97. Maglaras, Theodore overseas 

98. Matthews, Clarence A. overseas 

99. Mathews, Stuart B. overseas 

100. Mathews, Harold 

101. Meisner, Frank C. 

102. Meisner, Willis J. overseas 

103. Melville, John M. overseas 

104. Michelini, August G. overseas 

105. Miller, Herman V. overseas 

106. March, Benjamin F., Jr. 

overseas 



Service as reported out 

1st class private, 74th Co. 6th Reg. 
U. S. Marines. 

Engine man 2nd class U. S. N. re- 
serve; en route to Columbia Univer- 
sity, N. Y. Nov. 11, 1918 for special 
training. 

Landsman carpenter, Grant Park 
Camp, Chicago. 

Radio operator, 1st class naval avia- 
tion station, Pensacola, Fla. 

Enlisted at Seattle, Wash. Camp 
Dodge, Des Moines when Nov. 11th, 
1918, Armistice went into effect. 

Corp. Co. H, 162nd Inf. Machine Gun 
Co. 41st Div. 

2nd Lieut, and Instructor U. S. A. 
Signal Corps at Kansas and Texas 
Camps and Camp Meade, Maryland. 

Trained for Aviation Lieut.; just be- 
fore securing commission accident to 
plane put him out of service; later 
was accepted to train for officer at 
Camp Taylor, Ky. Artillery Officers 
Training Camp, U. S. A. R. 1st Lieut. 

Great Lakes Naval Reserve; went 
abroad as member of Naval Quartette 
Admiral Sims, London, later to Camp 
in France. 

Sergt. 865th Aero Squadron, Aviation 
repairs, Dallas, Texas. 
Private Aviation repair, Gerstner 
Field, La. 

Corp. Co. C, 1st Inf. Replacement 
Battalion, Camp McArthur, Texas. 
Private and Bugler, Battery D, 149th 
Field Artillery. 

Private Headqtrs. Co. 34th Inf. 7th 
Div. 

Private, Co. C, Service Battalion, 
503rd Engrs. Forestry. 
Capt. 20th Field Artillery, later In- 
structor at Camp Bowie. 
Merchant Marines. 
Lieut. Veterinary, U. S. A. 
Machine Gun Co. 344th Inf. 85th Div. 
Wagoner, Battery D, 342nd Field Ar- 
tillery, 89th Div. 

Private, Co. B, 5th Anti-aircraft Bat- 
talion. 

Private Signal Platoon, Headqtrs. Co. 
39th Inf. 4th Div. 

Sergt. 305th Field Remount Co. 
U. S. A. 



106 



THE STOBY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 



1917 Name 

107. Miller, Vernon R. overseas 

108. Montgomery, Arthur Clyde 

overseas (Canadian Army) 

109. Morgan, William T. 



110. Moulton, Herbert L. overseas 

111. Moulton, N. Harper overseas 

112. Moulton, Wesley H. U. S. A. 

113. Myers, Harold L. overseas 

114. Nelson, LeRoy A. U. S. N. 

115. Newton, Frank Q. overseas 

116. Newton, Ralph W. U. S. N. 

117. Pontious, Walter W. overseas 

118. Pressprich, Edward U. S. N. 

119. Rathbun, Acors Earl 



120. Rathbun, Harry R. 

121. Robey, Leslie A. overseas 

122. Roblee, Leland H. S. U. S. A. 

123. Rowe, Elmer W. overseas 

124. Rowe, Henry W. overseas 

125. Rowe, Franklin B. U. S. A. 

126. Russell, Simeon W. overseas 

127. Sadd, Laurence E. overseas 

U. S. A. 

128. Samson, Marcel J. overseas 



Service as reported out 

Private Headqtrs. Co 327th Inf. 82nd 
Div. 

Gunner Battery C, Royal Canadian 
Horse Artillery. 

Sergt. Inf. Enlisted National Guards 
March 3, 1917, Co. X, 105th Inf. Spar- 
tanburg, So. Carolina. 
Sergt. Co. A, 319th Field Signal Bat- 
talion, U. S. A. 

2nd Lieut. Battery F, 122nd Field Ar- 
tillery, 33rd Div. 

2nd Lieut. Officers Reserve Corps, 
trained at Camp Grant. Nov. 11, 1918 
in reserve at an Arkansas Camp. 
Private 1st class, Battery C, 49th 
Coast Artillery. 

Remains in service as Junior Lieut.; 
Recently transferred to Pacific (1920) 
Wagoner 129th Field Ambulance, 33rd 
Div. 

Chief Machinists Mate, U. S. N., Office 
of Public Works, Quantico, Va. 
Sergt. and Sec'y to Director Genl. of 
Ports, Office of Director Genl. of 
Transport, Paris. 

Cornetist and Bugler, Great Lakes 
Training Camp; later in Sousa's Band, 
Great Lakes. 

Was in service, Artillery or Cavalry 
under Pershing at Mexican Border 
when U. S. went into war; applied for 
aviator's training; graduated as 2nd 
Lieut. Aviation, Dec. 1st, 1918 and on 
Aviation Officer's reserve list. 
U. S. N. Aviation cadet from Univer- 
sity of Illinois; released Jan. 1919 to 
go on with college course. 
1st class private 83rd Co. 6th Reg. 
U. S. Marines. 

Commissioned 2nd Lieut. Field Artil- 
lery, Dec. 9th, 1918, Camp Taylor, Ky. 
Headqtrs. Co. 1st Engrs. 1st Div. 
(went in as repl. from Camp Grant, 
July, 1918). 

Co. F, 1st Engrs., 1st Div. Replace- 
ment. 

1st class Private Battery B, 14th 
Field Artillery, Fort Sill, Okla. 
Co. C, Service Batt'n, 503rd Engrs. 
Forestry. 

1st Lieut. Chemical warfare, Gen'l 
Headqtrs. Chaumont, France. 
29th Co. 20th Engrs. Motor Transport 
Service. 



THE STOBY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 



107 



1917 Name 

129. Schaefer, William 



130. Schleede, Karl W. F. 

(Pastor Grace Luth. Church; 
draft East half Milton Twp.) 

131. Schoenrock, Gustaf A. 

132. Schoenrock, William 

133. Scott, George F. overseas 

134. Sievert, LeRoy A. 

135. Showers, DeWitt C. 

136. Simons, James E., Jr. 

137. Simons, William Harold 

138. Simpson, Roy Russell overseas 

139. Smith, Melville 

140. Stokes, Charles A. 

141. Stokes, Glen A. U. S. N. R. 

142. Surkamer, Ivan 

143. Surkamer, Wesley H. 

144. Swanson, Roy C. overseas 

145. Sutherland, Fay H. overseas 

146. Thomas, Victor C. 

147. Thompson, Belden W. 

148. Thompson, J. W. 

149. Trompeter, Henry 

150. Van Buren, George E. 



Service as reported out 

3rd class Qtr. Master Signal Corps, 
U. S. N. Hampton Roads, operating 
base. 

Chaplain and Capt. assigned to Camp 
Meade with 79th; later transferred to 
chaplain on transport, returning from 
overseas 1919. 

U. S. Marines; remained in service, 
last heard from in West Indies. 
U. S. Naval Hosp. Aero Sta. Rocka- 
way Beach, N. Y. 

Capt. Supply Co. 131st Inf. 33rd Div. 
Was in Nat'l Guard Reserve from old 
1st I. N. G. when war started. 
Corpl. Battery F. 149th Field Artil- 
lery. Discharged account physical 
disability before regiment went to 
France. 

Restricted service class, Qtrm. Dept. 
Pur. Dept. Chicago. 
U. S. Marines, special detail U. S. N. 
Proving Grounds, Indian Head, Md. 
Musician U. S. N. Reserve, assigned 
to and served on U. S. S. "Dolphin" 
South Atlantic Fleet. 
2nd Lieut. Inf., Headqtrs. Troop, 39th 
Eng. 4th Div. 

1st class private and sharpshooter, 
Co. D, 10th Replacement Battalion, 
Quantico, Va. 

U. S. N. R. Ensign, Great Lakes and 
Columbia Coll. 

Ensign Great Lakes and Columbia 
Univ. 

Aviation Repair Corps, Garden City, 
L. I., N. Y. 

Private 1st Class, 83rd Co. 6th Reg. 
U. S. Marines. 

Medical Corps, base Hosp. No. 12 
Sergt. Motor Supply Train, Unit 322, 
6th Div. 

Private, Base Hosp. 128, Camp Sevier, 
Greenville, S. C. 

Provost Sergt. Base Hosp. Fort Riley, 
Kansas. 

In Chicago Army Headqtrs. as Clerk 
since 1888. 

Headqtrs. Detachment 311, Ammuni- 
tion train, 86th Div. overseas at close 
of war but not out of Bordeaux area. 

Acting Sergt. (used as drill instruc- 
tor) and transferred from 6th U. S. 
Marines before it went overseas. Ser- 
vice at Quantico. 



108 



THE STOEY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 



1917 Name 

151. Vallentyne, Allin W. overseas 

152. Venning, Frank L. overseas 



153. Vollmer, Edward F. overseas 

154. Vollmer, Fred B. 

155. Vollmer, William overseas 

156. Wagoner, William J. overseas 

157. Walty, Frank A. 

158. Weinrich, Russell A. overseas 

159. Whittum, E. Harrie 

160. Wimpress, C. C. 

161. Wohlferdt, Louis A. 

162. Worsley, O. C. 

163. Wolf, Charles C. overseas 

164. Zuttermeister, Harold 

165. Guirl, C. J. overseas 

166. Rogers, Edgar W. overseas 



Service as reported out 

1st class private U. S. Base Hosp. No. 
13, Limoges district, France. 
2nd Lieut. 302nd Repair Unit, Motor 
Transport Corps; one of the planners 
and builders of Verneuil Motor Repair 
Shops and Town improvements at 
Verneuil, France. 1st Lieut, when dis- 
charged. 
Co. I, 317th Inf. 

Private and barber, Provost Guard, 
Camp Grant, for all service period. 
Co. F, 318th Engrs. Private. Arrived 
in France after Armistice. 
Corpl. Motor Transport. 818th Co. 3rd 
Army Headqtrs. Trained and served 
with Tank Corps before Armistice. 
Private Headqtrs. Co. 71st Engrs. 
Washington Barracks, D. C. 
Battery B, 115th Field Artillery, 30th 
Div. 

Private Headqtrs. Sanitary Detach- 
ment, Medical Dept., Camp Sevier, 
Greenville, S. C. 



Corps, Camp 



Sergt. 1st Class, Qtrm. 
Grant, Rockford, Til. 
Battery E, 333rd Field Artillery, 
transferred to Replacement Battalion 
and went from Camp Grant to Camp 
Logan, Texas. 

Clerk, Personnel Sect. Co. 2, 2nd Inf. 
Replacements, Camp Sevier, Green- 
ville, S. C. 

5th Co. Automatic Replacement Sap- 
pers Forest Detachment; arrived in 
France Nov. 11, 1918; returned to 
States before Jan. 1st, 1918. 
Troop D, 12th Cavalry, Corozal, Canal 
Zone. 

2nd Canadian Mounted Rifles. 
Gunner, S. S. "Ryndam" or "Rijn- 
dam" U. S. Navy, during 1917, 18, 19. 



Co. G 5th Regiment I. R. M. (Home Guards) 



Capt. L. V. Calhoun 
1st Lieut. L. H. Sievert 
2nd Lieut. H. W. Thomas 
1st Sergt. Harold Rossiter 
G. Awsumb 
U. S. Abell 

E. F. Adams 
O. M. Barker 
W. H. Baethke 
V. H. Bonanomi 
G. A. Brisbois 

F. C. Buhr 



L. Antholz 
D. S. Adams 
W. B. Allen 
J. Baron 
R. E. Bick 
J. Binger 
N. W. Burris 
W. J. Catlin 
H. Clausen 
V. I. O. Fick 
J. H. Furman 
F. B. Heerboth 



THE STOEY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 



109 



1917 H. L. Buhr 

H. H. Bentley 
L. L. Brown 
S. G. Cutler 

C. C. Cash 
W. H. Clare 
J. K. Clark 
J. P. Clarke 
V. H. Carr 

E. G. Chapman 
J. Carruthers 
H. E. Davis 

F. J. Davis 

F. J. Deiber 

D. C. Dibble 
A. Engstrand 

G. H. Ensminger 
G. M. Griggs 

J. W. Grimshaw 
A. E. Hayes 

E. T. Hansen 

J. E. Hasfurther 

J. B. Heme 

A. P. Hutchison 

F. E. Jeffers 
W. Johnson 
A. M. Kelley 
W. M. Kellogg 
O. O. Mertz 
Arthur Neahr 
R. B. Treadway 
R. W. Tapper 
Howard G. Wilson 

"A complete list of those 
demobilized." — Wilson. 



J. G. Hunter 
G. M. Kendall 

F. C. Kirby 

G. A. Lineburg 
C. C. Loper 

C. H. McChesney 
G. C. McDonald 
P. E. McGough 

F. P. Michel 
M. J. Milmoe 
W. J. Monroe 

J. E. McNaughton 

G. Meacham 

S. S. Montgomery 
C. J. Richardson 
R. L. Rogers 
H. E. Rose 
W. V. Schuetz 
G. C. Sinclair 
C. E. Shattuc 
R. J. Scott 

E. G. Teeter 
H. Thompson 
J. Thumley 

J. H. Tourtelot 

F. M. Wagner 
R. Wagner 

R. M. Walker 
V. C. Winans 
O. K. Wright 
Jesse Wagner 
C. M. Wagner. 

who were in the company at the time it was 



Ministers during the war were: Dr. Henry S. Roblee, Congregational; 
Rev. B. G. Swaney, Methodist Episcopal; Rev. B. A. Maurer, Grace 
Lutheran; Rev. Theodore Holtorf, Evangelical; Rev. James D. Marsh, 
Free Methodist, Dr. Arthur, Episcopal. 

The Utili Dulci Club placed a bronze tablet in 
the Duane School building to the memory of 
Georgia Allen, teacher for forty years, who passed 
away in 1912. Her home was at the corner of 
Main and Pennsylvania; for its time, one of the 
best houses in town. It still stands, occupied by 
Mrs. Wm. Kloeckner. Miles Allen, her father, 
was one of the village's land-holding citizens, and 
she gave the Congregationalists their lot on 
Forest and Pennsylvania. 

Forest Avenue, Duane and Hill Avenue paved 
close in town. 

July 16, the three merchants in the village, 
Chas. H. McChesney, F. M. Wagner and O. K. 
Wright put into effect a "New system of merchan- 
dizing for the benefit of Glen Ellyn people to help 
reduce the high cost of living" which was a charge 
of five cents for delivery of goods and a charge of 




Georgia Allen 



110 



THE STOEY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 



1917 one cent for charging same, thus instituting the "cash and carry" system 
which has become so common, though the delivery trucks flash around 
town all the time now. In those days, one horse wagons which delivered 
purchases, practically disappeared from the streets. Under the new 
system, prices were to be reduced, 25 cent coffee costing 21 cents; 30 cent 
coffee costing 28 cents, etc. 

Joseph R. Smith elected village president. 

Congregational church moved to new home, corner of Anthony and 
Forest, the old church on Forest being purchased and occupied by the 
Grace Lutheran congregation. 

The Woman's Club agitated a campaign for a park, the project 
being voted down by the village. 

Irene Michet, librarian, now associate professor of English at State 
University, Pullman, Washington. 

Girl Scouts organized with one troop and Miss Mildred Thiele, Captain. 




First Class of Glen Ellyn High School Graduates 

Back row (left to right) : Norbert Knapp, Ruth Hopping, Esther Curtis, Nellie 
Gordon, Mona Reed, Vivian Dalton, Ruth Sanderson, Esther Carlson, Fred 
Mills. Front row (left to right): Arthur Holtzman, principal; Edward Foster, 
Roland Klug, Maren Johansen, Edna Deicke, Doris Brown, Juul Reed, Leonard 
Llewellyn, and Miss Nina Parsons, senior sponsor. 

The Glen Ellyn High School started in on a preliminary 2-year course, 
in September, 1915, after school began, with just the two teachers, Arthur 
Holtzman and Miss Erin McMechan. It graduated its first class in 1917. 
These seniors finished out their junior year which had been started in 
Wheaton, and then began their senior year in Glen Ellyn in the fall of 
1916, becoming graduates in June, 1917. They are: Ruth Sanderson, 
class president, Esther Curtis, Maren Johansen, Norbert Knapp, Ruth 
Hopping, Nellie Gordon, Mona Reed, Vivian Dalton, Esther Carlson, Fred 
Mills, Edward Foster, Roland Klug, Doris Brown, Edna Deicke, Juul 
Reed and Leonard Llewellyn. 



THE STORY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 111 

1918 March 3rd, village raised its Service Flag. 

Village president during the World War, James E. Simons; postmaster, 
Joseph H. Wagoner. All the village doing war work. 

April, first fire truck purchased for $1,250. 

April 18th, the reading of the prize essays of the Illinois Centennial 
contest, a contest started and for which $5.00 prizes were furnished by- 
Miss Ada Douglas Harmon. This little occasion was the beginning of 
the work on the Glen Ellyn History which has grown into this present 
volume. The program for this evening was: song, "Illinois," by Esther 
Curtis, Nellie Gordon, Margaret Smith and Maren Johansen; "History of 
Glen Ellyn," by Emma Krimmelmeyer; "Conservation of Food," by 
Abbie Kendall; "Story of Chicago," by Wallace Stanton; "History of 
Glen Ellyn," by Katherine Brown; vocal selections by Adelaide Hudson 
and Elizabeth Newton, and "History of the Flag," by Edna Hunter. 
This was followed by the presentation of prizes by Mr. L. C. Cooper. 

March, Chapter AU, P. E. O., started. 

In November, Dr. R. F. Schiele bought Dr. Barlow's practice and began 
his service in the community. 

Fred L. Biester elected principal of the high school to succeed A. 
Holtzman who resigned to enter military service during the summer. 
High school accredited after inspection by high school visitor of the 
University of Illinois. 

September 24, M. M. M.'s organized by Mrs. George M. Kendall "for 
the purpose of promoting friendship, knowledge and service" with these 
charter members: Ruth Barnum, Florence Bick, Elsie Melville, Esther 
Curtis, Nellie Gordon, Adelaide Hudson, Marguerite Smith, Lillian 
Freeto, Louise Ludeke, Delight Matthews, Josephine Jellies, Helen 
Meacham, Gladys Montgomery, Mildred Patch, Ruth Sanderson, Grace 
Wagner, Louise Weaver, Helen Myers, Maren Johansen, Loraine Arnold. 
The presidents have been: 1918, Adelaide Hudson; 1919, Louise Weaver; 
1920, Edith Phillips; 1921, Celia Kolacek; 1922-23, Helen Meacham; 
1924, Francis Crisler; 1925, Irene Enders; 1926, Abra Beatty; 1927, 
Wahnita Patch; 1928, Katherine Johnson. In 1927 sixty active members. 
Installed municipal tennis courts in Ellyn Park, sponsored two year 
concert course, and Christmas Carol singing, contributed to park board, 
Memorial Fountain fund, Friends of the Library, charities, gave municipal 
Christmas tree in village lot. 

The Glen Theatre, then run by Mr. and Mrs. Sam Bowden on Main 
Street where the Gas and Electric Company now receives its tribute, 
showed in the week of September 20th, the following films: "Pershing's 
Crusaders," "Clever Mrs. Carfax," with Julian Eltinge; "Tom Sawyer" 
with Jack Pickford and "Seven Swans" with Marguerite Clark. 

1919 Five acres on Honeysuckle Hill and the lake were bought from Charles 
R. Raymond for $8,000 for a permanent high school site, the voters 
ratifying the purchase in August. 

The high school was given "fully accredited" rank by state authorities. 

The Areme club organized at suggestion of Mrs. Clayton Higley. First 
known as Parlor Club; then new name taken from first letters of names 
of the star points. 

High school enrollment, 150. 

Harry W. Thomas elected village president. 



112 TEE STOEY OF A N OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 

1919 Philo Stacy died, March 2nd, aged eighty-four years. He had lived in 
the village eighty-two years, a pioneer and leading citizen. 

American Legion Post No. 3 organized in September by James E. 
Simons, Jr., Leslie Robey and Frank Newton. They met at Mr. Simons' 
home. He was the first post commander; Leslie Robey, vice commander, 
Frank Newton, secretary and treasurer. The three held several meetings, 
stirred others to enthusiasm and soon achieved a score of members for 
the post, the third in the state to be organized. 

John L. Brown, editor of the Glen Ellyan. 

Fire Truck bought for $4,396, officers signing note for $3,000. 

At the election on October 25th, the people voted for a park, created 
the Glen Ellyn Park Board and elected five commissioners: Archer E. 
Hayes, Dr. W. H. Pontious, William Kolacek, D. S. Adams, and E. S, 
Hopping. Later, M. W. Whittemore was appointed attorney, C. W. 
Somerville was elected secretary and J. H. Sonntag, treasurer. Mr. 
Raymond was paid $13,000 for thirteen acres. Later, streets were cut 
in and the park is now about ten acres, but it also controls the lake, 
about seventeen acres, which was turned over to it by the high school 
board. Mark B. Woods was appointed superintendent of the Glen Ellyn 
Parks and has had charge of their care and landscaping since their 
beginning. 

Eighty-six men in Co. G. 6th Reg. I. R. M. (Home Guards) when de- 
mobilized. 

Mrs. C. D. Sanderson was in New York in September when the troops 
came home. She sat in the reviewing stand with Al Smith and other 
notables, for six solid hours, the time it took for the whole parade to 
pass that given point. 

Skeleton of an Indian found by J. L. Arnold, superintendent of sewers, 
while cutting a street through from Taylor Avenue to Bryant. 

Miss Minnie Falk began to watch the crossings at Park Blvd. 

GLEN ELLYN— GROWING UP 

1920 Free delivery of mails begun and houses numbered. 

Population of the county, 42,120. 

Main Street School built. 

Herbert S. Gilbert elected village president. 

October 30th, William Newton, grandson of Dr. LeRoy Quitterfield 
Newton, who built the first railroad station, and the first frame house 
in Danby on the corner of Pennsylvania and Main, and who owned the 
land where the village stands today, deeded that pioneer corner, Pennsyl- 
vania and Main, to the village for its village home. It is now cared 
for as a park, until such time as the village may be able to build a 
suitable official home on it. Time was when this square was a pasture 
lot where a village cow owned by the A. R. Utt's browsed away her 
peaceful days. 

Glen Ellyn definitely changed its character again, from a pleasant 
country town, and became a thriving and prosperous suburb of Chicago. 



TEE STORY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 113 

1920 The Glen Ellyn Free Public Library Board consisted of Miss Clara S. 
Boyle, president, Frank H. Thomas, Ada D. Harmon, Mrs. C. W. Somer- 
ville and Dr. Burton Tunison. He was elected to fill out Mrs. Frances 
Hopper's unexpired term, ending her thirteen years' service on the library 
board which had put the library in its Carnegie building and established 
it as a free library with an income from taxation. That income from 
the 1919 taxes was $1,425.80. Mrs. Elizabeth M. Southward, now librarian 
at Maywood, ended her service as librarian here, and Miss Grace 
McMahon came to the library in November of this year. 

"It is not with the idea of taking any credit from the faithful few who 
preceded Miss Clara S. Boyle in the library idea in our village that this 
brief account of her invaluable service to the Glen Ellyn Free Public is 
offered, but of making its history more complete. 

"Miss Boyle was elected twice to the board of directors and served five 
consecutive years, one full term of three years and an unexpired term of 
two years. The one outstanding service and accomplishment, credit for 
which belongs to Miss Boyle alone, was putting the library on a paying 
basis by instituting a sound budget system. It was under her direction 
that the great task of accessioning and cataloguing the library was 
begun with the very able assistance of Mrs. E. M. Southward, the 
librarian. 

"At the time of the death of Andrew Carnegie, Miss Boyle, always 
on the alert, drew up and presented an appropriate set of resolutions 
which were accepted by the board. A copy of them was forwarded to 
Mrs. Carnegie and a most appreciative letter was sent back by the widow, 
acknowledging the resolution and remarking that the Glen Ellyn Library 
was one of a comparatively few of the libraries endowed by Mr. Carnegie 
during his lifetime, that recognized his passing in this way. 

"Miss Boyle had had an intensive business experience, she was a lover 
and connoisseur of good books, she was practical and wisely economical 
in administrative affairs, and she gave most generously of her time, her 
strength and her money. The combination was all to the grand good 
fortune of our library. To have worked with her was to have profited 
much." — A co-worker. 

North DuPage League of Women Voters organized. It has sponsored 
a "School of Citizenship" for several years in the village. 

Jack O'Donnell started his electrical shop at 491 Main Street. May 9th, 
1922 at 4:00 o'clock of a snowy morning, occurred the last downtown fire 
to date completely destroying the wooden building containing the electric 
shop, a battery shop and the Rystrom jewelry store. There was consid- 
erable loss to the firms concerned, the O'Donnell's, for instance, had just 
the day before had delivered to them the new lighting fixtures for the 
Gilbert home. But the old building was quickly replaced with an attrac- 
tive new brick one and the electric shop and jewelry store have outgrown 
their bad luck. 

In the classified section of the telephone directory are mentioned just 
three real estate companies in Glen Ellyn: Lee Lothrop Brown and Co., 
Joseph Clarke and L. O. Farnsworth. In the 1928 Directory are listed 
twenty: Ray E. Bick and Co., L. H. Chamberlin, Joseph Clarke, Beezley 
and Co., L. O. Farnsworth, A. C. Hoy and Co., Johansen and Co., 
Klein and Co., LeMessurier and Co., Mary Vance Lewis, Majestic 
Realty Corporation, Geo. P. Meacham and Co., The R. V. Spalding Or- 
ganization, O. E. Tope, Van Burkom and Co., J. H. Wagoner, Webster 
Realty Service, R. A. Wilcox, J. G. Wozencraft and W. H. Wright and Co. 
This registers what has been happening to the village in these last few 
years. 

A total of $39,220 came to the village as its share of the 1919 taxes 
on the W. P. Cowan estate, due to the fact that the estate's administrator, 



114 THE STOBY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 



1920 A. C. Hoy, lived here and that R. F. Locke, attorney for the two school 
boards, prosecuted the village's opportunities in that direction. The 
village itself received $7,420; the library, $861.25; the high school board, 
$13,250, and school district No. 41 (our grade schools), $17,688.75. 

Dr. James Saunders passed away in May, leaving in his will bequests 
of $1,000 each to the Glen Ellyn Free Public Library, to the Masonic 
Lodge, to St. Mark's Episcopal Church, to the First Congregational 
Church, to the First Methodist Church, and to the Grace Lutheran 
Church. 

1921 Girl Reserves organized, Mrs. G. M. Kendall, organizer and adviser; 
president, Philadel Hauk; vice president, Maurine Tatham; secretary, 
Dorothy Jeff ers; treasurer, Frances Kimball; program chairman, Dorothy 
Smith; membership chairman, Patricia Berger; social chairman, Abby 
Kendall, and service chairman, Amy Crisler. 

March, I. B. Clarke started the Avenue Garage, and was joined by 
his brother, J. P. Clarke, the following year. 

April 9, on petition of over two-thirds of voters in District 44 (Lom- 
bard District) this territory and some added territory to the south was 
annexed to the high school district and the name changed to Glenbard 
Township High School, District No. 87. 

Seven hundred seventy-two electric light meters; 880 gas meters in use 
in village. 

Athletic Field developed on shallow end of lake for Glenbard High. 

Royal T. Morgan, Woman's Relief Corps, organized in Aurora, January 
5th, named for Civil War veteran whose son Lewis V. Morgan is now 
county superintendent of schools, succeeding his father who served in 
that capacity for fifty years. 

Girl Reserves, high school group, organized in October, Mrs. George 
M. Kendall, organizer and advisor. 

Queen Esther Circle of the Methodist church met with Mrs. Calvin 
Wagner, 542 Duane, and elected the following officers: superintendent, 
Mrs. A. R. Shepherd; president, Alice Kellogg; vice-president, Helen 
Lehne; secretary, Miriam Christensen; treasurer, Martha Jhoenk; secre- 
tary of supplies, Camilla Fuchs. The next meeting was with Ruth 
Hibbard. 

July, Evert O. Moulin, 551 Geneva Road, sailed for Rotterdam to visit 
his sister whom he had not seen for twenty-eight years. "Mr. Moulin 
will be kind enough to send us a communication of the state of affairs 
in Europe upon his arrival there." — The Glen Ellyan, Harold E. Gray, 
proprietor. 

In October, Dr. Morrow began the practice of medicine in the village. 

1922 Joy Morton announced the Morton Arboretum which is about twenty-five 
miles west of Chicago in DuPage County, between Glen Ellyn and Lisle 
on Joliet Road. It can be reached by motor over Ogden Avenue or 
Roosevelt Road, being one mile north of the former, and three miles 
south of the latter on the Joliet Road; or by the C. B. & Q. Railroad to 
Lisle, or the C. & N. W. Railway or Chicago Aurora & Elgin to Glen 
Ellyn and thence by motor on the Joliet Road. 

The Arboretum was founded by Mr. Morton for the purpose of creating 
a foundation for practical, scientific research work in horticulture and 
agriculture, particularly in the growth and culture of trees, shrubs, and 
vines, by means of a great outdoor museum arranged for convenient 
study of every species, variety, and hybrid of the woody plants of the 



THE STOEY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 115 

1922 world able to support the climate of Illinois, such museum being equip- 
ped with an herbarium, a reference library, and laboratories for the study 
of trees and other plants, with reference to their characters, relationships, 
economic value, geographical distribution and their improvement by 
selection and hybridization; and for the publication of the results obtained 
in these laboratories by the officials and students of the Arboretum, in 
order to increase the general knowledge and love of trees and shrubs, 
and bring about an increase and improvement in their growth and culture. 

The Morton Arboretum covers about 400 acres of picturesquely rolling 
land, with the East Fork of the DuPage River running through it, 
several lakes on it, and over ten miles of roadway winding charmingly 
through it, and is owned and under the direction of the Trustees of the 
Morton Arboretum. 

There are more than 4,500 species of plants, trees, vines, etc., now 
growing, and more being added constantly. 

The grounds are open to the public daily except when the weather 
prohibits the use of the roads. There is as much beauty here as is to be 
found in any spot of the country. 

A very interesting bulletin on the work at the Arboretum is issued 
twelve times a year, edited by H. Teuscher. This gives the reader many 
practical planting suggestions to apply to his own grounds. 

Joy Morton was born in Detroit, September 27, 1855, son of J. Sterling 
and Caroline (Joy) Morton. J. Sterling Morton was secretary of state 
under Grover Cleveland, and the originator of Arbor Day. He also gave 
a great arboretum to the state of Nebraska, near Lincoln, where he lived 
for many years. 

Joy Morton was educated at Talbott Hall, Nebraska City, Nebraska, 
married Carrie, daughter of Judge George B. Lake of Omaha, 1880, 
(died 1915) married Margaret Gray of Newburg, Indiana, 1917, came to 
DuPage County in 1906 

Owns the Morton Salt Company and much real estate in Chicago and 
the country, his county acreage totaling 2,000 acres. 

The Pittsford store was started on Main Street, where Capps & Co. 
now are, with James B. Baughn as manager. 

The American Legion Auxiliary started in the fall. A called meeting 
for the purpose was held at the little Glen Theatre on Main Street, at 
which Earl Rathbun talked to the fourteen women gathered together who 
became the charter members: Mrs. J. H. Gordon, Mrs. Acors Rathbun, 
Mrs. Florence Kroeger, Mrs. J. C. Knapp, Mrs. Joseph Clarke, Mrs. Fred 
Surkamer, Mrs. Sam Bowden, Mrs. John Baron, Mrs. Fannie Newton, 
Mrs. Margaret Foster, Mrs. Melville, Misses Belle and Elsie Melville, 
Miss Pauline Simpson. Mrs. Knapp was first president, Mrs. Kroeger, 
vice president, and Mrs. Rathbun, treasurer. 

Catholic Woman's Club organized by Mrs. Frank M. Ellsworth of 
Wheaton. 

Salvation Army farm sold and subdivided as Southcrest between Main 
street and Park Boulevard, and south of the Overman Lake. 

Izaak Walton League formed and began to work for a forest preserve. 

2,200 acres of the county were subdivided into residential lots this 
year. 

Glen Ellyn News incorporated, December 13, George W. Day, business 
manager, T. P. Coates, editor, Audrie Alspaugh Chase, assistant editor. 

Amos Churchill died July 15th, aged eighty-two, at Long Beach, Cali- 
fornia. He was laid to rest in Forest Hill Cemetery. He was the 



116 TEE STOBY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 

1922 grandson of the village's first settler, Deacon Winslow Churchill, himself 
a soldier of the Civil War, a pioneer in progress and a leading citizen. 

Memorial Fountain installed in Ellyn Lake Park to the memory of 
the soldiers and sailors in the World War, inscribed with the names of 
all from Glen Ellyn who served. The cost was $1,037, and the funds 
were raised by a committee appointed by the Glen Ellyn Woman's Club 
of which Mrs. William F. Jensen was chairman. Dedication services 
were held on Armistice Day, November 11. 

The Kate Sheldon Treat Memorial Fund of $500 given to the Glen 
Ellyn Library with which a bond was purchased and the income spent 
each year on books for boys as specified by the donor, Miss Ada Douglas 
Harmon, Miss Treat's cousin. 

Friends of the Library organized with an executive committee of 
ten: Mrs. B. F. March, Mrs. Ford J. Allen, Mrs. G. M. Kendall, Mrs. 
C. E. Shattuc, Mrs. John Myers, Mrs. A. E. Fork, Mrs, Al Chase, 
Mrs. L. R. Christie, Mrs. E. B. Jewell and Mrs. F. M. Cole. They solicited 
dollar memberships and the first year gave $365 to the library. 

June, High School board turned lake over to Park Board, stipulating 
that if it ever ceased to be a lake, it shall revert to the high school. 

Artesian well drilled. 

December 18, DuPage County Bank became DuPage Trust Company. 

First year village automobile licenses were issued. 

The Glen Ellyn Dramatic Club organized and functioned for about two 
years, meeting in Library Hall with a special director, Mrs. Hazel, and 
giving several groups of short plays to the public. Among the plays 
presented were "Suppressed Desires," "Joint Owners in Spain," "Rising 
of the Moon," "Twelve Pound Look," "Minnikin and Mannikin" and "The 
Beau of Bath." Among the members were Mrs. G. M. Kendall, Beth and 
Wilma Skidmore, Irene Enders, Loren Wilkinson, Minnie and Maybelle 
Richardson, Edgar Beatty, Edith McCormick, Winifred Hastings, Belle 
Melville, Lucille Nichols, Mr. and Mrs. Dwight Early, Mr. and Mrs. Jack 
Phillips, Leo Newman, Herbert Moulton and Franklyn Murray. 

1923 Douglas B. Robertson elected village president. 

Lion's Club organized, with a membership of fifty and these officers: 
president, John G. Wozencraft; first vice president, W. P. Cooper; second 
vice president, R. V. Spalding; third vice president, Charles McChesney; 
secretary and treasurer, George Meacham; Tail Twister, Mr. Bagley. 

February 1st, John L. Bender, now advertising manager, joined staff 
of Glen Ellyn News. 

Art Department of the G. E. W. Club started by Mrs. Paul Green. 

March 7, L. C. Cooper died, for fifty years on the legal staff of the 
North Western. 

Dr. Allen S. Watson came to practice medicine, associated with Dr. 
Higley. 

Ordinance for zoning the village adopted April 18, and the following 
board appointed by President Robertson: Ralph B. Treadway, Eugene 
Hall, Al Chase, Stanley Wagner and John Bingham. Jacob L. Crane pre- 
pared the zoning plat and spoke at public hearings. 

May 15, Glenbard Township High School dedicated with the following 
program: Invocation, Rev. John Arthur; "The High School 1915-1923," 
by W. W. Reed; "The Building," Frank S. Baker; "Columbus," E. S. 



TEE STOEY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLTN 117 

1923 Hosmer; "An Appreciation of the Students," Albert E. Germer; "Will the 
Investment Pay?" Fred L. Biester; Dedication, Louis J. Thiele; chorus 
seventh and eighth grades of Lombard and Glen Ellyn and high school 
pupils, conducted by Miss Margaret Taylor; solo by Walter Boydston; 
benediction, Rev. Frank Hancock. 

September 10th, Sunday afternoon, the cornerstone of the new high 
school building, Glenbard, laid. Archibald M. Hall, Ph. D., of Indian- 
apolis, made the speech of the afternoon in Grace Lutheran Church, and 
then people marched over to the high school construction in the rain and 
stood under dripping umbrellas during the cornerstone laying. The 
building is set into the side of the hill, so the cornerstone was laid on the 
third story where the floor of the third story meets the grade of the 
hill on the upward slope. 

The building was designed by Coolidge and Hodgdon, who among 
other fine edifices have designed the Art Institute, the Chicago Public 
Library and Ida Noyes Hall at the University of Chicago. F. W. Camp 
was chairman of the building committee that engaged the architects. 

Dr. E. S. Higley killed, December 31st, by a Freeport train, as he was 
crossing North Western tracks at Prospect in a blinding snowstorm. 

Betty Jane Meinardi, four years and three months old, daughter of Mr. 
and Mrs. William Meinardi, won first place in the baby contest at the 
Central States Fair at Aurora. There were 700 babies entered and 
Betty Jane scored 99.5 points. She received the Governor's cup and a 
Shetland pony. 

Old Randall house sold to I. M. Bloch, who built the group of buildings 
at Main and Duane, where the Baxter Drug Store now stands. It was 
once on a big lot before the A. E. & C. R. R. came through, built in 
1854 by Henry Benjamin, first teacher at Duane, and occupied for years 
by Mrs. Capron, aunt of O. D. Dodge, before the quarter century in which 
Mr. Randall and his daughter, Mrs. Jauch, lived in it. It was moved 
west on Duane by R. A. Wilcox who rents it to tenants. 

The first officers of the Park and Playground Association, started be- 
cause of the danger of Spalding Point being built on, were: president, 
B. F. March; first vice-president, Dr. John L. Kendall; second vice-presi- 
dent, M. W. Whittemore; secretary, Horace G. Lozier; corresponding 
secretary, Miss Ethel Mason; treasurer, W. H. Crumb. Negotiations for 
the purchase of Spalding Point, the ball park and the Beauregard 
property, ten acres in all, to make the whole of Memorial Park, were 
instituted through this organization at this time and the whole was not 
concluded until 1926. 

September, Dr. G. E. Nicolls began the practice of dentistry. 

Friday Afternoon Reading Club started in January at the home of the 
late Mrs. Joseph Williams, limited to twelve members, with 10 cents a 
week dues per member, to be used for charity .Among the members 
were: Mrs. C. K. Howard, Mrs. C. A. Elsy, Mrs. W. H. Hall, Mrs. Fred 
W. Bowen, Mrs. Eustace Knight, Mrs. Frank Johnson, Mrs. A. R. Utt, 
Mrs. Walter Conyers, Mrs. Myrtle Langdon, Mrs. S. G. Cutler, Mrs. H. J. 
Mitchell and Mrs. M. J. Milmoe. 

1924 Population of county, 80,132. 



118 



THE STOBY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 



1924 Anan Harmon Chapter of the D. A. R., organized January 23rd, by 
Christine Johnson Whitlock, founder. The organization members were: 
Ada Douglas Harmon, Josephine Van Doren Holch, Harriet Mullen 
Huskey, Bessie Clute Huwen, Blythe Poage Kaiser, Abbie Skill-en Kendall, 
Edith Berry Lee, Ethel Winslow Mason, Amy Elizabeth Pelham, Louise 
Mullen Rankin, Lillian King Shattuc. 




Anan Harmon Chapter D. A. R. 

Lake Ellyn designated by the "Better Community Movement" under the 
auspices of the University of Illinois as one of the sixty beauty spots in 
the state, which are to be appropriately marked and located on road 



TEE STOEY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 



119 



1924 and auto maps. One hundred such spots were sought, but only sixty 
could be found. The choice was made from photographs sent in from 
all over the state, and H. B. Thomas submitted the Lake Ellyn prize 
winning pictures, which are to be retained by the University as a per- 
manent loan exhibit. This was done under the auspices of the Art Ex- 
tension Committee, of which Marjorie Howe Dixon was chairman, Mrs. 
W. G. Kaiser was secretary-treasurer and Mrs. C. G. Whitlock, Frederick 
Walker, H. B. Thomas, Mrs. Frank Taylor, Mrs. L. C. Childs, Stanley 
Cutler, U. S. Abell, Mrs. F. Donovan, Louis Zander, W. E. Dixon, C. C. 
Cash, Mrs. N. W. Purdum, Miss Ada D. Harmon and Mrs. John Clark 
were the other members. 




A Glimpse of Lake Ellyn 



Four medals, one to one member of each class, awarded for leader- 
ship and general qualities of character were offered by a public-spirited 
but anonymous citizen, to the high school. The awards the first year 
were given to: Senior, George Bailey; Junior, Dorothy Locke; Sophomore, 
John Young; Freshman, Marian Milmoe. In 1922: Senior, Alpheus 
Maples; Junior, Dorothy Jeffers; Sophomore, Mary Badger; Freshman, 
Camilla Fuchs and Ruth Norman. In 1923: Senior, Charleta Taylor; 
Junior, Grace Kendall; Sophomore, Lucille Tatham; Freshman, William 
Lichtenwalter. In 1924: Senior, Margaret Lindsay; Junior, Harvey 
Wienke; Sophomore, L~yle Rossiter; Freshman, Charles Hamilton. The 
same donor this year began to give an athletic scholarship and general 
character medal which was awarded to William Tillman. 

In 1925 the medal winners were: Senior, Florence Branand; Junior, 
Walter Rogers; Sophomore, Charles Hamilton; Freshman, Margaret 
Erickson. The athletic medal went to William Tillman. 



120 TEE STOBY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 

1924 In 1926 the medal winners were: Senior, William Lichtenwalter; Junior, 
Charles Hamilton; Sophomore, Charlotte Rossiter; Freshman, Ardin 
Buell; the athletic medal again to William Tillman. 

In 1927 the medals were awarded: Senior, Charles Hamilton; Junior, 
Margaret Erickson; Sophomore, Wilbur Osterling; Freshman, Louella 
Jameson; the athletic medal to Hillis Cash. 

In 1928 the medals went to: Senior, Ruth Howe; Junior, Joe Milmoe; 
Sophomore, June Meister; Freshman, Jesse Wagner; the athletic medal 
to Harold Zearing. 

The Glen Ellyn Reds began playing baseball under the Glen Ellyn 
Baseball Association, of which Jack W. Young was and is president and 
business manager. Some of the original players were from the American 
Legion team, and they and several others are with the present team. 
Among them were: Al Ludeke, Beaumont Paine, Larry Plummer, Walter 
Ludeke, Phelps Pratt, Leslie Robey, Eddie Templin and Harry Rathbun. 
The Reds at first rented their field from Mrs. Jessie Patterson, and then it 
was carried by the Park and Playground Association until taken over by 
the park board as part of Memorial Park. The Reds spent $2,800 building 
the grandstand, the backstops, putting up fences and filling in the field. 
In 1924 they won tne championship in the DuPage League and the cup 
therefore presented by the Spaulding Company. 

Mrs. Alfred Foster, of 439 Arlington Ave., started raising canaries 
with two pairs of parent birds. In 1928 she raised 388 songsters. First 
cement foundation in this part of the country put in in his own house at 
Linden and Western, now occupied by Joe Trefny, by Alfred Foster in 
1902. At the time this house was built there were no houses north of 
Hawthorne and west of Main Street but the Dieterle and the Philo Stacy 
homes. 

The charter for the Glen Ellyn Honor Chapter of the National Honor 
Society of Secondary Schools is dated May 20th. The membership re- 
quirements demand election of students not to exceed 15% of the upper 
one-third in grades. The charter members for Glenbard were: Charles 
Chandler, Margaret Lindsay, Marian Milmoe, Mary Badger, Glen An- 
drews, Eleanor Anderson, Grace Kendall and Dorothy Johnson. 

Aeroplane picture of Glen Ellyn on opposite page, showing lake in 
upper right hand corner; the sweep of Crescent; the curve of Phillips; 
the bend of North Main. 

Newton-Baethke building erected on southwest corner of Main and 
Crescent, L. R. Christie, architect, the first filling station built in Glen 
Ellyn. It was also the first construction work in the wave of modern 
building which started then and is still sweeping through the village. 

R. D. Bowden came as superintendent of schools. 

1925 James H. Slawson elected village president. 

Addition built on library, costing $9,000, raised almost entirely from 
gifts, under the auspices of the board members, president, Mrs. R. B. 
Treadway; secretary, Mrs. Wm. N. Graves; Mrs. L. R. Christie, Mrs. 
Evelyn McCormick, J. R. Stewart and H. H. Hitt. 

Addition built on Hawthorne School. 

Garden Club organized in January with Mrs. George Kendall, organizer, 
the first president. 

D. A. R. dedicated stone to pioneers at Stacy Park, June 14th. 



THE STORY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 



121 




122 THE STOBY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 



1925 North Glen Ellyn Improvement Association started by Mrs. F. J. Huwen, 
which has sponsored Boy Scout, Camp Fire and Bluebird activities, 
worked for street lights, helped Forest Glen P. T. A. complete kit- 
chen and hall in school and pushed the spring clean-up. The first officers 
were: president, Mrs. F. J. Huwen; vice president, Mrs. Wm. Schaefer; 
secretary, Mrs. Paul Whitley; treasurer, Mrs. M. J. Cheney. About 
thirty-five families were included. 




North Glen Ellyn Bluebirds in Stacy Park 

In April, under Douglas B. Robertson's administration, the ordinance 
authorizing a plan commission was adopted. In August, the first com- 
mission was appointed by President Slawson: A. W. Rathbun, Al Chase, 
L. R. Christie, Mrs. G. M. Kendall, George S. Guertin and Horace G. 
Lozier, chairman. 

Mrs. William Penrose, mother of Mrs. George Meacham, passed away. 

May 24, Mr. and Mrs. M. J. Milmoe bought the controlling interest in 
the Glen Ellyn News and Lillian King Shattuc became editor. 

In October, The Glen Ellyn Choral Club was organized with Hermon 
Cooper president; Mrs. John C. Morrow, vice president; Ma,ren Johansen, 
secretary; Mildred Thiele, treasurer, and Mrs. Andrew N. Fox, librarian. 
The club met first at Library Hall and then at Duane Street School. Its 
constitution was based on that of the Chicago Apollo Club. Its 
promoters were the Misses Johansen and Thiele, the Mmes. A. N. Fox, 
E. J. Wienke, W. G. Kaiser, L. B. Hill, J. C. Morrow, N. W. Purdum, 
and the Messrs and Mmes August Steinberg, W. H. Rose, R. D. Bowden, 
and W. P. Cooper. Thomas Pape, of Downers Grove, was engaged as 
conductor, and Nellie Gordon Blasius as accompanist. Several concerts 
have been given in the years of organization. 

Catholic Church organized. Named St. Petronille; first priest in charge 
Rev. Walter L. Fasnacht. Building located on Hillside near Prospect, the 
old Ferries home at the corner serving as the priest's home. The building 
was dedicated November 7th, by Cardinal Mundelein. 



THE STOBY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 



123 



1925 Illinois Bell Telephone Company built an exchange at 492 Pennsylvania 
which is designed to care for large future growth. At that time there 
were 616 circuits involved and 1,370 stations. 

Tiny Hoy real estate office built on Crescent, architects, Walker and 
Angell. First building of Old English design, commended by the Plan 
Commission, followed by later buildings, giving Glen Ellyn a business 
district of beauty. Filling station on Forest and Crescent built after 
office was finished. 

1926 Population, 6,800. 

Pupils in the grade schools, 924; pupils in the high school, 485. 

New Chicago, Aurora and Elgin Electric railroad station built, the 
most beautiful one on the line, its beauty being due to the Glen Ellyn 
Plan Commission which urged the company to discard its commonplace 
plan for one more in keeping with the contemplated development of 
the village of Glen Ellyn. The village is grateful to the authorities of 
the electric road for co-operating so effectively. John Archibald Arm- 
strong was the architect. 



!ii& 




Chicago, Aurora and Elgin Electric R. K. Station 



March, the L. O. Farnsworth building on South Main Street started, 
Walker and Angell, architects. 

East half of new bank building completed so that post office could 
move in from the DuPage Trust building on December 17th. 

Herman and Otto Miller followed the design already set, and remodeled 
their Glen Ellyn Auto Company on Crescent with an Old English front, 
L. R. Christie, architect. 

Through the efforts of M. W. Whittemore, the Navy Department 
Bureau of Ordnance gave Glen Ellyn a 10.5 centimeter gun for Memorial 
Park. It weighs 2,500 pounds and was shipped from Mare Island Navy 
Yard, California. 



124 



THE STOBY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 




1926 New Glen Ellyn State Bank Building begun on the corner of Mam and 
Crescent, the site originally of the old Mansion House, then of the old 
Ehlers' Hotel building, which made way for the new bank. Joachim 
Guarino was the architect. 



TEE STOEY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLTN 125 

1926 New Village Hall built on Pennsylvania Avenue, near Main Street, L. R. 
Christie, architect. 

June 16 is the date of the deed giving the people of the county Forest 
Preserve rights to the little Herrick Lake on Butterfield Road. This 
charming bit of wood and lake land, 80 acres in extent, has been the 
mecca for summer and winter picnics of many Glen Ellyn folks ever 
since then. 

It belonged originally to the John Wiesbrook farm. Some thirty years 
ago it was full of lily pads and was called Lily Lake. Then it was called 
Cassell Lake, after the farm adjoining it. It was almost lost to the 
public once for William H. Calhoun, of Chicago, planned to build a home 
there, had his architect engaged and all plans made. Then, fortunately 
for DuPage County and Glen Ellyn, he was sent as minister to China, 
and on his return he had changed his mind. 

For some time the property belonged to Frank E. Herrick, Wheaton 
attorney. Inspired by the persuasions of County Surveyor A. L. Webster, 
he sold this tract to the county board for forest preserve, for less money 
than he could have received for it from real estate men, and so put the 
county in the way of a choice bit of native woodland for perpetual 
public enjoyment. A well was put in this summer which makes it more 
practical for picnicing. 

Woodthorp, just east of Memorial Park, and west of Wrightwood, 
opened for a subdivision in the spring by Lee Lothrop Brown. 

Gladys Reiner spent her second year in the Pavley and Oukranski 
Ballet with the Chicago Civic Opera Company, going on tour with them 
at the close of the Chicago opera season. 

Presbyterian Church organized May 16th, Rev. Leslie G. Whitcomb 
first minister. 

The village turned over its lot on Main and Pennsylvania to be im- 
proved and made into a garden by the Glen Ellyn Garden Club to be used 
until the permanent Village Hall should be built. 

The Free Methodist Camp Meeting Grounds, for more than thirty years, 
the scene of camp meetings every summer, were sold to W. H. Wright 
and Company for sub-division purposes. The camp grounds and two 
small tracts on the west, making thirty acres, sold for $185,000. This 
district was named by a contest in which Miss Sophie Vollmer of 406 
Hillside Avenue, won the $100 prize by suggesting the title "Wrightwood" 
which is the official name for the sub-division between Crescent and the 
North Western tracks, just west of Woodthorp. The Free Methodists 
bought a new camp home just north of Downers Grove. 

Forest Preserves in DuPage County are fourteen, the number of 
acres, 749. 

Spanish- American War veterans organized in Villa Park in November, 
with L. V. Calhoun elected post commander. Those now living in Glen 
Ellyn are John W. Young, John J. Moloney, Wm. S. Vaughan, Joseph H. 
Wagoner, Fred H. Surkamer, Jos. J. Bordels and George J. Ball. 

Meacham, the settlement named after George Meacham, grandfather of 
George W. Meacham, Jr., is now the country club, Medinah, founded by 
and for Shriners. 

December 10, present fire truck purchased, a Seagrove costing $6,500. 

Square Club organized by about half dozen Masons, Roy W. Lindahl, 
first president. 



126 



THE STOEY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 



1926 The Glen Theatre on Crescent begun in summer, architects, Betts and 
Holcomb; owners, Charles W. Hadley, Alfred C. Hoy and Roy V. Spald- 
ing. 




The New Glen Theatre Building 



Rev. O. L. Kiplinger came to the Congregational church in November. 

June, the Birthday Club organized at the home of Miss Anna Gauch on 
Forest, a score of women of the neighborhood gathering to celebrate 
the birthday of one of the number, with refreshments and games — no 
gifts. Among those belonging are: Miss Gauch, Miss Pearl Walker, 
Mesdames Jacobs, Kiplinger, Bowman, Townsend, Holch, Harmon, Mc- 
Chesney, Wilbur and Hermon Cooper, Chester, Wagoner, Wm. Simons, 
Thomas Watson, R. D. French, McLaughlin, Leander Baker, Condon. 

Glen Ellyn Commercial Association formed with following charter 
members: Patch Bros. Inc.; DuPage Trust Co., F. J. Schreiber, H. J. 
Stallsmith, Capps & Co., McChesney & Miller, H. A. Hansen, E. M. 
Leonard, Glen Ellyn Hardware Co., L. Buchholz & Sons, Glen Candy 
Shop, Lee W. Brierton, Hussey-Bergland Co., F. W. Baxter, Albert A. 
Mesenbrink, Harold C. Prichard, F. H. Bartels, P. F. Pfingsten, A. E. 
Richardson, DuPage Household Utilities Corp., E. Atkinson, Antiseptic 
Family Laundry Inc., Newton-Laing Motor Sales, Newton-Baethke Co., 
The Glen News Printing Co., Jos. Clarke, Beezley and Co., Avenue 
Garage. Other members are: Parkside Battery and Service Station, 



THE STOEY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 127 

1926 Bertha Disposal Co., Western United Gas and Electric Co., John H. 
Kampp, Ray E. Bick and Co., Matthias Klein, Glen Ellyn Recreation 
Parlor, Earl Wright, DuPage Electric Co., Joel Baker, LeMessurier and 
Co., M. J. Pittsford, W. H. Wright and Co., L. C. Thompson, Glen Ellyn 
Storage and Transfer Co., Glen Ellyn State Bank, Oliver E. Tope, Bonde 
and Simpson, Brydon's, Reed's Bootery, Ross Heaney and Alfred Arthur. 
President, F. J. Schreiber; vice-president, Bruce Cumming; secretary, 
Harold C. Prichard; treasurer, Wm. Patch. 

William J. Schaefer's Glen Ellyn Storage and Warehouse Co., built 
new fireproof warehouse at Duane and Lorraine streets. 

The "Soldiers' Pathway" in memory of the men who served in the 
World War, planted in Memorial Park, in the form of a double line of 
flowering crab-apple trees, by the Glen Ellyn Woman's Club, Mrs. Wm. 
F. Howe, chairman of the conservation comittee. There are 170 trees, 
the pathway beginning at the east end of the park and following a 
course which leads to the front of the library. At the entrance, a fine 
granite boulder from a farm on Geneva Road, stands, one side polished 
and bearing the memorial legend. The stone was placed by A. R. 
Beidelman of Naperville and the trees by Mr. Bruning of the Glen 
Ellyn Nurseries. 

Dr. Elmer F. Grabow began the practice of dentistry in August. 

The value of real estate in DuPage County is over one hundred million 
dollars. 

William Christian, son of one of the 91-year-old twins, and grandson 
of the original Deacon Churchill, passed away at the age of 89. His 
memory provided the data for the map of Stacy's Corners, on page 43. 

Northeast corner of Main and Pennsylvania, 146 by 153 feet, sold by 
Mrs. Marian B. Saunders to W. A. Niles. This is noted because this is 
only the second time the lot has changed hands in its existence. An old 
deed yellowed by sixty years, conveyed "lot 7, block 1 in the town of 
Danby to Miles Allen," signed by Rhylander Taylor and Thankful, his 
wife, dated April 24th, 1867. Mr. Allen built the house, now standing 
on the north of the lot, but down at the corner for his home and for some 
years it was the most pretentious house in the village. Here his daugh- 
ters, the Misses Georgia and Fannie, lived until the death of Miss 
Georgia, the beloved teacher whose life is commemorated by a bronze 
tablet in the Duane school. Dr. Saunders later bought the property and 
moved the house to the north corner where it still stands. Mrs. William 
Kloeckner now occupies the house. 

Community House in Memorial Park opened to the public, partly fur- 
nished by money left over from the World War funds. 

The Junta Building, occupied formerly by A. R. Utt with his drug store 
and later by W. D. Heintz, remodeled along Venetian lines. Walker & 
Angell, architects. 

Southeast Glen Ellyn Improvement Association organized. 

1927 January 30, formal opening of first addition of the Glenbard Township 
High School. 

January 31st, the Glen Theatre opened for its dedication and first 
performance, showing "The Nervous Wreck." It is an attractive building 
of old English type, its auditorium designed as a replica of an old 
baronial hall of Feudal days. It is leased and operated by E. D. 
McLaughlin. It has 1,002 seats, with facilities for 450 more in the future. 



128 THE STOBY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 

1927 Thomas A. Hoadley died March 27th. He had lived for fifty-two years 
in Glen Ellyn, for many years conducting a shoe store on the west 
side of Main Street near the corner of Pennsylvania. 

The Poetasters organized April 6, to study poetry, president Mrs. 
William Fairbank; secretary and treasurer, Mrs. Maxon M. Moore. 




Winter scene in Stacy Park 

Col. Wm. R. Plum passed away April 28, 82 years old. Civil War vet- 
eran and resident of Lombard for fifty-eight years. He presented his 
home and grounds, "Lilacea," to Lombard for library and a park. He 
was a great lilac grower, having more than 200 varieties of the lovely 
shrub on his estate. Some of them are: President Lincoln, Mont Blanc, 
Macrostachye, Congo, Catherine Havemeyer, and Toussant L'Overture. 
The house was built in 1868 on a five acre tract. The Colonel also 
owned the largest collection of books on the Civil War in the country. 
The property was formally turned over in 1928, the grounds to be turned 
into a park, under plans by Jens Jensen, and the house to be adapted to 
the needs of the Helen M. Plum Memorial Library. In addition to the 
property, the library board was given a check for $25,000 which the 
colonel had left to establish this library in memory of his wife. 

May, plat for Wrightwood filed by W. L. Irish, manager for W. H. 
Wright & Co. 

Fred G. Myers died May 2, son of Wm. Henry Myers, pioneer of Danby. 
He was born in Danby and spent most of his life here, at the time of 
his death being chief of police, as he had been for some years. 

May 9th, Joseph R. Smith passed away. He was the brother of the late 
Mrs. J. D. McChesney and Mrs. Nelson Dodge. He came to Danby in 
1865 served as village president and was the "Father" of Glen Ellyn's 
paving movement. 

May 15th, Sunday, the cornerstone of the new Congregational church 
was laid. H. C. Cooper, church historian, read a sketch of the early 
days, Dr. Earnest Graham Guthrie delivered the address, Rev. Kiplinger 
announced the contents of the copper box placed in the cornerstone — 



THE STOEY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 129 

1927 a Bible, an historic sketch, calendars, current issues of the Congrega- 
tionalism the Glen Ellyn News, and the Glen Ellyn Beacon, a list of 
officers and building committees, a list of members soliciting funds, 
photos of officers and building committee leaders. W. A. Rogers, chair- 
man of the building committee, assisted by workmen, put the stone in 
place, Rev. Wm. N. Tuttle of Lombard offered a prayer, and Rev. C. A. 
Bloomquist of the Methodist church expressed the greetings of the other 
village churches. Architects were Holmes and Flinn. 

Mrs. Josephine Rathbun died May 28. She came to Illinois in 1839, 
married Rowland Rathbun (who died March 11, 1904). They were pion- 
eers, settling near Bloomingdale, on the farm now occupied by their son, 
John Rathbun. 

May 29th, W. H. Churchill passed away, 86 years of age, veteran of 
the Civil War, descendent of the original Churchill. 

French Bridge Club started in June by Mrs. Jane Keeney, Mrs. C. G. 
Whitlock, Mrs. George Reeves, Mrs. L. C. Childs, Mrs. R. W. Calkins, 
Mrs. Wm. H. Carpenter, Mrs. Edward Dieterle, Mrs. A. L. Wanner and 
Miss Elisabeth King. They conduct their game as entirely in French as 
its exigencies permit. 

July 14, Alfred Arthur opened the first flower shop in the village in 
the DuPage Trust Co. building on Crescent. 

On August 10th, Frank Sheahan, 574 Prairie Avenue, invited several 
Baptists in Glen Ellyn to his home and the plan of organizing a Baptist 
church was discussed. Cottage prayer meetings were held regularly 
and on November 2 the church was formally organized, officers elected 
and Rev. W. W. Chandler called as pastor. The church started with a 
charter membership of sixty-eight, and its services were held from the 
first in Acacia Hall. 

Auxiliary No. 70, Spanish-American War Veterans, organized Sep- 
tember 28, with the following officers: president, Mrs. Margaret Cal- 
houn; senior vice president, Mrs. Julia Shawl; junior vice president, Mrs. 
Wilmira Kiefer; secretary, Mrs. Martha Hodson; treasurer, Emma 
Krone; guard, Margaret Mosher; assistant guard, Edith Schneider; con- 
ductor, Rose Vanderkiest; assistant conductor, Mary Wolff; patriotic 
instructor, Maud Vaughan; chaplain, Harriet Chapman. 

October, Book Review Circle, conducted by Miss Eleanor Perkins of 
Evanston (daughter of Lucy Fitch Perkins, author of the "Twin" books) 
began its first season at the home of Mrs. Wm. E. Mason on Park 
Boulevard. 

The Woman's Exchange officially opened for business in October, the 
project launched by Mrs. L. R. Christie, Mrs. O. A. Chandler, Mrs. W. L. 
Ballou, Mrs. A. G. Hall, Mrs. C. C. Dietz, Mrs. C. G. Whitlock, Mrs. J. L. 
Crosby and Mrs. Ford J. Allen. They rented space in the old Higley 
house on Duane Street, sold articles on a commission of 15% and suc- 
ceeded from the start in securing contributors and purchasers. 

November 1st, the first public performance in Acacia Hall was a play 
given by the Literature Department of the Glen Ellyn Woman's Club, in 
the afternoon to the club at its first meeting in the hall, and in the eve- 
ning to the public for the benefit of the Glen Ellyn Public Library. The 
play was "Mr. Pirn Passes By," by A. A. Milne, with the following cast: 
Carraway Pirn, Mrs. E. C. Dodge; George Marden, Mrs. C. J. Richardson; 
Olivia Marden, Mrs. V. L. Sherman; Dinah, Mrs. C. H. Clarahan; Lady 
Marden, Mrs. G. M. Griggs; Brian Strange, Mrs. R. T. Calloway; Anne, 
Mrs. L. L. Kapelsky; director, Mrs. D. W. Alspaugh; stage manager, Mrs. 



130 



TEE STOBY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 



1927 W. A. Schaefer. The Glen Ellyn Choral Club preceded the play with 
choruses and duets by W. W. Shaw and August Steinberg under the 
direction of Mr. Steinberg, with Ruth Sanderson Phillips as accompanist. 




The home of Erastus Ketcham 



The B. F. Hintze home on St. Charles Road, once the house of the 
famous Erastus Ketcham. The Hintzes have remodeled the house on 
the outside but have preserved all its antique earmarks in the interior 
and are furnishing it in keeping. The outside they made significant by 
developing a beautiful garden which won two Chicago Tribune prizes, 
a second prize in the spring and the first prize for the district in the late 
summer. 

Recorder Lewis Ellsworth's books show that the fees received in 1927 
were fourteen times greater than those received in 1917. The sum 
received for copying into the records deeds for lands sold, mortgages, 
trust deeds and the like in 1917 was $3,266.95 and in 1927 was $42,663.65. 

In 1917, about fifteen documents were recorded daily; in 1927, about 
seventy daily. In 1917, the county recorder's office paid over to the 
county treasurer $182.40 after clerk hire had been deducted from the 
receipts; in 1927, after a similar deduction, he paid over $22,076.41. 

Elbert H. Gary passed away and was laid to rest in the Gary mauso- 
leum, at Wheaton. He is survived by his widow and his two daughters, 
Mrs. Gertrude Sutcliffe, 4955 Kimbark Ave., Chicago, and Mrs. Bertha 
Campbell, 1733 Hinman Ave., Evans ton. 

Junior Brown of Long Beach, California, made the replica of "Old 
Ironsides," now in the library loaned by the Boy Scouts of Troop 4. 



THE STOBY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 



131 



1927 From a by-gcme era comes this picture of Erastus Ketcham, the man 
who lived so long in the house now occupied by the B. F. Hintzes at the 
Five Corners. For a full description of him, and to fit in his times, see 
page 37. When he lived in the lovely old house, surrounded now by the 
Tribune prize garden, he kept a regular arsenal, having the rooms full 
of this and that sort of gun. He is said to be the first white trapper on 
either fork of the DuPage River; he hunted big fur-bearing game where 
the city of Chicago is spread. He was the son of Christiana Churchill 
Christian, one of the 91 year-old twins. 




Old "Ketch" — the trapper 



GLEN ELLYN TODAY 

1928 Happenings in the year 1928 have been recorded with considerable 
detail — because this makes a picture of the village's present days, a pic- 
ture to be looked at fifty years from now with something the same attitude 
that we look back on the days of 1878. We look back regretting the 
paucity of detail, so we aim to give a fuller picture for the later genera- 
tions to scan. 

From these details, even full as they are, the most general pastime of 
the times may not be gleaned, for the commonest things are never pointed 
out. 

Once upon a time, even in this corner of DuPage County, the chief 
amusements were quilting bees, apple parings, husking parties and barn 
raisings. It's a far cry from that to bridge, but one that must be cried. 
Everybody plays bridge now, the men on the trains to and from town, the 
women in the afternoons, the men and women in the evenings. The town 
is full of jolly little bridge clubs where groups meet together for social 
hours. They are too numerous to mention, but a picture of the village 



132 



THE STOEY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 



1928 without them would be minus its atmosphere. This doesn't mean that 
people do nothing- but play bridge, far from that, but it is the universal 
pastime, and he who doesn't play stays at home alone and reads. 




Congregational Church 



January 2, Loie Fuller, famous American dancer, died in Paris, at the 
age of 70 years. She was born in 1858 in Castle Inn Tavern at Fullersburg, 
and her career carried her all over the world to fame and fortune. She 
is credited with having introduced the use of lighting effects to the stage. 
She won fame with her "Fire Dance" and the "Serpentine Dance" in 
Paris thirty-five years ago and was much loved by the French people. 
She was a close friend of Queen Marie of Roumania and accompanied the 
royal party part of the way on the American trip. Miss Fuller has a 
brother, Burt Fuller, 69 years old, who lives at 4522 N. Paulina Street, 
Chicago. 

January 15-22 devoted to dedication of new Congregational church. 
Sunday January 15, at 11, the people met for the first time in their new 
auditorium, with Rev. Kiplinger in charge, the regular quartette, Mr. and 
Mrs. Walter Boydston, Miss Irma Wilson and Leonard Huber, singing 
and the regular organist, Marian Ranstead, at the organ. Rev. Horace 
Day, D. D., pastor of United Congregational Church, Bridgeport, Con- 
necticut, preached the sermon. Dr. Day was born at Bloomingdale, son 
of Dr. Warren F. Day. 



TEE STOBY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 133 

1928 In the afternoon the dedication service was held; the building pre- 
sented by Walter A. Rogers, chairman of the building committee; the 
sermon preached by Rev. Earnest Graham Guthrie, D. D. Margaret 
Lester, concert soprano, sang, and after the service, guides showed the 
congregation through the building. 

On Monday evening the Geneva organ was dedicated by J. Lewis 
Brown, organist of St. Patrick's Church, Chicago. Mabel Sharpe Her- 
dien sang. Wednesday evening, Dr. Kiplinger conducted a special com- 
munion service, the first opportunity for new members to unite in the 
new church. 

At the Community service on Friday evening, Ruth Sanderson Phillips 
gave an organ recital, the Choral Club made its first appearance of the 
year, with August Steinberg directing, Mrs. Steinberg, Miss Recht and 
W. W. Shaw carrying solo parts, and C. G. Whitlock playing the violin. 
Congratulations were extended by President James H. Slawson for the 
village, and by Rev. D. A. McGregor, of St. Mark's, for the churches of 
the community. B. F. March spoke for the schools. Dr. A. W. Palmer 
of Oak Park gave a short talk and then the congregation adjourned for 
a plate luncheon in the dining hall, President Ozora S. Davis of Chicago 
Theological Seminary preached the Sunday morning sermon. For the 
Sunday afternoon and final service, 850 people gathered in the church 
many from Chicago and villages roundabout, one visitor being Mrs. H. 
W. Yalding of River Forest, daughter-in-law of Deacon Yalding, founder 
of the church. Dr. Gregory, moderator of the Chicago Congregational 
Association presided, Dr. Morgan of First Church, Chicago, led the 
devotions. Dr. Charles S. Mills, of New York, spoke on "The Church and 
World Horizon," and the First Church choir under the leadership of 
Dr. George Tenney, with solos by Mrs. Tenney, Dr. Jones, Mr. Gask and 
Mr. Provensen provided the music, with Walter Boydston also singing. 
Rev. O. L. Kiplinger is pastor of the church. 

Jane Morgan, Glenbard student, won second prize in state contest 
given by W. C. T. U. Subject: Steps from 1825 to 1920 by which United 
States came to National Prohibition of the Liquor Traffic. 

S. W. Straus & Co., list Wheaton and Glen Ellyn as having exactly 
the same population, 8,000, for 1928. In 1927, Wheaton had 7,550, while 
Glen Ellyn had 7,500. 

Local unit of DuPage County Women's Republican Club organized with 
Mrs. H. H. Hitt, president; Mrs. John Hasfurther, vice president; Mrs. 
John Humphreys, treasurer and Mrs. John Ryberg, secretary. Marjorie 
Howe Dixon is president of the county club. 

H. A. Miller opened furniture display room at Duane and Lorraine Sts. 

Henry A. Bassett, of Anthony Street, eighty-eight years old, is the only 
remaining G. A. R. in the village. He enlisted from Berlin, Wise, 
August 20, 1861, in Co. D., 1st Wisconsin Cavalry and served for 26 
months. He had leave for illness and then returned to Co. I, 1st Wis- 
consin Heavy Artillery and served to June 9th, 1865. He was among 
the last troops to be mustered out, being in Washington for the big 
review held before President Lincoln. The Bassetts came to Glen Ellyn 
to live about 1882. 

Dan Compton is the only surviving G. A. R. man in Wheaton. 

The Glen Ellyn Joint Motion Picture Forum organized at the Com- 
munity House on January 31st, with Mrs. Andrew Fox temporary chair- 



134 THE STOEY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 

1928 man, and Mrs. F. D. Holch, temporary secretary. Seventeen citizens were 
present at this first meeting: Mr. and Mrs. A. N. Fox, Mrs. Byron Spears, 
Mrs. E. J. Wienke, Mr. and Mrs. L. H. Chamberlin, Mrs. Carl Gray, Jr., 
Rev. D. A. McGregor, H. H. Hitt, Mrs. V. I. O. Fick, Mrs. Wilvan J. 
Russel, Mr. G. H. LaRoi, C. R. Meredith, W. M. Carpenter, J. C. Eaton, 
Mrs. Malcolm Doig and Mrs. F. L. Holch. The object is "to maintain 
co-operation with the management of the local theatre for the purpose of 
securing results compatible with the interests of this home-loving com- 
munity." 

March 3, Masons held their first meeting in the new Masonic Hall 
in the Acacia Building, 413 Main Street. 

March 24, the village voted to build a new school building on the Duane 
grounds, which will be a Junior High School. 

In April Mrs. F. L. Holch was elected recording secretary of the State 
Parent-Teachers' Association of Illinois at a convention in Streator. 
Mrs. H. H. Hitt was reelected Endowment Fund chairman. 

April 20, the first "Grade School Day" benefit was held at the Glen 
Theatre, clearing over $600. Betty Jane Kolar, 5-year-old magician, was 
the star drawing card. The grade school band made its first appearance 
in its handsome new uniforms, purchased by the P. T. A.'s. 

April, eighth grade play, "The Sign of the Pewter Jug," coached by 
Mrs. Bernice Pennington, was given at Acacia Hall by Elaine Aim, Ruth 
Leadbetter, Bessie Marie Richardson, Dixie Jean Gregg, Mary Jean Car- 
penter, Joe Cutler, Cameron Duncan, Charles Jorgeson, Shelby Simmons, 
Billy Webb and Lois Nelson. 

April 26-27, the senior play, "Seven Keys to Baldpate," was given at 
Glenbard with the following cast: Elijah Quimby, George Ankley; Mrs. 
Quimby, Ruth Howe; William Hallowell Magee, Frank Gilbertson; John 
Bland, Paul Graves; Mary Norton, Janet Sheahan; Mrs. Rhodes, Charlotte 
Rossiter; the Hermit, Rannie Neville; Myra Thornhill, Marietta Lichten- 
walter; Lou Max, Russell Stewart; Jim Cargen, Norman Meyer; Thomas 
Hayden, Lawrence Teeter; Jiggs Kennedy, Roy Burgess; Mr. Bently, 
George Kettlewell; policemen, Robert Philips and Ferdinand Heiden. Mrs. 
Allen directed the play. 

At the D. A. R. Convention in April in Washington, Marjorie Locke, 
3-year-old daughter of the Richard F. Lockes of Highland Avenue, put 
her hands behind her back and refused to shake hands with President 
Coolidge at the reception he gave to the Children of the American 
Revolution. "This so amused the president that he smiled one of his 
rare smiles, took Marjorie in his arms and made friends with her in 
spite of herself. Marjorie was an alternate delegate from Glen Ellyn's 
C. A. R. Society." — Glen Ellyn News. 

May 25, the first Police Benefit Minstrel show was held for the purpose 
of raising funds to insure the families of the policemen in case of illness 
or accident. An excellent crowd responded and the insurance fund was 
realized. 

May 28, the first meeting of DuPage Scout Council Court of Honor 
was held at Glenbard with over 500 scouts and parents gathered to see 
the honors conferred. 

May 28, preliminary meeting of resident Knights Templar in Glen 
Ellyn held at the village hall for the purpose of organizing a Templar 
Club. James H. Slawson elected temporary chairman; Robert Patch, 
temporary secretary, and the following Knights registered: Frank D. 



THE STOBY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 135 

1928 Abbott, David S. Adams, Daniel W. Alspaugh, Charles W. Alton, C. E. 
Anderson, Joel Baker, Myron H. Beekman, Fred Beezley, Lee Brierton, 
Lothrop Lee Brown, Nelson W. Burris, Frank S. Butterfield, George H. 
Capps, Benjamin M. Conklin, Louis Conklin, Harold Cross, Emil Degen- 
hardt, Bert Dodge, Fred A. Edmett, J. D. Edmunds, L. O. Farnsworth, 
Alexander S. Flett, F. Freeman, Charles R. Fuller, William Gawne, H. S. 
Gilbert, Thomas A. Gregg, Harry P. Houghton, Frank E. Jeffers, D. T. 
Johnston, Rudy Junell, George H. Keil, W. L. Kellogg, Edward J. Kidd, 
Rev. Orville L. Kiplinger, William Kolacek, F. W. Ladenburger, Harry L. 
Larson, George W. Lauterbach, Albert Ludeke, George D. McAninch, 
Charles McChesney, J. S. McCurdy, W. J. MacDonald, Harry R. Mar- 
dorf, R. C. Meredith, Herbert H. Mills, S. S. Morris, Calvin Patch, Fred- 
erick C. Payne, Acy S. Perry, Acors Rathbun, Earl Rathbun, Roland 
Rathbun, J. B. Roberts, Douglas Robertson, Leland Roblee, Harold Ros- 
siter, Henry L. Ruth, Fred L. Sandberg, Jesse R. Scott, D. W. Sellers, 
George Sells, Alex. A. Shannon, W. W. Shaw, William L. Simpson, R. V. 
Spalding, Bruce Squire, H. A. Stanford, J. R. Stewart, C. E. Strawn, 
Otto L. Streccius, C. A. Stults, William Templin, F. L. Thompson, R. A. 
Thompson, George Warner, Wesley Westbrook, George White, Myron W. 
Whittemore, W. W. Wonser, R. E. Shannon, R. C. Knopke and W. C. 
Koehler. 

Flag pole erected at Girl Scout cabin in Memorial Park by Fred G. 
Orsinger, May 30th, the dedication taking place June 14th, with a speech 
of thanks to Mr. Orsinger given by Helen Jane Sjoblom; a patriotic poem 
by Catherine Flint; the lowering of the flag, and the singing of Taps by 
the Girl Scouts. 

Jane Ensminger, daughter of Dr. and Mrs. G. H. Ensminger, after a 
year at school in Paris, came home on the S.S. Rochambeau for the 
summer, returning to France in the fall. 

In June dog licenses to the amount of $338.00 were bought by Glen 
Ellyn folk. 

June 2, the Hotel Baker in St. Charles was opened, built by Edward J. 
Baker, one of the heirs to the Gates fortune. 

June 3, St. Petronille, at its second commencement, graduated 12 
pupils: Adele Cahill, Lorraine Cahill, Bernadette Claffy, Mary Louise 
Claffy, Mary Compagna, Gertrude Donovan, Wilsie Griggs, Lillian 
Johnson, Edward Mohr, Henry Mohr, Earl Sando and Anna Marie 
Sullivan. 

June 7, Glenbard, at its twelfth commencement, graduated eighty- 
three seniors: George F. Ankley, Mary Augsburger, Ira Bartels, Ira 
Baughman, Dorothy Baughn, Reuben C. Bender, Dolly Bolton, Bruce B. 
Brown, Vincent P. Brown, Roy Burgess, Alice Burrell, Frederick O. Ben- 
son, Philip B. Cadman, Elizabeth Chandler, Edna Chapman, Ruth Evelyn 
Christensen, Helen Cole, Cynthia Cooper, Homer Croffoot, Kenneth 
Crosby, Marjorie Crosby, John E. Costello, Dorothy Davis, Alphons P. 
Dietsche, Margaret C. Ericksen, Rudolph Fogelsanger, Marjorie Free- 
man, Gilbert Frandsen, Frank W. Gilbertson, Paul Graves, Robert T. 
Haase, Louise R. Harris, Ferdinand Carl Heiden, Edna Hibbard, William 
Hibbard, Wallace G. C. Hill, Doris Hole, Ira M. Hole, Ruth Howe, Paul 

D. Jacobs, George Johnson, Irene Margaret Kamholz, George Kettlewell, 
Kenneth E. Leadbetter, Cornelia E. Lehne, Florence Lesh, Marietta 
Lichtenwalter, Lucille Lintner, Joe McChesney, Ruth McDonald, Helen 
Marenack, Thomas C. Meredith, Norman C. Meyer, Noami V. Mull, Jane 
Miller, Rannie W. Neville, Carl W. Olander, Arra Ott, Ruth A. Pastor, 
Helen A. Penfold, Robert P. Phillips, Slava Psota, Joy S. Reed, Charlotte 
M. Rossiter, Edna L. Schaus, Ruth J. Schlosser, Ruth Schreiber, Elizabeth 

E. Sheahan, Jane Sheahan, Albert V. Sjogren, J. Russell Stewart, John 



136 THE STOBY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 

1928 Shatzer, Marjorie iStoffregen, Leona Taebel, Lawrence G. Teeter, Henry 
D. Tefft, Jr., Raymond Wagoner, Ray H. Walker, Robert H. Webb, 
Dorothy Wilcox, Walburga C. Wengritzky, Faye Yapp and Harold B. 
Zearing. 

June, 108 graduated from the 8th grade from Duane School, 54 boys 
and 54 girls: Maxine Allaben, Elaine Aim, David Anderson, Irving 
Anderson, Stanley Ashton, Victor Ball, Anna Marie Barclay, Merton 
Bartlett, Kathryn Bentley, Gertrude Bergens, Betty Bingham, Ernest 
Blanchard, Donald Burdick, Mary Jean Carpenter, Jane Coffey, Joseph 
Cools, Dorothy Christensen, Mabel Craig, Gwendolyn Cramer, Margaret 
Crandall, Joseph Cutler, Malcolm Doig, Cameron Duncan, Frances Dun- 
ham, Douglas Eadie, Maxine Ebert, Lockwood Ensminger, Roy Fiebrandt, 
Michael Galland, Dixie Jean Gregg, Leonard Haase, Frank Hinsdale 
Hanson, Katherine Hanson, Dorothy Harris, Grace Hawkins, Mildred 
Hepple, Kathryn Hernlund, LeRoy Hesterman, Hctor Hill, Gray Hovey, 
Edith Hunter, Eugene Jeffers, Laurlene Jefferson, Robert Johnson, 
Charles Jorgeson, Jr., Clara Louise Kellogg, Marguerite Kelly, Virginia 
Kelly, Muriel Kidd, Margery Kirby, Elsie Kloeckner, Elizabeth Kloeckner, 
Robert E. Knopke, Malcolm Lesher, Ruth Leadbetter, Kathleen Locke, 
Fred Locke, Albert Ludy, lone Martin, Paul Maylone, Kenneth McCain, 
Betty McChesney, Irving McPherson, Dorothy Miller, Olga Miller, Wilson 
Miller, Polly Ann Mull, Lois Nelson, Harold Oates, Ruth Olander, Vir- 
ginia Otis, Betty Pulse, Thomas Rankin, Bessie Marie Richardson, Robert 
Roulston, Sigrid Rundquist, Grace Sabin, Wilhelmina Schuetz, George 
Scott, Lawrence Sheahan, John Shirer, Clifford Sievert, Shelby Simmons, 
Burness Sodeman, Richard Steging, Alice Suttie, Gordon Tapper, Ralph 
Tapper, Wyverne Thirloway, Thomas Thompson, Oliver Townsend, Ruth 
Turrell, Marion Twitchell, Russell Venning, Arthur Warder, Charles 
Warner, Ruth Watrous, William Webb, Marshall Williams, Betty White- 
way, Georgene Wilson, Marian Wozencraft, Charles Young, Louise 
Zander, Stanley Ziegler, Arthur Zielke and Earl Weiher. 

June 11, Forest Glen School graduated 11 eighth graders: Ruth 
Bluemel, Adeline Boysen, Grace Bremer, Helen Frandsen, Richard Hair- 
grove, Martin Heerboth, Virginia Huwen, LaVerne Koehler, Will Mc- 
Connaughy, Arvilla Stacy and Betty Wise. 

St. Petronille Court, No. 1096, Catholic Daughters of America organized 
in June with the following officers: grand regent, Mrs. Josephine Mueller; 
vice grand regent, Mrs. Mary Lamb; historian, Mrs. John Friedrickson; 
corresponding secretary, Miss Clara Welter; financial secretary, Mrs. 
Mantel; treasurer, Mrs. Geraldine Heitzler; monitor, Miss Una West- 
brook; lecturer, Miss Catherine Brown; trustees, Mrs. Fitzgerald, Mrs. 
Mahon, Miss Margaret Mohr, Mrs. Doyle. 

June, the Glen Ellyn Watch and Clock Shop started, 424 Main Street, 
with W. Schoenrock and J. Wolcott, proprietors. 

Margaret Lindsay graduated from Beloit College with Cum Laude 
honors. 

July 2, the Templar club organized at a meeting of village Knights 
Templar with the following officers: president, George Sells; vice-presi- 
dent, Charles R. Fuller; secretary and treasurer, Fred C. Payne; direc- 
tors, Acors Rathbun, M. W. Whittemore, Douglas Robertson, Robert 
Patch, Wm. Kolacek, George Sells and C. R. Fuller. 

July, Dr. Kenneth Hiatt, son of Mr. and Mrs. L. J. Hiatt of Forest 
Avenue, who was born in Glen Ellyn, began the practice of medicine, in 
association with Dr. G. H. Ensminger, office in the DuPage Trust building. 

July, Wheaton dedicated its new swimming pool. 



TEE STORY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 137 



1928 July 27, Mrs. H. H. Hitt and Mrs. M. M. Moore, both Hyde Park High 
graduates, attended the banquet tendered by Hyde Park graduates to 
Amelia Earhart, first woman to fly across the Atlantic, at the Shoreland 
Hotel. 

In August, Vernon Estates, the first "estate" subdivision near Glen 
Ellyn was platted into 1, 2 and 3 acre homesites by George A. Buhl of 
Highland Park. Vernon, the former 80 acre farm of Nicholas Kammes, 
crossed on two corners by Willow Brook, is picturesquely rolling, and 
has been laid out with curving streets that emphasize the topography. 
It runs south to the section line, now merely fence and pasture, which 
will some day be the right of way of 22nd Street when it is extended 
beyond Cook County line. 

Mrs. James Hyde, of 300 Glenwood Ave., won two first prizes in one 
week; one at the Men's Garden show at the Hotel Sherman for her 
exhibit of Irish potatoes, and the other at the Green Valley Golf Club in 
the women's sweepstake golf tournament. 

Mr. and Mrs. F. L. Mabrey, of 637 Park Blvd., won third prize of $200 
in the West Division of the Chicago Tribune Garden contest. 

Glen Ellyn may be growing citified, still this summer Horace Zoellin, 
of 454 Anthony Street, raised a cucumber 25 inches long and a tomato 
that weighed 2y 2 pounds in his back yard. 

Mr. and Mrs. J. B. Mueller, of Sunset Ave., and Mr. and Mrs. Charles 
LePage, returning from a fishing trip, stopped over Sunday at Superior, 
Wise, and attended the same church service at which President and 
Mrs. Coolidge, John, and Maj.-Gen. Summerall were worshippers. 

The Illinois Bell Telephone Co., in August, installed as local manager, 
William McFryer, long of Wheaton. His assistant manager is W. C. 
Monroe. 

Mrs. Pearl Duncan elected Illinois department president of the Ameri- 
can Legion Auxiliary at the state convention at Waukegan in September. 

At an All Chapters meeting of the Glen Ellyn Garden Club in Septem- 
ber agitation was started to secure the beautiful estate of "Wildairs" 
for a village park and permanent beauty spot. 

Glenbard enrollment for 1928: seniors, 91; juniors, 114; sophomores, 
184; freshmen, 253; post graduates, 5; making a total of 622. 

The grade schools enrolled 1,100 children; Forest Glen has 120 students 
and St. Petronille, 120. 

Southwest Improvement Association formed at home of Fred Orsinger, 
293 Lorraine Road, September 13, with the following officers chosen: 
president, R. W. Canfield; vice-president, C. R. Bowie; secretary, W. J. 
Wehlau; treasurer, O. E. Crook. Members of executive board: C. S. 
Van Duzer, A. H. Reifenstein and John Hookham. The territory covered 
by the association is bounded on the north by the North Western tracks, 
on the east by Main Street and on the south and west by Wheaton. 

A group of 25 women, meeting with Mrs. Wm. D. Shipman and then 
with Mrs. R. D. French, organized the Woman's Chorus: president, Mrs. 
Fred Snell; vice-president, Mrs. Sylvester Baker; secretary, Mrs. Max 
Allaben; treasurer, Mrs. Rupert White. Mrs. Wm. D. Shipman is accom- 
panist and Mrs. Jay Willcox, director. 



138 THE STOEY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 

1928 Glen Ellyn young people off to college as reported by the Glen Ellyn 
News, September 14: 

Merwin Arnold — Chattanooga University 

Mary Badger — Northwestern University 

Gertrude Bogan — University of Michigan 

Florence Branand — Northwestern University 

Robert Branand — Kent College of Law 

Roy Burgess — University of Illinois 

John L. Brown — University of Illinois 

Stewart Brown — University of Illinois 

Elizabeth Chandler — Rockford College 

Helen Cole — National Kindergarten College, Evanston 

Elizabeth Cooper — Knox College 

Cynthia Cooper — Rockford College 

Lawrence Cooper — University of Michigan 

Richard Corwine — University of Illinois 

John Clark — University of Illinois 

William Chandler — Detroit College 

Edna Chapman — National Kindergarten College, Evanston 

Harry Davis — Antioch College 

Catherine Durant — Rockford College 

Thomas Durant — University of Michigan 

Jane Ensminger — Paris, France 

Marjorie Freeman — Milwaukee Downers 

Frances Freeman — Radcliffe College 

Maurice Froggatt — University of Illinois 

Frank Gilbertson — University of Illinois 

Robert Groeschell — Chattanooga University 

William Hall — Lake Forest University 

Irwin Harriman — Harvard University 

Donald Hayworth — University of Illinois 

Edna Hibbard — De Pauw University 

William Hibbard — Cornell College, Iowa 

Charles Hoyle — University of Wisconsin 

Robert Hoyle — University of Wisconsin 

Helen Johansen — University of Illinois 

Edgar Kelly — University of Illinois 

Victor Klein — Beloit College 

Marietta Lichtenwalter — University of Minnesota 

William Lichtenwalter — Beloit College 

Ingwald Larson — University of Illinois 

Howard Liscom — Northwestern University 

Robert Locke — University of Illinois 

Richard Locke — Illinois College 

Kathryn Lock — University of Illinois 

Dorothy Dock — University of Illinois 

William Lewis — University of Illinois 

Robert Maris — North western University 

Donald March — University of Illinois 

Nathalie McChesney — Northwestern University 

Ruth McDonald — Beloit College 

Allen McDonald — Beloit College 

Marian Milmoe — Northwestern University 

Frank Morgan — University of Illinois 

Jean McGregor — Wheaton College 

Luther Mueller — Carthage College 

Naomi Mull — Eproth College, Indiana 

Morton Newcomb — Antioch College 

Donald Nichols — University of Illinois 

Rannie Neville — School of Pharmacy, University of Illinois 



THE STOEY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 139 

1928 Ruth Pastor — Crane Junior College 

Ruth Patch — Stevens College 
Phelps Pratt — Chicago University 
Jacob Pratt — Chicago University 
Elizabeth Pelham — Rockford College 
Harriet Pelham — Rockford College 
Roland Rathbun — University of Illinois 
Joy Reed — Michigan State College 
Anna Mary Rogers — University of Washington 
Lawrence Rogers — Armour Institute 
John Rogers — University of Wisconsin 
Walter Rogers — University of Wisconsin 
Lyle Rossiter — University of Illinois 
Alvin Shabino — University of Illinois 
Margaret Stanton — Iowa State College 
Wallace Stanton — Iowa State College 
Frederic Shattuc — Chicago Academy of Fine Arts 
Elmer Steinberg — University of Illinois 
Harry Sutch — University of Illinois 
Lawrence Teeter — University of Illinois 
William Tillman — Wheaton College 
William Townsend — Northwestern University 
Roy Turnquist — Illinois College 
Lester Wassell — Northwestern University 
Ray Walker — Northwestern University 
Robert Webb — De Pauw University 
Harvey Wienke — Northwestern University 
Sam Wilbur — Beloit College 
Marion Woodworth — Michigan State College 
Gertrude Woodworth — Michigan State College 
Helen Young — University of Illinois 
Leland Zorn — Beloit College. 

October 6, Piggly Wiggly opened store in Rohm Building, Main, near 
Hillside. 

John M. Griggs, after a year at the Goodman Theatre, is on tour 
with George Arliss. 

October 16, R. H. L. (Richard Henry Little) at M. E. Men's Club. 

Mrs. Wm. F. Pelham offered to present a medal, through the D. A. R., 
to the girl in the 8th grade who measures up to the standards recog- 
nized by the American Legion medal requirements for the boy — won this 
year by Joseph Cools. 

Miss Hazel Newman won the $25 prize for the name of "Wilmon 
Drive" which she submitted in the contest to find a title for the new 
street, beginning and ending on Park Boulevard, which is to open up the 
Cooper property to sub-division service. 

Tenth annual district convention of the Royal Neighbors of America, 
of the counties of DeKalb, McHenry, Kane and DuPage was held at 
Acacia Hall October 24. District President, Christine Remich, presided 
in the morning and afternoon sessions, Erna Foster, serving as secretary- 
treasurer. Supreme Oracle, Mary E. Arnolt, of Peoria, and District 
Deputy, Stella Daly, were present. Alice Schaefer, of Glen Ellyn, gave 
the address of welcome to which Lulu Franzen, of Bensenville, responded. 
Mrs. I. B. Clarke sang a group of songs. The evening session was called 
to order by Oracle Ruth O'Malley and the ritualistic work was exemplified 
by 20th Century Camp of Glen Ellyn. More than 40t) attended this even- 
ing meeting. 



140 THE STOEY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 

1928 Jacob Barkey, president, and the Glen Oak Club, were hosts at dinner 
October 12, in honor of the Glen Ellyn Fire Department and the Glen 
Ellyn Police Department. 

Work completed on new store and apartment building on the site of the 
former O. D. Dodge home, corner of Main and Hillside. The architects 
in charge were Jean B. Rohm and Son, of Chicago and Glen Ellyn. The 
Dodge home was moved around on Hillside, the second house east of their 
old home for so many years. 

First "Piggly Wiggly" opened in October, first shop in new building. 

Knights Templar Club of Glen Ellyn held its first meeting in Acacia 
Hall, October 19th. 

Mrs. Leonard and Mrs. Emil Olander opened home bakery in the Rohm 
Building on Hillside Ave., November 1st. 

W. W. Shaw, Jr., invited by Herbert Putnam, librarian of the Library 
of Congress at Washington, to lend some of his original drawings of 
his maps as an exhibit. 

Red and black announced for the 1929 auto license plates. 

The Akiyuhapi Camp Fire girls presented "My Aunt's Heiress" at the 
Congregational Church November 2, with the following cast of char- 
acters: Mrs. John Smith — Jane Morgan; Anna Maria — Mary Margaret 
Mardorf ; Jemima — Martha Way; Sophia — Kathryn Hernlund; Arabella — 
Mary Alcott Richardson; Matilda — Helen Minaker; Clementina — Helen 
Pares; Jane — Mildred Thompson; Mrs. Alexander de Courcy Smith and 
Mrs. Betsy Brown — Charlotte Lesh; Sippets — Lois Nelson. 

November 6th, election day resulted in the following ballots for presi- 



dent being cast: 






Precinct 


Hoover 


Smith 


2 


441 


112 


5 


579 


119 


6 


570 


78 


10 


864 


132 


11 


391 


90 


12 


411 


83 


13 


290 


97 



3546 711 

The students at Glenbard High School held a regular presidential 
election on Tuesday at the high school. The result was as follows: 
Hoover - - - 485 
Smith - - - 58 

The following are the voting precincts and the election judges; pre- 
cincts 12 and 13 having been newly created to take care of the increased 
population in their districts: 2nd Precinct — J. R. Wagner, Mrs. A. R. 
Utt, A. M. Kelley. Polling Place, Klein's Real Estate Office, 436 Main 
Street, Glen Ellyn; 2nd— South of the N. W. tracks, west of Main Street, 
south to Hill Avenue. 5th Precinct — Gretchen M. McChesney, Chas. S. 
Ganzhorn, Joseph H. Wagoner. Polling Place, Glen Ellyn Auto Co., 536 
Crescent Boulevard, Glen Ellyn; 5th — North of N. W. tracks, east of 
Main Street, east to Lombard limits. 6th Precinct — I. B. Clarke, Frank 
M. Wagner, Frank Michel. Polling Place, Avenue Garage, 499 Pennsyl- 
vania Avenue, Glen Ellyn; 6th — North of N. W. tracks, west of Main 
Street, and north to Linden Street. 10th Precinct — W. J. Monroe, Abbie 
Johnson, Jack Young. Polling Place, Jack Young's office, 411 Main 
Street, Glen Ellyn; 10th— South of N. W. Tracks, east of Main Street 



THE STOBY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 



141 



1928 to Taylor Avenue. 11th Precinct — J. L. Arnold, H. S. Dodge, J. W. 
Hernlund. Polling Place, Taylor Avenue Store, 511 Taylor Avenue, Glen 
Ellyn; 11th — South of N. W. tracks, east of Taylor Avenue to Lombard 
limits. 12th Precinct — Lee Brierton, O. R. Nelson, M. W. Dietz. Polling 
Place, Five Corners' Store, 820 Main Street, Glen Ellyn; 12th — North of 
Linden Street, west of Main Street and north to Bloomingdale Township 
line. 13th Precinct — Theodore S. Lapham, Mrs. Oscar Miller, John S. 
Wagner. Polling Place, Oscar Miller's Garage, 509 Turner Ave., Glen 
Ellyn. 13th — South of Hill Avenue, west of Main Street. 




Chicago, Great Western Station 



This little station was built in 1888 and has slept through the years. 
North Avenue, the first forty-foot highway through the county coming 
nearby this summer, may waken this district into booming subdivision 
activity. 

November 23, the Production Class of the Glen Ellyn School of Music 
and Dramatic Art, gave a two-act play, "After the Game," with the 
following cast: Eloise Cooper, Carol Benson, Betty Burris, Frances Swan, 
Jane Underwood, Pearl Courtice, Mildred Calloway, Elaine Aim and Jean 
Adams. Three of Vallance Alston Cooper's younger pupils gave readings: 
Corrine Gray, Marion Yackley and Delight Richardson. Eleanor Allen, 
voice student of Mrs. Cooper's, sang, accompanied by Miss Anna Marie 
Van Duzer on the violin and Miss Elisabeth King at the piano. 

Students of Miss King played several numbers: Olive Fosburg, Betty 
Jane Capps, Miss Muriel Rasmussen and Wilbur Osterling. 

The first of a series of student recitals at the Simons Studios was given 
November 30 by the following pupils: David O'Neill, Louise Miller, 
Dorothy Ellen Schraeder, Louise Green, Junior Vallette, Charleen Frye, 
Tom Scott, Beth Frye, Loretta Amidon, Bobby Whitelock, Ruth Romaine, 
June Underwood, Helen Canfield, Helen Minaker, Mildred Psota, Dorothy 
Witt and Jeanette Eichenberger. 

Five of Mrs. Hicks' small pupils played in recital at the Community 
House, December 1; Jessie Steele, Merle Irish, Dorothy Koeck, Carlton 
Hibbard, Jr., and John Gilbert. 



142 TEE STORY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 

1928 Chicago, Aurora and Elgin R. R. has 125 daily trains to and from the 
loop. 

Main Street School has a whole block for its grounds, 400 x 310 feet; 
Hawthorne has half a block, and Franklin a tract 250 x 577 feet. 

The park board bought, in December, 6V 2 acres on the southwest side, 
325 feet on Main, 1,100 feet on Fairview, and 325 on Sunset Ave., from 
Mrs. Norah Davis Wilson, for $17,000. 

William H. Churchill presented the Anan Harmon Chapter, D. A. R., 
with the Seth Churchill log cabin (picture on page 30), the second house 
built here, to be used for their memorial. The D. A. R. hope to move 
this cabin to Memorial Park, where it will enshrine relics of the early- 
days and on its outer walls bear bronze plates containing our soldiers' 
names. 

Glenbard High School has just completed its third successful football 
season under the direction of Charles F. Butler, former Beloit College 
player. Mr. Butler came to Glenbard in the fall of 1926 and found such 
stars as Tillman, Mallin, Smith, Cash, Thompson, Bond, Wilbur and 
others waiting to be assembled into a championship team. The 1926 
team won Glenbard's first conference football championship. Tillman and 
Mallin added more honor to their school by being placed on All-State 
teams. 

With the loss of eight regulars from the 1926 championship team the 
outlook for the 1927 season was not bright. However, after the first 
game the Glenbard rooters felt sure that the 1927 team would uphold 
the undefeated record of the 1926 team and win for Glenbard its second 
successive championship. This was a proven fact when Captain Harold 
Zearing led his team through another undefeated season. Such stars as 
Zearing, Gilbertson, Heiden, Howting, Phillips, Wold, Fogelsanger and 
others made this fine record possible. Captain Zearing also made the 
All-State team. 

Only four veterans returned to Glenbard for the 1928 season, making 
it necessary for Coach Butler to build an entire new line with the excep- 
tion of the center position. The backfield consisted of Gregg, Deiber 
and Micheli, old men, and Powell a newcomer, who proved to be the most 
spectacular runner of the conference. 

The 1928 team had a reputation to maintain. Because of its previous 
record every team in the conference was laying for Glenbard. Under 
this handicap Glenbard won seven straight games, increasing its games 
to 24 without a defeat. Glenbard lost to Hinsdale and Wheaton, Hinsdale 
tying Glenbard for Glenbard's third straight conference championship. 

This team was led by Captain Wold, one of Glenbard's greatest line- 
men. Other stars were Gregg, Micheli, Deiber, Powell, Carruthers, 
Bouska, Marquardt, MacDonald and others. 

Because of its 24 games without a defeat Glenbard's fame was carried 
by the Associated Press throughout the country. 

Glenbard's football success can be attributed to the fact that the 
coaches have tried to develop the physique of every boy in school rather 
than a few. 

The underlying limestone of the county comes to the surface at Elm- 
hurst, where it is from 15 to 20 feet thick. A quarry operates under the 
name of the Elmhurst-Chicago Stone Company, with William Hammer- 
schmidt in charge. Great quantities of stone are crushed annually and 
sold for cement work and road ballast. 

Village appointments made by President Slawson are: business man- 
ager, Jesse R. Wagner, 2 years, $4,000; village attorney, Joel Baker, 
1 year, $4,000; engineer, George Nelson, 1 year, $13,500; building com- 



THE STOBY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 143 

1928 missioner, Chester Woods, 1 year, $3,000; Supt. of Water, William Madi- 
son, 1 year, $3,300; Supt. of Police, Wesley Westbrook, 1 year, $3,300; 
village treasurer, P. E. McGough, 1 year, $1,500; village collector, Alfred 
Utt, 1 year, $3,500. 

At the end of October the Glen Ellyn Library contained 8,562 books; 
there were 2, 945 cards in force and 3,338 books circulated that month. 
Miss Grace McMahon, librarian. 

Mrs. Fred Genthe, mother of Mrs. Gus Nemitz, of Duane St., celebrated 
her 80th birthday November 3, 56 years of which she has spent here in 
the vicinity. She and her husband used to live on the Stubbings farm 
on East Hill Ave., which was the old J. S. Dodge farm once,, where the 
portable school is located just now. 

Victor L. Sherman and Jesse Owen, of Lewis Institute faculty, members 
living in Glen Ellyn of the Chicago Literary Club. 

John Herboth, of Troop 2, was made an Eagle Scout at the November 
Court of Honor. He has 51 badges. 

The Infant Welfare Society plan their third Charity Ball for December 
28 at Glenbard Gymnasium. 

A new building code adopted by the village council by Ordinance No. 
778, November 13th. 

Virginia Lee played in recital in the studio of her teacher, Inez Hubbard 
Hicks, in Kimball Hall, November 26, before a group of Chicago musi- 
cians. Among her numbers were two of her own compositions, "A 
Study for the Left Hand" and "An Indian Echo." 

Pupils of Miss Emma Menke gave their first recital of the season 
November 15th, at the home of Mrs. M. H. Beekman, on Turner Ave. 
Those taking part were: Isabel March, Geraldine Benthey, Lois Nelson, 
Virginia Otis, Althea Jorgeson, Anna Louise French, Ted Beekman, Billy 
Webb, Champ Webb, Lorraine Ford, Virginia Belle Huwen, Marcia 
Huwen, Barbara Dunham, Barbara Ballou, Ethel Ellen Hurley, Marjorie 
Ann Mabrey, Betty Jane Meinardi and Dick Burks. 

At a studio recital of the School of Music and Dramatic Art on No- 
vember 17th, six very young pupils of Mrs. Cooper gave readings: Betty 
Ann Yackley, Kathryn Walker, Betty Agnes Monahan, Shirley Kranz, 
Mary Nichols and Joan Harrington. Nine of Miss King's pupils played: 
Jane Cline, Shirley Ann Roberts, Vera Swanson, Bobby Hafner, John 
Ruckert, John Biester, Betty Jane Capps, Gertrude Lounsbury and Jean 
Buell. 

Judge Frank Comerford spoke in Glenbard Auditorium under the 
auspices of the Pilgrim Club of the First Congregational Church. 

The grocers of the Commercial Association decided to remain open on 
Wednesday afternoons, instead of closing, as has been the custom for 
some years. 

The heirs of William C. Newton, Frank Q. Newton, Ralph W. Newton, 
Corinne Newton Bowstead, Elizabeth Newton Poehlmann and Doris New- 
ton Laing served notice to the village asking the return of the municipal 
lot at the northwest corner of Main and Pennsylvania, given to the 
village by a warranty deed signed by William C. Newton and Lavinia, 
his wife, dated November 20th, 1920, to be used solely for municipal 
purposes and to have a municipal building erected upon it "within such 
time as should be deemed reasonable." The heirs claim the conditions 
have not been complied with. The proceedings are to come to court in 
January. 



144 THE STOEY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 

1928 The Literature Department of the Glen Ellyn Woman's Club presented 
Booth Tarkington's "The Intimate Strangers" for the benefit of the Glen 
Ellyn Library, at Acacia Hall, November 22, with the following char- 
acters: The Stationmaster, Mrs. Charles Boardman; Mr. Ames, Mrs. 
Russell Calloway; Isabel, Mrs. L. E. Minnis; Florence, Mrs. Charles F. 
Butler; Johnnie White, Mrs. R. F. iSchiele; Henry, Mrs. Charles Board- 
man; Aunt Ellen, Mrs. Wm. C. Allen; Mattie, Mrs. W. D. Heintz. The 
director was Mrs. D. W. Alspaugh; the stage manager, Mrs. R. H. Burks, 
and the department chairman, Mrs. Wm. A. Schaefer. 

Major Reed Landis talked to the Methodist Men's Club. 

Order of Builders, Glenbard Chapter No. 112, received its new charter 
from the grand officers and charter members initiated November 21st at 
Acacia Hall. Through the efforts of Elwood Myers, of Park Blvd., this 
Masonic boys' order is starting in with about 60 charter members from 
the village and Lombard. 

Charles Lee Bryson, of 521 Forest Ave., managing editor of the Lions' 
Club Magazine, is the new editor of the Chicago Press Club's resuscitated 
magazine, "The Scoop." 

Chester Woods, building commissioner of Glen Ellyn, reported from 
January 1st to November 1st: number of families provided for, 125; 
number of single family dwellings, 111; value of single family dwellings, 
$1,017,950.00; value of apartments (12 flats), $50,000; value of store and 
apartments (2 flats), $50,000. 

Betty Jane Kolar, Glen Ellyn's famous child magician, appeared at 
three children's matinees at Carnegie Music Hall in Pittsburgh in De- 
cember. She has been made an honorary member of the French Society 
of Magicians at Paris, France. 

Edith Quayle Wise (Mrs. John H. Wise), of 814 Main Street, is on the 
studio staff of radio station WIBO, as the contralto of the station's 
quartette. 

Glenbard junior play, given December 13th, at Glenbard, was "Second 
Childhood," with the following cast: Professor, William Day; Mrs. Wells- 
miller, Genevieve Dietsche; Silvia, Virginia Robertson; Philip Stanton, 
Phil Fosburg; General, Harold Hyatt; Marcella, Violet Taylor; Mrs. 
Vivvert, Lucille Michaels; Mrs. Henderson, Mary Katherine Bainbridge; 
Lucille Norton, Hedwig Peitsche; Judge Sanderson, Philip Locke; Sheriff, 
Frederick Jorgeson; Deputy Sheriffs, Fred Kleinedler, Donald Locke. 

Ladies' Aid Society of the Methodist Church on December 3rd, present- 
ed Lewis Beach's play, "The Goose Hangs High," at the Glen Theatre, 
with the following cast: Bernard Ingals, F. C. Payne; Eunice Ingals, 
Mrs. F. C. Payne; Noel Derby, H. M. Kenyon; Leo Day, A. J. Ruckert; 
Rhoda, Mrs. H. H. Mills; Julia Murdoch, Miss Ruth Creel; Mrs. Bradley, 
Mrs. W. G. Kaiser; Hugh Ingals, William Shepard; Ronald Murdoch, 
Marvin Lane; Lois Ingals, Mrs. S. A. Pedersen; Bradley Ingals, Charles 
Ayres, Jr.; Dagmar Carroll, Mrs. W. P. Gronewold; Elliott Kimberley, 
R. W. Canfield. Rev. C. A. Bloomquist was the director. 

DuPage Trust remodeled, occupying entire ground floor and installing 
new safety deposit vaults in the basement, D. S. Adams in charge of 
reconstruction. 

June 14th, Fourth Annual Garden Festival in Acacia Hall, under the 
auspices of the Rose Chapter. 

Cornerstone of Benjamin Franklin School, Bryant and Taylor Aves., 
laid Monday evening, June 18, with an invocation by Rev. C. A. Bloom- 



THE STOBY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 



145 



1928 quist; records placed in the cornerstone by Mrs. Roy Drew; remarks by 
B. F. March, president of the school board; an address by Supt. R. D. 
Bowden, and music by the Methodist Men's Quartette, Messrs. Shaw, 
Drew, Black and Blackman. 

Joseph Cools, 469 Duane Street, received the first award of the Amer- 
ican Legion Honor Medal, receiving most votes of pupils and teachers of 
the eighth grade as being highest in honor, courage, leadership and ser- 
vice. The next boys in order of the voting were Joseph Cutler, Oliver 
Townsend, Cameron Duncan and Hector Hill. 




The New Duane School 

This is the architect's drawing of the new school building which is to 
rise on the old school site at Duane. The first unit of twelve rooms is 
to be started right after the New Year. Norman Brydges is the architect. 



OFFICERS OF VILLAGE ORGANIZATIONS 1928 

Officers of the Village of Glen Ellyn: president, James H. Slawson; village 
clerk, Jesse R. Wagner; treasurer, P. E. McGough; collector, Alfred R. Utt; 
board of trustees, Herbert W. Martin, H. H| Simmons, J. Frank Elam, Howard 
Richardson, Edward Dieterle and Charles N. Fuller; attorney, Joel Baker; 
superintendent of police, Wesley Westbrook; engineer, George Nelson; building 
commissioner, Chester Woods; superintendent of water, William Madison; 
village forester, Dr. Frank Johnson; fire chief, William Baethke; assistant 
fire chief, A. R. Utt; citizen members of the Board of Local Improvements, 
L. B. Shabino and C. J. Maurer. 

Board of Health: chairman, T. J. Clifford; health officer, Dr. G. H. Ensminger; 
secretary, Frank Wagner. 

Zoning Board of Appeals: Charles N. Fuller, chairman, John Bingham, Al 
Chase, C. E. Hoyt, Hubert Fleming. 

Plan Commission: Horace G. Lozier, chairman, Acors Rathbun, Mrs. G. M. 
Kendall, Al Chase, W. L. Irish, James Belanger. 



146 THE STOEY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 

Village Hall Clerks: Mrs. E. L. Brady and Mrs. Florence Aim. 

Park Board: president, William Kolacek, Acors Rathbun, D. S. Adams, Archer 
Hayes and Fred G. Orsinger. 

Library Board: Mrs. R. B. Treadway, chairman, Mrs. W. M. McCormick, Mrs. 
L. R. Christie, Mrs. Al Chase, H. H. Hitt, J. R. Stewart. 

High School Board: president, L. J. Thiele, Mrs. E. J. Wienke, Andrew N. Fox, 
W. W. Reed, George Miller, Glen Ellyn, and Mrs. Morgan and Gilford Hill, 
Lombard. 

Grade School Board: Benjamin F. March, president, Mrs. H. H. Hitt, Mrs. A. R. 
Utt, C. H. Hibbard, E. G. Chapman, Kime Aspray, Carl J. Richardson; secre- 
tary, Miss Mildred Barloga. 

Forest Glen School Board: president, Charles W. Alton, Mrs. Edith Q. Wise 
and Robert C. Meredith. 

Policemen: Al Lange, George Collier, F. C. Kirby, John Eaton, F. L. Cross, 
Charles Messley; extra police, Gus Nemitz and V. Schwartz; school police, 
John Canada and Henry Binger. 

Members of Glen Ellyn Volunteer Fire Department: Chief, W. H. Baethke; 
assistant chief, A. R. Utt; captain, G. C. Wagner; treasurer, F. M. Wagner; 
lieutenant, George Ludeker; secretary, Jesse R. Wagner; Allen A. Myers, 
Martin Schaus, Charles McChesney, Jack Baron, Wm. Nadelhoffer, F. Ludeke, 
B. J. Wagner, B. C. Dodge, Gus Nemitz, D. S. Adams, Gus Lang, E. S. Vollmer, 
J. L. Arnold, Otto Miller, Jack O'Donnell, F. Deiber. 

Officers of Glen Ellyn Masonic Lodge, No. 950, A. F. and A. M.: Worshipful 
Master, Hiram H. Liscom; Senior Warden, William M. Carpenter; Junior War- 
den, Acors W. Rathbun; Treasurer, Daniel W. Alspaugh; Secretary, John Le- 
Messurier; Chaplain, John D. Edmunds; Senior Deacon, Roy W. Lindahl; 
Junior Deacon, Ward G. Deland; Senior Steward, Charles H. Noble; Junior 
Steward, Robert H. Patch; Marshal, Elmer C. Harland; Tyler, Frank P. Michel. 

Officers of the Square Club: president, George C. Capps; vice-president, W. L. 
Melville; secretary, Elmer C. Harland; treasurer, Charles H. Noble. 

Officers of Glen Ellyn Chapter, No. 794, Order of Eastern Star are: Worthy 
Matron, Ella F. Blackwood; Worthy Patron, Van C. Winans; Associate Matron, 
Mary F. Morton; Secretary, Jean Grace Wonser; Treasurer, Laura C. Fellows; 
Conductress, Mary Agnes McDonald; Asociate Conductress, Ruth F. Winans; 
Chaplain, Viola Amidon; Organist, Bessie A. Blackman; Warder, Malita 
Wallrodt; Sentinel, William H. Morton; Correspondent, Frances Schock; In- 
structress, Amanda Inman; Electra, Jeanette Light; Adah, Gertrude Wright; 
Martha, Catherine Jenkins; Ruth, Isabelle Davis; Esther, Claribel Perry. 

Officers of the Areme Club are: President, Mrs. A. T. Amidon; vice president, 
Mrs. J. B. Gray; secretary, Mrs. James J. Schock; treasurer, Mrs. James G. 

Wallace. 

Officers of Danby Lodge, No. 187, I. O. O. F.: noble grand, L. G. Dunham; 
vice-grand, Fred Unversagt; recording secretary, H. S. Dodge; treasurer, H. M. 
Sunday; warden, Raymond Ewing; conductor, Earl G. Teeter; O. G., J. J. Fied; 
I. G., Frank Urich; R. S. N. G., Frank P. Michel; L. S. N. G., J. L. Arnold; 
R. S. V. G., J. X. Brown; L. S. V. G., Alfred Hammerschmidt; R. S. S., Felix 
Pohalski; L. S. S., H. J. Zbaren; chaplain, John E. Smalley; delegate to Grand 
Lodge, Frank Kline. 

Officers of Prospect Rebekah Lodge: noble grand, Lucille Lindahl; vice-grand, 
Alice Whitnej'; chaplain, Lovie Surkamer; past noble grand, Anna Fide; right 
supporter for noble grand, Edna Dunnock; left supporter for noble grand, 
Nellie Michel; right supporter of vice-grand, Sophia Gordon; left supporter, 



THE STOEY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 147 

Rose Sikler; conductor, Mildred Fabri; financial secretary, Laura Fellows; 
recording- secretary, Ida Madison; treasurer, Nancy Gorman; musician, Alice 
Kellogg; inside guardian, Rose Hyatt; outside guardian, Rose Sikler; warden, 
Harriet Brown. 

Officers of the Royal Neighbors: Oracle, Ruth O'Malley; vice oracle, Margaret 
Apos tolas; past oracle, Ida McCrae; chancellor, Agnes Trompeter; recorder, 
Erna Foster; receiver, Anna Wagner; marshall, Dorothy Jellies; assistant 
marshall, Sadie Alton; inner sentinal, Martha Buhr; outer sentinel Margaret 
Fox; managers, Mildred Templin, Christine Remick, Ruth Brown; Faith, Eva 
Van Burkom; Courage, Loretta Ducione; Modesty, Ethel Foster; Unselfishness, 
Helen Seeker; Endurance, Martha Baron; musician, Elsie Ryberg; flag bearer, 
Ardena Lettow; physicians, Dr. Schiele, Dr. Watson. 

Glen Ellyn Lodge of Moose: Dictator, Herbert M. Sunday; past dictator, 
Jack W. Young; vice dictator, Frank P. Michel; prelate, B. F. Heckert; secre- 
tary, Charley Schaefer; treasurer, A. H. Allen; inner guard, Will Pemberton; 
outer guard, Emil Magussen; trustees, E. S. Chatterton, W. R. Gray and A. 
Daniels. 

Officers of Glen Ellyn Chapter, No. 641, Ladies of Mooseheart Legion: Past 
Regent, Rhoda Higley; Senior Regent, Wilma Keefer; Chaplain, Julia M. 
Heckert; secretary, Margaret Gray; Treasurer, May Conran; Guide, Nina 
Wheble; assistant guide, Pearl Baker; sentinal, Tillie Van Der Stuyf ; organist, 
Avis Higley; Argus, Lena Van Der Stuyf. 

Officers of Mooseheart Legion Auxiliary: senior regent, Miss Pearl Baker; 
junior regent, Mrs. Gertrude Pemberton; chaplain, Mrs. Lottie Alderman; past 
regent, Mrs. Wilma Keefer. The other officers are appointed by senior regent, 
who was just elected December 4. 

Moosheart Legion Sewing Circle: president, Mrs. Pearl Kummer, Wheaton; 
secretary and treasurer, Mrs. Julia Heckert. 

Officers of Glen Ellyn Post No. 3, American Legion: commander, Henry 
Trompeter; 1st vice-commander, Arthur Jacobs; 2nd vice-commander, L. L. 
Ellsworth; finance officer, A. A. Murray; Historian, Earl Rathbun; chaplain, 
Rev. Walter Fasnacht; sergeant-at-arms, B. F. White. 

Officers of the American Legion Auxiliary: president, Mrs. Victor Schwartz; 
1st vice-president, Mrs. E. A. Peterson; 2nd vice-president, Mrs. W. M. Sawyer; 
secretary, Mrs. Kime Aspray; treasurer, Mrs. Charles LePage; chaplain, Mrs. 
Acors Rathbun; sergeant-at-arms, Mrs. Arthur Jacobs; historian, Mrs. LePage. 

Officers of Royal T. Morgan Woman's Relief Corps: president, Mrs. N. Apos- 
tolas; senior vice-president, Mrs. Lovie Surkamer; junior vice-president, Mrs. 
Mary Leonard; secretary, Mrs. John Remich; treasurer, Mrs. William Madison; 
patriotic instructor, Mrs. Florence Kroeger; musician, Mrs. John Rankin. 

Officers of the D. A. R. are: Regent, Mrs. F. J. Huwen; vice regent, Mrs. A. V. 
Crisler; secretary, Mrs. V. E. Emmel; treasurer, Mrs. Fred Donovan; registrar, 
Mrs. W. G. Kaiser; chaplain, Mrs. Luther Hiatt; historian, Miss Ada Douglas 
Harmon; assistant historian, Mrs. A. R. Utt. Standing Committees: Ways and 
Means, Mrs. R. L. Rogers, chairman; patriotic education and Americanization, 
Mrs. W. J. Russell; press chairman, Mrs. C. E. Shattuc; program chairman, 
Mrs. F. L. Holch. 

Officers of the Mary Chilton Society of the C. A. R. are: Senior president,,, 
Mrs. Myron Beekman; president, Alice Nelson; 1st vice president, Charles 
Jorgeson; 2nd vice president, Ela Patch; secretary, Martha Ann Emmel; cor- 
responding secretary, Sarah Wozencraft; treasurer, Helen Turner; color bearer, 
Kime Aspray; assistant color bearer, Ted Beekman. 



148 TEE STOBY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 

Officers of the W. C. T. U.: Mrs. George Loveless, president; Mrs. H. H. Hitt, 
vice-president; Mrs. W. F. Murray, secretary; Mrs. J. A. Nelson, treasurer. 

Glen Ellyn Reds: Al Ludeke, 1st base; Beaumont Paine, 2nd base; Dutch Dur- 
ant, 3rd base; Art Hilbourn, short stop; Larry Plummer, left field; Phelps 
Pratt, center field; Walter Ludeke, right field; Pete McAleese, catcher; Al 
Ludeke and Sherwood Johnson, pitchers; O'Neill and Clarence Giloth, substi- 
tutes; Stewart Nickey, score keeper. Jack W. Young, president and business 
manager of the Glen Ellyn Baseball Association. 

Officers of the Lions' Club are: President, Fred Orsinger; 1st vice president, 
Fred Hussey, 2nd vice president, Edward Weisbrook; 3rd vice president, S. T. 
Jacobs; secretary- treasurer, Frank M. Wagner; tail twister, James Baughn; 
Lion Tamer, Rev. Walter Fasnacht; directors, Wilbur Cooper and D. E. Hale. 

Officers of the Glen Ellyn Commercial Association: president, Frank Schreiber; 
vice-president, Bruce Cumming; secretary, Harold Prichard; treasurer, Will 
Patch; directors, W. H. Baethke, Frank Newton, Ray Bick. 

Officers Park and Playground Association: president, Acors W. Rathbun; 1st 
vice-president, W. H. Crumb; 2nd vice-president, Mrs. Willis McCormick; 
secretary, Horace G. Lozier; corresponding secretary, Mrs. George M. Kendall; 
treasurer, Arthur Holtzman. 

Officers of Southeast Improvement Association: president, J. W. Hernlund; 
vice-president, Walter L. Matas; secretary, Alva Zook; treasurer, A. R. Mc- 
Pherson. 

Officers of the Glen Ellyn Woman's Club: president, Mrs. Fred L. Biester; 
first vice-president, Mrs. Roy Rogers; second vice-president, Mrs. Charles C. 
Dietz; recording secretary, Mrs. George J. Ball; corresponding secretary, Mrs. 
H. C. Cooper; treasurer, Mrs. Charles F. Wilkins; assistant treasurer, Mrs. W. 
P. Gronewold; chairman of Art Department, Mrs. Elmer F. Grabow; chairman 
of Civics Department, Mrs. John Ryberg; chairman of Literature Department, 
Mrs. William A. Schaefer; chairman of Music Department, Mrs. E. W. Hicks; 
chairman of Travel Department, Mrs. Harry M. Lesh. 

Members of committees: Membership, Mrs. Wm. F. Pelham, Mrs. L. A. Gordon, 
Mrs. J. C. Willcox. 

Social, Mrs. C. C. Dietz, Mrs. George A. Abell, Mrs. Leander Baker, Mrs. Jas. 
W. Belanger, Mrs. W. O. Bliss, Mrs. Wm. T. Chism, Mrs. Isaac B. Clarke, Mrs. 
G. H. Keil, Mrs. Vincent Koeck, Mrs. W. H. Minaker, Jr., Mrs. Louis F. Mueller, 
Mrs. Matilda Pfaff. 

House, Mrs. J. R. Stewart, Mrs. F. W. Baxter, Mrs. Robert H. Burks, Mrs. E. G. 
Teeter, Mrs. Oliver Townsend, Mrs. Harvey Underwood. 

Child Welfare, Mrs. Walter D. Dana, Mrs. George H. Capps, Mrs. Murlin 
Hoover, Mrs. Robert J. Scott, Mrs. Arthur J. Wesman. 

Elections, Mrs. Fred J. Mabrey, Mrs. H. A. Fosburg, Mrs. John A. Humphreys, 
Miss Ethel Mason, Mrs. A. E. Colman. 

Year Book, Mrs. W. G. Kaiser, Mrs. Charles F. Kuoni, Mrs. H. J. Mitchell, 

Study Class, Mrs. Ralph B. Treadway, Mrs. C. N. Clarahan, Mrs. W. H. Hall. 

Budget, Mrs. Maron W. Newcomb, Mrs. Douglas B. Robertson, Mrs. Charles F. 

Wilkins. 

Philanthropy, Mrs. Maxon Moore, Mrs. H. T. Rink, Mrs. A. J. Ludy. 
Program, Mrs. Maron W. Newcomb, Mrs. Elmer F. Grabow, Mrs. E. W. Hicks, 
Mrs. Harry M. Lesh, Mrs. John Ryberg, Mrs. Wm. A. Schaefer. 
Flower, Mrs. William H. Churchill, Mrs. S. T. Jacobs. 
Legislative, Mrs. H. H. Hitt. 



TEE STOEY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 149 

Conservation, Mrs. C. Glenn Whitlock. 

Press, Mrs. A. R. Utt. 

Illinois Club Woman's World, Mrs. Andrew N. Fox. 

Revision, Mrs. Roy L. Rogers, Mrs. Russell Calloway, Mrs. Charles Boardman, 

Mrs. F. L. Holch, Mrs. W. G. Kaiser, Mrs. Robert H. Patch. 

Building Fund, Mrs. Walter Dunham, Mrs. Ford J. Allen, Mrs. William C. 

Allen, Mrs. Biester, Mrs. O. D. Dodge, Mrs. Wm. F. Jensen, Mrs. Rogers, Mrs. 

C. D. Sanderson, Mrs. E. J. Wienke, Mrs. Wilkins. 

Friendly Co-Operation, Mrs. Joe Trefny, Mrs. Thomas Haslam, Mrs. George 

C. Sells. 

Law Enforcement, Mrs. W. F. Murray, Mrs. Alex P. Grant, Mrs. Ralph D. 

Hammond, Mrs. Frank Malec, Mrs. Charles L. Vodicka. 

Park and Playground, Mrs. Ford J. Allen. 

Parliamentarian, Mrs. C. W. Somerville. 

Historian and Custodian, Mrs. O. D. Dodge. 

Officers of the Catholic Woman's Club: president, Mrs. Fred Orsinger; 1st 
vice-president, Mrs. John Friedrickson; 2nd vice-president, Mrs. Louis Griggs; 
3rd vice-president, Mrs. William Templin; recording secretary, Mrs. G. A. 
Abell; financial secretary, Mrs. H. L. Franc; corresponding secretary, Mrs. N. 
Apostolas; treasurer, Mrs. N. B. Couchot; social chairman, Mrs. Templin; 
home and economics chairman, Mrs. A. Sjogren; department chairman, Mrs. 
Frank Ellsworth; cheer committee, Mrs. Christ Fox. 

Officers of St. Aloysius Acolyte Society: president, Charles Tansley; vice- 
president, Robert Tansley; secretary, Ted Rogus; treasurer, Robert Sando. 

Officers of Duane Street P. T. A.: president, Mrs. A. J. Ludy; vice-president, 
Mrs. Russell Stewart; treasurer, Mrs. T. S. Grafton; secretary, Mrs. Bernice 
Pennington. 

Officers of Hawthorne Street P. T. A.: president, Mrs. Joel Baker; vice-presi- 
dent, Mrs. Wilvan Russell; secretary, Mrs. Elmer Foster; treasurer, Miss 
Dewey McEvoy. 

Officers of Main Street P. T. A.: president, Mrs. J. R. Buell; vice-president, 
Mrs. L. A. Sturtz; secretary, Miss Isabel Anderson; treasurer, Mrs. Maxon M. 
Moore. 

Officers of Franklin P. T. A.: president, Mrs. Roy Drew; vice-president, Mrs. 
Paul Congdon; secretary, Miss Kathryn Mathews; treasurer, Mrs. Jas. Brady. 

Officers of Forest Glen P. T. A.: president, Mrs. L. J. Blackman; vice-president, 
Mrs. Robert Meredith; treasurer, Mrs. George H. Johnson. 

Officers of North DuPage League of Women Voters: president, Dr. F. C. Blan- 
chard, Wheaton; vice-president, Mrs. L. F. Rabe, Villa Park; secretary, Mrs. 
Jane Collins, Lombard; treasure r, Mrs. Ralph B. Treadway, Glen Ellyn; direc- 
tors, Mrs. H. C. Lund, Warrenville; Mrs. Maude Humphreys, Glen Ellyn, and 
Mrs. Helen Tefft, Lombard. 

Officers of the Glen Ellyn Woman's Republican Club: president, Mrs. H. H. 
Hitt; vice-president, Mrs. John Hasfurther; secretary, Mrs. John Ryberg; 
treasurer, Mrs. J. A. Humphreys. 

DuPage Trust officers: Frank J. Bogan, president; Howard H. Hilton, vice 
president; Ralph B. Treadway, vice president and trust officer; Robert M. Lord, 
cashier and secretary; Helen G. Sanders, assistant secretary; William G. 
Shirer, chairman of the board of directors; D. S. Adams, William H. Baethke, 
George J. Ball, Frank J. Bogan, Charles W. Hadley, Howard Hilton, W. F. 
Jensen, William J. Shirer, Ralph B. Treadway and Jacob A. Barkey, board of 
directors. 



150 TEE STOEY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 

Glen State Bank officers: W. P. Cooper, president; E. H. MoChesney, vice 
president; H. C. Cooper, cashier; P. E. MeGough, assistant cashier; Dr. Frank 
Johnson, chairman of the board of directors; Louis P. Hoffman, Edgar H. Mc- 
Chesney, John H. Kampp, Frank Johnson, John K. Rathbun, M. J. Milmoe, 
H. C. Cooper, W. P. Cooper, directors. 

Boy Scouts of America, DuPage Council: president, R. B. Treadway. 
Glen Ellyn Local Committee: chairman, A. O. Osterling; secretary, I. M. 
Larson; chairmen of standing committees: publicity, C. E. Strawn; finance, 
Wm. G. iShirer; Court of Honor, C. K. Howard; camping, J. B. Whitelock; 
civic service, H. H. Simmons; troop organization, C. R. Gray, Jr.; leadership 
and training, L. L. Ellsworth; other committees for whom chairman have 
not yet been chosen: good reading, health and safety and educational publicity. 
The Scoutmasters are: troop 1, 22 boys, Henry V. Snyder; troop 2, 32 boys, 
W. G. Kaiser; troop 3, 20 boys, J. C. Hafner; troop 4, 29 boys, H. G. Wilson; 
troop 5, 22 boys, H. Topp; troop 6, 15 boys, J. P. Bennett. 

Girl Scout troops are in charge of Mrs. Bernice Pennington, Miss Carrie Witzig, 
Miss Ruby Carlson and Miss Frieda Olsen. The community committee of 
mothers who direct the work and transact the business is made up of Mrs. 
Archer Hayes, Mrs. H. H. Hitt, Mrs. C. W. Flint, Mrs. Bryant Dedman, Mrs. 
L. B. Hill, Mrs. C. S. Frye and Mrs. A. E. Colman. 

Officers of the DuPage County Real Estate Board: president, Henry L. Harrell, 
Wheaton; vice-presidents, B. C. Downs, Otto Balgemann, Elmhurst; O. J. 
Roath, Lombard; John J. Wozencraft, Glen Ellyn; Alfred C. Hoy, Wheaton; 
Monroe Crist, Naperville; William Blodgett, Downers Grove; George Beaton, 
Hinsdale; secretary and treasurer, Howard P. Jones, Downers Grove. 

Officers of the Glen Ellyn Garden Club: chairman, Mrs. George M. Kendall; 
vice-chairman, Mrs. F. I. Vandercook; secretary, Mrs. Paul Congdon; treasurer, 
Mrs. Elmer Foster. 

Iris Chapter: president, Mrs. P. V. Congdon; vice-president, Mrs. H. B. Field; 
recording secretary, Mrs. W. H. Robertson; corresponding secretary, Mrs. J. R. 
Buell; treasurer, Mrs. Chas. Morgan; chairman of committees: program, Mrs. 
H. Gilbert; social, Miss Lida Morris; press, Mrs. J. R. Stewart. 

Rose Chapter: president, Mrs. Elmer Foster; vice-president, Mrs. Ralph 
Gruner; secretary, Mrs. Joe Trefny; treasurer, Mrs. George Sells; program 
chairman, Mrs. A. J. Ludy; publicity chairman, Mrs. Lloyd Sturtz; social 
chairman, Mrs. Frank Graser. 

Aster Chapter: president, S. H. Ross; vice-president, Mrs. C. H. Clarahan; 
secretary, Mrs. R. W. Gruner; treasurer, F. E. Duggan; program committee: 
C. J. Hudson, chairman; Mrs. G. M. Kendall, Mrs. J. C. Willcox; social com- 
mittee: Mrs. R. W. Hunter, chairman; Mrs. W. T. Chism, Mrs. C. J. Hudson. 

Scilla Chapter: president, Mrs. F. I. Vandercook; vice, president, Mrs. G. H. 
Oapps; secretary, Mrs. W. R. Gray; corresponding secretary, Mrs. J. D. 
Carney; treasurer, Mrs. F. S. Swan; program chairman, Mrs. C. F. Kuoni; 
press chairman, Mrs. R. T. Calloway. 

Officers of the Choral Club: president, C. G. Whitlock; vice-president, Mrs. L. 
B. Hill; secretary, Mrs. Isaac B. Clarke; treasurer, John McKenzie; librarian, 
Miss Gladys Glasgow; Directors, Mrs. E. J. Wienke and J. C. Willcox; director 
of chorus, August iSteinberg; accompanist, Ruth Sanderson Phillips. 

Officers of the Motion Picture Forum: president, H. H. Hitt; 1st vice-president, 
S. H. Ross; 2nd vice-president, Mrs. Andrew Fox; secretary, Mrs. Florence 
Kroeger; treasurer, L. H. Chamberlin. 

Officers Building Trades Council of DuPage County: president, Andrew Olson, 
Elmhurst; executive secretary and treasurer, Gustave Krohn, Glen Ellyn. 

Officers of the Infant Welfare Society: president, Mrs. A. L. Wanner; vice- 
president, Mrs. A. H. Arthur; secretary, Mrs. G. B. Finch; treasurer, Mrs. M. 



TEE STOEY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 151 

A. Schultz; committee chairmen: social, Mrs. Arthur; work, Mrs. Horace 
Lozier; station, Mrs. R. R. Kraft, and publicity, Mrs. T. J. Canty. 

Officers of the Glen Ellyn Club: president, Mrs. John W. Ruzicka; treasurer, 
Mrs. Willis McCormick; secretary, Mrs. C. Glenn Whitlock; social chairman, 
Mrs. S. S. Montgomery; score keeper, Mrs. T. Stuart Smith; assistant score 
keeper, Mrs. Chas. M. Morgan; members of executive board: Mrs. Fred C. 
Braeutigam, Mrs. Robert Scott and Mrs. A. S. Watson. 

SCHOOLS 

Teachers for the grade schools, 1928-29; superintendent, R. D. Bowden, who 
enters on 3-year contract; Miss Mildred Barloga, his secretary. 

Main: 1st grade, Dorothy Scharmann; 1st and 2nd, Pearl E. Walker; 2nd, 
Mary E. Stanton, principal; 3rd, Dorothy Lawrence; 4th, Ruth O'Connor and 
Georgians Miller; 5th, Alice E. Bates; 5th and 6th, Ruth E. Creel; 6th, Ruby 
Johnson; substitute for principal, Mrs. Janvrin. 

Hawthorne: 1st, Allegra Rathbun and Gay Nichols; 2nd, Laverne Lane and 
Frances Crisler, principal; 3rd, Dewey McEvoy and Norma Stevens; 3rd and 
4th, Grace Silva; 4th and 5th, Emma Remensnyder; 5th, Grace Bolinger; 
5th and 6th, Eva May Cochran; 6th, Bertha Tweed. 

Franklin: 1st, Kathryn Mathew; 2nd, Ruth Sheehan; 3rd, Florence Kroeger, 
principal; 4th, Lillian Anderson; 5th and 6th, Ruby E. Huggett. 

Duane: Kathryn E. Pugh, principal; Bernadine Comiskey, English; Margaret 
Paxton, history; Bernice Pennington, literature; Ruby Carlson, arithmetic; 
Isabel J. Anderson, hygiene and reading; Dorothy Leggitt, social science; Joy 
Van Vorst, geography; Iola Wallace, English; Carrie Witzig, history. 

Special teachers: Wilma Skidmore, art supervisor; Linnea Lund, music; 
Vaughan Wallace, athletic supervisor and arithmetic; Ralph Magor, band 
director, and Frieda Olsen, school nurse. 

Janitors: Duane and Franklin, Henry Binger and sons; Main, John Canada; 
Hawthorne, Charles Sherman and Dan McCarty. 

Forest Glen teachers 1928-29: F. A. Bell, principal; June Moehler, music; 
Verna Hasseries, Florence Warder and Kathryn Smelting. 

St. Petronille's teachers for 1928-29: Sister Geraldine, Sister Gregory, Sister 
Novella, Sister Vitalis, Sister Bartha (music). 

Staff of the "Duane Noise," started at Duane School by Miss Comiskey, 
English teacher: editor, James Milmoe; sports editor, George Lineburg; society 
editor, Florence Fogelsanger; joke editor, Helen Geiersbach; editorial editor, 
Virginia Hitt; business manager, Ruthana Osterling; advertising manager, 
Roger Gavin; circulation manager, 8-4, Eloise Cooper; 8-3, Pearl Courtice, 
8-2, John Huntoon, 8-1, Jane Frye, 7th, Wm. Anderson; reporters, Kathryn 
Flint and Jane Fogelsanger; cartoonist, Helen Minaker; treasurer, Gertrude 
Lozier. 

The football squad at Duane: captain, Al Jellies, LeRoy Erickson, Bernard 
Ulrick, George Rose, George Li ch ten waiter, Ralph Betts, Junior Dehl, Phelps 
Congdon, George Lineburg, Boyd Bremner, Winston Pray, Alfred Eaton, 
Robert Burks, Wayne Feurhaken, William Nadelhoffer, Lyle Kreitzer, Ernest 
Rose, Robert Warner, Warren Smith, James Murray, Charles Reifenstein, 
Chester LeVere, Jack Burton, Donald Stewart and Wesley Baughman. 

Glenbard teachers 1928-29: Fred L. Biester, principal; Blanche Kirk, secre- 
tary to Mr. Biester; Charles F. Butler, physical education, coach; Ruth McLean, 
dean of girls, history; Helen Allen,. English,, public speaking; Orth Baer, 
mechanical drawing, band director; Bernice Douglas, art; Clara Diers, Latin, 
history; Lois Glass, English; Wesley Gronewold, physics, athletics; Hazel 
Hegner, science, sewing; Mildred Lundberg, French; Ralph Magor, mathe- 



152 



THE STOEY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 



matics; Don Miller, science; Delpha Patterson, Latin; Martha Pinney, mathe- 
matics; Helen Trowbridge, science; Mary Belle Warth, commercial; Richard 
Durrett, music; Cornelia Neuwenhuyse, director of health and physical edu- 
cation for girls; Ruth Lewis, English; Rose McGlennon, English; L. B. Reed, 
mathematics; Alice Roberts, Latin and French; Mary Swinney, English; Orpha 
Romps, commercial and arithmetic; Clorah Corzine, commercial; Arthur 
Repke, social science. 

Girl Reserve officers: president, Jane Heald; vice-president, Marian Arnold; 
program chairman, Marian Hibbard; secretary, Eileen Mitchell; treasurer, 
Dorothy Lewis; service chairman, June Meister; social chairman, Jeanne 
Walter. 




Glenbard Heavyweight Team 1928 




Glenbard Lightweight Team 1928 



THE STOBY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 153 

Glenbard's Heavyweight football team for the 1928 season: captain, Benny- 
Wold; David Anderson, Frank Bouska, James Carruthers, Hugh Cash, Paul 
Daniels, John Deiber, George Dopp, Stanley Eaton, Ray Ericksen, William 
Flint, Ed. Gorman, Thomas Gregg, Robert Griffith, Herbert Hill, William 
Kellogg, Richard Kelly, Kenneth Kidd, William Kiser, John Knaak, George 
LaRoi, William Lawrence, Howard McAninch, Ray MacDonald, Roger Maylone, 
Richard Marquardt, Rudolph Ohl, John O'Neill, David Powell and George 
Rose. 

The boys on the Lightweight team are: captain, Austin Abell; George Apos- 
tolas, Franklyn Benson, Allen Blackwell, James Brady, Theodore Bremer, 
Ardin Buell, James Cochran, Ray Cottingham, Ray Ericksen, John Gamon, 
Jules Gonseth, Clark Hine, Robert Hoy, Harold Hyatt, Allan Johnson, George 
Koepple, Warren League, Walter Lindsay, Austin Mann, Arnold Marenack, 
Charles Michaels, Hunter Michaels, Elwood Myers, Harry Peterson, John 
Purdum, Robert Rose, Donald Rautson, Richard Sabin, James Schock, Ray 
Shawl, Francis Sjogren, Lawrence Sjogren, Jack Stauffer, Melvin Suttie, 
Spencer Michaels and Eugene Strawn. 

The new class officers at Glenbard are: seniors, Dick Kelly, president; Dave 
Powell, vice-president; Eileen Mitchell, secretary- treasurer. Juniors, Roger 
Maylone, president; June Meister, vice-president; Virginia Teeter, secretary- 
treasurer. Sophomores, Jesse Wagner, president; J. L. Wagner, vice-president; 
Walter Lindsay, secretary- treasurer. Freshman, Joe Cutler, president; Hugh 
Cash, vice-president; Russell O'Connor, secretary-treasurer. 
Athaenean Society: president, Arnold Marenack; vice-president, Spencer 
Michaels. 

Erodelphian Society: president, Victoria Strawn; vice-president, Roger May- 
lone. 

Athletic Association: president, Richard Marquardt; vice-president, John 
Ensminger; secretary, Victoria Strawn; Jesse Wagner and Betty Phillips, 
directors. 

Student Council: chairman, Roger Maylone. 

Glen Bard staff, elected by the faculty: managing editor, Joe Milmoe; business 
manager, Ardin Buell; advertising managers, Arnold Marenack and Rose 
Zvedelik; assisting editors, Wilbur Osterling and Ruth Watt; reporters, 
Roberta Fenzel, Mildred Kelly, Dorothy Lewis, Elsie Lenoir, Walter Lindsay 
and Jesse Wagner; sports editor, Frank Malec; class reporters, Senior, 
Lucille Myers; Junior, William Day; Sophomore, Gertrude Benthey; Freshman, 
Marian Wozencraft, Joe Cutler and Charles Young; typists, Mabel Ludy, 
Jeanne Walter, Rose Zvedelik and Evelyn Goeckel. 




154 



THE STOEY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 




THE STOEY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 155 

CHURCHES 

Officers of the First Congregational Church: minister, Rev. O. L. Kiplinger; 

secretary, Miss Evelyn Warner; Sunday School superintendent, R. L. Rogers, 

Woman's Society: president, Mrs. Wm. Powell; 1st vice-president, Mrs. F. L. 

Holch; 2nd vice-president, Mrs. Walter Rogers; secretary, Mrs. E. A. Peterson; 

treasurer, Mrs. W. E. Dunham. 

Circle Chairmen: Steadfast, Mrs. Fred Surkamer; Priscilla, Mrs. J. R. Gott; 

Gift, Mrs. H. S. Cline; Friendship, Mrs. L, L. Call; Symphonion, Mrs. A. 

Steinberg; Lookout, Mrs. J. W. Hurley; Utility, Mrs. J. Boyd; Whatsoever, 

Mrs. Geo. P. Bennet. 

Young People's Society: president, Warren B. Ohler; vice-president, Victoria 

Strawn; secretary-treasurer, Helen Turner. 

Young People's Chorus: director, Mrs. Jay C. Willcox. 

Church Quartette: Walter Boydston, tenor; Mrs. Boydston, soprano; Jane 

Symons, contralto; Leonard Huber, bass. 

The Pilgrim Club: president, Eugene C. Hall; vice-president, E. A. Peterson; 

secretary-treasurer, R. M. Kolze. 

Daughters of the Covenant: president, Gladys Fuller; vice-president, Florence 
Kroeger; secretary, Pearl Walker; treasurer, Eleanor Chapman. 

Teachers: Gladys Fuller, Grace Silva, Evelyn Steinberg, Geo. G. Nelson, Evelyn 
Warner, Mrs. Vaughn C. Wallace, L. L. Call, Margaret Rogers, H. R. Mardorf, 
Mrs. R. L. Rogers, H. J. Lounsbury, Mrs. Cecil M. Knights, Kenneth Redman, 
Mrs. L. L. Call, H. H. Hitt, J. W. Hurley, Mrs. A. R. Utt, Mrs. O. L. Kiplinger, 
Mrs. H. H. Hitt, R. L. Rogers. 

Officers of the First Evangelical Church: pastor, Theo. W. Holtorf ; secretary, 
C. Strabel; treasurer, A. Gathmann. 

Women's Missionary Society: president, Mrs. Theo. W. Holtorf; vice-president, 
Mrs. G. Lile; secretary, Mrs. M. M. Kinnaman; financial secretary, Mrs. John 
Gathman; treasurer, Mrs. Chas. Strabel. 
Christian Endeavor Society: president, Theodore Witt. 
Church Missionary Society: president, Mrs. W. Harold Simons. 
Sunday School: superintendent, Paul Riemenschnitter; associate superintend- 
ents, Arthur Gathman and Fred Tollefsen. Teachers: Fred Tollefsen, Arthur 
Gathman, Mrs. W. Harold Simons, Mrs. LeRoy Ericksen, Mrs. Charles Strabel, 
Raldo Sevland, and Misses Eleanor Gathman, Nettie Geske, Esther Sevland, 
Marie Petersen, Ruth Tillis, Ruth Lile and Lucille Lintner. 
Choir: director, Mrs. W. H. Simons. 

Organists: Mr. and Mrs. W. Harold Simons; assistant organist, Miss Mabel 
Youngstrom. 

Officers of Grace Lutheran Church: pastor, Rev. H. Mackensen; chairman, T. 

W. Marquardt; secretary, A. Mesenbrink; treasurer, Wm. H. Baethke; financial 

secretary, A. W. Langeloh; deacons, F. J. Schreiber, H. Zielke, P. Gustafson; 

trustees, F. Marquardt, J. S. Wagner, L. J. Thiele; organist, Mrs. Worrell 

Grimshaw. 

Sunday School: superintendent, Rev. Mackensen; assistant superintendent, 

Annie Rathbun; primary superintendent, Mrs. H. Mackensen; cradle roll 

superintendent, Camilla Fuchs; treasurer, F. J. Schreiber. Teachers: Lillian 

Schuetz, Bonita Fuchs, Irene Grimshaw, Alyce Wegner, Ruth Gourlay, Camilla 

Fuchs, Mrs. Spellerburg, H. Mackensen. 

Ladies' Aid: president, Mrs. H. Mackensen; vice-president, Mrs. H. T. Rink; 

secretary, Mrs. A. Swanson; treasurer, Mrs. A. Mesenbrink. 

Dorcas Guild: chairman, Ellen Rink; vice-chairman, Edna Jellies; secretary, 

Edna Schaus; treasurer, Irene Kamholz. 



156 THE STOEY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 

Walther League: chairman, Annie Rathbun; vice-chairman, Conrad Rose; 
secretary, Edna Schaus; treasurer, Gilbert Grinnell. 

Officers of First Methodist Episcopal Church: minister, Rev. C. A. Bloomquist; 
pastor's assistant, Mrs. Ethlynne A. Bruce; honorary trustees, M. H. Paine, 
H. D. Thompson; board of trustees, J. H. Gilbert, W. P. Conyers, H. H. 
Simmons, C. H. Hibbard, C. D. Nickey, W. R. Houchens, J. C. Miller, H. H. 
Kendall, C. M. Jorgeson; honorary steward, A. Biemolt; board of stewards, 
Harry Clark, Dr. G. H. Ensminger, H. C. Estee, H. A. Hansen, Walter Hansen, 
E. M. Hardine, Irving Kelly, W. R. Kettenring, Geo. B. Lock, W. L. Irish, 
Otto Pastor, N. T. Palmer, A. R. Shepherd, H. W. Underwood, E. J. Wienke, 
J. H. Wise, B. F. March, R. W. Canfield, E. E. Oates, L. H. Webb, S. T. Jacobs, 
J. S. Kelly, O. A. Elliot, H. D. Thompson, Rufus White, John Fitch, P. M. Black, 
E. E. McBride, L. D. Nichol, F. C. Payne, W. Lee Fergus. (W. L. Simpson at 
the time of his death, December 2, 1928, was a member of this board). 
Ladies' Aid: president, Mrs. W. H. Trask; vice-president, Mrs. F. C. Payne; 
secretary, Mrs. H. W. Underwood; corresponding secretary, Mrs. W. C. Sten- 
strom; treasurer, Mrs. H. H. Simmons. 

Circle Chairmen: 1, Mrs. L. L. Carpenter; 2, Mrs. R. R. Simpson; 3, Mrs. H. F. 
Jauch; 4, Mrs. H. J. Mitchell; 5, Mrs. E. E. McBride; 6, Mrs. J. W. Craig; 
7, Mrs. H. R. Courtice; 8, Mrs. A. R. Shepherd; 9, Mrs. F. W. Julian; 10, Mrs. 
Geo. Douglass. 

Woman's Foreign Missionary Society: president, Mrs. J. A. Gilbert; 1st vice- 
president, Mrs. R. W. Canfield; 2nd vice-president, Mrs. C. H. Hibbard; 3rd 
vice-president, Mrs. A. Biemolt; 4th vice-president, Mrs. L. E. Mitchell; secre- 
tary, Mrs. Maxfield Bear; corresponding secretary, Mrs. A. McWilliams; treas- 
urer, Mrs. C. D. Nickey; mite box secretary, Mrs. W. R. Houchens; steward- 
ship secretary, Mrs. J. C. Wagner; field support secretary, Mrs. A. E. Sylvester; 
extension secretary, Mrs. J. P. Bennett; King's Heralds superintendent, Mrs. A. 
J. Ludy; Little Light Bearers superintendent, Mrs. E. M. Hardine. 

Woman's Home Missionary Society: president, Mrs. N. T. Palmer; 2nd vice- 
president, Mrs. C. W. Bush; 3rd vice-president, Mrs. H. Mitchell; recording 
secretary,, Mrs. Otto Pastor; corresponding secretary, Mrs. Maxfield Bear; 
treasurer, Mrs. P. M. Black; Queen Esther, Mrs. S. A. Pederson; Home Guards, 
Mrs. A. M. Reed and Mrs. R. W. Canfield; Mother's Jewels, Mrs. John Low; 
exangelism, Mrs. D. R. Ingersoll; stewardship secretary, Mrs. J. C. Wagner; 
supplies, Mrs. H. Jauch; missionary education, Mrs. George Douglass; mite box 
secretary, Mrs. R. W. Canfield; Thank-offering secretary, Mrs. C. W. Bush; 
Christian citizenship, Mrs. H. Mitchell; birthday secretary, Mrs. C. H. Hibbard; 
bequest and devise secretary, Mrs. W. Hansen. 

Men's Club: president, W. W. Shaw, Jr.; 1st vice-president, E. E. McBride; 
2nd vice- president, Fred J. Hussey; 3rd vice- president, W. L. Irish; 4th vice- 
president, J. S. Kelly; secretary and treasurer, J. C. Miller. 

Epworth League: president, Marvin Lane; 1st vice president, Vera Pastor; 

2nd vice-president, Dorothy Moore; 3rd vice-president, Marjorie Shepard; 4th 

vice-president, Jlne Steck; secretary, Dollie Abrams; treasurer, Arndt Erickson. 

Erickson. 

High School League: counselor, Rev. C. A. Bloomquist; president, John 

Wagner; 1st vice-president, Dorothy Meredith; 2nd vice-president, Isabelle 

March; 3rd vice-president, Harry Mitchell; 4th vice-president, Sarah Bouska; 

secretary, Virginia Elliott; treasurer, Helen Hansen; pianist and assistant, 

Mildred Kelly and Janet Eichenberger. 

Intermediate League: counselor, Mrs. Ethlynne A. Bruce; president, Paul 

Nelson; 1st vice-president, June Underwood; 2nd vice-president, John Gilbert; 

3rd vice-president, Merle Irish; 4th vice-president, Jane Davis; secretary, 

Harold Jauch; treasurer, Richard Jauch; pianist, Merle Irish. 

Choir: director, Inez Hubbard Hicks; pianist, Mary Carnduff Black; president, 

P. M. Black; 1st vice-president, R. W. Canfield; 2nd vice-president, C. E. 



THE STOEY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 157 

Rideout; 3rd vice-president, Mildred Sweetman; secretary-treasurer, Louise 
Koeck. 

Sunday School: superintendent, C. D. Nickey; superintendent adult depart- 
ment, E. E. MoBride; superintendent senior department, C. H. Hibbard; junior 
and intermediate department superintendent, A. M. Reed; primary department 
superintendent, Mrs. P. M. Black; beginners department superintendent, Mrs. 

E. M. Hardine; secretary, Harry Clark; assistant secretary, Frank Bouska; 
financial secretary, R. W. Canfield; enrollment and absentee secretary, Mrs. 
R. A. Bruce; treasurer, P. M. Black; missionary and temperance superinten- 
dent, Mrs, N. T. Palmer; cradle roll superintendent, Mrs. C. E. Rideout; 
chorister, Lester Blackman; pianist, Vera Pastor. 

Teachers — Beginners: Mrs. E. M. Hardine, superintendent; Mrs. Roy Drew, 
Louise Harris, Mrs. W. R. Greenlee, Mabel Ludy, Mrs. S. A. Pedersen, Mrs. 
A. E. Richardson, Mrs. C. E. Rideout: Primary: Mrs. P. M. Black, superinten- 
dent; Isabelle March, Mrs. J. P. Bennett, Mrs. Harold Jauch, Marian Hibbard, 
Mrs. C. W. Bush, Mrs. H. S. McQuarrie, Salina Kirby, Freida Galland, Mrs. C. 
D. Nickey, S. T. Jacobs, Mrs. S. T. Jacobs: Junior and Intermediate: A. M. 
Reed, superintendent; Gwen Hole, Mrs. John A. Low, Mrs. L. J. Merrill, 
Andrew White, Vera Pastor, Mrs. L. L. Carpenter, Mrs. W. P. Conyers, Mrs. 
L. D. Parsons, A. J. Ruckert, Mrs. John H. Fitch, Mr. Saulstrom, Mrs. J. W. 
Craig, N. T. Palmer, Mrs. H. R. Courtice, E. M. Hardine, C. E. Rideout: Senior: 
C. H. Hibbard, superintendent; Mrs. A. M. Reed, Mrs. F F. Vallette, Dr. L. O. 
Morgan, O. W. Sutch, Mrs. E. F. Grabow, Dorothy Lock, W Lee Fergus, Mrs. 
Inez Hubbard Hicks, P. M. Black, Mrs. O. A. Elliot, Mrs. C. A. Bloomquist, 
L. Dow Nichol: Adult Department: E. E. McBride, superintendent; Mrs. Fran- 
ces E. Ingersol and H. H. Simmons. 

Officers Free Methodist Church: Rev. Helen I. Root, pastor: board of trustees; 
William F. Jensen, president; Joseph T. Hart, treasurer; Roy L. Shepard, sec- 
retary; David Suttie, E. B. Middleton: Roy L. Shepard, Sunday School super- 
intendent; secretary, Mrs. Hall; teachers: J. T. Hart, William F. Jensen, Miss 
Root, Mrs. Hill, Miss Green, Mrs. Mabel F. Carson: president Woman's Mis- 
sionary Society, Helen I. Root. 

Officers of St. Mark's Episcopal Church: rector, Rev. D. A. McGregor; war- 
dens: F. B. Wyckoff, J. M. Young; vestrymen: Joel Baker, G. B. Goodrich, 
C. E. Hoyt, M. J. Milmoe, H. E. Richardson, O. M. Roessel, H. G. Wilson: 
superintendent Church School: H. M. Prime; assistant superintendent Church 
School, G. T. Jennings: teachers: Mrs. L. J. Hiatt, Mrs. G. B. Goodrich, Mrs. 

F. L. Piatt, Mrs. F. D. Schook, Miriam Gregg, Mrs. C. M. Clarke, Mrs. H. 
Bradshaw, Mrs. Jesse Scott, Mrs. F. J. Benthey, Mrs. W. S. Miller, Mrs. P. Q. 
Griffiths, F. Tremblay, H. Gregg, Geo. Capps, H. G. Wilson, Joel Baker, J. M. 
Young, Rev. D. A. McGregor: treasurer Church School, L. L. Ellsworth; 
secretary Church School, Joe Milmoe. 

Women's Guild: president, Mrs. H. M. Lesh; 1st vice-president, Mrs. F. Q. 
Newton; 2nd vice-president, Mrs. Wm. F. Pelham; secretary, Mrs. G. M. 
Griggs; treasurer, Mrs. A. W. Rathbun. 

St. Margaret's Chapter: president, Mrs. A. S. Flett; vice-president, Mrs. F. Q. 
Newton; secretary, Mrs. M. Schultz; treasurer, Mrs. D. K. Jones. 
Men's Club: president, W. A. Rohm; vice-president, T. V. Parke; secretary, 
J. H. Stevens; treasurer, Alfred Arthur. 

Daughters of the King: director, Mrs. L. J. Hiatt; president, Miriam Gregg; 
vice-presidents, Mrs. R. Tillman, Charlotte Lesh; secretary, Mary Buell; treas- 
urer, Mrs. S. Elsy. 



158 THE STOBY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 

Officers of the First Baptist Church: acting pastor, G. D. Franklin; moderator, 
Manly C. Wareham; deacons, Frank Sheahan, W. S. Abell, M. J. Evans, C. E. 
Pray, Fred Oldenberg, Mr. Creel; deaconesses, Mrs. C. E. Pray, Mrs. C. A. 
Carlson, Mrs. E. Daniels, Mrs. Frank Sheahan; trustees, H. O. Harriman, 
Joseph Wassell, M. C. Wareham, Robert Thompson, J. A. Nelson, C. A. Carlson ; 
treasurer, H. O. Harriman; assistant treasurer, Chas. R. Corwine; clerk, Mrs. 
Bessie Thompson; corresponding- secretary, Mrs. T. S. Grafton; superintendent 
of Sunday School, Frank Sheahan; assistant superintendent of Sunday School, 
T. S. Grafton; secretary of Sunday School, B. A. Nelson; treasurer of Sunday 
School, H. O. Harriman; teachers, G. D. Franklin, U. S. Abell, W. K. Pierce, 
F. L. Smith, H. O. Harriman, Mrs. E. L. Daniels, Mrs. C. Pray, Mrs. W. K. 
Pierce, Mrs. John Tingley, Addie Gordon, Rowena Tingley; superintendent of 
cradle roll, Mrs. H. O. Harriman; primary superintendent, Mrs. U. S. Abell. 
Woman's Missionary Societay: president, Mrs. John Tingley; vice-president, 
Mrs. C. Pray; secretary, T. S. Grafton; treasurer, Mrs. Robert Thompson. 
Senior B. Y. P. U.: president, Elizabeth Sheahan; Intermediate B. Y. P. U.: 
Douglas Eadie; permanent council representatives: Manly C. Wareham, Mrs. 
Robert Thompson; Baptist Executive Council representative: H. O. Harriman. 

Officers of the First Presbyterian Church: pastor, Rev. Leslie G. Whitcomb; 
elders, L. H. Chamberlin, clerk; Philip Ganzhorn, S. S. Montgomery, F. C. 
Braeutigam, W. N. Graves, J. Andrew Myers, R. V. Emmons, D. W. Alspaugh, 
Cyrus B. Stafford; deacons, G. E. Merkes, chairman; V. E. Jefferson, Donald 
Gawne, L, L. Kunz, L. H. Halvorsen, W. R. Zollinger, L. W. Temple; trustees, 
Earl Twichell, chairman; William Gawne, F. W. Gulbrandsen, W. J. Russel, 
W. N. Graves, J. G. Wozencraft, Dr. J. C. Morrow, Carl R. Gray, Jr. 
Departmental Heads: Sunday School superintendent, F. C. Braeutigam; secre- 
tary, Louis Temple. 

Woman's Society: president, Mrs. J. C. Morrow; circle chairmen, Mrs. T. B. 
Webster, Mrs. T. Soma, Mrs. E. S. McLeod, Mrs. Fred Steinhoff. 
Christian Endeavor: Rev. Leslie G. Whitcomb; Junior Endeavor, Mrs. J. G. 
Wozencraft. 

St. Petronille Roman Catholic Church: Rev. Walter L. Fasnacht, pastor. 




THE STOBY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 



159 



) > \\\ '«.'| 



¥^ f f * *mm P|lPH0| 






Forest Hill Cemetery 

The land was given by David Christian, 1833-34-35. For many years 
Philo Stacy took care of it. It is now administered as an association 
with J. D. McChesney, Allen Myers and Wilbur Cooper as directors. 
There are many soldiers buried in it from the War of 1812, the Mexican 
War, the Civil War, the Spanish- American War and the World War. The 
following list is from the records of J. D. McChesney: 



Soldiers of the Civil War buried 

Ackerman, Alonzo 
Ackerman, Miles 
Ackerman, John D. 
Brooks, E. H. 
Brody, James 
Bradshaw, Francis M. 
Butterfield, George J. 
Chittenden, Henry J. 
Churchill, Amos 
Churchill, W. H. 
Christian, Chas. Wesley 
Dean, George A. 
Farley, A. D. 
Fenemore, Henry 
Foulke, Nathan 
Fruendenburg, Chas. 
Caddis, Jacob 
Groff, John 
Hambloek, Peter 
Hubbard, E. B. 
Hull, Frank 
Hull, J. B. 
Janes, Albert S. 
Jenkins, J. W. 
Jones, Enos 
Jones, David 
Jonas, Thomas 
Johnson, O. F. 
Kelley, David 
Kemp, Jesse H. 
Laier, Jacob 



in Forest Hill Cemetery 

Le Baron, Edw. S. 
Mertz, Owen 
Meisner, Geo. 
Murcer, J. H. 
Myers, William Henry 
Myers, Frederick A. 
Myers, E. R. 
Myers, Charles 
McChesney, J. R. 
Newton, William C. 
Owings, Charles 
Penrose, William 
Phelps, Chas. S. 
Potter, Dr. H. S. 
Richardson, John 
Robertson, George H. 
Smith, John F. 
Schmidt, Frederick 
Sandercock, George 
Sollenburger, Valentine B. 
Stacy, Philo W. 
Sanderson, W. L. 
Slyter, Charles 
Valentine, C. 
Valdine, H. W. 
Walker, A. R. 
Wagoner, William A. 
Wareham, C. H. 
Way, Edmund 
Wagner, Joseph 
Yalding, H. W. 



160 



TEE STOEY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 



Soldiers from other wars buried in Forest Hill Cemetery 

WAR OF 1812 

Winslow Churchill 
John Ballard 
Dr. Bonny 
William Dodge 



Daniel Fish 
William J. Johnson 
Nathan Homes 
Moses Stacy 



MEXICAN WAR 



Warren Hubbard 



SPANISH-AMERICAN WAR 

Chas. E. Donly C. G. McClelland 

John Laier John C. Peterson 



WORLD WAR 



William Achterfeld 
Wilbur H. Johnson 
Andrew F. Wagner 



Axel Arvidson 
Charles Regal 
James McClelland. 




THE STOBY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 161 



GENEALOGIES 



BY 



Bessie Clute Huwen 



162 



THE STOBY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 



First marker placed by 

Anan Harmon Chapter D. A. R. 

in Stacy Park 




1834 

"Dedicated to the memory of the pioneers of this district, first called 
Babcock's Grove, next Du Page Center, then Stacy Corners, St. Charles 
Road. 

f The buffalo trace — 
The Indian trail — 
Lo! the white race, 
The ways of God prevail." 

Erected by Anan Harmon Chapter, Daughters of the American 
Revolution, 1925. 

"Boulder taken from Busch farm." 

Dedicated Flag Day, June 14, 1925. 

— Inscription on Marker. 



f 



THE STOEY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 163 

ACKERMAN 

rjYOHN DAVIS ACKERMAN was born in Saratoga, Saratoga County, N. Y., 

October 24, 1799, died September 11, 1859. Parents were natives of 

Holland. Married Lurania Churchill, born February 15, 1802, in Branden, 
Rutland County, Vermont; she was a daughter of Deacon Winslow Churchill. 
The marriage occurred in January, 1825, in Comittus, Onondaga County, N. Y. 
They came west in 1834, settling on St. Charles Road, east of Five Corners, 
on the south side of the road. Their family consisted of five children, one 
having died in infancy: Winslow, born July 21, 1826; Elbyron, born December 
18, 1828; Miles, born October 18, 1832; Erastus, born July 6, 1835, and Alonzo, 
born July 30, 1838. The first three were born in Comittus, N. Y., and the last 
two at Newton's Station (now Glen Ellyn), DuPage County, Illinois. 

Winslow married Parmelia Holmes August 22, 1849; four children: Eben, 
Lorena, Perry and Adella. Adella married Eugene House. They had two 
children: Harry (lives in Chicago), and Ida, who married William Madison in 
Chicago, but now resides in Glen Ellyn. 

Elbyron married Mary Jane Russell, of South Elgin; two children: Adel- 
bert (married Anna Ellis, of Bloomingdale), and Alice, who married William 
Ingraham, also of Bloomingdale. 

Miles married 1852, first, Jane Cox, native of England, and second, Mary 
Finnemore. Miles' children were Edwin M., Emma, Charles and Fannie. 

Miles was a corporal in Company H, 141st Illinois Infantry, Civil War, 
enlisted 1864. 

Erastus married. Wife's name, Irene. Lived in Michigan. 

Alonzo died November 25, 1917. Married Mary S. Coffin, of Danby, 1856, 
born July 29, 1835, in Wackendorf, Germany; died August 6, 1921. Their 
children were: 

1. Mary, born January 3, 1860; married Adelbert Sherman, of Danby; 
one child, May, married Charles Brown; resides in New Jersey. 

2. Ellen, born March 3, 1861; married Sanford Taylor, of Wheaton; their 
child, Louis Walter Taylor, married; lives in LaGrange. 

3. Matilda, born August 8, 1862; married Carol Locke, of Eton, Ohio; 
no children. Mrs. Locke now a widow; resides in her father's house. 

4. William A. D., born December 14, 1866; bachelor; died November 8, 
1913. 

5. Minna, born July 15, 1869; died February 18, 1900; married John 
Hogsette in Oak Park. Child, Gertrude A., married William McClanahan who 
died 1912, leaving one child, Jessie, born in 1911 in Oak Park. Gertrude 
married, 2nd, Robert Smith in 1914 at Oak Park; one child, Robert, born in 
1923 there. This Smith family now resides in Glen Ellyn on Main Street, north 
of Five Corners. 

6. Harriet, born November 18, 1871; married James Clark, of Naperville 
in 1888. Children, 1, Hazel, born July 4, 1889; married Harry Mills in Chicago; 
their children: first baby died in infancy, Harry, born in Austin, and Robert, 
born in 1915 in St. Paul, Minnesota. Hazel married, 2nd, Harold Smith. They 
had been married not quite a year when he died. Hazel married, 3rd, Joseph 
Halvorsen in 1923; they have one child, William Guild, born December 29, 
1924, in Elgin, Kane County, Illinois. Mr. and Mrs. Halvorsen, as well as 
Mrs. Clark, now live in Glen Ellyn. Harriet Clark had a son, Howard, born 
1894, who served in the Marines as corporal on the Olympic; died September, 
1922. He married Clara Rogers at Brooklyn, N. Y. They had three children, 
Roger, Harriett and James. 

7. Angeline, born November 6, 1873, died April 7, 1904; married Edward 
Locke in Oak Park. He was a brother of her sister Matilda's husband. 
Angeline's and Edward's children were Alvin Edward, born February 9, 1897 
in Eden, Ohio; now resides in Glen Ellyn on St. Charles Road with his aunt, 
Matilda, and Gladys Myrtle, born May 20, 1898 in Oak Park. 



164 THE STOEY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 

BOYD 

ru\ G. BOYD came to Glen Ellyn (then Prospect Park) in 1873; was a member 
ItV^. of Boyd Bros., hardware merchants, who built the Junta building, where 
~ they had the post office for fourteen years, and also built the store now 
occupied by Patch Bros., their successors. Mr. Boyd and family attended the 
Congregational church and he was at all times active and interested in all 
civic activities of the town. 

R. G. Boyd married on January 15, 1885, Jennie P. Miner, daughter of 
Salmon and Phebe Miner. iShe was born in Dover, New Hampshire, and came 
to Glen Ellyn (then Prospect Park) in 1881. Mr. and Mrs. Boyd were the 
parents of two daughters: Pearl A., born December 14, 1890, married Alexander 
Cameron Duncan September 25, 1913, at Glen Ellyn, Illinois, and Ruth G., 
born June 9, 1893, married Chas. W. Bremner September 25, 1913. 

Grandchildren of Mr. and Mrs. R. G. Boyd are: Alexander Cameron Dun- 
can, born August 23, 1914; Bruce Miner Duncan, born May 8, 1917; Donald 
Norman Duncan, born April 14, 1920; Robert Boyd Bremner, born July 19, 
1914; Willis Charles Bremner, born March 6, 1918, and Stewart Douglas 
Bremner, born February 19, 1923. 

The Duncans and Bremners all reside with Mrs. Boyd, who is a widow, in 
the Boyd home in Glen Ellyn. 

REV. HOPE BROWN 

<J|J EV. HOPE BROWN, pastor of the Congregational Church at Naperville 
jj\ in 1845, came from Shirley, Massachusetts. He figured prominently in the 
^- early days of the academy in Naperville which has for a number of years 
been used for a public school but has now, this past year, been torn down to 
make room for an up-to-date building. He was a potent influence in the 
religious and educational life in Naperville in his time. 

Rev. Hope Brown's eldest daughter, Katherine Fuller Brown, graduated 
from Rockford Seminary in 1855 and in 1857 married Alexander Kerr, who 
was born in Aberdeen, Scotland, but came to this country when a small child. 
They lived in Georgia until the outbreak of the civil war, when they returned 
to Illinois. 

Alexander Kerr came to Joliet, Illinois, in 1838, when he was ten years 
old. He attended the public school there and three years later moved to 
Rockford, where he attended the district school, entering Rockford College in 
1851. The next year he matriculated at Beloit College as a sophomore. He 
graduated with honors in 1855, receiving an A. M. degree in 1858. While in 
Georgia he taught at Brown wood Institute. After his return to Illinois he 
was superintendent of schools of Winnebago County for a number of years. 
From 1871 to 1907 Alexander Kerr was professor of Greek at the University 
of Wisconsin where he was retired on a Carnegie pension. From 1903 until 
1920 he was engaged in the translation of Plato's Republic from the original 
Greek. He died at the age of 92 at his home in Madison. 

Charles Hope Kerr, the oldest son of Alexander Kerr, married May 
Walden, daughter of Theron D. and Elizabeth Gribling Walden at Metamora, 
Illinois. May Walden Kerr was born September 3, 1865; they settled in Glen 
Ellyn on Hillside Ave., where their daughter, Katherine, was born August 1, 
1894, and still resides, married to M. Maxon Moore (married July 11, 1913), 
the son of Dell and Nellie Collins Moore. The Moore's have two sons born in 
the house where they live, Malcolm Charles, born February 1, 1917, and 
Marvin Douglas, born June 5, 1921. 

Rev. Hope Brown had two daughters besides Katharine — Mrs. Moses 
Hinman, of Naperville, who cared for him in his last years, and Mrs. Joseph 
Lyford, of Guilford township, near Cherry Valley, Illinois. 



TEE STORY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 165 

BUSCH 

<"jY OHN BUSCH, after a voyage of ten weeks on the ocean, arrived in this 
11 country from West Phal, Prussia, May! 20, 1847, aged 16 years. He 
^ obtained a job on a farm at Bloomingdale at $6.00 a month. In 1855 on 

June 15 he married Barbara Stark, of Cloverdale (then called North Prairie). 

She had come to this country when nine years old from Overstren, Bavaria. 

Her brothers were said to comprise the first band in Chicago. The family 

consisted of five boys and two girls. Her father, John Stark, is prominent in 

pioneer DuPage County annals. 

John Busch bought forty acres from Moses Stacy, including the place on 
Geneva Road where Allen Myers now lives (a log house was there then), but 
only kept this place two or three years when he sold his place and went to 
Cloverdale. In 1869 he bought the farm now occupied by his youngest son, 
Harry. At that time the farm was between 190 and 200 acres. Part of the 
present house was the original one and the granary and the old barn there are 
buildings moved from Stacy's Corners — the one having been a store and the 
other a livery stable. 

John and Barbara Busch were the parents of the following: Balger, born 
July 2, 1856; Adam, born November 1, 1859; Carrie, born October 31, 1861, 
married Thaddeus Meilfeldt, of Cloverdale; Mary, born July 12, 1865, married 
Albert Engelschall, Glen Ellyn; Hattie, born May 30, 1867, married Ed. Reidy, 
Lisle; and Harry, born April 28, 1881, married Edith Meris December 12, 1909, 
at Ontario, California; she died July 6, 1923. They had the following children: 
Lillian, married William Newman August 1, 1928; Harvey, deceased; John, 
Esther, Violet. On July 30, 1928, Harry Busch married again, to Minnie 
Traubelot. 

Albert and Mary Engelschall, married June 25, 1889, were the parents of 
two children: Ray, born June 27, 1890, and Roma, born June 2, 1895. 

Ray Engelschall married Magdalene Schramer at Winfield October 5, 1915. 
They have one child, Albert, born October 1, 1916. 

Roma Engelschall married Charles J. Maurer August 29, 1923. They 
have three children: Mary, born March 27, 1925; Gertrude, born December 9, 
1926, and Carol Anne, born May 10, 1928. 

Mrs. Albert Engelschall died in the summer of 1928. Albert Engelschall 
and the Maurers reside in Glen Ellyn now on Park Blvd. 

A BRIEF GLANCE BACK— by Amos Churchill 

-rr»EACON WINSLOW CHURCHILL and family, consisting of six sons and 
lp four daughters came to DuPage county in June, 1834. They came by 
boat to Chicago from Syracuse, New York. On arriving at Chicago they 
started by ox team for the Bob Reed (Elmhurst) settlement. The Chicago 
prairie to Oak Ridge, what is now Oak Park, was covered with water and 
above the water was prairie grass and wild flowers were in bloom, waving in 
the breeze which made an interesting sight. At this point Major Churchill, 
next to the oldest son, returned and took the same boat on its passage. The 
balance continued their journey to the Bob Reed Settlement, where some 
friends had preceded them. 

From here Deacon Churchill and three of his sons went on a tour of 
sight-seeing and prospecting, and finally located on the east bank of the 
DUPage River, and on the north side of what is now St. Charles Road. Here 
they built the first log house that was built in this section of the county, on 
the south side of Lake Street, next to the river, and on the opposite side was 
an Indian camp. Those Indians were friendly but very curious, watching every 
move that was made. They came at meal time and stood at the door, and 
watched and wanted to inspect any and every package that came. A box of 
axes came, and they would lift it and exclaim, ";Schoniey, schoniey," thinking 



166 THE STOBY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 

it might be money; so Deacon Churchill had to open it and let them see what 
it was. One of the boys, Mr. Seth Churchill, they did not like and kept their 
distance from him. They had a trail that led across the river just north of the 
present bridge, and across the Busch farm, leading up to what is now Bloom- 
ingdale. They used to hunt and trap in all directions; they had another camp 
up near the Army Trail. This Army Trail was the first trail that had ever 
been used, and has since become known as the public highway from Chicago 
to Elgin. 

After having decided to locate here, Mr. Seth and Bradford Churchill 
started for Chicago with two pair of oxen. They followed what is now St. 
Charles Road, making the first track, which has ever since been used as a 
public highway. On coming to Des Plaines River, there being no bridge, it 
became necessary to ford the stream. The water at this time of the year was 
high. In crossing, Bradford Churchill rode the rear ox on the near side, and 
Seth stood on the top of the wagon box, one foot on each side, holding himself 
with a long stick. When the oxen went down into the water, it left Bradford 
floating on the surface of the water, and when the current struck the wagon it 
tipped over and the two men were floating about, but managed to get hold of 
the wagon. The oxen swam out, and with them brought wagon and men. On 
coming back they unloaded the goods, and constructed a foot path across and 
carried the goods over on their backs, letting the oxen swim over with the 
wagon. They then loaded and pursued their journey over the same road they 
had come in on. 

In locating and building their houses they all worked together and man- 
aged in that way to make quick work. It was a jolly bunch and they got much 
enjoyment out of it. There were five log houses built and one from hewn tim- 
bers and rough boards. The next year two log houses were built and one 
school house. The school house was built on the road leading past the Springs, 
up on the hill on the left hand side, in rear of Mrs. Rieck's close to the road, 
as it is now. When the school district was formed it included District 41, and 
the Forest Glen school. This log school house was used for a number of years, 
then it was discontinued and a wooden building was built, directly across Main 
Street, opposite the present Forest Glen school. 

It was a small building with windows, 7" x 9", one story high. When you 
entered, you came to the Reception room, which was used for a recitation 
room; all classes standing in line across the floor, sometimes in two lines in all 
recitations. Leading from that were two aisles, a row of desks and seats on 
each side 6" wide. The seats were common lumber and not painted. In the 
corner could be seen four to six ironwood whips four to six feet long, and on 
the desk a black oak ruler, and inch and a half wide to eighteen inches long. 

These were to maintain order. One Charles Dickinson was whipped with 
one ironwood, went home and to bed, became sick and died. A Mr. Lawrence 
was the teacher. This same teacher attempted to whip the writer of this 
article; he jumped out of the window and made good his escape. Later the 
district was divided and a school building was built where the Duane school 
building now stands. It later was sold to Dr. Saunders and is now used by the 
gas company. Another frame building was built standing where the Forest 
Glen school building now stands. 

The people now sought for a place of worship, and they held meetings 
in the several homes till a new school building was built. A little later, a 
church building was put up by the Baptist Society, on the west side of St. 
Charles Street, opposite the Stacy homestead. At this church all the people 
worshipped, and when it was church time people could be seen coming from 
all directions; some on foot, many with oxen teams and a very few horse 
teams. The people worshipped in this church until Civil War times, when the 
church was sold to the Congregational society, and moved to Danby, what is 
now Glen Ellyn, and located on the lot now owned by McChesney. Afterwards 
it was sold to Dr. Saunders, and now is used as his residence. 



THE STORY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 167 

Up to the coming of the railroad in 1849, Stacy's Corners was the town 
and a very busy place. There was one large store, two blacksmith shops, a 
wagon shop, a shoe shop, and a Farmer's hotel. On this main road leading to 
Chicago could be seen all kinds of vehicles carrying produce to Chicago from 
as far west as Rock River, taking five to ten days to make the round trip. 
The traffic was so dense that it was difficult to cross the road. When the 
railroad came a railroad depot was built close to Main Street, on the east side. 
On the southwest side a hotel was built; afterwards moved across the street. 
Another hotel was built where the Glen Ellyn State Bank now stands, and on 
the opposite corner, where the DuPage Trust Co. now stands, was built by 
Henry Benjamin, a department store. From that time Glen Ellyn has been 
growing. 

This part of DuPage county was rapidly filling up; it was an interesting 
sight to see the breaking teams, consisting of two and three pair of oxen to 
plow, plowing all summer long, turning under wild grass and all kinds of 
wild flowers; immense droves of birds, wild deer and wild wolves, and also to 
see prairie chickens, wild pigeons, wild ducks. I have stood on my father's 
door step and shot prairie chickens off the hog pen, and have seen droves of 
deer and wolves. The wolves usually came around the house at night and 
howled so we could not sleep. We used to have prairie fires extending for 
miles, and usually at night. It was a great sight to see the wild animals and 
birds fleeing before the flames. My father (Isaac Bradford) was burned out 
twice. 

My father's house was built in 1841-2, and in the winter of those years 
he moved into it with an ox team and a sleigh, which contained all he had. 
The house was a little frame house with 7x9 windows, and a kitchen, dining 
room, sitting room and parlor were all used as one room. Later my sister and 
myself slept in a trundle bed. At that time there were no magazines or read- 
ing matter except the New York Tribune, which came once a week, and the 
Bible and our Country's History. 

At evening we would sit around the table and read; candles were used 
for lighting, and the big kitchen stove with wood for fuel. The community 
interest was ideal, no factions, no cliques, but friends and neighbors and they 
lived and enjoyed each other. They all went to meeting, singing school, spell- 
ing school and dancing parties which were quite numerous. The surround- 
ings were clean and pure and most all participated. Three holidays were ob- 
served by all in a way befitting the occasion — Thanksgiving, Christmas and 
July 4th. 

It may be interesting to know that Chicago was the only market and 
that farmers were hauling their grain and vegetables to the city with ox teams. 
Potatoes sold as low as ten cents a bushel; oats 18 to 25 cents, and wheat 35 
to 50 cents; butter 8 to 16 cents. My father bought ten cows for $8.00 per 
head. I have hauled hay to Chicago with an ox team myself. 

I might relate one incident to illustrate the boyish tricks of the young 
people. My father had 50 head of cattle, and one June day he and moither went 
to town. The cattle came home early, went into the yard and laid down to 
stretch and chew their cud. I went into the house, got the turpentine bottle 
and went into the yard and sneaked close up to the rear of the animals, put a 
few drops of turpentine on the roots of their tails. By the time I go't out of 
the yard they were tearing up the ground, with heads and tails in the air 
and bellowing enough to frighten the natives. Just then father and mother 
came driving up from town at full speed. Father jumped out of the wagon and 
demanded to know the cause. I told him I could not tell him. Fortunately, 
no one was hurt, but I often had a good laugh about it. Two weeks later I told 
father and then he enjoyed the trick as well as I did. 

This is only one of many things that young people did to enjoy themselves. 
As between the pioneer days and the present time give me the pioneer days. 



168 THE STOBY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 

There are a great many incidents and scenes that might be related, but there is 
hardly time or space to relate them in this manner. I should enjoy very much 
standing in the presence of our people and relate what I know about these 
pioneer days. 

AMOS CHURCHILL, 
1842-1922 

Children of Amos and Marilla Churchill: Jessie Marilla, born June 19, 
1868, married Benjamin Burr Curtis, June 19, 1886, Glen Ellyn; Jennie Eliza- 
beth, born September 14, 1870, married Lewis Townsend, April 22, 1891, Glen 
Ellyn; Josie Marin tha, born November 29, 1872, married George Whittle, June 
2, 1891, Glen Ellyn; Julia Almeda, born May 21, 1875, died August 22, 1875; 
Adeline Barker, born December 19, 1877, married James Birney Lorbeer, 
December 2, 1905, Glen Ellyn; Fannie Belle, born December 9, 1880, married 
Clarence Rowland, June 18, 1900, Glen Ellyn; Rhoda Virginia, born October 2, 
1885, married Lester Aldridge in November 1921, Santa Monica, California; 
Amos, born December 28, 1888, married Violet Lapham, in November 1921, 
Santa Monica, California. 

Grandchildren of Amos and Marilla Bronson Churchill 

Children of Jessie Marilla and B. B. Curtis: Ruby Berenice, born August 
23, 1887, died January 27, 1888, Glen Ellyn; Arthur Benjamin, born June 25, 
1889, Geneva, Nebraska, died September 29, 1890; Clarence Rhea, born No- 
vember 23, 1891, married Dorothy Smith October 24, 1915, Glen Ellyn; Willard 
Churchill, born December 17, 1895, died January 25, 1896, Glen Ellyn; Esther 
M., born November 28, 1899, married Carl C. Ament April 9, 1926, Glen Ellyn; 
Wendell Burr, born July 21, 1905, married Glendora Hill September 3, 1927, 
Sycamore, Illinois. 

Great grandchildren of Amos — grandchildren of Jessie: Dorothy Jean, 
child of Clarence Rhea, born September 25, 1916, Glen Ellyn; Hope Elizabeth, 
child of Clarence Rhea, born May 26, 1918, Lombard; Charles Benjamin, child 
of Clarence Rhea, born March 31, 1920, Lombard; Luana Marie, child of Clar- 
ence Rhea, born September 21, 1922, Geneva, Illinois; Virginia, child of Clar- 
ence Rhea, born October 30, 1924, Wheaton; Marilla Jane, child of Esther 
Ament, born July 3, 1927, Elmhurst. 

Children of Nettie and Joseph Clarke (Joseph Clarke born July 11, 1850, 
at Whittington, Staffordshire, England. Came to this country, and Danby 
June 30, 1871). Children: Nellie Louise Clarke, born October 5, 1882, at- Pros- 
pect Park, died April 12, 1884; Bessie Marilla Clarke, born April 1, 1884, at 
Prospect Park, Illinois; Joseph Perry Clarke, born July 17, 1886, at Prospect 
Park, Illinois; Agnes Ellen Clarke, born June 25, 1889, at Prospect Park, 
Illinois; Isaac Bradford Clarke, born February 27, 1893, at Prospect Park, 
Illinois; Ruth Nettie Clarke, born August 8, 1895, at Prospect Park, Illinois. 

Bessie Marilla Clarke, born April 1, 1884, at Prospect Park, Illinois. 
Lewis Wetzel MacDonald, husband of Bessie, born April 8, 1879, at Centerville, 
Ohio, married at Butte, Montana, February 8, 1901. Children: Charles Clarke 
MacDonald, born November 15, 1902, at Glen Ellyn, Illinois, lieutenant U. S. 
Navy; Loretta Christine Miller, wife of Charles Clarke, married May 21, 1927, 
at Pensacola, Florida. 

Joseph Perry Clarke, born July 17, 1886, at Prospect Park, Illinois. 
Zannie Lair Smith, wife of Joseph Perry Clarke, born in Missouri, married at 
Chadron, Nebraska, December 7, 1915. 

Agnes Ellen Clarke, born June 25, 1889, at Prospect Park, Illinois, 
Fred Samuel Beezley, husband of Agnes Ellen Clarke, born December 15, 1886, 
at Chicago, Illinois, married April 2, 1910, at Waukegan, Illinois. Children: 
Ellen Beatrice Beezley, born May 4, 1911, at Deadwood, South Dakota; Betty 
Jane Beezley, born January 21, 1918, at Deadwood, South Dakota; Patricia 
Clarke Beezley, born January 11, 1927, at Wheaton, Illinois. 



THE STOBY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 169 

Isaac Bradford Clarke, born February 27, 1893, at Prospect Park, Illinois. 
Elsie Adams Melville, wife of Isaac Bradford Clarke, born April 19, 1898, at 
Chicago, Illinois, married September 27, 1922, at Glen Ellyn, Illinois. Children: 
Margaret Isabelle Clarke, born July 20, 1923, at Wheaton, Illinois. 

Ruth Nettie Clarke, born August 8, 1895, at Prospect Park, Illinois. 
Charles Clarence Loper, husband of Ruth Nettie Clarke, born December 27, 
1898, at Chicago, Illinois, married February 22, 1923, at Glen Ellyn, Illinois. 
Children: Charles Clarke Loper, born May 29, 1925, at Dayton, Ohio; Barbara 
Joanne Loper, born July 19, 1927, at Grand Rapids, Michigan. 

Great grandchildren of Isaac — grandchildren of Amos. Children of Josie 
and George Whittle: Josie Marie, born April, 1892; Amos Bradford, born Jan- 
uary, 1894, an aviator in the World War, and was killed when his plane fell in 
San Diego Bay, California, while he was there finishing his last course of 
training, September 13, 1918; Margaret H., born November, 1896; Harriet Jane 
and Marilla Bronson, twins, born August, 1902. 

Margaret Whittle and John Nelson were married in 1917, their children 
are: Margaret, born 1918; Jane, born 1920; John, born 1924. Live in Lake 
Geneva, Wisconsin. 

Marilla and Stuart Standish, married in 1922. Children: Amos, born in 
1923; Stuart, born in 1925; Albert, born in 1927. This family resides in Lom- 
bard. 

Harriet Jane married Earl Roberts in 1924. Children: Marie, born in 1926; 
Marilla, born in 1928. They reside in Wheaton. 

Hattie, daughter of Amos, grand-daughter of Isaac Bradford Churchill, 
married Charles Wimpress, December 22, 1880, who came from Elton, Eng- 
land, when 10 years old and whose family settled in DuPage county. They 
were the parents of four children: Margaret Arietta, born June 24, 1882; Clara 
Louise, born December 16, 1886; Clifford Churchill, born March 10, 1894, and 
Edith Elizabeth, born January 15, 1896. 

Margaret Arietta Wimpress on August 1, 1902, married Charles C. Camp- 
bell. Their children: Helen Irene, born September 24, 1903; Harold Wimpress, 
born November 22, 1904; Charles Robert, born January 30, 1909; Donald Ed- 
ward, born August 14, 1914; James Russell, born April 16. 1916; Margaret 
Jean, born July 31, 1923. 

Clara Louise Wimpress, married on May 1, 1920, to John P. Wright. No 
children. 

Clifford Churchill Wimpress married on April 3, 1920, to Wilma E. Horn. 
Children: Virginia May, born November 20, 1921; Winifred Eleanor, born Jan- 
uary 31, 1926, and Richard Stewart, born July 4, 1928. 

Edith Elizabeth Wimpress married Gerald D. Bassett, June 14, 1919. 
Children: Gerald D. Jr., born November 4, 1921, and Jean Lois, born July 1, 
1926. 

February 15, 1893, the Churchill twins celebrated their 91st birthday, the 
oldest twins in the United States and were of such importance as to be 
written up by the Chicago Daily News on that occasion. They were born in 
New York State, Lurania and Christiana Churchill, and came west in their 
young womanhood. Mrs. Ackerman told of coming west: "I sat in this very 
chair up in the wagon all those long and tedious weeks." The chair was a 
straight-backed, rush-bottomed rocker, that had belonged to her grandmother. 
The twins did not look alike, nor ever dress alike. 

Mrs. Ackerman lived with her niece, Mrs. Hattie Wimpress, and Mrs. 
Christian with her youngest son, William Christian. For 50 years, they lived 
on adjoining farms, and until a few years before her death, Mrs. Ackerman 
took care of her own house and cow. 

Said the newspaper of them: "They are now two quaint little women, 
looking slight and frail, with placid, kindly faces and snow white hair drawn 
smoothly down under black lace caps. Mrs. Ackerman dresses in black, Mrs. 



170 THE STORY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 

Christian in gray — but the soft, old-fashioned silk 'kerchief folded around the 
neck and crossing on ,the breast is worn by both." 
Both are buried in Forest Hill Cemetery. 

CHURCHILL 

<5l TOWNSHIP IN FRANCE called Courcil, or Courcelles, in Lorraine, was 
/\ given as a manor to Wandril De Leon, a famous soldier, as early as 
£- 1055 A. D. He had two sons, Richard and Wandril. The first became 

the feudel lord of Montalban; married Yoland, Countess of Luxemburg, and 
from them descended the house of De Leon in France at the present day. 

Wandril De Leon took the name of the manor and became Lord of Courcil, 
married Isabelle De Tuya and had two sons, Roger and Roland De Courcil, 
and thus became the founder of the Courcil (Churchill) family. Roger De 
Courcil followed William the Conquerer into England in 1066 A. D. and re- 
ceived for his services lands in Dorsetshire, Somersetshire, Wiltshire and 
Shropshire. 

The name Churchill is found in English records as Courcelle, Courcil, 
Curichill, Churchil, Churchall, Churchell, and Churchill, the last being the 
accepted form for many generations. The coat-of-arms of the family is: 
Sable, a lion rampant, Argent, debruised with a bendlet, Gules. It was first 
used by Sir John Churchill, of Bradford County, Yorkshire, England. He 
probably inherited it from Bartholomew De Cherchile who was knighted under 
King Stephen. 

John Churchill, the emigrant ancestor of the Plymouth branch of the 
family in America, was born in England and first appeared at Plymouth, 
Massachusetts, in 1643, dying there January 1, 1662 or 1663. No clue to his 
birthplace, parentage or previous residence has been found. 

He married Hannah Pontus, December 18, 1644, and settled at Hobb's Hole, 
in Plymouth, Massachusetts. It is through Hannah Pontus that the May- 
flower ancestry of the Churchill family comes, her relatives being among the 
Pilgrims at Leyden, Holland. She was the daughter of William Pontus who 
was in Plymouth as early as 1633. She was born in 1623 and died at Hobb's 
Hole, December 22, 1690. 

Isaac Churchill, the father of Deacon Winslow Churchill (our pioneer) was 
born in Plymouth, February 22, 1736, the fifth generation from the emigrant, 
John Churchill. He married August 1. 1775, Melatiah Bradford, of Plymton, 
daughter of Joshua and Hannah Bradford, descendent of Governor William 
Bradford, the Mayflower pilgrim. Joshua and Hannah Bradford were killed 
by Indians and their daughter, Melatiah was struck by a tomahawk and bore 
the scar through life. In 1785, Isaac Churchill moved with his family to 
Chittenden, Vermont, where he died on February 25, 1826. He was called 
"Isaac the good" to distinguish him from another of the same name. 

Deacon Winslow Churchill was born in Plymton, Massachusetts, Decem- 
ber 30, 1770, in the sixth generation from the emigrant John. He went with 
his father to Chittenden, Vermont, in 1785. He became a farmer and also a 
mason. He married Mercy Dodge, Thanksgiving Day, 1796. She was the 
daughter of William and Mercy Dodge, of Rutland, Vermont, and was born 
June 15, 1774, passing away February 21, 1863. Her father served in the Revo- 
lution. 

In 1804 he moved his family to Camillus, Onondaga County, New York, 
where he bought a farm and lived for 30 years. The Erie Canal was afters 
wards cut through his farm and he built and ran a boat called the "Growler" 
on the canal. As a member of the New York militia he was called into ssrvice 
for a time in the War of 1812. 

At the age of 64 he embarked on the rigors of pioneer life in a new 
country. He with his family came around the Great Lakes from New York 
State in the steamer "LaGrange." They reached Chicago, June 5, 1834. There 



THE STOBY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 171 

were 11 children in the family, all but one son being in the party with the 
deacon and his wife, Mercy. Three of the sons were married and had their 
families with them. The names of the children were William, Seth, Winslow, 
Major, Isaac Bradford, Hiram, Malinda, Lurania and Christiania, the twins, 
Betsy and Amanda. 

Buying a couple of prairie schooners in Chicago, they set out on the 
journey across the prairie, spending several days on the trip. Their first 
night's stop was at Scott's Tavern, now the town of Lyons (across from 
Riverside). The next stop was at Parson's Tavern, now Lisle — or Naperville? 
From there they went north across the unknown wilderness and arrived at 
Babcock's Grove. Here the deacon built the first log house on St. Charles 
Road just east of the river on a hill that has since been excavated for gravel. 
In spite of his 64 years, he made the first roads, helped build the first school 
house, conducted the first religious meeting, helped built the first cnurch, or- 
ganized the first Sabbath School. He named the township Milton from the old 
Churchill home in Massachusetts. He lived until September 18, 1847, when he 
passed away at Stacy's Corners and lies now in Forest Hill Cemetery. 

Seth Churchill, the eldest son, built a log cabin a half mile east of the 
DuPage River on the same trail. It is still standing and is said to to be the 
oldest house in the county. It was used as a tavern at one time. It was not 
only a home, but served as a school and church. You can still see it standing 
on the north side of the St. Charles Road as you drive past, a tumble- 
down little log building now used as some sort of a farm shelter. 

William Henry Churchill, who passed away in 1927 at the age of 86, son of 
Seth, was born there. His mother was Roxana Ward and both parents were 
born near Syracuse, New York. Seth in 1805, and Roxana in 1808. They 
were married in New York and emigrated with the Churchill family. Their 
children were: Mary Jane, born January 8, 1828, married Erastus Ketcham; 

Myron, born April 23, 1834, married Hannah Driscol; Horace, born ; 

Emily, born August 17, 1838, married Oscar Johnson; and William H., born 
July 17, 1840, married Matilda Crum Sherman. Grandchildren of Seth: Meta 
Johnson married George Bawker; A. E., married Dora Hesterman; Viola, mar- 
ried Frank Crow; Lillian, married Albert Fleming and Oscar, married Ella 
Fleming; Isadora Churchill married Lemuel O. Vance, 1887, at Corinth, Iowa; 
William H. married Amy M. Jordan, 1900, Glen Ellyn; Warren Churchill, 
Orville Churchill. Great grandchildren of Seth: Amy E. Churchill, October 7, 
1902, married Thomas H. Haslam October 3, 1924, Glen Ellyn; Alvin Johnson 
and Lillian Johnson. One great great grandchild, William Robert Haslam, 
son of Amy Churchill Haslam and Thomas Haslam, born November 17th, 1928, 
at the Elmhurst Hospital. Birth registered in DuPage County. 

Amos Churchill, his son, born March 29, 1841, spent his early years on the 
farm and received a common school education and prepared for college. But 
the Civil War came along and at 19 he entered the service, enlisting in Co. D, 
8th Illinois Cavalry, September 1, 1861. His regiment was with the Army of 
the Potomac under General McClellan, and he was engaged in all the battles 
fought till 1863. He served as orderly to General Sumner. He was wounded 
severely in battle, discharged and re-enlisted in the spring of 1864. He was 
elected lieutenant of Co. H, 141st. Regiment of Illinois Volunteers. Later he 
was commander of Post No. 513, G. A. R. In 1866, November 26, he married 
Marilla Bronson, daughter of David and Rhoda Page Bronson of Naperville, 
where she was born March 10, 1846. 

Mr. Churchill was in the lumber business in Glen Ellyn for many years, 
starting the Newton and Churchill Company being in partnership with Lewis 
Newton, brother of the late Roy Newton. He continued in business until he 
sold his interest to William H. Baethke. 

He built about 25 houses in the town. While president of the village board 
he induced the North Western to buy the strip of land for a park and build the 
attractive station we now have. He served earnestly with the Congregational 



172 THE STOBY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 



church, acting as janitor for many years in its lean days and helping in its ad- 
ministration as deacon, only resigning when he moved to California. 

The Churchills were the parents of seven daughters and one son, all of 
whom, but two girls, are living. The daughters deceased are Julia and Mrs. 
Fanny Matson. Those surviving are: Mrs. Jessie Curtis, of Glen Ellyn; Mrs. 
Jennie Townsend, of Hesperia, Michigan; Mrs. Josie Whittle, of Oak Park; 
Mrs. J. B. Lorbeer, of Ocean Park, California; Mrs. Rhoda Aldrich, of Hemmet, 
California; and the son, Amos Churchill, Jr., of Hemmet. 

Amos Churchill passed away in Ocean Park, California, July 15, 1922, and 
his remains were returned to Forest Hill Cemetery. 

Amos Churchill's brothers and sisters were Wealthy Irene, born December 
5, 1843, married twice but have no dates or names; Andrew Zelotus, born 
March 1, 1846 married Celia Kernan, December 2, 1870; Isaac Bradford, born 
February 14, 1849, died Sepember 15, 1856; George Perry, born September 29, 
1851, killed by cars February 24, 1865; Nettie, born July 29, 1855, married 
Joseph Clarke, November 24, 1881, Glen Ellyn; and Hattie, born December 8, 
1857, married Charles Wimpress, December 22, 1880. 

COOPER 

CjrpAWRENCE CHARLES COOPER the son of Charles and Sarah Lawrence 
li^ Cooper was born in England October 15, 1846, while his parents were 
C^ visiting there. When he was four years old he came with his parents to 
Glen Ellyn (then Danby), where he received his early education. He studied 
law and graduated from the University of Michigan in 1868. 

During the Civil War the United Christian Commission, the Red Cross of 
that day, held meetings evening in the Mansion House, where L. C. Cooper 
real aloud the war news and casualties from the front. 

He maintained a room for a while just north of the river in Chicago, where 
he practiced law and lost nearly all his personal possessions in the great 
Chicago fire — even his wedding clothes, for he was to have been married a 
few days later. However, in borrowed attire, he married in 1871 Emma 
Yalding, daughter of Deacon J. P. Yalding of the Congregational Church. 

Lawrence C. Cooper was one of the oldest members of the Chicago Bar 
Association at the time of his death. He had been for more than forty years 
on the legal staff of the Chicago and North Western Railway and was a former 
president and largest stockholder of the Glen Ellyn State Bank. He had been 
at one time counsel for the Guaranty Company of America and for four years 
at one time was State's Attorney of DuPage County. 

Mr. Cooper died March 7, 1923. Mrs. Cooper died in 1908. 

The children of Lawrence Charles and Emma Yalding Cooper are: 
Hermon C, born November 22, 1875, married Agnes Kent Packard, daughter of 
Edward N. Packard, D. D., June 1905, at Stratford, Connecticut. Their chil- 
dren are: Elizabeth P., born March, 1907; Lawrence C, born May, 1909; and 
Cynthia P., born December, 1910. 

Wilbur P. Cooper, second son of Lawrence Charles and Emma Yalding 
Cooper was born July 19, 1884, married April 29, 1916 to Leila Myrtle Chester, 
daughter of Florence Chester, at Downers Grove, Illinois. They have one 
child, Ellyn, born January 12, 1918. 

DODGE 

n{ ABEZ SEYMOUR DODGE came to Illinois in the autumn of 1835. His 

l| father had bought a claim of Ralph and Morgan Babcock. He paid $300 

^ a section for this property which included a part of Babcock's Grove. 

Jabez Seymour Dodge was born August 27, 1822, in Vermont, a son of 

William D., who was a son of William, whose ancestors came from England. 

His mother was a Lyon, a descendant of the same family of Lyons as the 



THE STORY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 173 



brave Gen. Lyon who fell at the battle of Wilson's Creek, Mo. His father had 
come to Illinois in the spring of 1835 and had prepared a home for his family 
who came that fall, reaching Deacon Winslow Churchill's the first of October. 
William D. Dodge died September, 1855, aged 75 years, and his wife died 
January 25, 1870, aged 85. 

Jabez S. Dodge married Almeda J., daughter of Orrin A. Powers, of 
Onondaga, N. Y., December 18, 1848. Almeda J. Powers Dodge was the 
daughter of Marina, daughter of Elijah Ward, a native of Connecticut, and a 
Revolutionary soldier. She died December 9, 1871, aged 81 years, on Gold 
Street, Chicago, Illinois. 

Jabez S. Dodge was exclusively a farmer, the old Dodge farmhouse stood 
on the northwest corner of Hill and Taylor Avenues. When he retired and 
came into Glen Ellyn (then Danby) to live, he built a quaint home that re- 
flected New England influence on the east side of Main Street, just north of 
Acacia Hall, where the foundation is still visible. It was white with green 
blinds and sat back among the trees in dignified reticence. It has been sold 
and remodeled a number of times and now has been moved back to the opposite 
side of the block from which it stood originally, now facing Forest Avenue, 
painted a different color, again remodeled and now the property of Oscar Feist. 

Jabez Seymour and Almeda J. Dodge were the parents of the following 
children: Nelson Powers, born October 9, 1849; Clement Alburtus, born March 
3, 1850; Laura Ada, born March 26, 1854, died August 30, 1856; Ella G. J., 
born November 23, 1857; Willie Burton, born February 1, 1860; Orrin Douglas, 
born June 10, 1862; and Celia May, born January 23, 1865. 

Nelson Powers Dodge married Mary Jane, daughter of John and Anna 
Smith, who were natives of England, April 9, 1873, at Glen Ellyn (then 
Danby). They had three children: Flora May, born November 30, 1876, married 
Luther J. Hiatt, the grandson of Dr. Hiatt, the pioneer doctor of Wheaton and 
vicinity. Dr. Hiatt was born in Fayette County, Indiana. Graduated from the 
Ohio Medical College at Cincinnati and began practicing in Newcastle until 
1854 when he went to Westfield where he remained four years and then came 
to Wheaton. 

He also had an office in Chicago in 1871; was burned out by the great 
Chicago fire and reopened his office in 1872. From 1877 to 1880 he was 
Professor of Surgery in Bennet Medical College of Chicago — this was later 
absorbed by the Northwestern University Medical. Dr. Hiatt's son, Luther 
Lee, born August 2, 1844, married Statira E. Jewett, of New York State, 
October 4, 1865. They were the parents of the aforementioned Luther J. 

Flora May and Luther J. Hiatt are the parents of one child, a son, Kenneth 
Nelson, born December 27, 1901, and now practicing medicine in Glen Ellyn. 

Louis Burton, the second child of Nelson Powers and Mary Jane Dodge, 
was born September 23, 1888, married Alice Cortes January 3, 1910 at Rogers 
Park. Their children are: Louis Burton, born May 27, 1911, and Richard 
Cortes, born May 5, 1915. 

Rose Grace was the third child of Nelson Powers and Mary Jane Dodge. 
She was born March 14, 1892, married William Dieterle at St. Mark's, Glen 
Ellyn, May 5, 1917. They have four children: Harriet Jane, born February 17, 
1918; Carroll, born December 5, 1920; William Edward, born July 28, 1922, 
and Joan, born February 28, 1925. 

Clement Alburtus Dodge married Kate Alicia Templeton at Glen Ellyn 
(then Danby), November 15, 1873. To them were born five children: Bert 
Clement, born September 16, 1875, married Ina Schusler at Geneva, Illinois, 
April 26, 1901 (they have one child, Audrie Henrietta, born September 24, 1904, 
married John L. Rohenkohl July 11, 1923) ; Charles Hardy, born April 26, 1877, 
married Elizabeth Beilow, Fairport, Kansas, January 1, 1900; Seymour Andrew, 
born August 30, 1879, married Ella May Stegers, Russell, Kansas, January 1, 
1904; Martha Almeda, born November 29, 1881, married Richard Henry Eddy 



174 TEE STORY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 

at Fairport, Kansas, May 6, 1901; Eva Bernice, born August 5, 1886, married 
William J. Claig at Fairport, Kansas, May 27, 1906. 

The two daughters of Jabez Seymour Dodge were Ella Grace Jessica and 
Celia May. Ella remained at home and Celia May was an osteopathic doctor, 
graduating at Kirksville, Missouri. 

Orrin Douglas Dodge married Fannie S. Weidman January 29, 1889, and 
lives on the north side of Hillside Avenue, the first house east of Main Street. 
Their only child, a son, Raymond Douglas, born December 20, 1891, died at 
the age of 20 years. 

EHLERS 

TLLIAM EHLERS was born in Washington County, Wisconsin, near 
Milwaukee, September 16, 1856. He came to Glen Ellyn in 1889. On 
September 5, 1892, he began the erection of his hotel. It was of pressed 
brick, three stories high and was considered the finest business building in 
Glen Ellyn. It is now torn down and replaced by the Glen Ellyn State Bank's 
new building (1928). 

The old hotel had 22 rooms for guests, sample rooms, reading rooms, 
private and public parlors, dining rooms and a fine office and bar. There were 
also safety deposit vaults, a barber shop, a laundry, while the third floor was 
fitted up as an elegant dancing hall and society room. It had all the then 
modern improvements in the way of heating, lighting and ventilation. 

Mr. Ehlers married Miss Fredrikia Volksman, of Milwaukee in 1874. They 
had three children: two daughters and a son. Lydia, one of the daughters, 
married Albert M. Kelley, grandson of David Kelley. Their son, Harry Kelley, 
is a grandson of Mr. Ehlers and now lives in New York. See Kelley family. 

GARY 

«/UDE PERIN, Erastus and Orlinda Gary, were the children of William and 
l| Lucy Gary. Their ancestors came from London in 1630, and settled at 
^ Roxbury, Massachusetts. Jude Gary was born in Putnam, Connecticut, 
July 3, 1811. His mother was the daughter of Col. Samuel Perin, formerly an 
English soldier, but who was loyal to the Colonial cause during the Revolution- 
ary War. She became a Methodist and had a great influence over her chil- 
dren's lives, as their father died when Jude was only six years old. He 
joined the Methodist church when he was only 11 years old, and served for 
many years as a circuit rider preacher in the midst of his pioneer activities. 

In 1833 Jude, Erastus and their sister, Orlinda, came west and took up a 
claim at the "Big Woods" near Warrenville. Cutting down the trees they built 
a double log house, the sister keeping house for her two bachelor brothers. 
They built the saw mill on the DuPage River and led a very busy life with 
their farming enterprise beside. 

Jude helped organize the first Methodist church at Gary Mills, the little 
settlement three miles south of Wheaton, on the west bank of the DuPage 
River, (which is no more), in 1837. He was the first superintendent of the 
Sabbath School there. He was probably instrumental in helping build the first 
church at Stacy's Corners in 1839. 

He married Margaret L. Kimball, daughter of Rev. William and Louisa 
Kimball, from Vermont. Rev. Kimball was a Methodist minister who preached 
for 30 years in Kane and DuPage counties, so it's possible that he preached at 
Stacy's Corners. 

In 1848 Jude and Erastus divided their possessions, Erastus taking the 
prairie land, part of which is in the present village of Wheaton. 

Erastus married Susan Vallette and their son was Elbert H. Gary, born 
1846 on their farm near Wheaton. He went to Wheaton College, worked in 
the law office of Vallette and Cody in Naperville, and took a course at the 



TEE STORY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 175 

University of Chicago. He became general counsel for the North Western 
Elevated Company, the Baltimore and Ohio R. R., and several steel companies, 
including the American Steel and Wire Company. He was also president of 
the Chicago Bar Association during this time. In 1882 he was elected judge 
of DuPage County, and was re-elected four years later. He served as president 
of Wheaton's village board and when it was incorporated as a city in 1892 he 
was its first mayor. He formed the American Steel and Wire Company, 
controlling 75% of the steel rod and wire products of the country and was 
prominently connected with the organization of the United States Steel 
Corporation, of which he was chairman of the board of directors at the time of 
his death in 1927. He was laid to rest in the Gary mausoleum in Wheaton 
Cemetery. 

In 1869 he married Julia E. Graves, of Aurora, and they had two daugh- 
ters. His wife died in 1902 and in 1905 he married Mrs. Emma T. Scott, of 
New York, who survived him. He was the donor of the law library to North- 
western University, containing 60,000 volumes, which is housed on McKinlook 
Campus. 

HOADLEY 

CjTHOMAS HOADLEY, son of Nelson and Marietta Phelps Hoadley, was 
VJJ/ born January 6, 1848, at Chillicothe, Ohio, and came to Glen Ellyn in 
1875. On October 28, 1879 he married Rebecca Arnold, daughter of 
Stephen Arnold, at Blue Island, Illinois. He very early established his resi- 
dence in Glen Ellyn and entered into the civic and business life of the town. 
He conducted a shoe business up to within a few years of his death. Early in 
the organization of the village he served on the village board twelve years. 
He served as village treasurer one term and one term on the school board. 

Mr. and Mrs. Hoadley were the parents of three children: one son, Henry 
Clinton Hoadley, died September 24, 1924, and one son and daughter living. 

Mrs. Peter J. McDonnell, born Agnes Marietta Hoadley, was born Decem- 
ber 15, 1893, is the mother of three daughters: Muriel, born June 2, 1916; 
Jeanne, born March 8, 1920, and Marietta, born July 27, 1928. 

Richard Thomas Hoadley, born May 7, 1898, married Abra Beatty, of Glen 
Ellyn, October 24, 1927. 

Thomas A. Hoadley was for several years with the W. H. Brown shoe 
firm in Chicago, and later with DeMuth and Co., which organization was 
later bought by Hanan. When this transaction took place Mr. Hoadley started 
in business in Glen Ellyn in which he continued until a few years before his 
death. He established his home here when he got married, in a house opposite 
the Duane school, where his three children were born. About twenty-seven 
years ago he built the home on Main Street, where his widow now resides. 
Mr. Hoadley passed away March 27, 1927. 

HOBSON 

<JjjJAILEY HOBSON, the first white settler of DuPage County, according to 
ijjjl histories of the county, was a descendant of an old South Carolina family 
Cr — the Hobson family. Very little is known of his wanderings from South 
Carolina to Illinois except there is an entry in a Bible owned by the Meisinger 
family, now residing in Naperville, which reads: John H. Hobson, son of Bailey 
Hobson, was born January 5, 1824, at Patoka, Orange County (now Gibson 
County), Indiana. Bailey Hobson came to Illinois first on horseback in 1829 
and became so enamored with the beauty of the country that in 1831 he 
brought his family to the beautiful DuPage Valley and established his home 
with land on both sides of the DuPage River, about two miles south of Naper- 
ville, in Lisle township. Here the mill race hewn out of the rock strata gives 
silent testimony to the intrepid determination of this pioneer who besides 



176 THE STOEY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 

establishing his home (on the east side of the river) established a saw mill 
and a grist mill on the west side of the river, the ruins of which are still 
discernible, even the cellar of the miller's cottage. Hobson's pioneer log cabin 
soon gave place to a spacious home which became a tavern as his mills became 
known. It is said that he built huge barns to accommodate the teams which 
hauled grists to his mill, while awaiting their turn. 

The books, the few pieces of furniture, the handwork, the letters — all that 
are left of the mementoes of this family, testify to their fineness and culture 
and aloofness. 

Bailey Hobson was the son of J. H. and Charlotte E. Hobson. He was 
born May 25, 1798, married Clarissa Stewart, who was born December 13, 
1804. He died March 25, 1850, and she died May 27, 1884. Her town house 
is now standing in Naperville and is occupied by the widow and the children 
of her grandson, Hally Haight. It is a distinctive mansion-like structure, with 
the air of a grandeur of a day that is past. It is now painted red and stands 
just opposite the turn of the Ogden Avenue road after one crosses the river 
in Naperville to go to Aurora. 

Bailey and Clarissa Hobson were the parents of the following: John H., 
born January 5, 1824, died March 28, 1896; Nancy Jane, born 1830, died 1906; 
Merritt, born August 6, 1835, died January 9, 1867; Elvira (Haight), born 
November 21, 1836, died March 21, 1917; Charlotte (Haight), born July 15, 
1841, died February 4, 1911; Ellen Hobson (Crossman), born 1843, died 1923; 
Adela, born 1846, died 1912. 

Elvira Hobson married John Haight, born January 24, 1824, died August 
22, 1906. Their children were: Hally, born January 16, 1863, died May 3, 1911; 
Mabel, born November 13, 1868, died January 27, 1897; Elizabeth, born April 
18, 1871, died June 3, 1904, and John R., born September 24, 1876, deceased. 

John Hobson married; one of his children was Gertrude, who married John 
D. Meisinger. Their children, all born in Naperville, were: William H., born 
March 11, 1883; Fred Robert, born October 5, 1884, and Clara Gertrude, born 
August 28, 1893. 

Hally Haight married Rhoda Louise Royce at Warrenville, Illinois, January 
26, 1904. Born to this union: Hally Haight, born September 4, 1906. On May 5, 
1914, Rhoda Louise Haight married her deceased husband's brother, John R., 
at Clinton, Iowa. Their children are: John R., born March 8, 1916, and Mildred 
Naomi, born May 18, 1917. 

Fred Robert Meisinger married, July 19, 1911, Jeanette Stoos, daughter of 
Andrew Stoos. Their children are: Verna Helen, born May 3, 1912; James 
Robert, born December 5, 1914; Fred, Jr., born July 6, 1917, and Robert John 
Hobson, born June 14, 1919 — all born in Naperville, except Fred, Jr., who was 
born in Jefferson, Iowa. 

Clara Gertrude Meisinger married on October 24, 1917, Frank J. O'Connor. 
Their children are: Mary, born July 31, 1918; Robert, born March 6, 1920, and 
John, born November 14, 1921, all at Plainfield, Illinois. This family resides 
near Plainfield on a farm. 

The Fred R. Meisinger family reside now on a farm about a mile south 
of Naperville. 

JANES 

Ol LBERT S. JANES, son of Sylvanus Janes and Laura M. Janes, was born 
^\ May 7th, 1820, in Livingston County, New York. 

^ He traced his descent from Geoffrey de Jeanne, one of the Crusaders of 
France, who, in 1204, made a pilgrimage to Jerusalem; subsequently making 
two others with his son, Guido de Jeanne, he was entitled to the three escallop 
shells engraved on the Janes coat of arms. When the son removed to England 
the name was changed by dropping the prefix and finally was Anglicized to 
read Janes. 



TEE STOBY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 177 

William Janes, who came to America with the Davenport colony in 1637, 
was the first ancestor to settle in this country. 

Albert Janes was one of the seventh generation of his descendants in 
America. Several of his ancestors served in the Revolutionary War. In 1834 
his father's family came to Illinois from New York with several other families 
seeking homes in the great new west. 

The long journey was made with horses and wagons, and a home was 
established in DuPage County, where the family resided continuously for 
many years, with the exception of a short time spent in Will County, where 
Sylvanus Janes, the father, died at Mokena. 

Two of the daughters of the family, Harriet and Ruth, were among the 
early school teachers of DuPage County. 

In 1847 Albert <S. Janes married Sarah Brooks, daughter of Shadrack 
Brooks and Cornelia Brooks, who died in 1848, leaving an infant daughter, 
Mary Cornelia, now Mrs. H. W. Yalding, of River Forest. 

In 1851 Albert S. Janes made the overland trip to the gold fields of Cali- 
fornia, one of the members of a wagon train of prospectors and gold seekers. 
After a stay of two years in California he returned richer only in interesting 
experiences. He came home by water from San Francisco, down the Pacific 
to the Isthmus of Panama, and there up the Atlantic to New York. He was 
regarded as quite a traveler, and his stories of his adventures commanded wide 
interest. 

In 1856, in his odd minutes, with almost no help, he built a small house 
at the southeast corner of Main Street and Pennsylvania Avenue, in Danby 
(where the Buchholz Building now stands). In 1857 he married Charlotte B. 
Powers, daughter of Daniel Carpenter Powers and Nancy Maria (Palmer) 
Powers, fetching his wife to this new house where they lived till 1869. 

The house was later moved to the rear of the lot where it stood facing 
north till 1922, when it was torn down. 

Few persons remember that this simple, little white house with green 
blinds and vine covered porch, surrounded by beautiful hard maple trees that 
Mr. Janes had set out in 1855, was used by Uncle Sam as a post office for the 
village of Danby. 

Albert Janes had been a Justice of the Peace as well as postmaster for 
some time in the early 60's, and had both the post office and his own office in 
an old house immediately south of his home. It was here he kept his desk 
and small library and presided over the minor cases. 

ButJ in 1864, though past the draft age, he enlisted and received his 
captain's commission from Gov. Richard Yates, appointing him to serve as 
Captain of Co. H. of the 141st Illinois Infantry. 

'So the post office changed its quarters. A place was made for it in the 
Janes' home by building a small enclosure across the south end of the porch, 
installing boxes, with a delivery window and a door cut into the family dining 
room. Mrs. Janes, sworn in as deputy, served during her husband's absence. 

Mr. Janes served the district many years as school director. He was also 
on the county board of supervisors from Milton Township for many years. 
He was elected to the office of county surveyor several times, and also served 
as a deputy under other surveyors. Probably no one at that time knew more 
of the geography and topography of DuPage County than he. With the 
railroad's surveyor, he surveyed the route through the northern part of the 
county for the Chicago, Milwaukee and St. Paul railroad, which, in those days 
was called by the DuPage County people "the Hough Railroad" as the road 
was promoted by Col. Roselle Hough, and he was president for a time. Mr. 
Janes also laid out all the new towns that sprang into existence along* this 
route about that time, as well as many subdivisions and additions to the older 
towns. 



178 TEE STORY OF AN OLD TOW N— GLEN ELLYN 

When the village of Babcock's Grove was re-platted and its name changed 
to Lombard, in honor of Josiah Lombard, a Chicago capitalist, Mr. Janes 
did all of the field work and making of plats. In co-operation with Mr. Lom- 
bard and Gen. B. J. Sweet, he made the final plat at his own home, and each 
man chose a street to which he gave the name of his wife. Mrs. Lombard's 
name was Elizabeth; Mrs. Sweet's, Martha; Mrs. Janes', Charlotte. 

Mr. Janes was a charter member of the Odd Fellows of the Danby Lodge, 
and served as the Noble Grand of the Order and also as secretary. In politics 
he was a staunch Republican, and was always proud of a personal interview 
with Abraham Lincoln in his Springfield home, and of having heard the famous 
Lincoln-Douglas debate at Freeport. 

In 1873 Mr. Janes was elected county judge of DuPage County, an office 
he held till 1877 when he was compelled to resign because of ill health. A 
copy of a poor photograph, the only one in existence, hangs with those of 
other judges in the court house at Wheaton, where he spent the last years of 
his active business life. His name as one of DuPage County's volunteer 
soldiers in the Civil War is on a bronze tablet in the court house. 

After 6 years of invalidism, Albert S. Janes died at his home December 
20, 1882. He and both his first and second wives are buried in Forest Hill 
Cemetery. 

Charlotte Powers Janes, his second wife, was born in Rutland, Vermont, 
May 17, 1833. She was a descendant of Revolutionary ancestors on both 
paternal and maternal sides and her father's father was a soldier in the War 
of 1812. She was educated in public and private schools and taught school in 
Vermont and in Illinois, where she came in 1853. 

She was the mother of seven children, all of them born in Danby. They 
were: 

1. Mattie A., born 1858, daughter of Albert S. and Charlotte B. Powers 
Janes, married September 26, 1876, at Prospect Park, Wilbur E. Coe, son of 
Harvey H. and Jane E. White Coe, of Bloomingdale, Illinois. Wilbur E. Coe 
died August 14, 1924, at Evanston, Illinois. Children: Ethel Louise, born 
November 11, 1878; Edna, born April 25, 1881; Marjorie, born February 20, 
1888. 

2. Edna Frances, daughter of Albert S. Janes and Charlotte B. Powers 
Janes, married 1887, Theodore J. Schmitz, at Elgin. She died October 30, 1918. 
One child: Dorothy L., born April 9, 1897. 

3. Albert B. Janes married Winnie Warner at Pilot Rock, Oregon, Febru- 
ary 17, 1892. His wife died September 5, 1915. Children: Lois M., born 
February 6, 1893, married Arthur Richards; Ashley, born April 9, 1894, died 
December 16, 1919; Leon, born September 20, 1895, died May 21, 1916; Jessie, 
born September 26, 1898, died November 2, 1915; Sara, born August 11, 1900, 
died June 16, 1926; Gladys, born December 8, 1902, died January 3, 1921; 
Charlotte (Lottie), born December 14, 1904; Gertrude, born April 19, 1910; 
Thelma, born August 29, 1912. All children born in Pilot Rock, Oregon. 

4. Jessie E., Mrs. Thomas J. Garrison. Children: Dee, born April 2, 1886; 
Ruth, born December 29, 1887; Charlotte, born July 12, 1890; Lloyd, born April 
3, 1892; Neal, born November 7, 1893; Harold, born May 14, 1895; Grace, born 
May 18, 1897; Mary, born February 13, 1899; Jesse, born January 5, 1901 (all 
born in Glen Ellyn, Illinois, or Prospect Park till 1891-2); Katharine, born 
October 17, 1902; Harriet, born March 23, 1905 (born in Hartford, Michigan). 

5. Arthur S., unmarried. 

6. George P., born February 23, 1871, died September 30, 1872. 

7. Harley C, married Alison Warner in Pendleton, Oregon; he died June 
1, 1904, she died May 15, 1904. Children: Theodore C, born February 2, 1899; 
Dorothy, born November 30, 1901. 

— Mattie Janes Coe. 



THE STOEY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 179 

KELLEY 

Trri AVID KELLEY immigrated to Illinois in 1845, locating in Milton Township 
Jp a couple of miles north of Stacy's Corners. In 1846 he started keeping a 
C^ post office in his house. He was also elected Justice of the Peace and so 
served 12 years. 

After the coming of the railroad to Newton's Station, Mr. Kelley moved 
down there with his post office in 1851-2 and became the first station agent 
of the station he named Danby after his Vermont birthplace. He built the 
Mansion House, the old tavern which he ran until 1873, on the site of the new 
Glen Ellyn State Bank. 

David Kelley, son of Daniel Kelley, of Danby, Rutland County, Vermont, 
was born December 15, 1806, died January 3, 1876. He was reared among the 
mountains of Vermont as a farmer and at the age of 19 years, in 1825, married 
Charity, daughter of Henry Herrick, of Danby, Vermont, by whom he had four 
children, three of whom were: Henry, who went to Nebraska; Margaret, Mrs. 
James Lester, of Marengo, Illinois; and William, farming in Wallingford, 
Vermont. In 1832 David Kelley married Zanna D., daughter of Ephraim Jones, 
of Pawlet, Vermont. His children by this marriage were: Daniel Isaac, Thomas 
Benton and David Martin, the last born January 18, 1837, the father of Albert 
M. Kelley, of Glen Ellyn, and Julia Augusta (Mrs. E. H. McChesney), de- 
ceased. 

Albert M. Kelley (Bert), born June 23, 1861, at Como, Illinois, married 
Lydia Ehlers at Glen Ellyn November 13, 1895. Their children: Edgar Martin, 
born December 27, 1896, died November 27, 1898; Harry William, born October 
10, 1899, married Patricia Berger, June 18, 1927, at Yarmouth, Massachusetts. 
Harry and Patricia Kelley are the parents of one child, Susan Jane, born 
August 17, 1928. 

THE McCHESNEYS 

CTTHE MoOHESNEY FAMILY are of Scotch-Irish origin. James McChesney, 
\\\/ son of David, born in North Ireland, June 4, 1798, was a descendent of 

pure Scotch blood of the Highland Clan of Chasne. He came to America 
in 1815, became a Congregational minister and continued to preach for nearly 
70 years. He was also a writer, some of his books having been published. He 
came to Stacy Corners in 1835 but did not bring his family until 1845. He was 
the second circuit rider preacher in the old meeting house at Stacy Corners 
He married Matilda Davis, April 4, 1824. For more than 50 years they lived 
at Danby. 

Joseph McChesney, son of James, was born in Newark, N. J., June 18, 
1828. He came to Illinois and settled at Danby in 1845. Married Elizabeth 
Leatherman in 1852, and was in the mercantile business prior to the Civil 
War. 

At the outbreak of this war he left his business in the hands of his father, 
James McChesney, and enlisted, being a recuiting officer at Danby. He as- 
sisted in forming Co. H, 141 Illinois Volunteer Infantry, being enrolled him- 
self on May 2, 1862, as a private, but mustered in as a lieutenant. He was 
honorably discharged October 10, 1864. After the war he sold his business to 
his two sons, Joseph D. and Edgar H. McChesney. 

Joseph R. McChesney was a member of the Odd Fellows Lodge, also a 
Mason, belonging to the Wheaton lodge. He was one of the organizers of the 
E. S. Kelley Post G. A. R. of Wheaton and was its first quartermaster. He 
was the first president of Prospect Park and for two> terms postmaster of 
Danby. 

Joseph D. McChesney was born at Schura, Cook county, in 1857. He was 
married in Danby to Mattie Smith, November 7, 1878. They had four children, 
the only son being Charles Henry, now carrying on the grocery business 



180 THE STOBY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 

founded by his grandfather. He was born January 7, 1888, and married 
Gretchen Jacobs, November 12, 1907. They have three children: Nathalie 
Alice, born January 18, 1909; Joseph Edgar, born May 28, 1911, and Elizabeth 
Martha, born January 3, 1914. 

Charles H. McChesney has a sister living in Glen Ellyn — Sadie Valerie, 
born March 20, 1882, who married Magnus J. J. Hanson in August, 1907. They 
have two children Magnus McChesney Hanson, born August 4, 1908, and 
Katherine, born January 21, 1914. 

The present grocery business was started in 1878 with Joseph D, a partner 
to his father. In 1885 Joseph D. and Edgar H. formed a partnership calling 
the business McChesney Bros. 

MEACHAM 

rti N 1833 Silas, Lyman and Harvey Meacham, from New York, came out to 
1) Illinois and settled the community known as Meacham's Grove, now called 
^ Medinah, about three miles northeast of Bloomingdale. 

In 1855, B. F. Meacham, their nephew, came and settled near them. He 
was born October 13, 1813, in Oswego County, New York, the son of Robert 
Fulton Meacham. September 30, 1836, he married Rebecca Hinman. In 1848 
he took his family to Fleming County, Kentucky. There were two children 
born in Oswego County, New York: Geo. W., born October 5, 1837, and 
Elizabeth, born 1841. The Meachams settled near Mammoth Cave in Kentucky. 
Mr. Meacham was a cheese maker, he made the first cheese made in Kentucky. 
He was also a thoroughly outspoken northerner and so because of his abolition 
principles he decided to leave Kentucky and came to DuPage County, entering 
the settlement of his uncles. When the right-of-way for the Chicago-Mil- 
waukee R. R. was put through he gave the right-of-way through his farm 
and the name Meacham appeared on the railroad map and the map of DuPage 
County. Changed in 1925 to Medinah. 

Here he raised his children and spent the remainder of his life. 

George W., his son, married Cornelia Rathbun (see Rathbun family), on 
September 19, 1860. To them were born five children, of whom three only are 
alive — these reside in Glen Ellyn — Eliza, Edith and George Joshua. 

George Joshua Meacham, born October 2, 1867, married on December 21, 
1898, Clara Louise Penrose, of Glen Ellyn. To them were born the following: 
1st, George Penrose, born January 29, 1900, married Leona Losselyong, of 
Chicago, May 6, 1922; the child of George Penrose Meacham and Leona is 
Mary Louise, born August 23, 1923. 2nd, Helen, born April 14, 1901, married 
October 15, 1927, at Glen Ellyn to Harold E. Enyeart, of Dayton, Ohio. 3rd, 
Charles Rathbun, born September 2, 1903, married on April 26, 1924, in Clin- 
ton, Iowa, to Dorothy Belendorf of that city. 4th, William Royal Meacham, 
born December 9, 1905, died March 5, 1920. 

MORGAN 

'TfJ OYAL T. MORGAN was born in Campton Township, Kane County, Illinois, 
itv Ma y 9 > 1844 - His father, Elijah Morgan, was born in Randolph, Vermont. 
C His mother, Laura Ward Morgan, was born near Batavia, New York. 

Royal T. Morgan was a student at Wheaton College, and later, a professor 
there for nine years. He was a soldier in the Civil War, being mustered into 
service at St. Charles, Illinois, December 3, 1863, in Co. H., 17th Illinois 
Cavalry. He was discharged at Fort Leavenworth, Kansas, December 15, 1865. 

He resigned as professor at Wheaton College in 1877 and became county 
superintendent of schools, filling this position for over 50 years. 

He married Hattie Turner, of Mt. Palatine, Illinois, in 1881, and one of 
their sons, Lewis V. Morgan, now holds this school position in the county, 
1928. 



THE STOBY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 181 

MYERS 

CTfHE MYERS FAMILY in Glen Ellyn lead back to a Frederick Myers, a 
V]|/ soldier of the War of 1812, who fought in the battle of Lake Erie. At 

Fort Niagara he served as quartermaster's clerk, in which capacity he 
served also at Fort Mackinac and finally at Fort Dearborn in 1831-33. He 
kept a record of his service in the War of 1812, which is now in the possession 
of the Chicago Historical Society. He was a man of much learning, a fluent 
and eloquent writer of both prose and poetry, spoke seven languages and wrote 
a dictionary of the Ojibwa Indian language and its equivalent in English, and 
was a fur trader among the Indians for many years after leaving the army. 
He owned much land in Chicago, one parcel of which is the site of the present 
court house. Frederick Myers died of smallpox and was buried in the cemetery 
where Lincoln Park now is. 

Frederick Myers married Sene Hayden (sister of Jack and Breer, step- 
daughter of Mr. Allen, and half sister to Miles and Levy Allen). Miles Allen 
was the father of Georgiana, Fannie and Henry Allen, and Levy Allen was 
the father of Almeda Bishop. 

Frederick and Sene Myers were the parents of five children: 1st, William 
Henry, born 1837, married Sarah Balsey, born July 1, 1847, Fayetteville, New 
York, (half sister to Lucile Rhoades, of Milwaukee, Wisconsin). 2nd, Serene 
Myers, born on a boat, for which she was named; (she married 1st, Mr. Bowker; 
2nd, Joseph Snyder). 3rd, Edwin Myers, married (wife's name Sarah). 4th, 
Frederick Myers, Jr., married Louise Buck. 5th, Charles Myers, bachelor. 
The four sons are all buried in Forest Hill Cemetery — they were all volunteers 
in the Civil War, served throughout the war, returned home. 

William Henry and Sarah Balsey Myers were the parents of five children: 
George McPherson, Frederick Grant, Viola, Arthur and Allan Avery. George, 
Viola and Arthur died unmarried. 

Frederick Grant Myers, born August 11, 1871, died May 2, 1927. Married 
Anna Olive Olson, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. C. Olson, of Chicago, February 14, 
1895. Their children: Harold Leslie, born February 13, 1897; Helen Lucile, 
born November 8, 1898; Raymond W., born October 12, 1903; Margaret Marie, 
born July 26, 1909, died May 16, 1926; Grant, born January 7, 1913. 

Allan Avery Myers, born August 2, 1886, married Kathryn Creedon, 
daughter of John and Ann Barry Creedon at Milwaukee, Wisconsin, September 
29, 1909. Their children: Lucile Trillium, born April 1, 1911; Shirley Alberta, 
born December 10, 1912; William Henry, died April 15, 1918, and Charles 
King, died August 6, 1917 (twins, born August 1, 1917) ; and Janet E., born 
October 15, 1923. 

The Frederick G. and Allan A. Myers' families now reside in Glen Ellyn. 

Edwin and iSarah Myers' one child, William, died unmarried. 

Frederick and Louise Myers' two children: Eva Belle, died, and Bessie. 

Serene Myers married, 1st, Bowker; children: Nettie Dodge, Eliza Frueden- 
berg, George and Edwin Bowker. 2nd, Joseph Snyder; children: Everett, Royal 
and Jennie. 

NEWTON 

JT|R. LOWEY QUITTERFIELD NEWTON ('tis thought from New York), 
Ip and his brother, Lensa Newton, bought land of William Churchill prior 
C to 1849. Their farm covered most of the present site of the village north 
of the North Western tracks. Miss Harmon's home stands on the edge of 
what was the old apple orchard belonging to this farm (corner of Park Blvd. 
and Glen Ellyn Place). 

The Newton farmhouse stood on the northwest corner of Main Street 
and Pennsylvania Avenue — the first frame house build in Danby and Dr. 
Newton was the first physician serving the community. 



182 TEE STORY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 

Dr. Newton owned the railroad's right-of-way and he built the first station 
right at Main Street — the first building erected on the site of Glen Ellyn. For 
some time it was known as Newton's Station. 

The site of the old Newton home was recently given to the Village of Glen 
Ellyn by the late William Newton, Dr. Newton's son, and it is now cared for 
under the control of the Glen Ellyn Garden Club as a village park until such 
time as the village can afford to build a suitably imposing municipal building 
on it. The plan is to then rent or sell the present Village Hall for stores. 

The later Newtons lived for years in the house on the northeast corner of 
Main Street and Pennsylvania Avenue — this house has been moved to Geneva 
Road, just west of Five Corners, and is now occupied by the Moulin family. 
The present Congregational parsonage was the William Newton home until he 
built the home on the corner of Cottage and Main, where Mrs. Meinardi now 
resides (1928). 

Dr. Lowey Quitterfield Newton and his wife, Catharine, came from Ver- 
mont. They had one son, William, who married 1st, Charlotte Sandercock, 
and 2nd, Lavinia Langstaff . 

William and Charlotte Newton were the parents of the following: Lewey 
Newton, born July 7, 1867; LeRoy Newton, Mabel Newton and Charles 
(Charles was the oldest). 

Lewey Newton married Flora Luther July 1, 1891. They had two chil- 
dren: Ralph, born April 24, 1892, married September 30, 1924, to Holly Carter, 
born May 17, 1901, and Corinne, born March 14, 1894; married Glen Bowstead 
April 1, 1917. They have one child, Shirley, born October 13, 1921. 

LeRoy Newton married Fannie Parker, sister of Mrs. Acors Rathbun, 
November 15, 1892. To them were born three children: Frank Quitterfield, 
born November 1, 1893; Doris Charlotte, born October 19, 1896, and Elizabeth 
Honess, born November 8, 1900. 

Frank Quitterfield Newton married on April 24, 1918, Violet Knapp, 
daughter of Helen Haggerty and Joel Carr Knapp. They have two sons: 
Frank Quitterfield II, born August 25, 1921, and LeRoy, born April 20, 1924. 

Doris Charlotte Newton, on September 25, 1920, married Walter Laing 
(born in Chicago). They have one child, Jean, born September 23, 1923. 

Elizabeth Honess Newton married John G. Poehlmann, of Chicago, June 
16, 1923. No children. 

NIND (Nelson, Ballou) 

«rOHN NEWTON NIND, son of Benjamin Nind and Sarah Gardiner, niece 
1| of Rev. John Newton, was born July 31, 1800, at Peckham, Surrey, Eng- 
^ land. He married Eliza Barrett, daughter of James and Jane Barrett, born 
February 17, 1824, in Saffron, Walden, Essex. To them were born five chil- 
dren: Myra, born March 10, 1825, died May 30, 1826; Emma, born March 20, 
1826; James Gardiner, born November 2, 1827; Frederick Newton, born De- 
cember 11, 1828; Sarah, born August 29, 1830. 

John Newton Nind came to the United States with his family in 1845 and 
purchased 80 acres of land in Bloomingdale township in DuPage County, which 
he worked for sixteen years. Later he purchased a farm in North Glen Ellyn 
— the house now standing on St. Charles Road, occupied by the M. G. Cheney 
family — where he lived until 1875, when he purchased property at the southeast 
corner of Main and Hawthorne Streets, where he resided until his death. 

Emma Nind married John Lloyd at Bloomingdale March 18, 1847. She 
was born at Bishops, Stratford, England. Their children: William Barrett, 
Eliza Myra, John Newton and Clara. At marriage she and her husband 
established their home in St. Charles, Kane County, where he was engaged in 
manufacturing until his death, July 15, 1872. In 1876 she moved to Prospect 



THE STOBY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 183 

Park (now Glen Ellyn), and made her home with her father until the time of 
his death, after which time she continued to reside until her death in 1912. 
Refer to Kane County records for account of her family. 

Frederick Newton Nind died September 4, 1865. Engaged in paper mak- 
ing at St. Charles, Illinois. On April 26, 1852, he married Lucy Annis Sander- 
son, of Massachusetts. To them were born six children (see Kane County 
records): Julia Alberta, Lillian Eugenia, Minnetta Ruth, Emmaretta Randall, 
Nora and LeRoy William. 

Of the grandchildren of John Newton Nind we shall trace only Eliza 
Myra Lloyd, Lillian Eugenia Nind and Nora Nind. 

Eliza Myra Lloyd, born May 5, 1850, at St. Charles, Illinois, married 
George William Nelson at St. Charles November 13, 1873. To them were born 
the following: Clara, Charles, Clara Mabel, John Lloyd, George Garfield and 
Helen Myra. 

Lillian Eugenia Nind, born February 26, 1855, at St. Charles, Illinois. At 
the death of her father in 1865, she came to Prospect Park (now Glen Ellyn) 
to live with her grandfather, by whom she was later adopted. In May, 1880, 
she married Augustus Ballou. They were the parents of eight children: 
Frederick Herbert, Mary Ellen, Wilbur Newton, Fannie Lillian, Burton 
Augustus, Walter LeRoy, Josephine Ladd and Robert Allen. Her husband was 
killed in a railway accident in Wheaton, Illinois, in 1892. She still resides in 
Wheaton. 

Nora Nind, born April 22, 1862, married Dr. J. G. De Vere, who died in 
July, 1906. They had five children: Joseph Nind, John Goodman, Aubrey 
Lemont, Thomas Darwin and Eona. 

The following are great-grandchildren of John Newton Nind and are now 
living in Glen Ellyn with their families: George Garfield Nelson, Walter LeRoy 
Ballou and Joseph Nind De Vere. 

George Garfield Nelson, born September 11, 1881, at Wauwatosa, Wiscon- 
sin, came to Glen Ellyn in 1903 and married Lillian Marshall September 1, 
1909, in Chicago, Illinois. To them were born two children: Robert Marshall, 
born January 15, 1911, and Evelyn Lois, born October 14, 1914 (both born in 
Glen Ellyn). 

Walter LeRoy Ballou, born at Wheaton, April 6, 1889, married Helen 
Arnold, of Glen Ellyn, June 22, 1918. They have two children: Mary Barbara, 
born July 2, 1919, and Allan Shepard, born April 27, 1923. 

Joseph Nind De Vere, born in Chicago, November 20, 1892, married Jessie 
Camille Lantz at Wilmette, Illinois, November 26, 1913. Moved to Glen Ellyn 
in 1914. They have no children. 

PATRICK 

ILBUR KIRK PATRICK was born February 16, 1824, in Truxton, Cort- 
land County, N. Y., son of Nathaniel and Penelope (Potter) Patrick. 
The paternal ancestors of Mr. Patrick emigrated from Scotland to the 
north of Ireland during the reign of James I and thence to the new world — 
they landed in New York in 1763. His father was born in Stillwater, Saratoga 
County, N. Y., February 10, 1785. Wilbur Kirk Patrick came west and settled 
on the Patrick homestead on Swift Road, northeast of Glen Ellyn, in 1850, 
bringing his wife whom he had married on February 16, 1847, in Chenango 
County, N. Y. She was Mary Knowles, born June 17, 1827, the daughter of 
Daniel and Lovina (Reynolds) Knowles; died May 8, 1882. To them were born 
nine children: Delia, wife of C. B. Field, of Freeport, Illinois; Ellen, wife of 
A. E. Hills, of Lombard (one of whose daughters still resides there); Mrs. J. 
H. Wright (who has two children, Mary Eleanor, born in December, 1914, and 
Kenneth in 1921); Florence, Wilbur Kirk, Jr. (married Margaret Evans, of 
Lombard) ; Frances, Charles, Abraham L. and Jesse. 



184 THE STOEY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 

The homestead is now occupied by Harry Evans Patrick, son of Wilbur 
Kirk Patrick, Jr., and Margaret (Evans) Patrick. On February 18, 1920, he 
married Alice Elizabeth Crisler, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. A. V. Crisler 
(D. A. R. No. 201098). To this union have been born the following: Harry 
Evans, Jr., born October 30, 1921; Frances Elizabeth, born November 26, 1923; 
and Wilbur Crisler, born October 5, 1925. 

RATHBUN 

'JU OWLAND, son of Acors, born in Stonington, Connecticut, January 25, 
i[\ 1772, and Sarah Peckman, daughter of William and Mercy, of South 
C^ Kingston, February 12, 1794; she was born in South Kingston, Rhode 
Island, November 28, 1777. He went to Oneida County, New York, from 
Richmond, Rhode Island, in 1802. Acors was the son of Joshua, who was 
born at Westerly, Rhode Island, August 11, 1743, married in Friends meeting 
house to Sarah Borden, of Newport, Rhode Island, October 30, 1766, daughter 
of Abraham and Martha Borden. Joshua was a seafaring man, died of yellow 
fever at sea. Joshua, the son of Joshua, the son of Joshua who spelled his 
name, Rathbone, but entered his sons in the Bible as "Rathbun." He is des- 
cribed as a good and pious man, belonging to the society called Friends. He 
was the son of Rev. Joshua, son of John, son of John, son of John, son of 
Richard, who was born in 1574, married Marion Whipple, sister of Capt. John 
Whipple, who mentions her in his will made at Ipswich, Essex County, Massa- 
chusetts. 

It is interesting to know that John, the son of John, was one of those 
who on the 17th of August, 1660, met at the house of John Alcock, M. D., in 
Roxbury, Massachusetts, to confer about the purchase of Block Island. In 
1664 his name was presented to the Rhode Island General Assembly for ad- 
mission as a freeman. In 1683 he was a representative in the Rhode Island 
General Assembly. In 1688 he was a member of the Grand Jury of Rhode 
Island. He died a wealthy man. His grandson, the Rev. Joshua, married 
Martha Card, the daughter of Job and Martha Acres Card. The name Acres 
appearing in the family for the first time in 1668, later recurring often as 
"Acors." Also in the next generation we find that the son Joshua, of Rev. 
Joshua, married Dorcas Wells and in the next generation we find a "Wells" 
the fifth child and a Rowland the thirteenth child. These names are in use 
today in the Rathbun family, also the names Richard and John appear in 
nearly every alternate generation back to the very first Richard John in this 
country. 

Rowland Rathbun was the pioneer's name in DuPage County. He was 
born in Verona, Oneida County, New York, August 17, 1817, married Eliza A. 
Mosely January 5, 1841 in Verona, New York. She was born in Rensselaer 
County March 16, 1821. In June, 1845, Mr. Rathbun and family, then con- 
sisting of wife and two children, left Rathbunville of the township of Verona, 
New York, and came to Illinois, settling on section 26, Bloomingdale township, 
DuPage County. 

In 1850 he buried his wife, who left four children: Joshua, born January 
22, 1842; Cornelia A. (Mrs. Geo. Meacham), born May 22, 1844; Josephine E. 
(Mrs. Henry Pierce), born April 11, 1847; George R., born August 28, 1850. 
He married Hattie E. Way April 15, 1873 and engaged in farming in Milton 
township. 

Rowland Rathbun married for his second wife Mrs. Harriet B. Bates (nee 
Mosely), of Aurora, October 26, 1851. She was born in Rome, Oneida County, 
New York, September 15, 1829; she died in July, 1859. There was one child 
of this union: Eliza A., born November 6, 1853, died November, 1860. 

He married the third time to Josephine E. Smith, October 17, 1860. She 
was born in Rutland, Vermont, April 7, 1837. Her children were: Acors W., 
born December 7, 1862 (married Anna L. Parker, October 14, 1886); Sarah A., 
born December 14, 1866 (married Ezra Gould, Elgin); Carrie D., born No- 



THE STOKY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 185 

vember 28, 1870 (married Robt. H. Patch); John K., born October 18, 1872 
(married Amanda L. Thiesse); Richard O., born November 1, 1874; Warren 
Grant, born December 19, 1879. 

His son, Acors, who married Anna L. Parker, of Chicago, resides on the 
corner of Cottage and Main Streets in Glen Ellyn. Anna L. Parker was born 
of parents who came from England as children. Their children are: 

1. Irene Louise, born July 24, 1887, at Glen Ellyn (then Prospect Park), 
married, August 14, 1915, Hugh Bradshaw, son of Grace Lorell and Francis 
Marian Bradshaw. They have three children: Jane Louise, born June 12, 1916; 
Hamilton, born December 28, 1917 (both born in Manila, Philippine Islands), 
and Earl Rathbun, born June 8, 1923. 

2. Acors Earl, born May 18, 1889 at River Forest, Cook County, Illinois. 

3. Harry Rowland, born July 13, 1896, married Allegra Schuler August 
28, 1928, daughter of William and Mary Schuler, at Farmington, Illinois. 

4. Rowland, born October 25, 1901. 

Rowland Rathbun's daughter, Sarah, married Ezra Gould and resides 
in Elgin. She has three children: Carrie Delia, who married Robert H. Patch, 
Jr., December 11, 1890; lives on Cottage Avenue, Glen Ellyn. They had four 
daughters: Roberta Dela, born September 20, 1891, died September 21, 1899; 
Josephine Louise, born July 31, 1893; Mildred Grace, born July 26, 1899, and 
Ulilla Moore, born June 15, 1904, died May 5, 1926. Josephine Louise Patch, 
on October 7, 1925, married Logan Grant Dunham, born in Cherry Valley, 
Illinois, January 18, 1888. They have two children: Ulilla Caroline, born 
September 18, 1926, and Roberta Mildred, born April 18, 1928. Mildred Grace 
Patch, on May 14, 1924, married Thomas Edward Mulligan from West Chicago, 
Illinois. They have one child: Thomas Edward, Jr., born May 27, 1927. 

John K. Rathbun lives on the farm. He married, December 2, 1900, 
John R. Rathbun lives on the farm. He married, December 2, 1900, 
Amanda L. Thiesse, born February 10, 1879, daughter of Louie Thiesse, resid- 
ing in Bloomingdale township. They have four children: Louie E., born March 
26, 1903; Wells A., born January 5, 1905; Annie D., born December 7, 1907, 
and Richard P., born October 21, 1911. 

Louie Rathbun, son of John, married Amy Gathmann November 14. 



P' 



STACY 

OSES STACY was born at Belchertown, Hampshire County, Massachu- 
setts, in 1796. His father, also Moses Stacy, a native of Massachusetts, 
was a Revolutionary soldier. During the Revolution he was a prisoner 
in Old Mill Prison, in Plymouth, England, having been on board the schooner, 
Hawks' Prize, taken September 18, 1777, committed October 16. His name is 
listed from Marblehead, Massachusetts. 

Moses Stacy, the son, was a soldier of the War of 1812, guarding the 
Canadian border at Colbrook, New Hampshire. Joan Kimball, his wife, was 
a lineal descendant through her mother of General Joseph Warren, the hero of 
Bunker Hill. 

The Stacys came round the lakes from New York in a sailing vessel in 
1835, settling in DuPage Center. Here Moses Stacy built a log cabin, and 
lived there till he built the tavern in 1837. He took up land from the govern- 
ment, paying $1.25 an acre for it. Later he bought more land, so that at the 
time of his death he owned 300 acres. The settlement became known as 
Stacy's Corners. 

Mr. Stacy, besides conducting his tavern, assisted in organizing the county 
and developing the township into school districts. He passed away in 1870 at 
the age of 74 years. 



186 THE STOEY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 

His youngest son, Philo Warren Stacy, was 2V 2 years old when he came 
with his parents to DuPage Center. He went to school in the old log school 
house and was sent to Vermont to finish his education. On February 22, 1853, 
he married Betsy D. Taylor, who was born in Tioga County, New York, May 
20, 1834, the daughter of Rev. Philander and Thankful (Manning) Taylor. The 
Taylors were from Vermont and the Mannings from Tioga County, New York. 
Rev. Philander Taylor was a Baptist minister who came to Illinois in 1844; 
about 1846 he located at Stacy's Corners, and preached in the old Baptist 
church; the first settled minister of the settlement. 

Philo Warren Stacy became a farmer like his father before him, owning 
500 acres of rich farming land. He was very public spirited and held many 
public offices. He was much interested in beautifying Glen Ellyn and was 
active in developing the lake and park. He was a soldier in the Civil War 
and it was through his efforts that the bronze tablets were placed in the 
Wheaton Court House with the names of the soldiers of the counties who 
served in the different wars. 

The old North Western station stood on Main Street, just south of the 
present little park where the cannon balls and drinking fountain now are. It 
was a ramshackle old wooden building with a good-sized waiting room, whose 
chief decoration was an immense rusty, iron stove. Early one morning, in 
one of the first months we lived here, when the old room was filled with people 
waiting for a train, an old man came in with a huge bouquet of lovely flowers. 
He stepped around and handed each lady a beautiful flower. This was my first 
acquaintance with Mr. Philo Stacy, though at the time I didn't know who he 
was. 

Mr. Stacy and his wife, Betsy, gave the village the first and only park 
which has been presented to it by one of its citizens. They gave the tri- 
angular tract of six acres at the Five Corners on May 9, 1891. It is called 
Stacy Park and is marked by a boulder placed by the D. A. R. 

Their home was the large, beautiful house on North Main Street, now 
occupied by the Albert McCollums. 

Miss Carrie Stacy, the only remaining child, died a few years ago, so none 
of the Stacy line is left in Glen Ellyn. 

STOLP 

rjrTREDERICK STOLP, born in Claverick, New York, November 11, 1781, 
1J1 the son of Peter, who served in the American Revolution and whose grave 

is marked by the Daughters of the American Revolution. He (Frederick) 
went to Putneyville, New York, where he and his father-in-law, Abraham 
Pepper, Sr., purchased a farm in 1827 on the shore of Lake Ontario. One 
year later Stolp bought out his father-in-law. 

Frederick's wife's name was Jannetje. Her father had come from Europe 
with substantial possessions as well as $5000 in gold. 

In 1833 the Stolps' came west with their large family: Catherine W., born 
1814, married 1st, David Crane, 2nd, Edward Calloway; Abraham F., born 
1816, married Roxanna Thatcher; Eliza, born 1819, married Addison Albee; 
James B., born 1820, married 1st, Matilda Bentley, 2nd, Mary Christie; George 
W., born 1824, married Mary Hughes; Frederick, born 1826, unmarried; 
William R., born 1828, married Lucy Kinley; Charles W., born 1831, married 
Sarah Bristol; Henry P., born 1833, married 1st, Anne Woodman, 2nd, Lydia 
Farnsworth. 

Frederick Stolp looked for a site in DuPage County suitable for brick 
making, and found one near what is now Eola. His brickmaker was Simeon 
Leech. 

For further information of the Stolp family refer to DuPage and Kane 
County records. 



THE STOBY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 187 

WAGNER 

ILLIAM H. WAGNER located at Newton's Station in 1852. He was a 
son of Joseph and Mary A. (Hoffman) Wagner. His paternal grand- 
father, Tobias Wagner, was a soldier of the War of 1812. The latter 
was the eldest son of Rev. Christian Wagner, a native of Germany, who 
preached the first sermon ever delivered by a Lutheran minister in Philadel- 
phia. He was afterwards killed in the Revolutionary War. 

Joseph and Mary A. (Hoffman) Wagner were the parents of nine children, 
born near Hamburg, Berks County, Pennsylvania: John, born in 1828; William 
H., born in 1829, and Matthias H., born in 1832, all came to Danby to live. 
There were eight Wagner brothers living here at one time, three of whom were 
married to three Weidman sisters. The children of Joseph and Mary A. 
(Hoffman) Wagner were: John, William H. (married Lavina Weidman), Mary 
(married W. O. Watts, resided and died in Louisville, Kentucky, where all their 
children were born and reside), Matthias (married Jane Bryant), Joseph 
(married Elizabeth Bryant), Elias (married Susan Weidman), Sylvester (mar- 
ried Clara Staugh), Alamandus (married Ellen Lambert), and Jackson (mar- 
ried Caroline Weidman). 

William H. Wagner and Lavina Weidman Wagner were the parents of 
Sarazina (died at 14 years), Mary Susan (married John Hubley; reside at 
Marinette, Wisconsin), Donas Nora (married Edson Harden; reside at Bar- 
rington, Illinois), Lillian (married James Peaslee and resides at Marinette, 
Wisconsin), Charles (died at age of 12 years), William J., Frank M. (married 
1st, Alice M. Barnard, died 1926; married 2nd, Maude Christian, June 30, 1928), 
John Calvin (married Amelia Laura Laier, 1906), Guy Watts (married 1st, 
Mabel Standish; 2nd, Blanche Thomas), Florence (married Geo. Babcock). 

Joseph H. Wagner and Elizabeth Bryant Wagner have one child, Samuel 
Tilden Wagner, who is married and resides on Anthony Street. He is in the 
decorating business. 

Sylvester remained a bachelor for several years and then married Clara 
Staugh and they resided on the Wagner farm south of Glen Ellyn, on Roosevelt 
Road, where their son, John and family, now reside. 

Alamandus Wagner and Ellen Lambert Wagner were the parents of four 
daughters and one son: Anna Josephine (married C. M. Gauger), Mattie May 
(married Dr. W. C. Galbraith), V. Alamandus (married Rose Haag, of Glen 
Ellyn), Elizabeth (married Thomas Galbraith, V. S., of Elmhurst), and Lucy 
(married Henry Morrell at DeKalb). 

Jackson J. Wagner and Caroline Weidman Wagner were the parents of 
the following: Violet A. (married John Benjamin), Harvey S. (married Selma 
Given; reside in Elmhurst), E. Stanley (married Gertrude Dodge), Carrie 
(maiden, residing in Glen Ellyn), Jesse R. (married Anna Sebald), George C, 
Nellie (married Peter Backmann), Ethel E, Pearl M., and Grace E. (married 
Von Hollinger). 

Frank M. Wagner, born October 27, 1866, married Alice M. Barnard June 
14, 1893. To them were born two sons: Richard, born July 19, 1901, and 
Franklyn, born June 22, 1905 (married Frances M. Cromer, of West Chicago, 
at Chicago, December 23, 1927). Alice M. Wagner died and Frank M. 
Wagner married 2nd, Maude Christian, at Sycamore, Illinois, June 30, 1928. 
She is a daughter of George Vining and Sarah Antoinette Christian. Reside 
in Glen Ellyn. Mr. Wagner was for many years in the grocery business here. 

John Calvin Wagner, born June 12, 1871, married Amelia Laura Laier in 
1906. They have two sons: William J., born May 25, 1911, and John Calvin, 
Jr., born October 28, 1913. This family are now (December, 1928) enroute by 
auto to Tuscon, Arizona, to make their future home. 

Dr. Guy Watts Wagner (M. D. Northwestern Medical School) and Mabel 
Standish Wagner, had one daughter, Margaret. Mrs. Wagner died and Dr. 



188 THE STOBY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 

Wagner married 2nd, Blanche Thomas. There is one child of this marriage, 
Helen Ethel, born in November, 1928. 

Florence Wagner Babcock and George Babcock resided in Wheaton. Mrs. 
Babcock is deceased. Their children are: Iona Lucille, born April 5, 1895, 
married Roy W. Lindahl; Edith Lovina, born January 14, 1898, married Karl 
W. Kletschke; Florence Bernice, born January 17, 1903, married Harry S. 
Christianson; Helen Louise, born July 20, 1905; and George Fuller, born 
December 22, 1907. 

Anna Josephine (Wagner) Gauger and C. M. Gauger reside in Wheaton, 
Illinois, and have the following children: Walter, married Laura Trenn, resides 
in Elmhurst, has two sons, Wilfred and Wesley; Lucius O., married Dorothy 
Neumann, has one child, Doris Lou, resides in Wheaton; Ethel, married Harry 
Durant, editor of Wheaton Illinoian, they have two children, Charles and 
Annetta. 

Mattie May (Wagner) Galbraith and Dr. W. C. Galbraith reside in Guelph, 
Ontario, Canada, and have two sons, Harland and William Alamandus (each 
is married and has a daughter). 

Valentine Alamandus Wagner married Rose Haag, of Glen Ellyn. They 
reside in Wheaton. Their children are: Corinne (married Charles Alderton, 
West Chicago), Raymond (married Bernice Lindgren, of Glen Ellyn), Ruth 
(married Alois Tholman, of Lombard), and Ralph. 

Elizabeth (Wagner) Galbraith and Thomas Galbraith, veterinary surgeon, 
reside in Elmhurst. They have two sons: Earl, married, and Allison, not 
married. 

Lucy (Wagner) Morrell and Henry Morrell reside in DeKalb. Mr. Morrell 
is dead. Mrs. Morrell's mother, Mrs. Alamandus Wagner (Ellen Lambert), 
makes her home with her. The Morrells had no children. 

Violet A. (Wagner) Benjamin and John Benjamin reside in West Chicago. 
They have one daughter, Ellen. 

E. Stanley Wagner and Gertrude Dodge Wagner reside in Chicago. They 
have one daughter, Marjorie Gertrude, born in Glen Ellyn. 

Jesse R. Wagner, born May 19, 1882, and Anna Sebald Wagner, born 
October 23, 1887, reside in Glen Ellyn. Jesse R. Wagner has for many years 
been village clerk of Glen Ellyn. Jesse R. and Anna Sebald Wagner were 
married October 25, 1910. They have six children: Jesse, Jr., born July 17, 
1913; Jane Ruth, born October 28, 1915; Anna Marion, born January 15, 1918; 
Helen Margaret, born May 20, 1921; James Douglas, born August 1, 1924, and 
Donald Stanley, born December 19, 1925. 

Nellie (Wagner) Backmann and Peter Backmann now reside in Mt. 
Morris, Illinois. They have three daughters, all born in Glen Ellyn: Caroline, 
Irene and June. 

Grace E. (Wagner) Hollinger and Von Hollinger reside in Glen Ellyn. 
She was born July 12, 1895 and married Von Hollinger December 31, 1921. 
They have three children: Robert Edwin, born June 13, 1923; Marie Adelle, 
born September 1, 1926, and James Arthur, born November 17, 1928. 

Iona Lucille (Babcock) (father's family in Chesterton, Indiana), married 
Roy W. Lindahl June 17, 1922. They reside in Glen Ellyn and have two 
children: Wesley Babcock, born September 10, 1923, and Lois Lucille, born 
January 11, 1924. 

Edith Lovina Babcock married Karl W. Kletschke March 4, 1918, at Clin- 
ton, Iowa. They have one child, Carlton Frederick, born January 2, 1928, in 
Chicago, Illinois. They now reside in iSpringfield, Illinois. 

Florence Bernice Babcock married Harry S. Christianson June 14, 1923. 
They live in Wheaton — have no children. 

Helen Louise Babcock lives with Mrs. Lindahl and George Fuller Babcock 
lives with Mrs. Christianson. 



THE STOEY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 189 

And so we find in Glen Ellyn and vicinity the following names that go back 
to the Wagners, Christianson, Lindahl, Hollinger, Benjamin, Gauger, Babcock 
and Galbraith — this includes the towns of West Chicago, Wheaton and Elm- 
hurst. 

The reason William H. Wagner is spoken of first in this geneology is that 
he was for over forty years in the blacksmithing business on Pennsylvania 
Avenue, and so was identified more or less prominently with civic and business 
affairs of the town. 

WEIDMAN 

CffOHN WEIDMAN and Mary Irwin Weidman, his wife, came to Danby in 
11 1854 from Hamburg, Berks County, Pennsylvania. Their children were: 
£s Ella, Irwin, Clara, Valeria, Emma Jane, Robert Curry, Rose, John Welling- 
ton and Fannie. Ella married William Freeto (deceased) and they had two 
sons, William Freeto and Edwin Freeto; she is now married to E. C. Rickert 
and lives in Naperville. Irwin married Emma Roe and they have one child, 
William Roe Weidman; Clara married Wm. C. Curtis and they have two chil- 
dren, Jennie Curtis Reed and Elbert C. Curtis; Valeria unmarried, deceased; 
Emma Jane (deceased) married Charles Edward Clare and they had three 
children, Eva May Clare, William Henry Clare and Margery Clare Cole; Robert 
Curry, unmarried; Rose, unmarried; John Wellington, unmarried; Fannie 
married O. D. Dodge and they had one child, Douglas Raymond Dodge (de- 
ceased). 

Descendants living in Glen Ellyn are: Rose Weidman, Fannie Weidman 
Dodge, Eva May Clare, Margery Clare Cole, who married Fred Smith Cole, 
and their three children: Adele, born June 13, 1920; David Fred, born Novem- 
ber 22, 1922; Gordon Clare, born June 22, 1925. 

William Henry Clare, son of Emma Weidman Clare and C. E. Clare, born 
in Glen Ellyn, married Claire Unger and lives in Oak Park. They have two 
children: Anita Jane, born July 5, 1915; Adine, born December 16, 1916. 

"WIMPRESS"— See Churchill 




190 THE STORY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 




1928 Babies 

JANUARY 

Catarina Guinta, born January 6, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Salvatore Guinta, 

480 Western Avenue. 
Harold Lewis Bailey, born January 11, son of Mr. and Mrs. Kenneth Robert 

Bailey, 733 Prairie Avenue. 
Howard LaVerne Bruning, born January 15, son of Mr. and Mrs. John Bruning, 

743 Western Avenue. 
David Allen Jellies, born January 26, son of Mr. and Mrs. Harvey Jellies, 765 

Euclid Avenue. 
Nancy Kumler, born January 28, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. John M. Kumler, 

629 Park Boulevard. 
Mary Winifred Fairbank, born January 29, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. William 

Fairbank, 486 Anthony Street. 

FEBRUARY 

Robert Harvey Blackburn, born February 16, son of Mr. and Mrs. Herman 

Blackburn, 246 Hill Avenue. 
Bruce Howard McCormick, born February 20, son of Mr. and Mrs. F. H. 

McCormick, 586 Phillips Avenue. 

MARCH 

Kathryn Elmore Miller, born March 13, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Herman 

Miller, 661 Prairie Avenue. 
Laurence Edward Santchi, born March 15, son of Mr. and Mrs. Raymond E. 

Santchi, Harding Avenue. 
Lawrence Harvey Koehn, born March 19, son of Mr. and Mrs. Fredrick Koehn, 

442 Bryant Avenue. 
Herman Ludwig Rignalda, born March 20, son of Mr. and Mrs. John Rignalda, 

629 Kenilworth Avenue. 
Jacqueline Michaud Keeney, born March 27, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Russell 

Keeney, 482 Cottage Avenue. 

APRIL 

Alicia Russell Olmsted, born April 5, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. R. H. Olmsted, 

North Euclid Avenue. 
John Harold Cross, born April 6, son of Mr. and Mrs. Harold Cross, 625 Davis 

Terrace. 
Thomas Edward Maisel. born April 12, son of Mr. and Mrs. Tom Maisel, 211 

Hill Avenue. 
Daryle Bentley Conway, born April 16, son of Mr. and Mrs. Carl Conway, 

South Park Boulevard. 
Fred Waterman Farley, born April 16, son of Mr. and Mrs. Earl Farley, 739 

Forest Avenue. 



THE STOBY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 191 

Roberta Mildred Dunham, born April 18, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. L. G. 

Dunham, 701 Kenilworth Avenue. 
Charles Jacob Gantzer, born April 27, son of Mr. and Mrs. Charles J. Gantzer, 

481 Cottage Avenue. 
Dolores Hoppe, born April 30, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Anthony J. Hoppe, 

755 East Elm Street. 

MAY 

Marilyn Louise Langeloh, born May 5, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Arthur 

Langeloh, 579 Newton Avenue. 
Kathleen Mary Fell, born May 6, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Edward H. Fell, 

465 Anthony Street. 
Thomas Wayne Bender, born May 12, son of Mr. and Mrs. Russell T. Bender, 

379 Park Boulevard. 
Delmer R. Funk, Jr., born May 21, son of Mr. and Mrs. D. R. Funk. 

JUNE 

Bud Homer, born June 14, son of Mr. and Mrs. Charles Homer, 236 Travers 

Avenue. 
Rose Mary Kloeckner, born June 18, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Edward Kloeck- 

ner, 306 Grandview Avenue. 
John Dean Stroud, born June 18, son of Mr. and Mrs. H. V. Stroud, 367 Hillside 

Avenue. 
Agnes Marie Tierney, born June 18, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. J. W. Tierney, 

727 Park Boulevard. 
William Robert Tansley, born June 19, son of Mr. and Mrs. William Tansley, 

Jr., 659 Kenilworth Avenue. 
Colin Edward Locke, born June 21, son of Mr. and Mrs. Edward Locke, St. 

Charles Road. 
Charles Boyd Rowe, born June 27, son of Mr. and Mrs. H. C. Rowe, 220 Newton 

Avenue. 

JULY 

Ralph Harold Weber, born July 4, son of Mr. and Mrs. E. F. Weber, 355 

Anthony Street 
Edith Marian Patch, born July 10, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Robert Patch, Jr., 

North Main Street. 
John Frederick Foster, born July 12, son of Mr. and Mrs. R. A. Foster, 277 

Newton Avenue. 
George Hogge Allen, born July 16, son of Mr. and Mrs. Alex Allen, 306 Hill. 
Marietta McDonnell, born July 27, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Peter McDonnell, 

386 Main Street. 

AUGUST 

Henry Willard Michel, born August 1, son of Mr. and Mrs. Henry O. Michel, 

556 Newton Avenue. 
Harold Prichard, Jr., born August 2, son of Mr. and Mrs. Harold Prichard, 

546 Forest Avenue. 
Betty Ann Clegg, born August 6, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. William E. Clegg, 

581 Prairie Avenue. 
Jacqueline Visey Snyder, born August 6, in Rockford, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. 

Harold B. Snyder, 381 Marion Avenue. 
Frank Phillip Meisner, born August 7, son of Mr. and Mrs. A. J. Meisner, 

790 Highview Avenue. 



192 TEE STOBY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLTN 

Martha Ann Clawson, born August 8, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. C. Dudley 

Clawson, 775 Main Street. 
Barbara Louise Zollinger, born August 15, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. W. R. 

Zollinger, 577 Prairie. 
Walle Marie Staudenmaier, born August 17, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. George 

Staudenmaier, 427 Main Street. 
Charlene Mary Erickson, born Auguust 20, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Charles 

Erickson, 420 Forest Avenue. 
Donald Nicholas Dieter, born August 21, son of Mr. and Mrs. Nicholas Dieter, 

408 Pennsylvania Avenue. 

SEPTEMBER 

Paula Therese Victor, born September 5, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Stephen P. 

Victor, 200 Park Blvd. 
William Frank Shawl, born September 6, son of Mr. and Mrs. William Shawl, 

413 Main Street. 
Delores Ruth Oldenburg, born September 14, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Ernest 

Oldenburg, 520 Bryant Avenue. 
Omond Childs, born September 20, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. M. W. Childs, 

459 Cottage Avenue. 
Jane Isabelle Bonde, born September 23, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. A. A. Bonde, 

593 Prairie Avenue. 

OCTOBER 

Bruce Robinson Bodell, born October 11, son of Mr. and Mrs. Mark Bodell, 

274 Forest Avenue. 
Kathryn Ruth Hine, born October 11, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Clint C. Hine, 

213 Forest Avenue. 
Barbara Jean Coburn, born October 12, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Archie T. 

Coburn, 208 Park Boulevard. 
Shirley Joyce Klein, born October 14, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Marshall Klein, 

777 Pleasant Avenue. 
Lois Joyce Hagman, born October 17, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Milton 

Hagman, 432 Arlington Avenue. 
Mary Lou Wanner, born October 17, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Arthur Wanner, 

Merton Avenue. 
Geraldine Josephine Klein, bora October 22, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. William 

S. Klein, 213 Forest Avenue. 
Helen Rita Murphy, bora October 25, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. William J. 

Murphy, 641 Kenilworth Avenue. 

NOVEMBER 

Shirley Anne Lord, born November 6, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Robert M. 

Lord, 440 Cottage Avenue. 
June Anne Overend, born November 23, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. James J. 

Overend, 610 Elm Street. 

DECEMBER 

Margaret Dorothy Louise Tauber, born December 3, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. 

C. G. Tauber, 434 Main Street. 
Richard John Thiele, bora December 10, son of Mr. and Mrs. Robert E. Thiele, 

291 Hawthorne Street. 



THE STOEY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 



193 



ADDENDA 

Some items which escaped in the general rush and hurry of going to press 
and getting printed before Christmas, and some that came in too late to be 
placed in their regular positions. But, in history, as elsewhere — better late 
than never: 

In January, 1918, occurred the last great blizzard that tied the town up in 
a snowball. Trains were stalled, many commuters spent the night in Chicago 
or in Maywood, by necessity, some on the trains. The tie-up lasted for three 
days. In the village, sidewalks were impassable, the streets were kept open 
by four-horse teams dragging plows through them. The snow lay for weeks, 
making passage difficult. This was a real winter, in the light of later mild 
ones, to be long remembered. 

Dr. Carr started practicing dentistry in 1923. 

Glen Ellyn Lodge, Loyal Order of Moose, started August, 1926, with 100 
charter members and Jack W. Young, dictator. 

Dr. Standish started practicing in May, 1926. 

Mrs. Alice Olmsted has charge of the Noglelca Camp Fire in North Glen 
Ellyn, Miss Alice Kellogg is her assistant. Miss Gladys Fuller has charge of 
the Akiyuhapi Camp Fire group in Glen Ellyn. 

Mrs. O. R. Nelson has charge of the North Glen Ellyn Blue Birds. 

In 1925 the Junior Scouts, boys from 6 to 12, were started in North Glen 
Ellyn by W. H. Smart. They are now in charge of Frank A. Bell, principal 
at Forest Glen School. 




Crescent Boulevard Business 

This is a "before and after" picture. At the extreme left is the type of 
building with which Crescent grew up. Next to it is the Miller Bros, building, 
which formerly was like its neighbor on the left, but was remodelled on plans 
by Louis R. Christie, to present the desirable Old English type of architecture 
which the plan commission and the zoning board of appeals have recommended 
for the business development of the village in order to do away with the old 
"flat tops" and secure a uniformly lovely district architecturally. Miller 
Brothers, in their remodelling, followed the example of the theatre next door 
on the right which occupies the spot long unadorned by the old Nadelhoffer 
livery stable. Plans originally drawn for the playhouse were changed by the 
builders, Messrs. Hoy, Hadley and Spalding, to conform to the village plan. 
Betts and Holcomb were the architects who produced this effect. 



194 



THE STOEY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 



The Forest Preserve, after some years of agitation, originated by the 
Izaak Walton League, with Jesse Wagner principal spokesman for it, finally 
was passed by the board of supervisors. The tract comprises about 800 acres, 
starting a little east of the Jacob Pratt home on Crescent, running to about 
100 feet east of the bridge, leaving out the old Barnard home on Crescent 
Blvd., taking in the pasture land and wooded section of the old W. H. Churchill 
farm, through to the St. Charles Road and back across again to the point of 
beginning. 

It is now in the hands of the state's attorney who has been directed to 
secure the titles and get the various parcels of land involved into legal shape 
for transfer to the county. The board of supervisors is ready to pay the bill 
for the preserve, so it ought to become an accomplished fact before many 
more months roll away. 

There are 2,195 telephones in service in the village, with 21 telephone 
operators presiding over them. 

Mrs. L. A. MacKenzie is now the proud owner of the hoary old cottonwood 
in Itasca, referred to on page 44. 

R. F. Locke made general counsel of the Illinois State School Board 
Association at its Fourteenth Annual Convention at Urbana, in November. 

The staff at the C. & N. W. station is: agent, R. R. Skinner; ticket clerk, 
H. C. Christiansen; freight clerk, Racine Skinner. 

The staff at the C. A. & E. station is : ticket agents, R. R. Jeffrey and E. L. 
Walter; newsstand, Mrs. Anna Broz. 




Village Hall 

The Village Hall on Pennsylvania Avenue, with its new Nash for the 
police department in front of it. Louis R. Christie was the architect. 

Glenbard Chapter, No. 112, Order of Builders, held a public installation in 
Acacia Hall on Wednesday evening, December 5. The officers installed were: 
master builder, Elwood Myers; deputy master builder, Sherman Webster; 
senior inspector, Raymond MacDonald; junior inspector, Benjamin Wold; 
secretary, John Ensminger; treasurer, David Powell; senior overseer, Charles 
Vodicka; junior overseer, Ira M. Hole; chaplain, John Soma; marshall, Frank 
J. Malec, 3d.; stewards, William Kellogg, George LaRoi, Jr., John Ryberg and 
Kenneth Kidd. 



THE STOEY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 195 

Previous to the installation of officers an initiation meeting was held on 
November 21, at Acacia Hall. Austin Temple Chapter, No. 5, Order of Builders, 
presided at this meeting and over 50 boys were initiated into Glenbard Chapter, 
No. 112. They are from Glen Ellyn and Lombard and are as follows: Earl 
Roy Weiher, Leonard Parsons, Jr., Sherman Webster, Harry Mitchell, Jr., 
George Ball, Jr., Robert Reinhardt, Edward DeLand, Carl Ryberg, Kenneth 
Kidd, Ira Hole, John Clyde Dux, John Herboth, Tommy Gregg, Raynold John 
Anderson, James Carruthers, John Arthur Ryberg, James Brady, Raymond 
Erickson, Franklyn Benson, Charles Henry Warner, Spencer Michaels, Hector 
M. Hill, Edward W. Hill, Richard Sabin, John Ensminger, John Badger, Ray 
Cottingham, Lockwood Ensminger, Richard Ganzhorn, Howard McAninch, 
George Steging, Richard Steging, William Owen, John Soma, George LaRoi, 
Jr., John Gamon, Albert Ludy, Don Locke, Frank Malec, 3d, John Hunter, 
Alfred LeRoy Erickson, William Kellogg, Robert A. Johnson, Charles W. 
Vodicka, Raymond MacDonald, Phillip Locke, Elwood Myers, Bennie Wold, 
David Powell, Roger Maylone and Carl Congdon. 

The DuPage Scout Council bought 50 acres of wooded land on Crystal 
Lake, Michigan, six miles from Fremont, for a summer camp. There will be 
four periods of two weeks each, caring for 400 boys this next summer. There 
are 800 Scouts in the DuPage Council, which was organized last April. 

December 15, at 8:30 A. M. the Scouts were mobilized at the Village Hall 
to follow in the footsteps of the town crier of old. They were asked to carry 
the news to every house in town that church services would be suspended on 
the Sunday following because of the influenza epidemic. All morning, in their 
scout costume of service, they were going about the village, ringing doorbell 
after doorbell, with their announcement, proud of doing this civic duty. 

There had been a preliminary mobilization, called by Sheriff Hattendorf, 
October 20, at 7:30 in the morning to see how the Scouts could respond in an 
emergency. Sixty-four per cent, 85 boys, with 55 in uniform, rallied in 33 
minutes, indicating the boy power available in the village. 

Scouts in Glen Ellyn are: 

Troop 1: Victor Ball, Baxter Martin, Allan Kahl, Charles Boardman, 
Gordon Tapper, Fred Locke, William Alexander, Robert Sjoblom, James 
McGlennon, Donald Stewart, Kime Aspray, Giles McCollum, Russell Kellogg, 
Paul O'Neill, Wayne Teeter, Calvin Patch, Carl Gray, Charles Brown, Ralph 
Tapper and Richard Ganzhorn. 

Troop 2: James Atkinson, Charles Bear, Frank Bouska, Robert Burki, 
Richard Cone, Joseph Cools, Kenneth Cramer, Douglas Eadie, Victor Emmel, 
ReRoy Erickson, Roger Gavin, Edward Geisel, John Gilbert, James Griffith, 
Robert Griffith, George Herboth, Carver Hill, Hector Hill, John Hildebrandt, 
Clark Hine, Frank Jeffers, Robert Johnson, Robert Kaiser, Frank LePreau, 
Albert Ludy, Leonard Parsons, Carl Peterson, Harry Peterson, Alfred Reifen- 
stein, Charles Reifenstein, Robert Reinhardt, Henry Rosenthal, Carl Ryberg, 
Shelby Simmons, Kenneth Stallsmith, James Spears, Melvin Suttie, Junior 
Vallette, Fred Wardle, Donald Young and Keith Young. 

Troop 3: William Anderson, Stanley Aston, Boyd Bremner, Donald Burdick, 
Carl Congdon, Jesse Dehl, Malcolm Doig, Cameron Duncan, Alfred Eaton, 
Lockwood Ensminger, Edward Gronlund, Michael Galland, Samuel Holch, 
Chester LaVere, George Lineburg, Paul Maylone, Kenneth McCain, Earl 
Robinson, Warren Smith, Harry Stoeffer, Oliver Townsend, William Webb, 
Kenneth White, Arthur Zielke, Everett Gasch, Lee Baker and Lyle Kreitzer. 

Troop 4: Wilbur Osterling, Ray Walker, Harold Hyatt, Vergil Harmon, 
Harold Jauch, Joseph Trefny, John Hammond, William Achilles, Frank Han- 
sen, Bernard Guillaume, Charles Young, Vernon Fick, Gordon Craft, Charles 
Cools, Cyrus Stafford, Robert McGregor, Joseph Achilles, John Augsburger, 
Charles Jorgeson, John Bingham, John Hookham, James Milmoe, George 
Rose, Reber Graves, John Shirer, James Schoek, Lowell Schraeder and Byram 
Miller. 

Troop 5: Robert Nichols, Richard Hairgrove, Robert Halvorsen, Paul 



196 



THE STOEY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 



Giloth, Paul Nelson, Robert Schaefer, Robert Hairgrove, Arthur White, Albert 
Lammers, Arthur Thomas, Raymond Diederich, Jack Wise, Arthur Moulin 
and Edward DeLand. 

Troop 6: Edward Mohr, Earl Sando, Robert Sando, Joseph Mulcahy, 
James Apostolas, Jack Nelson, Guildas Reneau, Albert Engelschall, William 
Mohr and Ted Rogus. 

Sea Scouts: John Augsburger, George Ball, John Dux, John Herboth, Ira 
Hole, Gustav Holman, John Hookham, Kenneth Kidd, John Knaack, Philip 
Locke, Russell Mueller, Carl Nordeen, Ralph Stewart, Jesse Wagner, Richard 
Winans, Dennis Wright and LeRoy Zuttermeister. 




The Newest Business District at Main and Hillside 

This is on Main at Hillside, where the O. D. Dodge home formerly stood. 
The building in the foreground, just completed this October, was designed and 
erected by Jean Rohm and Son (William lives in Glen Ellyn), and contains 
apartments, offices and seven shops. Next to it on the left is the F. T. Tomlins 
building, built first of all by L. O. Farnsworth, from plans by Walker and 
Angell. It contains an office and several apartments. The third building is 
the Acacia, erected by the Hoy, Hadley and Spalding combination from plans 
by Betts and Holcomb. It will long be a community center for it contains the 
Masonic Lodge rooms, rented also by other fraternal organizations, an audi- 
torium, used regularly by the Baptist Church and the Glen Ellyn Woman's 
Club, and several shops and apartments. These buildings are all interesting 
examples of the prevailing mode in village architecture. 

And now, though interesting things are happening day by day and week 
by week in the village, the Glen News press says, with Shakespeare: 
"Stand not upon the order of your going, 
But go at once." 

And so we close the book December 17, 1928 — to be available December 
21, 1928. 



THE STORY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 



197 



INDEX 

(Compiled by Bessie Clute Huwen) 



Abbott, F. D. 32 

Abbott, Frank 85 

Acacia Hall 129 

Academy, Naperville 53 

Ackerman, Alonzo 59, 73, 87 

Ackerman, Elbyron 42 

Ackerman, Emma 66 

Ackerman, John Davis 30, 37, 75 

Ackerman, Lurania 42 

Ackerman, Mary Fenamore 87 

Ackerman, Miles 42 

Ackerman. Winslow 37, 42, 69, 75 

Addenda 193 

Addison 17, 18, 29, 37 

Adelphos Club 87 

Aetna 50 

Aiken, Rev. Earl F. 75 

Akiyuhapi Camp Fire 140 

Albright, Emory, and Sons Ivan and 

Marr 57 
Albro, Ira 31 
Allaben. Mrs. Max 137 
Allen, Fannie 66 
Allen, Georgia 64, 66, 70, 78, 80, 94, 

109 
Allen, Miles 60, 68. 73. 10.9 
Alspaugh, Mrs. D. W. 129, 144 
American Legion 112, 145 
American Legion Auxiliary 115, 137, 

147 
Angell, F. B. 68 
Areme Club 111. 146 
Arion Quartette 82 
Arnold, George 81 
Arnold, Lawrence 84 
Arnold, Rev. T. B. 75 
Art Department 116 
Artesian Well 116 
Arthur, Alfred 129 
Arthur, Rev. John 83 
Ashby, John 84 
Associated Press 142 
Atkenson, Gen'l 27 
Atwater, Jesse 30 
Aurora 19, 38 50 
Austin. Sam 93 
Automobile 85. 93, 116 
Aux Plaines 20, 21. 33, 34 
Avenue Garage, 114 

Babbitt, Rev. C. W. 28 

Babcock, Ira 38 

Babcock, Irene 42 

Babcock, Ralph and Morgan, 18, 26, 

33 
Babcock's Grove 17. 28, 30, 46, 47 
Babies (1928) 190-1-2 



Bachmann, Peter 93 

Baethke, W. H. 74, 93, 96 

Baker 76 

Baker, Joel 142 

Baker, Mrs. Sylvester 137 

Baldwin Locomotive Works 50 

Ballard, John 64 

Ball, Geo. 92 

Ballou, E. 57 

Ballou, Levi 42 

Ballou, Lillian Nind 66 

Ballou, Mary 42 

Bangs, David 29 

Baptist 35, 45, 62, 81, 129 

Barkey, Jacob 140 

Barlow, Dr. 89, 91, 111 

Barnard 56 

Barnes, Horace 32, 33 

Barney, Sylvanus 42 

Bartlett, Luther 44, 65 

Bartlett, Chester D. 44 

Baseball 63, 120, 148 

Bassett, Henry A. 57, 133 

Batavia 52 

Batavia Junction 18 

Bates, Esquire 42 

Baughman, Dr. Ira L. 97 

Baxter Drug Co. 57 

Beaner, Charles F. and Wife 69 

Beaubien, Jean Baptiste 41 

Beaubien, Marc 22, 41, 53 

Beck, Bernard 18 

Becker, Geo. 68 

Beckhaus, Fritz 52 

Beidelman, A. R. 127 

Bell Telephone Co. 69 

Belmont 18 

Bender, John L. 116 

Benjamin Franklin School 142, 144 

Benjamin, Henry 57 

Benjamin, R. V. 31 

Bensenville 18, 66, 71 

Bergson, Aug. 73 

Betts & Holcomb 126 

Biermann, Ludwig 58 

Biester, Fred L. Ill 

Biesterfelt, Gottlieb 58 

Big Fire 77 

Big Woods 18 

Birthday Club 126 

Blackburn, H. J. 93 

Black Hawk 23 

Black Hawk War 20, 23, 39, 41, 44, 45 

Blackman, R. 73 

Black Maria 80 

Blacksmith Shop 38 



198 



THE STOBY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 



Blasius, Nellie Gordon 122 

Bleak House 42 

Blodgett, Israel P. 32, 34, 56 

Bloomingdale 17. 18, 35, 37, 38, 41, 45, 

52, 60, 65, 81 
Bloomingdale Road 41 
Blue Birds 122 
Bluefarb, Sol 97 
Bob Reed Spring 61 
Bogan, Mrs. Frank J. 89 
Bonaparte School 98 
Book Review Circle 129 
Boosters Club 94 
Bowden, R. D. 120, 122, 145 
Bowie. C. R. 137 
Bowstead, Corinne Newton, 143 
Boy Scouts 93. 99, 122. 134. 143, 150 
Bovft Jennie Minor 66, 70 
Boyd, John 65 

Boyd. Robert G. 65, 70, 73, 85 
Boyd's 70, 78. 82 
Boyle, Miss Clara S. 113 
Brake and Myers 73 
Bremner, Mrs. C. W. 70 
Bronson, Charles 63 
Bronson, Dr. 18 
Bronson. Stephen 42, 63 
Bronsonville 44 
Brookings, Lavinia 46 
Brookins, Smith 51 
Brookins. T. A. 68 
Brooks, Mrs. Caroline 62 
Brooks, Emilv 62 
Brooks, Grandma 60 
Brooks, Horace 44, 45. 47. 53 
R^ooks. Mai Robert E. 99 
Brooks, Shadrack 44, 47 
Brown, Junior 130 
R v own. TOthpn'ne ]il 
Brown, Rev. Hope 28, 51, 53 
Brown, Thomas 26 
Brundage 57 
Bruning 127 
Brush Hill 18 
Bryan Blues 54 
Bryan Hall 54 
Bryan, Thomas B. 54 
Bryson. Charles Lee 144 
Buchholz 58 
Buck Horn Tavern 37 
Buell, H. O. 70 
Buffalo 46 

Building Trades Council 150 
Burbank 86 
Burr, James E. 
Burridge. Carrie Davis 
Burying Grounds 19 
Butterfield, A. J. 75 
Butterfield J. J. 69 
Butterfield, Justin 35 
Butterfield, Lyman 18, 26, 35 



Butterfield Road 35, 57 
Byrds Nest 54 
Byrneville 

Caldwell, Billy 22 

Callahan, Abigail 46 

Callahan, Mary J. 46, 63 

Camp Fire Girls 122 

Canaries 120 

Canfield, R. W. 137 

Capron 57 

C. A. R. 147 

Carolina (North) 17, 22 

Case, Rev. C. D. 81 

Cass 18 

Cassell Lake 125 

Cass House 42 

Castle Inn 34, 35, 53 

Catholic Church 122 

Catholic Daughters of America 136 

Catholic Woman's Club 115, 149 

Catlin. 76. 77 

C. B. & Q. 50, 63, 67 

Cemetery 78 

Cemetery, Mt. Emblem 52 

Chadwick, Joseph 26 

Chase, Al 122 

Cheney, Mrs. M. J. 122 

Chessman. A. G. 62 

Chicago, 22. 46, 50 

Chicago and Great Western R. R. 141 

Chicago and North Western 49 

Chicago, Aurora and Elgin R. R. 85, 

123, 141 
Chicago Fire 64 
Chicago Historical Society 54 
Chicago, Milwaukee and St. Paul, 65, 

67 
Chicago Press Club 85 
Chippewa 19 
Chisholm. George S. 68 
Chism 97 

Christian, David 37. 42 
Christian. William 127 
Christianson 84 
Christie, Emma O'Brien 66 
Christie L. R. 122, 125 
Churchill 18 
Churchill, Adeline B. 81 
Churchill. Amanda 33 
Churchill. Amos 70, 73, 83, 115 
Churchill, Angelina 42 
Ghurchm, Christiana 37. 42, 79 
Churchill, Deacon Winslow 18, 28, 29, 

33. 37. 38, 45. 116 
Churchill, Drusilla 42 
Churchill. H. 72 
Churchill, Hiram 42 
Churchill, Horace 42, 51 
Churchm. Isaac Br^dfor-d 42, 47, 68 
Churchill, Lurania 30, 79 



TEE STOEY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 



199 



Churchill, Mary Ann 42 

Churchill, Mary Jane 37 

Churchill, Mercy Dodge 28, 33 

Churchill, Seth 42, 142 

Churchill Twins 79 

Churchill, W. H. 29, 51, 67, 129, 142 

Churchill, Winslow Jr. 18, 42 

Churchville 18 

Civics Department 98 

Civil War 35, 61, 62, 63, 83, 116 

Clare, Emma Weidman 66 

Clarendon Hills 18 

Clark County 17 

Clark, Edith M. 46 

Clark, Geo. Rogers 24 

Clark, Rev. N. C. 28 

Clarke, I. B. 114 

Clarke, J. 73 

Clarke, Mrs. Joseph 29, 66 

Cobb, Hartell 18 

Coe, Mattie Janes 60, 66 

Colburn, Myrana 46 

Cole, F. M. 69 

Coleman, Rev. J. E. 69 

College Students (1928) 138 

Collier, G. H. 58 

Comerford, Frank 85, 143 

Commencement Card 81 

Commercial Association 126, 143, 148 

Community House 127 

Compton, Dan 133 

Congregational Church 28, 50, 62, 66, 

71, 73, 78, 80, 95, 110, 126, 128, 

132, 133 
Conyers, Willard P. 85 
Cook County 17, 38 
Coolidge, President and Mrs. 137 
Cools, Joseph 145 
Cooper, Charles 60 
Cooper, Hermon C. 60, 83, 122, 128 
Cooper, L. C. 54, 60, 62, 63, 67, 69, 73, 

82, 111, 116 
Cooper, Mrs. L. C. 62, 65 
Cooper, W. P. 122 
Corbit, Clark and Wayne 42 
Cottage Hill Tavern 42, 44 
Cottage Hill 18, 30, 64 
County Commissioner of Schools 44 
County Court House 39, 63, 64, 83 
County Judge 66 
County Seat 39, 64 

County Supt. of Schools 63, 69, 71, 75 
Course of Time 54 
Cox, John 68 
Crane, David, 28 
Crawford County 17 
Crescent 40, 50 
Crescent Blvd. 93 
Crook, O. E. 137 
Cross Country Club House 80, 82 



Cryer, Rev. E. G. 75 

Cumming, Bruce 127 

Curtis, Alonzo, 35, 46 

Curtis, Benjamin 53 

Curtis, Clarence 35, 87 

Curtis, Esther 111 

Curtis, Mrs. B. B. 29, 44, 45, 46, 81, 83 

Curtis, Peter B. 35, 53 

Curtis, Mrs. Peter B. 46 

Curtis, Samuel 34 

Cutler, Joseph 145 

Dalton, Mrs. Thomas 96 

Danby 17, 45, 47, 51, 53, 56, 58, 59, 

60, 62, 64, 71 
Danby Home Guards 60 
Danby House 56, 58 
Danby Lodge I. O. O. F. 57 
Danby School 66 
Daughters of American Revolution 

118, 120, 134, 142, 147 
Daughters of Columbia 95 
Davis, James 31 
Davis, Mark 57, 68 
Deerfield 18, 38 
Deiber 35, 45 

Deily, Capt. Paul Conyers 99 
Delevan Street 93 
Dena, Charlotte 38 
Dentist 97, 117, 127 
Des Plaines 19, 20, 46, 49, 51 
Dickens Circle 89 
Dixon, Marjorie Howe 133 
Dodge, Clem 67 
Dodge, Carrie 66 
Dodge District 47 
Dodge, Edgar 46 
Dodge, Ella 66, 70 
Dodge, Flora M. 81 
Dodge, Helen 46 
Dodge, Jabez Seymour 32, 46, 68, 71, 

72, 73 
Dodge, Lucy Ann 42 
Dodge, Lusana 42 
Dodge, Mason 64 
Dodge, Mrs. Nelson 63 
Dodge, Mrs. O. D. 81, 89 
Dodge, N. M. 46, 68, 73 
Dodge, O. D. 87, 140 
Dodge, Philura 38 
Dodge, Robilla 42 
Dodge, William 66 
Dobson, Harriett N. Warren 39 
Dolbey, Harry 84 
Douglas 35, 58, 59 
Downer, Pierce 18, 21, 26, 34 
Downers Grove 17, 18, 21, 26, 34, 56 
Dram Shop 73 
Dresden Heights 20 
Drew, Mrs. Roy 145 



200 



TEE STORY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 



Drug Store 77 

Duane School 56, 62, 68, 70, 75, 78, 

97, 134, 136, 145 
Duane School Roll 18, 76 
DuBrock, Charles 60 
Dudley, Judge 33 
Dudley, Maria 33 
Duncan, A. C. 70 
Duncan, Cameron 145 
Duncan, Mrs. Pearl 137 
Duncklee, Ebenezer and Hezekiah 18, 

29 
Dunham, Daniel 31, 59 
Dunham, Walter 70 
Dunning House 77, 78 
DuPage 17, 21, 36, 37, 38 
DuPage Center 18, 32, 39 
DuPage Co. Agricultural-Mechanical 

Society 57 
DuPage County Gazette 58 
DuPage County History 59 
DuPage Co. Real Estate Board 150 
DuPage County Society for Mutual 

Protection 38 
DuPage River 17 

DuPage Trust Co. 94, 116, 144, 149 
Dutch Mill 52, 57, 63, 64 

Eagle Brand Milk 61 

Earhart, Amelia 137 

Eastern Star 146 

East Grove 18 

Ehlers 52 

Ehlers Hotel 78 

Eighth Grade Play 134 

Eldridge 46 

Eldridge, Edward 30 

Electricity 94, 114 

Electric R. R. 88 

Electric Shop 87, 113 

Elgin 35 

Ellsworth, Mrs. Frank M. 115 

Elmhurst 18, 30, 54, 64 

Emancipation Proclamation 54 

Emmons, William 66 

English 17, 19 

Enor 33 

Ensminger, Dr. 91 

Ensminger, Jane 135 

Eola 18, 28 

Episcopalians 62. 63 

Essay On Man 54 

Evangelical Church 58 

Fabian, Col. 52 

Fairbank, Mrs. William 128 

Falk, Miss Minnie 112 

Farnsworth, W. 31 

Fasnacht, Rev. Walter L. 122 

Fenamore 65 

Ferries, Rev. William 69 

Fidelity Safe Deposit Co. 54 



Filer, Thomas 56 

Fire Department 89, 111, 112, 125, 146 

Fire Engine 88, 89 

First Evangelical Church 92 

First Methodist Episcopal Church 76, 

77, 97 
Fischer, H. F. 52 
Fish, Almera 42 
Fish, Daniel 41 
Fish, Elisha 19 
Fish, George 42 
Fish, Harriett 41 
Five Corners 26, 28, 36 
Five Springs 80 
Flag Pole 135 
Flemings 60, 77, 78, 88 
Flint, Mrs. 70 
Flood, Tryphena 46 
Ford, Horace M. 87 
Ford, Mrs. Horace M. 90 
Forest Glen 120, 136, 146 
Forest Glen School 42, 79, 91, 96 
Forest Hill Cemetery 159 
Forest Preserves 125 
Forks 20 

Forrester (Village) 99 
Fort Dearborn 22, 45, 46 
Fort Payne 27, 39 
Foster, Mrs. Alfred 120 
Fox, Mrs. Andrew 122, 133 
Fox 19 
Fox River 52 
Fredricksburg 56 

Free Methodist 69, 73, 75, 87, 92, 125 
Freeto, Andrew and Sarah 42 
Freeto, William 64 
French 17, 19 
French Bridge Club 129 
Friday P. M. Reading Club 117 
Friends of Library 116 
Frink and Walker (Stage Coaches) 

38, 45 
Frontenac 18 
Fuller, Benjamin 30 
Fuller, Loie 35, 53, 132 
Fullersburg 18, 34, 35, 53 
Fulton 50 
Fulton County 17 
Furstein, Florence 84 

Galena 34, 37 

Galena and Chicago Union R. R. 34 

Garden Club 120, 125, 137, 150 

Garden Festival 144 

Gary, Elbert H. 26, 44, 57, 59, 73, 78, 

130 
Gary, Erastus 18, 51 
Gary, Jude 18, 26, 39, 40 
Gary Memorial Church 59 
Gary Mills 18, 36, 37 
Gary, Orlinda 26, 39 



THE STORY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 



201 



Gas and Electric 94, 114 

Gates, Ashael A. 59 

Gates, John W. 59 

Gates, Mr. 60 

Gathman, Henry, Jr. 58 

Gathman, Henry, Sr. 58 

Gault, B. F. 84 

Geisler 88 

Geneva Road 36 

Genthe, Mrs. Fred 143 

Gettysburg 62 

Gieselman, Mrs. John 89 

Gilbert, Ezra 31 

Gilbert, Herbert S. 112 

Gifford, Experience 41 

Gifford, H. B. and Wife 62 

Girl Reserves 114 

Girl Scouts 110, 150 

Glenbard Athaenean Society 153 

Glenbard Erodelphian Society 153 

Glenbard Football Teams 152 

Glenbard High School 154 

Glen Bard Staff 153 

Glenbard Straw Vote 140 

Glenbard Student Council 153 

Glen Ellyn 74, 78 

Glen Ellyn 17, 18 

Glen Ellyn Auto Co. 93 

Glen Ellyn Board of Health 145 

Glen Ellyn Choral Club 122, 130, 150 

Glen Ellyn Churches 155-6-7-8 

Glen Ellyn Club 151 

Glen Ellyn Dancing Club 91 

Glen Ellyn Dramatic Club 116 

Glen Ellyn Hotel and Spring Co. 76, 80 

Glen Ellyn Musical Club 98 

Glen Ellyn Nurseries 127 

Glen Ellyn Plan Commission 122, 123, 

145 
Glen Ellyn Police 146 
Glen Ellyn Reds 120, 148 
Glen Ellyn School Board 146 
Glen Ellyn School of Music and 

Dramatic Art 141, 143 
Glen Ellyn State Bank 87, 93, 123, 

124, 150 
Glen Ellyn Storage and Transfer Co. 

57 
Glen Ellyn Storage and Warehouse 

Co. 127 
Glen Ellyn Village Hall Clerks 146 
Glen Ellyn Village Officers 145 
Glen Ellyn Watch and Clock Shop 
Glen Ellyn Woman's Club 82, 94, 98, 

110, 127, 148 
Glen Ellyn Zoning Board 145 
Glen Ellyn Enterprise 88 
Glen Ellyn Library Assn. 90 94 
Glen Oak Country Club 90, 92 
Glen Theatre 126, 127 



Gloss, John 18 

Goodridge 76 

Gordon, Nellie 111 

Grabow, Dr. Elmer F. 127 

Graceland 54 

Grace Lutheran 50, 80, 91 

Graff E. 

Grange, Luther N. 

Granger 18 

Grannis, Mrs. Harriett M. 77 

Grannis, Samuel 76, 77 

Grant, Oriente 34 

Grattan, Josie Leyman 66 

Greeley, Horace 35 

Gregg 18 

Gregg, T. A. 70 

Greyhound 50 

Griggs, John M. 139 

Grimshaw 70 

Groeschell, W. H. 84 

Guertin, Geo. R. 122 

Guild, William 31 

Guthrie, Dr. Earnest Graham 128 

Hadley, Chas. W. 126 

Haggard, J. B. 71 

Half-way House 37 

Hamburg 53 

Hamlets in County 18 

Hammond, Capt. W. 31 

Hand, Louis 42 

Harcourt, Dr. 63 

Hardy, Charles 60 

Harlem 50 

Harmon, Ada Douglas 23, 47, 98, 111, 

116 
Harmon, E. J. 70 
Harmon, Elijah D. 23 
Harmon, Miss Doliska 81 
Harmony Club 96 
Harnden, Mrs. Nora Wagner 69 
Harnden, W. H. 70 
Harnden, Wm. H. 91 
Harper Bros. 70 
Harris, Shadrac 18 
Hartzell, J. C. Bishop 56 
Hasfurther, Mrs. John 133 
Hassle r, Frank 85 
Hassler, Mrs. Frank 91 
Hatch, John 60 
Hatch, Luther 18, 26 
Hawthorne School 91, 97, 120, 142 
Haven, Rev. Joseph D. D. 62 
Hayden, John 73 
Hayden, Jack 60 
Hecla 50 

Healy, Geo. P. A. 54 
Heidemann, Chris 64 
Heintz, W. D. 127 
Herboth, John 143 



202 



THE STOEY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 



Hestern, Henry 68 

Hiatt, A. H. 60, 67 

Hiatt, Dr. Kenneth 136 

Hiatt, Luther J. 67, 136 

Hiatt, U. C. 70 

Hicks, Mrs. 141 

High Lake 18 

High School 98, 110, 111, 114, 116, 123, 

127, 135, 137, 142, 144, 146 
H. S. Leadership Medals 119, 120 
Higley, Mrs. Clayton 111 
Higley, Dr. E. S. 78, 117 
Hill, Hector 145 
Hill, L. B. 122 
Hill, Thomas E. 74, 75, 76 
Hinsdale 18, 53, 63, 75 
Hinsdale 34, 35, 58 
Hintze. B. F. 37, 130 
Hitt, H. H. 133 
Hoadley, Rebecca Arnold 66 
Hoadley, Thomas A. 128 
Hobson. Bailev 17, 22. 24, 26, 39 
Hoes, Mrs. Minerva 58 
Hogan Ed. 66 
Hogan, James 67 
Holch, Mrs. F. L. 134 
Holmes, Alonzo 57 
Holmes. T. W. 68 
Holland 52, 53 
Hollinger, M. H. 96 
Holstein, Henry 63 
Holtorf, Rev. Theodore 92 
Holtzman. Arthur 98 
Honeysuckle Hill 79 
Honeywell, David 42 
Hookham, John 137 
Hopper, Mrs. Charles 92, 98, 99, 100 
Hough Railroad 65 
Hough, Col. Roselle 65 
Hovey, J. L. 44 
Howe, Mrs. Wm. F. 127 
Hoy, A. C. 123, 126 
Hubbard, Dr. Theodore 38 
Hubbard, Jennie 66 
Hubbard, Laura 42 
Hubbard, P. G. 70, 71, 73 
Hubbard, Warren 45 
Hubert, Rev. 42 
Hudson, Adelaide 111 
Humphreys, Mrs. John 133 
Hunter, Edna 111 
Hunter, J. G. 70 
Hurley, Fr. 52 
Huwen, Mrs. F. J. 122 
Hyde, Mrs. James 137 

Illinois 46 

Illinois Centennial Contest 111 

Illinois County 17 

Illinois Institute 56, 58, 59 



Illinois River 20 

Incorporated Towns 18 

Indian Signal Hill 20, 44 

Indian Villages 19 

Indiana 19 

Indians 17, 19, 37, 97, 112 

Infant Welfare 143. 150 

Ingalls, Augustus 29 

Ingalton 18 

I. O. O. F. 146 

Iriquois 19 

Irwin, Mary Margaret 60 

Isaak Walton League 115 

Isabel, Don A. 46 

Itasca 18, 58, 62, 65, 67 

Jacobs, S. T. 85 

Jacobs, W. H. 68 

Janes, A. S. 32, 33, 58, 59, 64, 65, 68, 

68 
Janes, Harriet 33 
Janes, Sylvanus, Laura, Ruth and 

Clarissa 42 
Jauch 57 

Jellies, Georgia 66 
Jellies, Will 73 
Jenkins, Mrs. Elizabeth 81 
Jenkins, Frances 81 
Jenkins, Helen (Mrs. Carl Case) 81 
Jensen, Wm. F. 75 
Johansen, Maren 111, 122 
Johansen Real Estate Co. 62 
Johnson, Fred 84 
Johnson, W. J. 68 
Joliet 21 

Jones, Capt. Marcellus E. 62 
Jones, L. A. 58 
Jordan 46 
Junior Play 144 
Junta Bldg. 127 
Justice of Peace 71 

Kaiser, W. G. 122 

Kampp, Conrad 63 

Kampp Furniture Business 63 

Kampp, John 63 

Kane Countv 38 

Kankakee 20 

Kelley, Albert M. 59, 63 

Kelley, David 45, 53, 54, 60, 62, 66, 68 

Kelley, Isaac D. 57 

Kelsey, Rev. W. M. 75 

Kerr, Mr. Chas. H. 85 

Kerr, Mrs. Chas. H. Kerr 

Ketcham, Erastus 68, 69, 75, 130 

Kendall, Abby 111 

Kendall, Mrs. G. M. 114, 120, 122 

Kickapoo 19 

Kimball, Geo. P. 63. 69 

Kimball, William 42 

Kimble, Rebecca 42 



THE STOEY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 



201 



Kindergarten 84 
King, J. V. 31 
King, Miss 141 
Kiplinger, O. L. 126, 128 
Klein, Matthias Rev. 75 
Kolar, Betty Jane 134, 144 
Kopp, Mrs. John H. 81 
Kriebs-Wilmes 63 
Krimmelmeyer, Emma 111 

Lace 18 

Ladies' Social Union 83 

Ladies' Aid Play 144 

LaGrange 28 

Laier, Frances 78, 81, 82 

Laier, John J. 84 

Laier, Will G. 84 

Laing, Mrs. Walter 60, 143 

Laird. George 32 

Lake Ellyn 63. 76, 119 

Lake Street 37, 41 

LaSalle 19 

LaSalle County 38 

Landis, Maior Reed 144 

Landv, Bridget A 6 

Landy, Deacon 49 

Landv. John 46 

Laughlin,, John 19, 31 

Lead Mines 35. 37 

League of Women Voters 113, 149 

Lee. Virginia 143 

LeMessurier, John 87 

LePage. Mr. and Mrs. Chas. 137 

Lewis, Rev. E. N. 62 

Librarv 70 71. 89, 90, 91, 96, 98, 113, 

116. 120, 143 
Lilacea 128 
Lily Lake 125 

Lincoln 35, 58. 59. 60, 62, 63 
Lindahl. Rov W. 125 
Lindsay. Margaret 136 
Linton. Ralph 
Lions Club 116. 148 
Lisle 17, 18, 26, 41 
Literature and Arts 92, 129, 144 
Little, R. H. 139 
Lloyd, Mrs. 45 
Lloyd, Mrs. Emma 73, 78 
Locke, Mariorie 134 
Locke, Matilda 59 
Locke, R. F. 114 
Lombard 18. 26. 30. 53, 64 
Lombard, Josiah 64 
Loomis, H. S. 38 
Lorbeer, Mrs. J. B. 81 
Lowell, Dr. 89 
Lower, Rev. D. L. 75 
Lozier, Horace G. 122 
Lumry, O. F. 58 
Lundgren, Helen F. 81 
Lundgren, Marie F. 81 



Lundy, John 41 

Luther, Mr. W. H. 66, 67, 70, 71, 72 73, 

74, 75 
Luther, Mrs. W. H. 69 
Lynn 46 

Mabrey, Mrs. Fred J. 137 

Madison County 17 

Madison, Wm. 143 

Main Street 50, 64 

Main St. School 112, 142 

Mammoth Spring 61 

Mansion House 54, 55. 60, 62, 66 

Map of Five Corners 43 

March, B. F. 145 

Marie, Queen of Roumania 132 

Marsh. Rev. J. D. 69. 75 

Marshalls, J. K. 64, 82 

Martin, Geo. 27 

Marquette, Father Jacques 20 

Masonic Lodge 94, 134, 146 

Massachusetts 18 

Mastodons 19 

Matlack. Prof. Lucius 56, 58 

Mavnard, Elias 29 

McChesney Bros. 74, 78 

McChesney, Charles 56 61 

McChesney, Edgar H. 61, 63, 70 

McChesney, Gretchen Jacobs 85 

McChesney, J. D. 61. 66, 67 

McChesney, James 32, 40, 41, 45, 56, 

61 
McChesney, Joseph R. 61, 63, 68, 71, 

73 
McChesney, Julia Kelley 66 
McChesney, Mattie Smith 66, 87 
McChesney-Miller 61 
McChesnev. Mrs. J. D. 63 
McClurg, Genl. A. C. 42 
McClurg, Ogden 42 
McCollums, Albert. 69 
McCutchin, Mrs. 81 
McDonnell. Fr. 52 
McFryer, W. F. 85, 137 
McGough, P. E. 143 
McGregor. Rev. D. A. 84 
McHenry 37 
Mcintosh 63 
McKay, Rosalie 98 
McMechan, Erin 98 
McMillen, Joseph 31 
Meacham 19, 28, 65, 125 

27 
Meacham's Grove 35 
Meacham, Milo 32, 56 
Meacham, Silas, Lyman, Harvey 19, 
Meat Market 74 
Medinah 28, 125 
Meinardi 65 
Meinardi, Betty Jane 117 



!04 



THE STOBY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 



Memorial Fountain 116 

Memorial Park 125, 127, 142 

Mehl, Mattie 73 

Menke, Miss Emma 143 

Mertz, A. F. 63 

Mertz, Mrs. Matilda 95 

Meshler, Chris 63 

Methodist 35, 45, 57, 59, 62, 92 

Miami 19 

Michet, Irene 110 

Michigan Lake 19 

Millbeck, Joe 73 

Mill Creek 37 

Miller, Mrs. Emma 78 

Miller, Eunice 42 

Miller, H. A. 133 

Miller, Herman 93, 123 

Miller, Oscar 61 

Miller, Otto 93, 123 

Mills, Lewis 71 

Milmoe. M. J. 70, 122 

Milton 17, 18, 51, 64 

Milwaukee R. R. 65 

Mississippi 50, 51 

Mitchell 97 

Mitchell. I. T. 42 

M. M. M. Ill 

Modern Woodmen 83 

Money Musk 55 

Moore, Mrs. M. M. 28. 51, 128 

Moore, Rev. Aubrey 97 

Moose 147 

Moose Auxiliary 147 

Moose Sewing Circle 

Morgan, Jane 133 

Morgan, Royal T. 75, 81 

Morrow, Dr. 114 

Morton Arboretum 114, 115 

Morton, Joy 114-5 

Morton, J. Sterling 115 

Morton, Luther 18, 30 

Morton, M. D. 42 

Morrow, Mrs. J. C. 122 

Motion Picture Forum 133 

Moulin. Evert O. 114 

Moulton, C. L. 80 

Moulton, Harper 78 

Moving Pictures 98, 111, 126 

Mr. Pirn Passes By 129 

Mueller, Mr. and Mrs. J. B. 137 

Mundelein, Cardinal 122 

Munger 19 

Municipal Lot 65 

Music Department 98 

Myers, Fred G. 128 

Myers, Frederick A. 26 

Myers, Jas. H. 68 

Myers, Wm. H. 74, 128 

Mytinger, Mrs. Jean 92 

Nadelhoffer, Christian 84 



Naper, Capt. John 18, 26, 39 
Naper, Capt. Joseph 26, 39 
Naperville 17, 18, 20, 21, 38, 39, 41, 

42, 59, 61, 62, 63, 64, 97 
Napoleon 41 
Nash, Isaac 31 
Navy Gun 123 

Nelson, Geo. 45. 70. 73, 87, 142 
Nemitz, Mrs. Gus 143 
Newcomb, Miss M. A. 58 
Neumann, Miss Hazel 139 
Newspaper 51, 87, 97, 112, 115, 116, 

122 
Newton-Baethke 56. 59. 70. 85 98 120 
Newton, Dr. L. O. 50 51, 59, 60, 74 
Newton, Elizabeth 111 
Newton, Mrs. Fannie 75 
Newton, Frank Q. 60, 112, 143 
Newton, Lenzie 47 
Newton, LeRov 63. 74 
Newton, Lindslev 38 
Newton. Ralph W. 143 
Newton's Station 17. 49 
Newton, William 46, 68, 71, 73, 112, 

143 
New York 146 
Nicholls. Dr. G. E. 117 
Nichols Librarv 39 
Niles, W. A. 127 
Nind, J. N. 45. 68, 73 
Nixon, Gen'l 46 
Noble, Daniel 29 
Nordic Country Club 37 
Norris, Mrs. Joseph 58 
North Central College 61 
North DuPaare League of Women 

Voters 149 
North Glen Ellyn Improvement Assn. 

122 
North Western (C. & N. W.) 51, 58, 

67, 70. 83 
Northwestern College 61 
Nursery 51 

Oak Park 33. 47, 50 

Oak Ridge 33, 47 

Ogden Avenue 53 

Ogden Avenue 33, 53 

Oil Lamp 57 

Old English Design 123 

Old Ketch 37 

Old Settlers Picnic 81 

Olmstead, Rev. Benjamin L. 75 

Olson, Annie 77 

O'Malley, Ruth 139 

Onondaga County 46 

Ontarioville 19 

Orchestra 96 

Order of Builders 144 

Ottawa 38 

Owen, Jesse 143 



THE STOEY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 



205 



Page, Harriet 46 

Panorama Picture 96 

Pape, Thomas 122 

Parcel Post 97 

Park and Playground Assn. 117, 148 

Park Board 142, 146 

Park 110, 112 

Parry, Rev. A. W. 75 

Parsons 97 

Parsons, Rev. D. K. 

Patch, Bros. 70, 78, 94 

Patch, Wm. 127 

Patrick, Florence 66 

Patrick, Wilbur 51 

Paving 98, 109, 128 

Payne, Capt. 27 

Peck, Charles 42 

Peck, George 42 

Peck, Harriett 

Peck, Sheldon 38, 47 

Pelham, Mrs. Wm. F. 139 

Penneack Grove 27 

Pennsylvania 53 

P. E. O., AU. Ill 

Peoria County 17 

Pfleuger, Christian 58 

Pfrangle, Sebastian 58 

Phillips, Charles A. 63 

Phillips, H. W. 68 

Pickard, Mr. 57 

Pierce, President 57 

Piggly Wiggly 139, 140 

Pike County 17 

Pioneer 49-50 

Plainfield 61 

Plank Road 35, 41, 45, 53, 58 

Plum, Col. Wm. R. 128 

Plymouth 18 

Poehlman, Elizabeth Newton 143 

Poetasters 128 

Polk, President 38, 47 

Pollocks 54 

Poole, Isaac C. 86 

Popes 54 

Portage 21 

Porter, Rev. Jeremiah 28 

Porter, Rev. Jonathan 28 

Post Office 75, 77, 88, 89, 111, 112, 123, 

58, 59 
Postmaster 59, 75 
Potowatomi 19 
Potter, Dr. H. S. 57, 59 
Powers, Almeda J. 46 
Powers, Aretus 46 
Powers, Malena 42 
Powers. Samuel 46 
Powers. William 46 
Pre-Emption House 32, 38 
Presbyterians 35 
Prichard. Harold 127 
Prince, Rev. H. W. 83 



Prospect Park 17, 61, 68, 71 
P. T. A. 96, 134, 149 
Pummill, Emma Yalding 66 
Purdum, N. W. 122 

Queen Esther Circle 114 

Railroad 17, 34, 35, 50 
Randall, Nathan 57 
Randolph Street 46 
Rathbun, Mrs. Rowland 129 
Rawson, Mrs. John 69 

81, 117 
Reader, Henry 30 
Reading 53 
Real Estate Boom 70 
Red Bridge 78 
Red Cross 60, 61, 100 
Reed, Robert 61 
Reed, Seth 38 
Reeves, Geo. C. 70 
Rebekah Lodge 91, 146 
Reindeer 50 
Reiner, Gladys 125 
Relief Corps 114, 147 
Revolutionary War 46 
Rhoades, Lucille 66 
Rickert, Mrs. E. C. 55 
Riford 76 
Riverbank 52 
River, DuPage 17 
Robertson, Douglas B. 116 
Robey, Leslie 112 
Robinson, Daniel 46 
Robinson, Diana 46 
Robinson, Hannah 46 
Roderus, Frank 
Roger de Coverly 55 
Rogers, R. L. 70 
Rogers, W. A. 97 
Roosevelt Road 18, 37 
Rood, Rev. John S. 81 
Rose, W. H. 
Roselle 18 

Rosenweiller, J. R. 71 
Round Grove 20 
Roush, Cloyd 93 
Royal Neighbors 85, 139, 147 
Ruddock. Mrs. Rhoda 62 
Ruskin College 86 
Russell, Anna Boyd 65 
Ryberg, Mrs. John 133 
Ryder, Wm. 77, 80 

Sabin, John 64, 68, 73 

Sabin, Walter 54, 57, 62, 64, 70, 71, 89 

Sag 19, 21, 52 

Saloon 88, 93 

Salt Creek 29, 35 

"Sauganash" Tavern 22 

Sauk 19 

Saunders 40 



206 



THE STOEY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 



Saunders Hall 45 

Saunders, Dr. James 62, 72, 73, 83, 114 

Saunders, Mrs. Marian B. 127 

Saylor, W. F. 57 

Saxe, Dr. 59 

Schaefer, Mrs. Wm. A. 122, 144 

Schaefer, Wm. H. 127 

Schatz, William 45 

Schatz, Phillip 45 

Schatz, Rebecca 35, 46 

Schick 19 

Schiele, Dr. Ill 

Schlick, Jos. 66 

Schneider A. 68 

Schreiber, F. J. 127 

Schuette, Mrs. Henry 58 

School Books 47 

School Enrollment 137 

Scott, Gen'l 20, 23. 44 

Scott, Stephen J. 22 

Scott, Robert J. 87 

Scoop, The 144 

Scott Willard 17, 22, 23 

Senior Play 134 

Service Flag 99, 111 

Sewage System 93 

Shattuc. Lillian King 122 

Shaw, W. W. Jr. 140 

Sheahan, Frank 129 

Sherman, Marv Ackerman 66 

Sherman, Victor L. 143 

Sherwin, H. 73 

Shipman. Mrs. Wm. D. 137 

Shoenfeld, H. 66 

Sikler, Valentine 57 

Sidewalks 87, 88 

Simons, James E. Ill 

Simons, James E. Jr. 112 

Simons Studios 98, 141 

Sittyton Farm 92 

Skinner, Major 29 

Slawson, James H. 120, 142 

Smith 41, 47, 63 

Smith, Charles 66 

Smith, David 67 

Smith, Dr. Elijah 18. 44. 65, 67 

Smith, Joseph 66. 67, 97, 128 

Smith, Margaret 111 

Smith, Mason 29 

Smith, Mattie 67, 77 

Smith. May Somerset 66 

Smith, Samuel Lisle 35 

Snell, Mrs. Fred 137 

Soldiers' Aid 60, 61 

Soldiers Buried in Cemetery 159, 160 

Soldiers' Pathway 127 

Somerville, Dr. C. W. 89 

South Addison 19 

Southeast Improvement Assn. 127, 148 

Southwest Improvement Assn. 137 

Spalding, R. V. 126 



Spaniards 17 

Spanish American Auxiliary 129 

Spanish-American War 84, 125 

Spooner, Rev. Arthur 75 

Sprague, Rev. James 69 

Square Club 125, 146 

Stacy, Betsey 77, 81 

Stacy, Carrie 66, 81 

Stacy, Joan 42 

Stacy, Kimball 39, 42 

Stacy, Moses 31, 33, 36, 42 

Stacy Park 77 

Stacy, Philo Warren 36, 42, 45, 68, 69, 

Stacy's Corners 17, 18, 33, 42, 45, 49, 

65 
Stacy's Tavern 36, 45 
Stage Coach 38 
Standish, Alfred 51, 62 
Stanton, Thomas 92 
Stanton, Wallace 111 
Steinberg, August 122 

70, 73, 76, 78, 81, 90, 112 
Stetson, Carrie Hubbard 66 
Stevens. Noah 29 
Stolp, Frederick 18, 28 
St. Aloysius Acolyte Society 148 
St. Charles 38, 61 
St. Charles Rd. 19, 30, 33, 34, 38, 41, 

45, 65 
St. Clair 17 
St. James' Church 52 
St. Mark's Church 63. 70. 83, 84 
St. Petronille 122, 135, 137 
Study Club 82, 85. 89, 92, 93, 94 
Sullivan, James 65 
Supt. Glen Ellyn Schools 120 
Surkamer. Fred 84 
Sutcliffe. Mrs. John 69 
Swantosh, Miss Frances 77 
Sweet, Gen'l B. J. 64 
Sweet's Grove 41 
Swift 19 

Tailor 97 

Talmadge, David 30 

Talmadge, G. H. 61 

Talmadge, John 30 

Taxi 97 

Taylor, Rev. Philander 45 

Teachers, School 151 

Telephone Service 70, 82, 85, 87, 113, 

123, 137 
Templar Club 134, 136, 140 
Temple, Dr. 38 
Templeton, Mrs. Martha 69 
Thanatopsis 54 
Thiele, L. J. 70 
Thiele, Mildred 122 
Thomas, Harry W. Ill 
Thompson, Dr. John 97 
Toll Gate 41, 45 



TEE STORY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 



207 



Torode, Nicholas 30 

"Town" 18 

Townsend, O. O. 70 

Townsend, Oliver 145 

Trail, Army 19, 44 

Trail, Indian 17, 19, 20, 23, 30, 45 

Travel Class 92 

Treadway, R. B. 93 

Treat, Kate Sheldon 89, 90, 116 

Tremont House 56 

Tribune 37 

Turner, Hon. J. B. 18. 51 

Turner Junction 18, 50, 58, 59, 67 

Twachtman 58 

Twogood, Capt. 46 

Tyler, Pres. John 44 

Uncle Tom's Cabin 56, 58 
Underground Railway 35, 56 
United Christian Commission 61 
University of Illlinois 19 
Utili Dulci 66, 67, 109 
Utt, A. R. 44, 70, 84, 85, 143 

Vallette, J. G. 51 

Vallette, John 33 

Van Duzer, C. S. 137 

Van Tassel, Stephen and Wife 62 

Van Vilzer, Barto 35 

Vaughn, Fannie 66 

Vaughn, Sarah 66 

Vernon Estates 137 

Vesuvius 50 

Villa Park 18 

Village Hall 78, 125 

Votes and Polling Places 140-1 

Virginia Reel 55 

Wagner, Frank M. 57, 74 

Wagner, G. M. H. 45, 46, 73 

Wagner, H. 57 

Wagner, Jesse R. 142 

Wagner, Joseph 68 

Wagner, L. J. 66 

Wagner, Matt. 57, 65, 68. 73, 75 

Wagner, Mrs. Mathias 69 

Wagner, Miss N. 67 

Wagner, Mrs. Calvin 82 

Wagner, Mrs. Ellen 69 

Wagner, Mrs. Joseph 69 

Wagner, Mrs. Luther 35, 45, 46 

Wagner, Wm. H. 53, 60, 68, 71, 72, 73, 

75, 75, 77 
Walker 34 
Walker, Alfred 18 
Walker, Allen R. 73 
Walker and Angell 123, 127 
Walker, Dr. H. F. 18 
Walker, Royal 32 
Walworth 73 
Ward, Elijah 46 
Ward, J. M. 68 



Warrell, W. B. 75 

Warren, Bishop David S. 75 

Warren, Col. J. M. 19, 39 

Warrenhurst 19, 30 

Warrenville 19, 30, 39, 44 

Wassell, Joseph 81 

Water Street 46 

Water System 89 

Watson, Dr. Allen S. 116 

Watts, Dr. 33 

Waubunsie, Chief 21 

Way, Edward 68 

Way, Elmer 68 

Way, Gilbert 41 

Wayne 18, 59 

Wayne 19 

Wayne Center 19 

W. C. T. U. 73, 96, 133, 148 

Webster, Rev. H. S. 83 

Wegman, H. 73 

Wehlau, W. H. 137 

Wehrli, Andrew J. 26 

Weidman, Ella 35 

Weidman, John 53, 60, 73 

Weidman, Jonathan 53 

Weidman, Rose 66, 69, 75 

Weidman, Vallie 66 

Welch and Launder 50 

Wentworth, Long John 31 

Westbrook, Wesley 143 

Westmont 

West Chicago 18, 37, 50, 53, 58. 59, 67 

Wheaton 18, 19, 39, 56, 59, 63, 64 

Wheaton College 56. 58, 59 

Wheaton Jesse C. 37, 39, 42, 51, 78 

Wheaton, Warren L. 37, 47, 51, 60 

White, Mrs. Rupert 137 

Whitely, Mrs. Paul 122 

Whiteman, Mr. 69 

Whitlock, Mrs. C. G. 118 

Whitlock, Ogden and John 61 

Whitman, Abigail 46 

Whitman, David 46 

Whitman, Jane P. 46 

Whitman, Warren 46 

Whitmore 47 

Whittemore, M. W. 123 

Wienke, Mrs. E. J. 122 

Wilcox, R. A. 57 

Wilkins, Charles F. 62 

Wilson and Hantz 45 

Wilson, Harvey T. 18, 26 

Will County 38 

Willcox, Mrs. Jay 137 

Wimpress, Mrs. Benjamin 69 

Wimpress, Miss Bertha 81 

Wimpress, Mrs. Hattie 29, 42, 47, 66 

Winfield 18, 56 

Winnebago 19 

Winter, Luther, 73 



208 



TEE STOEY OF AN OLD TOWN— GLEN ELLYN 



Wise, Edith Quayle 144 

Woebke, Mrs. Pauline 79 

Woman's Chorus 137 

Woman's Exchange 129 

Woman's Republican Club 133, 149 

Woods, Chester 143, 144 

Wooddale 19 

Woodruff, Ralph 38 

Woodthorpe 125 

Woodworth, Harry 29 

World War 98, 99, 100, 101 

World War Home Guards 108-9, 112 



World War Roll 101-2-3-4-5-6-7-8 
Wrightwood 125, 128 

Yalding, Deacon 62, 65 

Yalding, J. P. and Wife 62 

Y. M. C. A. 39 

York 17, 30 

York Center 19, 30, 52, 53 

Zoning 116 
Zoellin, Horace 137 
Zuttermeister, G. 70 



Corrections: p. 18, Byrenville should read Byrneville; p. 20, Indian Signal Hill 
should read 3 miles south of Wheaton; p. 24, trail should read 3% miles north 
of Five Corners; p. 25, "across the river from Joliet Road"; p. 28, should read 
instead of "son and wife" "daughter and husband, Mr. and Mrs. Mitchell"; 
p. 45, J. N. Nind; p. 73, William H. and M. H. Wayne should read Wagner. 





£ 


£2 '3 


^ 

*£ 


d=^L^ 


<c 


o 


LOcQ^K 


Tn 


rf^)^L.<c 


£: 




S= 






*v5 

^3 


<C 
DC 




u_ca 


h" 




M<C 


co 




<c 


CQ 


^-^ 






^ % 






^S^) 






(rr 










• 
so 


CSC ^^° 
5= .<CtEJ=! 



U-CLr:Ci-cOOh- *-) 



2 



OO 



vJ5 

ui cQ 

^U3 — CC 

5? 3> :n >" 

OcCCOCC 












eye 

cO<C 

0<EO 
DCHcQ 



o 

CO 
DC 



HO 






O 
»"7 



3: — h-?*r-jHz:o